Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unusual encounters with people!

• 13-07-2013 9:53pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 66 ✭✭

Have you had any unusual encounters with people you know?

Well I have actually had a few in a department store in Cork city.

I am a 20 year old lad and on the run up to Christmas I was getting some presents and I was in the grocery section. A man in his late 50's came up to me and he looked and said Hi! I said hi back being friendly. Then he asked me how I was. I said good and yourself? He replied he was good. He asked me waa there many in my family and about what I was doing in college.
    Then the conversation went this way:
    Him: Do you know any gay people?
    Me: I said a few from college and school.
    Him: He asked me what were they doing in college?
    Me: I said Arts, Tourism/Hospitality and Medicine.
    Him: He then said that male hotel workers were generally gay and that he knew lots of them from around the city and he mentioned a few hotels. doctors shouldn't be gay when there working with straight men.
    Me: I said that I worked in a hotel and that there was a few gay guys working there and that I saw no problem with a doctor being gay.
    At the time the man put his hand on my back!
    Him: He asked me was I nervous.
    Me: NO.
    Him: He asked me was I gay?
    Me: No.
    Him:He then asked did I have a problem with gay men?
    Me: I said No and that as long as people are not hurting anyone then there
    no problem.
    He: He then went on a big rant about how the country was gone to gay and that you could never have being so gay in his day and that you could never be like that when he was young.
    Me: I just said times have changed for the better.
    Him: He then asked me was I gay again.
    Me: I said No.
    Him: He then said it was okay to be gay..
    Me: I said I know but I'm not.
    Him: He then said would I go for a meal with him or a coffee?
    Me: I said I had to catch my bus.
    Him: He said that we might see each other again another day because he said he's seen me around.
    Me: I said bye and it was nice talking to him.

Another time I was in the same shop:
    A lady in her 50's dressed in a a long coat with with a bell and rang it over my head and said I was the devil and that I was going to hell because I had curly hair.

Have ye had any other similar experience?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,214 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

No

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

LSD is a strong drug.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Haha you look gay, even I don't look gay :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,126 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Aidric wrote: »
    LSD is a strong drug.

At least it's an acronym

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Technoprisoner

do you often get chatted up by old gay men when you go to the shops?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 66 ✭✭corklad12

do you often get chatted up by old gay men when you go to the shops?

No, it's the first time that has ever happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭Pensivepuca

Was out celebrating the end of a course with fellow class mates. I was sitting beside one of the fellas having a laugh, a stranger dandered over in a suit, my friend went 'your looking suited and booted, fancy sitting here?'. He did and I asked 'you at a christening or something earlier to day?'. He had already had a few drinks and said 'sure hardly. Ye wanna know? Twas at court today'. We assumed traffic charges. 'no no, attempted murder. Found the guy riding my girl and took a fork and shoved it up his arse'. *cue all atmosphere leaving the table while he looked ill*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭Mick Murdock

You engaged with this man for all that time?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Was out celebrating the end of a course with fellow class mates. I was sitting beside one of the fellas having a laugh, a stranger dandered over in a suit, my friend went 'your looking suited and booted, fancy sitting here?'. He did and I asked 'you at a christening or something earlier to day?'. He had already had a few drinks and said 'sure hardly. Ye wanna know? Twas at court today'. We assumed traffic charges. 'no no, attempted murder. Found the guy riding my girl and took a fork and shoved it up his arse'. *cue all atmosphere leaving the table while he looked ill*

Your use of English excites me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Fancy a bum?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

I'd find a new a new place to do the grocery shopping if I were you

You engaged with this man for all that time?

I know but he kind of just got me talking and I felt it would be rude to walk away from him. The conversation lasted about 45 minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

I hate everyone.

Therefore, every encounter I have with every other human makes me die a little inside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Ace Attorney

corklad12 wrote: »
    I know but he kind of just got me talking and I felt it would be rude to walk away from him. The conversation lasted about 45 minutes.

Dafuq were you doing for 45 mins? If you were bothered by him you would have been out of there a bit sooner then 45 mins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

That'd make me uncomfortable, it'd just give short answers till he got the point or I'd just walk away from him. If he's being a creep and hitting on you what do you care if you're being rude?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

Have you had any unusual encounters with people you know?

Well I have actually had a few in a department store in Cork city.

I am a 20 year old lad and on the run up to Christmas I was getting some presents and I was in the grocery section. A man in his late 50's came up to me and he looked and said Hi! I said hi back being friendly. Then he asked me how I was. I said good and yourself? He replied he was good. He asked me waa there many in my family and about what I was doing in college.
    Then the conversation went this way:
    Him: Do you know any gay people?
    Me: I said a few from college and school.
    Him: He asked me what were they doing in college?
    Me: I said Arts, Tourism/Hospitality and Medicine.
    Him: He then said that male hotel workers were generally gay and that he knew lots of them from around the city and he mentioned a few hotels. doctors shouldn't be gay when there working with straight men.
    Me: I said that I worked in a hotel and that there was a few gay guys working there and that I saw no problem with a doctor being gay.
    At the time the man put his hand on my back!
    Him: He asked me was I nervous.
    Me: NO.
    Him: He asked me was I gay?
    Me: No.
    Him:He then asked did I have a problem with gay men?
    Me: I said No and that as long as people are not hurting anyone then there
    no problem.
    He: He then went on a big rant about how the country was gone to gay and that you could never have being so gay in his day and that you could never be like that when he was young.
    Me: I just said times have changed for the better.
    Him: He then asked me was I gay again.
    Me: I said No.
    Him: He then said it was okay to be gay..
    Me: I said I know but I'm not.
    Him: He then said would I go for a meal with him or a coffee?
    Me: I said I had to catch my bus.
    Him: He said that we might see each other again another day because he said he's seen me around.
    Me: I said bye and it was nice talking to him.

Another time I was in the same shop:
    A lady in her 50's dressed in a a long coat with with a bell and rang it over my head and said I was the devil and that I was going to hell because I had curly hair.

Have ye had any other similar experience?
    What shop is it?

I attract all the nuts. On one of the earlier sunny days in March I was eating my lunch on the benches in the city centre. Suddenly this old woman appears and summons the pigeons like a older and wrinkled version of the wicked witch, minus the flying monkeys. She started feeding them seeds, so I just met the crazy pigeon lady. I thought harmless, and she sat beside me throwing them seed as they cooed and pecked. She started talking, introduced herself as Margret. 'There pigeons are my babies, they know I am here every day at 1pm, if no one looks after the pigeons then who else will? I dont have many friends, at this age they all die. The birds are my friends'. Then it was about an hr hearing about her life, but I highly think she was unstable. After she left, watching the reflection of her in the pigeons eyes, I thought its sad that the only company she has is birds who **** on her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭jprboy

.....on the run up to Christmas I was getting some presents and I was in the grocery section.......

Interesting, I'm really curious to know what you got......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Kitchen fork or garden fork ?

OP , threads got potential...... gay people, Cork people , Christmas and crazy old lady's.

Was it this guy?

Dafuq were you doing for 45 mins? If you were bothered by him you would have been out of there a bit sooner then 45 mins

Well for the first five minutes or so it was general chit chat and I did keep my answers short. He just asked loads more questions that I mentioned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

I was having a shower on cell block 5s shower unit once and dropped the soap - you'll never guess what happened when I went to pick it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I hate everyone.

Therefore, every encounter I have with every other human makes me die a little inside.

Cat meme inserted.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭crazy cabbage

You want a strange encounter. Well then here ya go

strangest encounter that i have ever had was in galway. Went on a 1am walk down to salt hill. as ya do. been down there loads of time this late. Is really really nice if it is cloudless. view is fantastic. took the right at the crossroads away from the city, down some very quite dark path. Much better view of the stars. Less light polutions and it was a very clear night. It was really really nice out.
    Anyway i was just standing there and i notice this guy walking towards me out of the coner of my eye. I just stayed standing there thinking that he would just walk by.
    needless to say he stops behind me. I had no idea what to think so naturally i turn around and say hello and introduce myself! so his name is Sammy and we end up walking together but not really talking about anything. I didn't think anything of it. random conversation with random stranger. next thing i know we are passing one of them benches and he asks me if i want to sit down. he seemed fairly chill and i thought it would turn into some deep philosophical conversation or something....
    so there we are looking up at the stars and ****. or at least i was. next thing i know i feel his hand running through my hair and him saying that 'you know, you have gorgeous hair'. I thought that that was weird but and start thinking that we need to start this philosophical talk back on track if it is going to happen.
    Next thing i know he is leaning for the shift.... WTF??? I just say no.
    He then he says and i quote word for word, 'Can i suck your cock'. I am like nnnnoooo. In fairness he is deeply apologetic and offers to leave but i say he can stay if he wants. I wasn't going to make him leave or anything and he was fairly chill.
    We go back to looking at the stars. my mind is kinda reeling but i get over myself and enjoy the view and all the ****.
    Then Sammy says that he is gay. 'clearly' i think but then he goes on to talk about never having a boyfriend. Next 10 mins is all relationship talk and advice and ****. that we go silent again and go back to looking at the stars.
    Then i feel a hand sliding down my back and telling me how beautiful i am. Again i have to flat out tell him no. He wasn't from Ireland and his English wasn't great. He sits up and says that he wants to suck cock tonight and that he was going to leave. His actual goal for the night was to go for a walk in salt hill and suck some guy off.... Before he leaves though he puts his hand on my leg and says yea or na'. i clearly say na and he leaves
    I say sitting down for anther 5 mins or that and then start walking home.
    Guess who i see on his knees sucking some lad off not 200 meters away. What the actual ****???

btw i am 20 and he was around 45ish

That is defiantly the weirdest encounter i have ever had. I suppose that everyone was happy out in the end. I got my midnight stroll, Sammy got to suck some lad off, and some random lad got a blowjob.

Everyone is a winner...... i think

Augmerson wrote: »
    Your use of English excites me.

Don't get too excited, it is not exactly taught well in Derry considering we spewed Nadie from here :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Ace Attorney

Well for the first five minutes or so it was general chit chat and I did keep my answers short. He just asked loads more questions that I mentioned.

Still you could have just chose not answer his questions and walk away if you wanted to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Did some work in a psychiatric hospital a few years ago and walked into a courtyard with patients in it.
    In the corner was a 90 year old patient doubled over with his pants around his ankles,ramming two fingers in and out of his arse.
    He was really driving them home.
    Nobody even batted an eyelid.

EoghanIRL wrote: »
    What shop is it?

It's a shop located in the city center. It has a grocery, home-ware's and ladies, mens and children's clothing departments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

mattjack wrote: »
    Kitchen fork or garden fork ?

OP , threads got potential...... gay people, Cork people , Christmas and crazy old lady's.

Ah here, Christmas thread in July...leave it out.

You want a strange encounter. Well then here ya go...<snip>

You went for a walk at 1am on your own in one of the most known gay cruising spots in Ireland. What were you expecting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

He never asked you if you'd seen a grown man naked?

I once met a lad dressed as a medieval jester in a pub in Prague who pulled out a deck of cards and asked me to name a card. I said 7h and he turns over the top card which was indeed the 7h?

How the f*ck he did that I will never know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭crazy cabbage

MadsL wrote: »
    You went for a walk at 1am on your own in one of the most known gay cruising spots in Ireland. What were you expecting?

Well i know that now.....

MadsL wrote: »
    I once met a lad dressed as a medieval jester in a pub in Prague who pulled out a deck of cards and asked me to name a card. I said 7h and he turns over the top card which was indeed the 7h?

How the f*ck he did that I will never know?

..and what happened next?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭apollo8

OneArt wrote: »

Think that one went woooosh like an aeroplane over peoples heads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

OneArt wrote: »

or been in a Turkish prison ?

apollo8 wrote: »
    Think that one went woooosh like an aeroplane over peoples heads

Airplane! Like an Airplane!

I actually just remembered I was in the same shop a few months ago and I was at the counter at a woman asked me the time. I told her as she asked to try on my watch I said okay. Then when she got to the counter she asked the woman at the till could she try on her rings and necklace. I thought she was a bit strange asking to try on peoples watches/rings but she was very friendly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

It's a shop located in the city center. It has a grocery, home-ware's and ladies, mens and children's clothing departments.

Hmm I'll never guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,089 ✭✭✭keelanj69

Years ago on the day of my LC results I was walking around town looking for lunch when this woman crossed the road. Totally gone in the head. Held my hand, called me her son then changed it that I was her ex husband who tried to kill her. Asked about all the relations and everything. Cross eyed and spitty aswel. She got me in a doctors waiting room one day too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

jprboy wrote: »
    Interesting, I'm really curious to know what you got......

I was JUST wondering the same thing ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

This is a thinly veiled thread about how to effectively pull gay oul fellas, isn't it?

Was he actually gay tough or was he just a friendly old man?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

I'm just seeking clarification here. I don't tend to have unusual encounters with oul lads who want to suck me off. Then again, I don't tend to spend 45 minutes chatting to creepy people or letting people goose me on benches at night in known cruising areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭policarp

Happens nearly every night in our local boozer. . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

Reading the OP and the was an Advertisement underneath it saying " Gay men at your fingertips" made me lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭IceFjoem

I say sitting down for anther 5 mins or...

Taking down the tent?...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭ivytwine

I actually just remembered I was in the same shop a few months ago and I was at the counter at a woman asked me the time. I told her as she asked to try on my watch I said okay. Then when she got to the counter she asked the woman at the till could she try on her rings and necklace. I thought she was a bit strange asking to try on peoples watches/rings but she was very friendly.

I was on a bus down to Tralee last year with a friend and a old woman across the aisle grabbed my wrist and started asking me about my bracelet, how did it tie, and she had one like it, would I tie it for her?

I did so. I wasn't really sure what else I could have done...

Nimrod 7 wrote: »
    I'd find a new a new place to do the grocery shopping if I were you

I actually don't go there that often!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

No. I only have the usual encounters with people I don't know :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Vicar in a tutu

I was coming home from my boyfriends once when a man sat behind me and proceeded to talk for the whole journey, He asked did I ever see people swimming naked on the beach, Did I ever take drugs or did any of my friends? he then stared at a man until the man offered him some of his crisps, Then he started to rant about gay people and asked did I ever meet a gay person:confused: Most stressful journey of my life, He kept reminding me how many kilometres was left in the journey as well:mad: