Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Judge deferrs sentencing so burglar can celebrate birthday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭**Vai**

He's a 35 year old burglar. 25 would just be ridiculous.

Go Judge Birthday!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Coffey, who has 80 previous convictions for burglary, pointed out that his birthday would be on October 28th, Judge Ring asked whether it would be better for him to be sentenced before or after.

Just wow.

A judge has deferred sentencing a 35 year old burglar with 80 previous convictions until after he celebrates his birthday in October!!!!

JH Christ!

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/judge-delays-sentencing-until-after-burglars-birthday-600309.html

i give up on this countries bleeding Judicial system.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

If he was turning 21, I'd understand, but 35.

I know someone who had a case adjourned because he was going to Canada for a while. His solicitor said that if he was found guilty he wouldn't be able to go so the judge agreed to put the case back a few months. Brilliant stuff.

I don't really get the issue anyway, he would probably be out before his birthday if sentenced now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭JimsAlterEgo

Further proof they live in another world out of touch with reality

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

No defending this really, ridiculous

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

That should be some party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

How do you get to be a judge here? Collect 10 crisp packets or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Shocking:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

Might as well wait until after he's celebrated Christmas. Season of goodwill and all that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Anyone wrote: »
    That should be some party.

Just don't go out that night or he could be having it in your house!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Yet again proof that the judiciary in this country do not live on the same planet as the rest of us. Odds on seeing this guy in court again soon and they report that he burgled a house while he was on this "continuing bail" ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I would have more faith in Judge from Wanderly Wagon than some of these clowns

bumper234 wrote: »
    Yet again proof that the judiciary in this country do not live on the same planet as the rest of us. Odds on seeing this guy in court again soon and they report that he burgled a house while he was on this "continuing bail" ?

oh the karma if it were the Judges own home...

Jake1 wrote: »
    oh the karma if it were the Judges own home...

Yeah ****ing armed response swat teams would swoop in and 60 detectives put on the case.

are the judges in this country in some sort of verbal agreement with the department of justice not to send people to prison because of overcrowding or something?

and why is the judiciary allowing another system of justice overrule the written law? this "rehabilitation" of criminals outside the justice system shouldn't be a get out clause for crimes going unpunished

they should give up their positions and become social workers if they care about the well being of criminals so much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

article wrote:
    so Judge Ring remanded him on continuing bail until sentence on Halloween.

Will he miss the trick or treating then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I can only imagine how insulted the victims of the burglary must have felt if they were in court to witness that. Absolutely mind numbingly bad decision on the Judges part. Is losing ones liberty and thus missing out on things like birthday parties, not supposed to be a punishment for comitting a criminal offence these days:confused:

imagine how his future victims will feel!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Isn't it obvious why the judge did this? If the criminal celebrated his birthday in prison someone would have brought him a birthday cake with a file in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭thetl

Do these judges not realise or care about the pure misery that a scumbag like this inflicts on innocent people, who's lives or often left in pieces after being victims of his crimes. 80 previous convictions at 35 years of age not a reason in this world that he should be allowed walk free amongst decent people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Maybe he'll go out and get pissed for his birthday and end up back in front of the judge on a drunk and disorderly charge :pac:

Or an assault charge, or a murder charge!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

Jeez maybe he will get him a gift as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Go, go, go, go go, go, go, shawty
    It's your birthday
    We gon' party like it's yo birthday
    We gon' rob those gaffs like it's your birthday
    And you know we don't give a fuck
    It's not your birthday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Judge Ring asked whether it would be better for him to be sentenced before or after.

I suppose, as a birthday present, he'll ask him if he'd rather spend his sentence in a 5 star hotel. ffs.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I can only imagine how insulted the victims of the burglary must have felt if they were in court to witness that.
    Indeed and if they caused a ruckus over what is clearly utterly daft guff from a so called judge I wouldn't be surprised if they got contempt of court for it.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭jugger0

**** me the judge and the scumbag should both be shot by firing squad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Wattle wrote: »
    Might as well wait until after he's celebrated Christmas. Season of goodwill and all that.

Yeah, but you can't keep him locked in for New Year's either........then Paddy's Day is just around the corner......can't lock him up then as Easter is just a few weeks after that......and what if we have another decent summer next year, sure he'll miss the drinking sessions in the field don't ya know, better to sentence him in September 2014 so........ oh, wait, ya can't do that, sure his birthday is just after that.....then Christmas ..........etc etc etc. :mad:
    thetl wrote: »
    Do these judges not realise or care about the pure misery that a scumbag like this inflicts on innocent people, who's lives or often left in pieces after being victims of his crimes. 80 previous convictions at 35 years of age not a reason in this world that he should be allowed walk free amongst decent people.

Remember, that's 80 times where he has been caught, charged and taken to court, he's probably committed several hundred crimes. There are few things worse than having your gaff broken into, happened to us once, only when we moved 8 months later did we feel anyways comfortable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

To be honest, I enjoy these daft judges. Each one of these stories makes it harder for the usual bunch to defend a clearly out of touch judiciary. The dafter the judges the quicker the reform will come.

Red Kev wrote: »

Remember, that's 80 times where he has been caught, charged and taken to court, he's probably committed several hundred crimes.

Anyone care to do a quick tot on that accumulated legal aid bill?

mikom wrote: »
    Anyone care to do a quick tot on that accumulated legal aid bill?

He was probably only in court about a dozen times though, they like to roll charges together for the concurrent sentences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

what a joke. I read in this mornings Metro that a woman stabbed another woman 3 times with a box cutter and got a suspended sentence. think it was Judge Nolan

So in the unlikely event that the guards do something about the scum in this country, the judges will let them go with a badge of honour. Better check my road tax is paid

He was probably only in court about a dozen times though, they like to roll charges together for the concurrent sentences.

Easier to avoid court dates clashing with birthday parties I guess.

mikom wrote: »
    Easier to avoid court dates clashing with birthday parties I guess.

What are the odds?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

At a max of €110 per appearance by his solicitor and lets guess an average of four appearances per offence (being generous and erring on the side of caution), is 110x4x80 = €35200.

He probably first saw a courtroom when he was 18, so it only works out at about €2200 per year. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Part troll

Brutal,
    i'm sure he will burgle himself a nice few birthday presents, between now and the time he heads in to the slammer...

crime does pay, or more precisely, courts don't matter.....

80 previous convictions.....For F#ck sake!

:mad:

Chucken wrote: »
    Judge Ring asked whether it would be better for him to be sentenced before or after.

I suppose, as a birthday present, he'll ask him if he'd rather spend his sentence in a 5 star hotel. ffs.

Some "prisons" are already like that ffs tv, dvd, play stations and don't forget the ****in MENU!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

A judge has deferred sentencing a 35 year old burglar with 80 previous convictions until after he celebrates his birthday in October!!!!

Nice to see that the victims of crime in this country continue to remain irrelevant.

Such a shame those Judges dont walk out the front door of the Courts after their days work.

They should have to do the walk of shame while we all slow clap as they slink out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

What? WHAT? What the **** is wrong with our system? **** his birthday he'll have another one every other year. He'll just be drinking and joking about the stupid judge.

Soft judges.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭daddyorchips

Some "prisons" are already like that ffs tv, dvd, play stations and don't forget the ****in MENU!

I was talking to a cousin of mine who just finished four years, he told me you have to pay something like 100 euro for a ps2 and stuff in the prison shop is really expensive and if you want anything other than prison food you pay for it, dont know how truthful that is though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭leewarden

If he was turning 21, I'd understand, but 35.

Inexcusable any age.
    If you do wrong there are consequences for you.
    What happened to that?

I was talking to a cousin of mine who just finished four years, he told me you have to pay something like 100 euro for a ps2 and stuff in the prison shop is really expensive and if you want anything other than prison food you pay for it, dont know how truthful that is though

Awwww how did he ever get by? ***** shod do 23 hours in a cell with 5 other scumbags and get fed the **** that most people would throw away. It's ****ing prison for gods sake they are there to be punished not ****ing babysat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭daddyorchips

Awwww how did he ever get by? ***** shod do 23 hours in a cell with 5 other scumbags and get fed the **** that most people would throw away. It's ****ing prison for gods sake they are there to be punished not ****ing babysat

weeel that's not completely true is it ? Whilst your in prison you are in care of the Irish prison service which would be similar to being babysat, and I never said I agree with it I was adding my two cents

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭leewarden

Totally agree with you mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭Dostoevsky

How do you get to be a judge here? Collect 10 crisp packets or something?

Or just join the correct party when you're in UCD (almost 80% of judges in this state had been members of the Kevin Barry Cumann of Fianna Fáil in UCD)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Nasty person of a judge !!!