Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

froome english

• 14-07-2013 3:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭

eh no he's kenyan! you just claimed him rolleyes.png and youre welcome to him too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

English father, grand parents, and british passport.

If you follow our national soccer team they hugely benifited form the Granny rule as well.

Or is it just because he won todays stage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    English father, grand parents, and british passport.

If you follow our national soccer team they hugely benifited form the Granny rule as well.

Or is it just because he won todays stage?

he has a dutch africans accent I dont care what his passport says, hes a blow in english, just like the 'irish' football team from charltons era

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭riparooo

Nico - born in France - French mother, Irish father
    Dan - born in England - English father, Irish mother.

On our last Olympic squad nearly one third were not born in the Country they represented!

Looking at his improvement in last 3 years I expect him to be Kenyan again very soon

riparooo wrote: »
    Nico - born in France - French mother, Irish father
    Dan - born in England - English father, Irish mother.

On our last Olympic squad nearly one third were not born in the Country they represented!

nico = french [mother french]

dan = Irish [irish mother]

froome = kenyan [kenyan mother]

the mother carries a MUCH bigger % of the genetics than the father does

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭resdubwhite

He's about as English as their cricket team.

The spoils of conquest I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭at1withmyself

IM0 wrote: »
    eh no he's kenyan! you just claimed him rolleyes.png and youre welcome to him too

What exactly are you hoping for from this thread? Its been well known where he was born for some time now??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭theSHU

poolboy wrote: »
    Looking at his improvement in last 3 years I expect him to be Kenyan again very soon

:rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭theSHU

What exactly are you hoping for from this thread? Its been well known where he was born for some time now??

He wants Froome to release his long form birth certificate and his university transcripts.

theSHU wrote: »
    He wants Froome to release his long form birth certificate and his university transcripts.

On failing that. His blood profile to BIke pure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

Really? I would have thought that 50% of the regular genetic complement comes from each parent (to give ~23,300 protein encoding genes and many more non-coding regulators) with the exception of mitochondrial DNA (37 coding and non-coding genes) which is maternally heritable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

So....... Could Froome run for president of the US then?

nico = french [mother french]

dan = Irish [irish mother]

froome = kenyan [kenyan mother]

I doubt the various passport offices around the world are to concerned about that.

CheGuedara wrote: »
    Really? I would have thought that 50% of the regular genetic complement comes from each parent (to give ~23,300 protein encoding genes and many more non-coding regulators) with the exception of mitochondrial DNA (37 coding and non-coding genes) which is maternally heritable.

well when you take out the identical genes mother and father have from the remains the mother contributes a much higher proportion, and bearing in mid apes have about 90%+ DNA of humans.

basically the mothers genes are the lions share

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    I doubt the various passport offices around the world are to concerned about that.

true. so basically what youre argueing for is that national identity is a fallacy? good so we agree then :)

Can someone tell sky? they'll be upping his englishness no end in the next few months/years/century.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,036 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

The only reason he took up cycling was because he couldn't make the English cricket team (apologies to Mock the Week)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

DeValera was born in New York ...

Nationality is a complex issue.

Froome is eligible for a British passport and considers himself British so really who are we to question that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

well when you take out the identical genes mother and father have from the remains the mother contributes a much higher proportion, and bearing in mid apes have about 90%+ DNA of humans.

So. Is he a lion or an ape?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

That great Munster-man Ronan O'Gara was born in the US - he also still holds the record for the most number of Irish caps

Jamie Heaslip was born in Israel

Richardt Strauss - South Africa

Most of the Ulster contingent are her majesty's subjects as are most of our better golfers.......

He holds a British passport, he's British.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

He's as British as their Queen!

Seriously though, what a classic "Irish" thread.

No. Some people identify more with one nationality compared to another. I'm born in England, have an Irish Passport, as I identify my self, more Irish than English/British.

Granted may not always apply to various sports stars, so now we ask, when did Froome, Nico (since you argued his nationality), Martin (him as well), and say Wiggo, apply for their passports? Before or after they knew they could make it as a cyclist.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

RobFowl wrote: »
    DeValera was born in New York ...

Nationality is a complex issue.

Froome is eligible for a British passport and considers himself British so really who are we to question that.

So was Jimmy Magee. If we're to go into that much depth a lot of us are French. I have cousins in England and even their kids consider themselves Irish, play hurling etc.... It's not like Froome's claiming the nationality of a country he has no links to.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Craig06

I am from Scotland. Both parents Scottish. Have a British and Irish passport. Represented Ireland in sport at world championship level in the past but still consider myself Scottish. Work that one out.

If you have time, Peter Heather's book "Empires and Barbarians" discusses among other things, the rise of the idea of national identities and the concepts of ethnicity.

Basically, the rise of mass communication in the late 18th and early 19th century led to the creation of group identities that grew as the reach of communications grew.

Intellectuals then retrospectively created 'national identities' by 'identifying' folklore, traditions etc and codifying them into various texts. Before about 1780 people had no real concept of being Irish, English, Welsh etc - "country was county."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

That's nonsense. Or more accurately,a complete load of bollocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,741 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

It's a personal choice really once a person has dual citizenship. I've several friends born in the States to Irish parents who would say they're Irish and nothing else, yet others will say they're American.

I don't think they really care where he's actually from, once he's 'British' that's all that matters to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,064 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

What does it matter where he comes from or where his allegiances lie? It the cycling that matters.
    RobFowl wrote: »
    DeValera was born in New York ....
    ...to a Spanish/Cuban father.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,882 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

poolboy wrote: »

MOD VOICE: One warning to everyone, go near what your hinting at, and cards come out.

PM me if there is any confusion or explanation required

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭ashleey

Aren't we all African anyway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭Ole Rodrigo

Borders are mostly a result of historical violence and the self interest of a ruling minority.

http://www.truth-out.org/opinion/item/17402-who-owns-the-earth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,800 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

feck team sly anyway. the sport is now clean because of their results according to them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭alexanderomahon

He is who he is and represents who he wants to when he wants to and when it suits him. One thing fir sure is that he can ride a bike up a hill like no other human

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Who's claiming he's English exactly?

He's most certainly British as he holds a British passport.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭uphillonly

Brian? wrote: »
    Who's claiming he's English exactly?

He's most certainly British as he holds a British passport.

Are you sure?

No self respecting British /English cyclist would spin up a hill with the cadence he did today. Everyone knows you put it in the big ring and grind like Hinault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,230 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

It's difficult to know where to start with someone who doesn't understand the distinction between English and British.

If only there was some sort of "on the line" searching engine which would enable people to revise primary school-level geopolitical facts before starting idiotic threads.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Lumen wrote: »
    It's difficult to know where to start with someone who doesn't understand the distinction between English and British.

If only there was some sort of "on the line" searching engine which would enable people to revise primary school-level geopolitical facts before starting idiotic threads.

My kids are British/Irish (dual nationality) but are not English or eligible for English teams. My wife is British and could represent NI/Ireland or Scotland. I am Irish but am eligible for a British passport.
    We generally cheer for all the British and Irish Isle nations in all sports and see ourselves as more than close neighbours. My sister is Irish but eligible to repesent Scotland or England if she applies for the British passport she is eligible for.
    FWIW our ancestors have fought and died in WW1, WW2 and the Irish War of Independance and we are equally proud of them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭uphillonly

I think most Irish know the difference, the rest of the world is another matter. So many times around the world I've been asked when is Ireland going to get its independence from Britain.

Back on cycling as the other thread's been closed, I was fascinated by Froomes high cadence attacks. The norm is to flip up a gear or two and get out of the saddle. It looked he kept the same gear but increased cadence from 90 to 120.

I wonder if Sky have been doing some power testing on this and found it a less wearing way to attack, reducing the lactic build from an anaerobic effort? Did he use this in the Pyrenees?

uphillonly wrote: »
    Back on cycling as the other thread's been closed, I was fascinated by Froomes high cadence attacks. The norm is to flip up a gear or two and get out of the saddle. It looked he kept the same gear but increased cadence from 90 to 120.

I wonder if Sky have been doing some power testing on this and found it a less wearing way to attack, reducing the lactic build from an anaerobic effort? Did he use this in the Pyrenees?

I've read that high cadence uses more oxygen (less efficient) but recruits fewer fast-twitch muscles (more efficient). No idea how that balances out. I imagine it works well if you have few fast twitch muscle fibres and/or very good blood. Lance claimed at one point that his success was cadence related. :D

It's possible that the reason other climbers don't ride like that is something awfully scientific like "it looks gimpy and other riders will laugh at me".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

The most pointless and inane thread in a long time

Arent we all europeans anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭MrCreosote

Are you sure?

No self respecting British /English cyclist would spin up a hill with the cadence he did today. Everyone knows you put it in the big ring and grind like Hinault.

I think you'll find it's far easier to keep a stiff upper lip at cadences over 90.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭ashleey

I think most Irish know the difference, the rest of the world is another matter. So many times around the world I've been asked when is Ireland going to get its independence from Britain.

It looked like they were all in the lowest gear even froome. No one could pedal as fast as him. Time for some camera work and Sean Kelly expertise on analysing exactly what gear ratios were being used and what cadence each could manage. They touched on it but not enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Up the 'RA.

Some people will never accept him being English / British until he's seen racing in this kit, shouting "Tally-ho" as he goes on the attack.....

6805519519_049fd2af04_z.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭nak

Not in my experience, constantly hear Irish people refer to Britain as England. I am Scottish and people at work used to ask when I was going home to England to visit my family, or ask "do you have this in England?" etc. Very annoying.

I have American and British passports, born in US, moved to Scotland for school, lived in Ireland 7 years, see myself as Scottish. Have family members and school friends who were born/grew up in Africa, but identify themselves as British, probably more due to living in ex-pat communities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

The whole situation presents team Sky with quite the quandary actually. Can't see Wiggin's and Froome existing on the same team after this, so who do Sky keep. The house hold name and beloved sportsperson of the year Sir Wiggin's or the slightly unknown guy with the funny accent who is likely to win the Tour for the next number of years? Hmmm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭mr potato head

Or even a video and they wouldn't need to read...
    The Difference between the United Kingdom, Great Britain and England Explained

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,817 ✭✭✭corny

happytramp wrote: »
    The whole situation presents team Sky with quite the quandary actually. Can't see Wiggin's and Froome existing on the same team after this, so who do Sky keep. The house hold name and beloved sportsperson of the year Sir Wiggin's or the slightly unknown guy with the funny accent who is likely to win the Tour for the next number of years? Hmmm.

Its not really a conundrum. You pick the guy who's going to win the tour for the next 5 years.

Froome has years left in him. Wiggins is already accepting retirement.

nak wrote: »
    Not in my experience, constantly hear Irish people refer to Britain as England. I am Scottish and people at work used to ask when I was going home to England to visit my family, or ask "do you have this in England?" etc. Very annoying.

Maybe you need to cultivate a stronger accent.