Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LUAS: A Tale of Two Trams. RTÉ 1, Tuesday, 09 July 2013. 9.35pm

• 09-07-2013 8:34pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭

Since its launch in 2004, the LUAS has become a moving landmark of Dublin. A Tale Of Two Trams goes behind the scenes of Dublin's light rail LUAS system, to tell the stories of some of the 80,000 passengers and the staff who support them: from the good, the bad to the anti-social behaviour and fare evaders......
    http://www.rte.ie/tv/programmes/luas.html

This looks interesting.

From a couple of previews I heard on radio, it is as much a focus on the perceived social differences between the two tram lines than the operation of the Luas itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Seems counter productive giving junkies free travel passes for the Luas and then employing security to take the very same chaps off it :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭technocrat

75% off all recorded Luas crime occurs on the red line... Shocking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭Sideshow Mark

How much did Luas & Dundrum Town Centre pay to have this advertisement on for an hour?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

They really are emphasising the differences between the social status of passengers on both lines.

Almost to the point that this is the motive of the whole programme.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

God this is awful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

technocrat wrote: »
    75% off all recorded Luas crime occurs on the red line... Shocking!

Is it really shocking? Expected more than anything else

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Not a patch on the UK Transport programmes

Has it started again from the beginning ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

"Me das name is eh..eh...eh... Pat Kenny"

He'll grow up to be a bright one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Pat Kenny's son fare-dodging there. And after all the license money that goes to Kenny!

M

Looks like there will be lots of fun when the Luas lines link up and the passengers mix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 BC1987

All the people they interview on the Green Line, and then the Red Line, a Junkie!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭Pentecost

Chinpool wrote: »
    "Me das name is eh..eh...eh... Pat Kenny"

He'll grow up to be a bright one

She fell for it tbf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

Ticket inspector 'name of a parent or guardian. What's your mothers or fathers name'
    Young lad with no ticket 'me da, eh, eh, eh, pat Kenny'

Looks like there will be lots of fun when the Luas lines link up and the passengers mix.

It will be even more fun when the Green Line gets to Broombridge !

M

Liveline will be fun tomorrow with callers living along the Red Line :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Jesus christ. Couldnt they have filmed during any other concert

Yer one is making the most of her 15 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Laneyh

Liveline will be fun tomorrow with callers living along the Red Line :D

It'll just be an extension of the programme really people complaining about junkies, scumbags and foreigners - business as usual

The One Direction fans must have got a taxi from the Green Line at Stephens Green to Abbey St to get the Red Line to the Point. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,059 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

The abuse the foreigner workers take is unbelievable in this day and age. Very low and scummy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Red line passenger here, this show is a bloody joke!
    They have interviewed no-one but a deluded whiney culchie who thinks no-one uses a smartphone or tablet or kindle on the Red Line out of fear or poverty and who almost creams himself about the Green line passengers (cue close up of an iPad) and a junkie with a free pass.

Green Line, loads interviewed! Ooh, a kindle reader, someone with a designer bag - look! a dope who leaves her bag unattended but that's okay - it's the Green line!

What a joke - I've seen one racially motivated old drunk bastard give abuse to a few Indians on the Red Line, the odd kid fare dodging and almost everyone is on a smrtphone/tablet/kindle and no problems (10 x 30min journeys a week)

I'm fuming!

Lapin wrote: »
    They really are emphasising the differences between the social status of passengers on both lines.

Almost to the point that this is the motive of the whole programme.

I'm starting to feel more working class and less affluent by the minute

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

I'm not even watching and I get what's going on. Good God, is RTE still so blinkered. Can't wait to see what they make of the train to Balbriggan should that show ever be made.

Edit that. The bus to Clonee could give RTE some great racial stereotyping to go with too.

"Before work begins, the technicians shut down the power supply at the sub-station".

Good thinking there lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 leftwing cos youre broke

Sounds like he's peering into peoples bedrooms with the Cherry Picker.

Saab Ed wrote: »
    I'm not even watching and I get what's going on. Good God, is RTE still so blinkered. Can't wait to see what they make of the train to Balbriggan should that show ever be made.

They tried making that last year but the camera and sound equipment was nicked at Howth Junction. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Lucas Castroman

I don't see what your problem is??? The red luas line is a cesspit, crawling with some of the lowest forms of life imagineable. This programme is an accurate representation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Sir Oxman wrote: »
    They have interviewed no-one but a deluded whiney culchie who thinks no-one uses a smartphone or tablet or kindle on the Red Line out of fear or poverty and who almost creams himself about the Green line passengers (cue close up of an iPad) and a junkie with a free pass.

When he gets on the red line, he rolls up his sleeve to reveal his tattoo to intimidate any potential trouble makers :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 279 ✭✭thomur

I wonder was David Drumm a Green Line or a Red line passenger

M

thomur wrote: »

He lived in Malahide so DART for him if he was going for scoops after work of an evening ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

They are implying that no one gets on past around Carrickmines at the Cherrywood and Brides Glens stops at all, and that there is nothing AT ALL out here. Now I get they assumed the industrial estate would be full and that there would be more residential developments, but it isn't a ghost area altogether. It sounds awfully like they are paving the way to cut services.

I don't see what your problem is??? The red luas line is a cesspit, crawling with some of the lowest forms of life imagineable. This programme is an accurate representation.

Because it was along that line that posh twats kicked a guy to death outside a night club, that a financial institution openly recommended tax evasion that required a masive & expensive enquiry and it was along that line that the very institutions that are supposed to protect us basically sold the country out on the back of loans for scumbag bankers, some of whom live along that line. Oh wait, that's not right!

You hear an accent and you judge. I know where the real scumbags live and I'll tell you, it might be no harm if some of those "lowest forms of life" got a hold of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

I can't fúcking wait. All the junkies who fall asleep and wake up in the train station will now wake up in DSC. Think I'll take a few weeks off and just travel on the tram to watch the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭seiphil

I get the luas 5 days a week on the red line and 90% of the time there is never a bother.

Rte! What a waste of money.

Saab Ed wrote: »
    Because it was along that line that posh twats kicked a guy to death outside a night club, that a financial institution openly recommended tax evasion that required a masive & expensive enquiry and it was along that line that the very institutions that are supposed to protect us basically sold the country out on the back of loans for scumbag bankers, some of whom live along that line. Oh wait, that's not right!

You hear an accent and you judge. I know where the real scumbags live and I'll tell you, it might be no harm if some of those "lowest forms of life" got a hold of them.

Is this Joe Duffy? Trying to appeal to the common man? As the program outlined, 75% of luas crime occurs on the red line but I'm sure that's society's fault? Anybody who uses the red line will admit it's dangerous and that's due to its trashy clientele.

seiphil wrote: »
    I get the luas 5 days a week on the red line and 90% of the time there is never a bother.

So assuming you get the tram twice a day, a 90% hassle free rate would mean you witness some bother once a week.

Thats a lot by my reckoning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

If you pay 1,315 euro for an annual travel pass and forget it then you get a fine and a nasty letter in the post which you have to sort out with Luas HQ. Fair enough.

If you are a ne'er do well you carry around your battered piece of cardboard, hassle others and at the very most you'll get put off the tram and you can catch the next one a few minutes later.

The only people who get fined are those who won't talk back

The representation red vs green was awful, one-sided lazy shíte.

Is this Joe Duffy? Trying to appeal to the common man? As the program outlined, 75% of luas crime occurs on the red line but I'm sure that's society's fault? Anybody who uses the red line will admit it's dangerous and that's due to its trashy clientele.

How many crimes? What type of crime? God you're easily sold a pup. I doubt anybody every bankrupted a country on the Luad red line. 100% of net emigration is caused by crimes committed along the green line. Wouldn't make ignorant easily sold telly though would it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭Sideshow Mark

I use the red line daily and I would never call it dangerous. I find your trolling here to be quite obnoxious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭delaad

thomur wrote: »

He was from Skerries. If only they had been doing the Balbriggan Line back in the day, ........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

seiphil wrote: »

Yeah, its the same for me. I have been on it a lot. And while I have seen some scumbags there, it goes get blown out of proportion. I know some people who say they are too intimidated to get the red line! :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Trains, northsiders, thefts.?... That's Liveline sorted for tomorrow anyway.

Yeah, its the same for me. I have been on it a lot. And while I have seen some scumbags there, it goes get blown out of proportion. I know some people who say they are too intimidated to get the red line! :confused:

Easy! Flash your custom tattooed arm, look serious and whinge like a bitch about the Red Line and you'll be ok!;)

I use the red line daily and I would never call it dangerous. I find your trolling here to be quite obnoxious.

I hope you never make eye contact with the wrong junkie who hops on ... He might change your mind about the red line more than I ever can.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

25% of all LUAS crime happens on the leafy southside line?
    I'm shocked. How do they account for it, visitors?

mikemac1 wrote: »
    If you pay 1,315 euro for an annual travel pass and forget it then you get a fine and a nasty letter in the post which you have to sort out with Luas HQ. Fair enough.

If you are a ne'er do well you carry around your battered piece of cardboard, hassle others and at the very most you'll get put off the tram and you can catch the next one a few minutes later.

The only people who get fined are those who won't talk back

Tonight was your best chance to dodge the fares and get a free lift on the trams without getting fined.

All the inspectors were at home watching themselves on the telly. ;)

The red line also links the city's 2 main train stations, carries thousands of passengers to events in the O2, many tourists and plenty of normal people

The red line serves the IFSC but that doesn't fit in with the working class passenger profile

BTW would someone mind telling me when exactly being working class or less affluent became a crime?

There are plenty of boozed up students and gob****es on the green line as well so they could have tried to have a bit more balanced or at least spoken to a transverse section of passengers from both lines.

Why did we have a close up of some young ones UGG boots?

I am well aware of the problems on the red line- I have had my phone stolen on it, witnessed fights, begging, general anti-social behaviour and I hate all of that but it's hardly fair to write off the thousands of passengers who happen to travel on that route. It is only a small but vocal minority causing the problems - often not even on the Luas itself but at the stations

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

Guaranteed nice, non-drunken mob type concert goers! You don't want to be cleaning puke off the camera!

Really disturbing to hear how much racist abuse the crews are getting though. That's really a bad reflection of the city.