Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

do atheists have a back up plan if God exists?

• 15-07-2013 7:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 planinplace

I was always wondering do atheists have a backup plan in the eventuality that the God they don’t believe in actually proves he does exist? This has fascinated me.

In terms of my own beliefs I wouldn’t call myself a nonbeliever nor would I call myself religious or affiliated to any religion or church but I still do believe in God that has a divine plan of sorts for the humanrace which will come to fruition at some stage. In the event it came to fruition do Atheists have a back up plan or if God 100% proves he does exist will atheists still not believe?

I have been doing a lot of research of late and reading books of believers and non believers and visiting various websites so from what I gather the God that Protestents, catholics, Christian groups and Muslims even though it may be a different type of God to them all there is a firm belief that this God has promised that the son he sent into the world 2,000 years ago will return for a second coming to judge the living and the dead. Muslims believe he will return of their faith and from what I gather Christians just believe he will return and don’t seem to specify whether he will be catholic, protestant or a branch of some other Christian belief system.

So, if this God that many believe exists does actually fulfil this promise and this son of his Jesus returns to planet earth to judge the living and the dead obviously if this God fella has the powers to ensure this occurs he would also ensure that when he sends his son back the world would most definately know it was him, whats the point in sending him him back unless he had the 100% untenable proof. Maybe he will have the five stigmata wounds or my guess is he will have the same supernatural powers that he did the first time around which seemed to grab peoples attention so much so they recorded as much as they could in what we now read as gospels or in some cases don’tread. A walking powerful ark of the covenant type of person

So my question for atheists is this, If Jesus returned and had the 100% proof it was him, had supernatural powers, performed miracles,walked on water etc etc and began judging the human race what would the reaction of atheists be? Would there be mass conversions? Would there be sorrow and grief? Would there be laughter? Or would they just ignore it all?

I have a friend who is atheist and when I posed this query to him it kinda spooked him as he had never given it any thought.

Another question I have is how many atheists on this forum were brought up catholic in Ireland and what made you change your belief system? I ask this cause the same friend of mine was brought up catholic and said he was sick of the masses and the prayers his family had to go to and he was sick of the scandals of the church and I was wondering cause if Jesus did return how many people in Ireland that are atheists or non believers or lapsed catholics would blame the church for driving the people away? and what do people think if indeed God proved he existed and sent Jesus back what would Jesus think of the Vatican and catholic church today? although in some ways I admire the church for surviving 2,000 years despite their faults my guess is he would not be a happy camper especially when he discovers the paedophile scandals and that he owns a bank that laundries mafia and drug cartels monies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,562 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Tldr, but from skimming, I'd be like, WTF Jesus, can we have some explanations please?

What talk show would he get on first I wonder?

I'd also be interested in his preferences in baked goods...

• Moderators Posts: 51,982 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

Rapid firing nail-gun. :P

He must be defeated if only to protect people from an eternity of eternal suffering for nothing more than not giving him an ego boost by telling him that you love him.

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,739 ✭✭✭✭kylith

See my sig.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,564 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

So my question for atheists is this, If Jesus returned and had the 100% proof it was him, had supernatural powers, performed miracles,walked on water etc etc and began judging the human race what would the reaction of atheists be? Would there be mass conversions? Would there be sorrow and grief? Would there be laughter? Or would they just ignore it all?
    If Jesus was real I'd imagine he'd be well and truly pissed with an awful lot of his believers first and foremost. Would he really go around judging people on the basis of whether or not they thought he was real or whether or not they were actually decent people? To that end there'd likely be a lot of 'believers' quaking in their boots.

How would atheists react? Continued incredulity I'd imagine, at the thought that the creator of all time and matter sent his son as a carpenter to the Middle East 2000 years ago to save humanity from himself.

Regarding a backup plan... really? Clearly you're a monotheistic agent, but what's your backup plan when Zeus decides he's sick of being ignored? Non-existent I'll wager for the same reasons as me for your scenario above.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Ask for forgiveness. Bam, in the clear.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Lelantos

I'll throw my lot in with the all powerful Beelzebub. Lesser of 2 evils imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

Virtually every religion is mutually exclusive with other religions. If you believe in a particular God or gods, - your odds of being correct are only marginally higher than an atheist.

Anyway - I live my life according to my own set of morals. I try to 'do right' by people, without fear of going to hell and without trying to get an eternal reward of 'heaven' or 70 virgins or whatever else religions promise.

If there is a God, I'll just have to hope that it is cool enough to not punish me for not listening to a bunch of old dudes in hats or naked chicks dancing the woods. I mean, I'd hope that God would realize I had no way differentiating someone spreading 'his word' verse some crazy guy ranting to get my money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭legspin

Until such time as he /she/it sets right all the stupid and nasty things they have done in the last 13 billion years or so, I will continue in the vein I am in at the moment.
    Militant indifference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,232 ✭✭✭Brian Shanahan

I was always wondering do atheists have a backup plan in the eventuality that the God they don’t believe in actually proves he does exist?

First let me point out something, under the rules of the reality we live in the god of the bible (who you probably are pointing to read your post, definitely an imaginary friend botherer) cannot exist. You can either have YHWH or reality, not both.

But if we existed in a reality which could contain YHWH (it might be possible:confused:), I'd immediately indict him for crimes against humanity if he proved himself. He's guilty as hell of so many genocides there'd be no way he'd wriggle out, under his own rules.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

Well, for one thing, it's going to take a lot of proving. We're not going to fall for some wine to water, loaves and fishes sleight of hand this time, I mean, have you seen some of the crazy stuff Dynamo is doing these days? Jesus is going to need to seriously up his game.

But, presuming that he does enough tricks to prove to our satisfaction that he can at least do some supernatural stuff, that doesn't mean he's Jesus. There's lots of other options out there. As Asimov said, any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic. Why not a frat prank from a unimaginably advanced civilization? Are you sure someone hasn't put lsd in the water and we're not just tripping balls? Why not another supernatural power pretending to be Jesus for teh lulz?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

What do you mean 'back-up plan', that assumes we've planned to be atheists.

And any chance of comprehension of a world beyond doesn't merit rational discussion because our guesses or perspectives are small-minded and futile, if there was such a being and 'place'.

But there isn't, so close the thread and let's talk about our favourite flavour of jam tart or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,562 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Lemon

/endthread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 planinplace

Well, for one thing, it's going to take a lot of proving. We're not going to fall for some wine to water, loaves and fishes sleight of hand this time, I mean, have you seen some of the crazy stuff Dynamo is doing these days? Jesus is going to need to seriously up his game.

But, presuming that he does enough tricks to prove to our satisfaction that he can at least do some supernatural stuff, that doesn't mean he's Jesus. There's lots of other options out there. As Asimov said, any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic. Why not a frat prank from a unimaginably advanced civilization? Are you sure someone hasn't put lsd in the water and we're not just tripping balls? Why not another supernatural power pretending to be Jesus for teh lulz?

I find this response interesting because from my research if he does return as according to the prophecies from various biblical prophecies we will sure know its him because instantly we will fear him by his presence, ours souls will be scared so we wont be able to stop this as it wont be a brain thing we can control, those whom know they wernt ready for his return apparently will hide from him and not want to see the reality of the truth so to possess such a power of supernatural origin that people want to hide from you just by your look and presence will more or less speak for itself. If you were to hear he is back and causing such fear would you go see him to check it out for yourself?

Yeah, but some gnarly future tech civilization would probably scare the befúcking jezus out of me anyway? Likewise anything else able to perform feats that I couldn't comfortably put down to explixitly technological means or trickery. Fear is a pretty basic human response to the unknown.

And haven't you heard, he is back, there's a guy sitting in the desert in Australia right now. How do you know that he's not the real deal? Because you're not afraid of him?

And yes, I probably would go check him out. I presume he'll be doing a mass in the Pheonix Park at some stage.

Also: human resistance ftw. Mine is the drill that will pierce the heavens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Repent....and ask him why he watches while I masturbate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I'd probably go for a pint with him. That water to wine thing would be cool.

Then I'd ask him to catch a malteser. There's the entertainment taken care of.

Maybe a kebab on the way home? I'd probably treat him to that.

Also, why Jesus OP? Why not Danu? Or Huitzilopochtli? Or Thor? Horus perhaps? Or Hanuman? Actually, Hanuman would rock! A night out with a monkey god? Fcuk yeah!!!

Jesus now sounds like the greatest evil in the universe. A threat so awesome that peoples souls react with uncontrollable fear.

EDIT: how could anyone decide to follow Jesus if he creates such terror? People would be losing their minds due to the "fear by proximity" effect. They'd probably bend knee and declare their love to any creature to end the torture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,848 ✭✭✭✭Zombrex

My back up plan is Des (kisses left arm) and Troy (kisses right arm) ... together they Destroy!!!!

814155141_3dnYd-L.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

TheChizler wrote: »
    Lemon

/endthread

Eh hold on there a minute. Raspberry are far superior.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Either get a massive f*cking apology out of him, or let him prove my point by sending me to hell. Either way.

Yeah, but some gnarly future tech civilization would probably scare the befúcking jezus out of me anyway? Likewise anything else able to perform feats that I couldn't comfortably put down to explixitly technological means or trickery. Fear is a pretty basic human response to the unknown.

And haven't you heard, he is back, there's a guy sitting in the desert in Australia right now. How do you know that he's not the real deal? Because you're not afraid of him?

And yes, I probably would go check him out. I presume he'll be doing a mass in the Pheonix Park at some stage.

Also: human resistance ftw. Mine is the drill that will pierce the heavens.

LOL the guy in Australia cant be him he looks for donations of cash and I know from my research any true prophet of this supposed God doesn't look for money and besides Jesus owns the Vatican bank he wont need donations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭kiffer

LOL the guy in Australia cant be him he looks for donations of cash and I know from my research any true prophet of this supposed God doesn't look for money and besides Jesus owns the Vatican bank he wont need donations

this is the same Vatican that receives charitable donations on a daily basis? That would put Jesus in a higher level of taking donations compared to the aforementioned Australian.

Repent....and ask him why he watches while I masturbate.

interesting point what if he asks you to join him as he masterbates, didn't he arrive into Jerusalem on a donkey? and whats the saying? hung like a donkey? could u handle him masterbating on front of you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭kiffer

interesting point what if he asks you to join him as he masterbates, didn't he arrive into Jerusalem on a donkey? and whats the saying? hung like a donkey? could u handle him masterbating on front of you?

There's more than one way to turn water into wine... ;)

Surely the vatican bank is tainted by the sin of usury? Only dollars given freely, with love in the heart should be used to sustain his glory?

koth wrote: »
    this is the same Vatican that receives charitable donations on a daily basis? That would put Jesus in a higher level of taking donations compared to the aforementioned Australian.

well as I said earlier I think when he returns if he returns he wouldn't be too happy with the Vatican, the Vatican do indeed seek donations as too do churches globally but from my research of the gospels I don't recollect him ever instructing people to collect money in his name so I wud say if he does return he would put a quick end to their financial scams. having said that if he did return and tell them to stop collecting donations I doubt they would listen. and besides I don't blame the Vatican for collecting donations " a fooland his money are easily parted"

interesting point what if he asks you to join him as he masterbates, didn't he arrive into Jerusalem on a donkey? and whats the saying? hung like a donkey? could handle him masterbating on front of you?

Hmmmmmm......
    4 posts OP.... Did you open an account just to have a bit o'craic with the silly aul' atheists? We'll humour ye, but just in case it's a genuine question, do be warned that these threads generally don't go well.

It usually ends up with a Jaffa cake schism...

Surely the vatican bank is tainted by the sin of usury? Only dollars given freely, with love in the heart should be used to sustain his glory?

well if I were him id go straight to cheato del Vatican withdraw all me money and wipe my feet of the place although he will need to speak latin in order to be understood in that city

endacl wrote: »
    Hmmmmmm......
    4 posts OP.... Did you open an account just to have a bit o'craic with the silly aul' atheists? We'll humour ye, but just in case it's a genuine question, do be warned that these threads generally don't go well.

It usually ends up with a Jaffa cake schism...

nope I opened an account because my other account couldn't remember my password or email address used and I am doing research cos im an actor and we are putting on a stage show called " when Jesus didn't return" so im looking to get some vibes.

well if I were him id go straight to cheato del Vatican withdraw all me money and wipe my feet of the place although he will need to speak latin in order to be understood in that city
    So jesus should profit from the usury perpetrated by those who use his name for evil deeds? Doesn't sound very Christian of him.

Well..... Whatever he does would be 'Christ-ian' by definition, surely...?

Interesting from a catholic perspective. Jesus turns out to be a bit of a bollix. Jesus is god. Pope says god is good. Pope is infallible on these matters....

WTF happens to reality then?!?

"do atheists have a back up plan if God exists?"
    Which one, was my first question
    Sarky wrote: »
    Either get a massive f*cking apology out of him, or let him prove my point by sending me to hell. Either way.
    Yeah, this
    nope I opened an account because my other account couldn't remember my password
    Accounts don't remember passwords, silly account!
    and we are putting on a stage show called " when Jesus didn't return" so im looking to get some vibes.
    Eh, maybe you should be asking the theists "what if there isn't a jesus" so

he probably use the money wisely knowing him give it to the poor or something or set up a new church

endacl wrote: »
    Well..... Whatever he does would be 'Christ-ian' by definition, surely...?

Interesting from a catholic perspective. Jesus turns out to be a bit of a bollix. Jesus is god. Pope says god is good. Pope is infallible on these matters....

WTF happens to reality then?!?

well i disagree with papal infallibility and I disagree Jesus was God because he prayed to God the gospels states and god wouldn't pray to God and I don't believe everything the pope says

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭Play To Kill

he probably use the money wisely knowing him give it to the poor or something or set up a new church

Why wouldn't he just conjure up some food and feed them instead?

So it's okay to benefit from evil so long as you use those benefits to then do good? Nice slippery slope you have going there.

koth wrote: »
    Jesus now sounds like the greatest evil in the universe. A threat so awesome that peoples souls react with uncontrollable fear.

EDIT: how could anyone decide to follow Jesus if he creates such terror? People would be losing their minds due to the "fear by proximity" effect. They'd probably bend knee and declare their love to any creature to end the torture.

well from my research it would appear many towns he was meant to visit ensured he didn't because they didn't want him there causing the fear in peoples souls that he was causing in other places. think about it, imagine if the six one news on RTE states Jesus is back for his second coming and then they go to reports and get testimony from people whom have seen him, can you imagine the fear that would strike people, catholics would fear him and their supposed to be awaiting him so imagine the fear it would invoke in those whom wernt expecting him and with regards the fear he would create I don't think he could be held responsible for it because it would be a fear of God that would be created and fear of the unknown, fear of the book of revelation and apocalypse and people would probably blame him for this fear but in reality the blame if there is any blame to apportion should be placed in gods direction for fulfilling his promise and sending him back. easons and veritas would probably sell out of their bibles too and imagine when those lil oul holy trinket shops in knock heard the news and them selling unlicensed jesus memorabilia, maybe its best he doesn't return so we can all remain as we are and let a future generation experience it.

what

Why wouldn't he just conjure up some food and feed them instead?

all I can say " man cannot live on bread alone" LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭Ben Hadad

What's Gods back up plan if we don't exist I say.

My beef with religion is why in God's name would God require a subspecies of mammal to be chanting his own name??

Ben Hadad wrote: »
    What's Gods back up plan if we don't exists I say.

My beef with religion is why in God's name would God require a subspecies of mammal to be chanting his own name??

Extra prayer power

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQJ3OTJ03bwBOcAKldrQ2Wt0PFXrqMEbm_K3eFVOKKU0TH3sNrP8g

So it's okay to benefit from evil so long as you use those benefits to then do good? Nice slippery slope you have going there.

well if you were him and you owned the Vatican bank what would you do?continue as it is? tell the mafia to find somewhere else to house their money? or give it to the poor and be done with it?

This is getting silly.

Here. Sprinkle a few of these over your next post: .,,,..,,....,,,.,.,.,....,,,.

The CAPS LOCK key is over there by your little finger. The one on your left hand. No, your other left hand! There's a SHIFT key either side. Those are useful too.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,449 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

I have a friend who is atheist and when I posed this query to him it kinda spooked him as he had never given it any thought.
    Ah, fear -- religion's silent, leering partner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭Ben Hadad

If God needs us so badly it sounds like we have him over a barrel. I say we blackmail him! Threaten mass suicides when he is battling some level 9 demi-god, unless he gives in to our demands.

Gods difficulty is Ireland opportunity and all that jazz.

I'd blow it on coke and hookers, but that's because I'm an amoral heathen. I expect Jesus to have higher standards than me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,771 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Seriously, no backup plan. I'm a nice person. If I'm gonna be judged on any basis other than this, then God can fcuk right off.
    Ben Hadad wrote: »

Pfff, haven't you ever watched clash of the titans?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Aurelia Cotta

My favorite saying is what would be on an atheists headstone. "Here lies an atheist, all dressed up with nowhere to go."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Jumboman

Jesus Christ is alive and living in Australia:D