Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish guys shouting ******s to Foreigners. Jealousy?

• 13-07-2013 6:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13

Alright lads! I was in town today and there were couple of Irish guys in the car shouted "f aggot" while passing by to a foreigner walking in town. I kinda start noticing this a lot lately since this time of season we've got loads of foreigners on holidays in this country. Is this the right way to welcome them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Alright lads! I was in town today and there were couple of Irish guys in the car shouted "f aggot" while passing by to a foreigner walking in town. I kinda start noticing this a lot lately since this time of season we've got loads of foreigners on holidays in this country. Is this the right way to welcome them?

Not really, no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Welcome to Ireland you ****** would be more appropriate I would think!!

Youngsters these days have no manners!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭theSHU

Yes. Maybe we can have a poll??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭Mick Murdock

Not sure it's reserved for foreigners only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

I get all sorts of insults and projectiles thrown at me in "town" and I'm as Irish as Manchester United!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

It's a good job there's only one town in Ireland or we wouldn't know where you were talking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,089 ✭✭✭keelanj69

Chucken wrote: »
    Not really, no.

I heard it was customary in China to shout fággot at eachother. Boy is my face red!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

keelanj69 wrote: »
    I heard it was customary in China to shout fággot at eachother. Boy is my face red!!

...that'd be all the slaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭irritablebaz

ignorance is everywhere, i have noticed more and more little mobs of cocky lads hanging around recently. maybe the guards need a few foot patrols to move these types on.

Nodin wrote: »

...or sunburn?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

People who shout that at others are projecting.
    They're so far back in the closet they're finding flares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Dickheads are equal oppertunity folk, they shout fag or gay at anyone from a car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Are they shouting it at the ones who are built like human tanks?
    If so, yes..pure jealousy.

It not, pure dickheadery. Actually in both cases it's pure dickheadery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

People who shout that at others are projecting.
    They're so far back in the closet they're finding flares.

Or just thugs. Coming back to Dublin after 5 years the place is clearly more hostile. We can't continue like this. Sometime there will be a scathing review in Lonely Planet if the writer faces this abuse and that will harm the industry. Then we will do something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Or just thugs. Coming back to Dublin after 5 years the place is clearly more hostile. We can't continue like this. Sometime there will be a scathing review in Lonely Planet if the writer faces this abuse and that will harm the industry. Then we will do something.
    :eek: Not. . you don't mean . . . Lonely Planet??!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

No we won't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Maybe I'm lucky, or completely self absorbed, but all this supposed increase in shìtebaggery in Dublin seems to have passed me by.

There's no more shítebags now than there was in 2008. Still plenty though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Super Poppa Smurf

SV wrote: »
    Are they shouting it at the ones who are built like human tanks?
    If so, yes..pure jealousy.

It not, pure dickheadery. Actually in both cases it's pure dickheadery.

The guy is very well built, tanned and tall like model looking. To be honest kinda jealous with his looks. :pac:

What did he expect, so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Super Poppa Smurf

kneemos wrote: »
    It's a good job there's only one town in Ireland or we wouldn't know where you were talking about.

Naas town and same story in City Centre the other day.

:eek: Not. . you don't mean . . . Lonely Planet??!!

Yes, and don't sneer like an idiot. Trust me a review saying Ireland is hostile, homophobic, or racist or had those elements in its underclass will massively affect one of our major industries.

What did he expect, so?

To be able to walk around in peace?

Oh right. Now I understand.

It's possible I didn't notice it 5 years ago. And coming back I haven't been acclimatized.

Oh right. Now I understand.

Good man here's a gold star. **

Yes, and don't sneer like an idiot. Trust me a review saying Ireland is hostile, homophobic, or racist or had those elements in its underclass will massively affect one of our major industries.

If every country was judged by the same standards (the behaviour of the local yobs) the Lonely Planet guide would make dismal reading.

Have seldom met anybody that has visited Ireland and didn't enjoy themselves.

I think you are overreacting a little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Who the hell reads Lonely Planet?

It's possible I didn't notice it 5 years ago. And coming back I haven't been acclimatized.

*Totally off Topic*
    Just got your username...very good :D

Carry on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Is this the right way to welcome them?
    Absolutely. Let them soak up our lovely culture. Having a stranger shout "faggot" at you, so they can laugh at your expression, is a fine Dublin tradition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Unfortunately there is a 'village idiot' mentality in Ireland that means you can be on the receiving end of hostility or disparaging comments from anyone from street yobbos to haughty hipsters to pretentious douches who think they're 'Middle Class' who dislike your face or the shape of your head or dress sense.

A lot of it stems from the smallness of the country ( only one major urban centre ) and lack of diversity of the populace, this Village Idiot mentality afflicts Dublin too. There's a generalized paranoia and urban myth that one can sense a 'knacker' or social undesirable at twenty paces. ( again the smallness )

This phenomena doesn't really exist in such an irritating and all pervasive way in bigger countries with diverse populations, and it's evident in the personalities of people who come from the UK, France or Germany etc.

*Totally off Topic*
    Just got your username...very good :D

Carry on.

Thanks. I haven't worked out how to change the text below to "I don't give a damn" yet.

dd972 wrote: »
    Unfortunately there is a 'village idiot' mentality in Ireland that means you can be on the receiving end of hostility or disparaging comments from anyone from street yobbos to haughty hipsters to pretentious douches who think they're 'Middle Class' who dislike your face or the shape of your head or dress sense.

A lot of it stems from the smallness of the country ( only one major urban centre ) and lack of diversity of the populace, this Village Idiot mentality afflicts Dublin too. There's a generalized paranoia and urban myth that one can sense a 'knacker' or social undesirable at twenty paces. ( again the smallness )

This phenomena doesn't really exist in such an irritating and all pervasive way in bigger countries with diverse populations, and it's evident in the personalities of people who come from the UK, France or Germany etc.

I get your general point, but I personally have never been insulted by hipsters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,158 ✭✭✭Arawn

Maybe they were asking in hope of a shag?? just going about it the wrong way the poor tykes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Is this the right way to welcome them?

Great question, OP. Great question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

dd972 wrote: »

The phenomena is that you can generally gauge how staunchly uncultured or not particularly learned / accepting a person is by their dress 'sense' here. And they are so ten a cent now and I watched this phenomena grow, from its inception and I was that same kid for a time because how could you not be tbh. is so endemic over two decades but i quickly addressed it because its fcuking genocide of ones own people, from the people man - culturciiiiiide..... is indeed the appropriate (and recently plagiarized) buzzword. We don't nearly know democracy here, too many squeaky bums

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

theSHU wrote: »
    Yes. Maybe we can have a poll??

You'd better make it fast before the last of them leave

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

keelanj69 wrote: »
    Nodin wrote: »
    ...or sunburn?

Or Communism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

Like i need some fcuking ned on wheels leaning out calling 'chino wanker' when I'm just trying to be a guy and discreetly get to the shop and back

this is why it has gone beyond, if you're not supporting some sweatshop you are a weirdo this is why this scummy washed up byproduct of globalization must go and not be embraced as the fabric of society... right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

It's not just foreigners you get these fools shouting at, was going to get a dvd the other day and this idiot who looked about 17 was standing at the door, as I was trying to pass I got the usual "whereya tink yer fookin goin".

I'm not a violent person but pups like that with a hardman attitude make my blood boil and it was tempting to give him the elbow to the side of his jaw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭camel jockey

Like i need some fcuking ned on wheels leaning out calling 'chino wanker' when I'm just trying to be a guy and discreetly get to the shop and back

this is why it has gone beyond, if you're not supporting some sweatshop you are a weirdo this is why this scummy washed up byproduct of globalization must go and not be embraced as the fabric of society... right.

You wear chinos?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

It's not just foreigners you get these fools shouting at, was going to get a dvd the other day and this idiot who looked about 17 was standing at the door, as I was trying to pass I got the usual "whereya tink yer fookin goin".

I'm not a violent person but pups like that with a hardman attitude make my blood boil and it was tempting to give him the elbow to the side of his jaw.

Going to get a DVD?!?

The young chap was clearly querying your decision not to avail of On Demand technology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

In the town where I'm living in there's a mixture of local scumbags and travellers, rough fcukers, they get into a gang mode and beat the victim to the ground and kick their head in, the reason is often non existent. The Gardai are cut to the bone, to the extent that only one female garda was on duty last Saturday night. July 6th.

This is a town of 4,000 people. Policing should be a priority, the last service we should cut are the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

So what did you actually do, Mark from Peepshow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,214 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

Kold wrote: »
    So what did you actually do, Mark from Peepshow?

I hit the "ignore" button in my head.

smcgiff wrote: »
    Going to get a DVD?!?

The young chap was clearly querying your decision not to avail of On Demand technology.

Yeah I'm old skool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭stretchdoe

Maybe they just wanted the big ham to know that they're all 25 today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭Colash

People tell me I look foreign . As in polish or Latvian or something , and I'm as irish as a packet of tayto crisps!! And I've noticed that in cities like Galway or Dub I get alot of strange looks from irish people . Never got any abuse or shouting from people though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭Ole Rodrigo

Colash wrote: »
    People tell me I look foreign . As in polish or Latvian or something , and I'm as irish as a packet of tayto crisps!! And I've noticed that in cities like Galway or Dub I get alot of strange looks from irish people . Never got any abuse or shouting from people though

I'm the same. And I've never experienced ( nor heard about ) the whole ' funny look ' thing as much as in Ireland. I think it sort of ties in the previous posters comments of the village idiot. Even in the city there is a village mentality, you get the impression at times we're just not wired to mind our own business. Not that theres anything wrong with it as such - I'm sure the tourists regard it as a curiosity and probably contributes to our warm and personable reputation. Riding my bike along a road frequented by knacker-mouths the other day, some chap rolled his window down and called me a p***k for no discernible reason. It would be great if some folks kept their comments to themselves though. Maybe we should be grateful its not assault.