Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arc 2013

• 07-07-2013 8:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭

I quote try fix "Morandi is outstanding value at 50s each way. LUMP ON"

Treve looked top top class when winning the Diane but will have to be supplemented and may not.

Intello looks a worth favorite think he is the best three year old colt in Europe, if the ground comes up quick expect to see a good St Nic, he hated the heavy last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,101 ✭✭✭klairondavis

Is St Nick as good going right-handed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

People say he isn't but think there are excuses. Beaten behind Windsor Palace in the Mooresbridge when unfit, he should have been closer to Danedream and Nathaniel in the King George (a top class King George) and heavy ground at Longchamp wasn't for him. Can't think of more runs right handed though I'm sure there are

UrbanSea wrote: »
    People say he isn't but think there are excuses. Beaten behind Windsor Palace in the Mooresbridge when unfit, he should have been closer to Danedream and Nathaniel in the King George (a top class King George) and heavy ground at Longchamp wasn't for him. Can't think of more runs right handed though I'm sure there are

Interesting to see how he goes in the King George.

Intello looks potentially top class.

Did you watch the Diane, that filly destroyed the field and did the course record by a full two seconds

She was visually very impressive but I would have a question mark about Motavitor's progeny. Maybe she will buck the trend.

Not the biggest fan of Motivators myself but he got his first group 1 winner in the Opera on Arc day last year and has had a couple of group winers this year. I wouldn't necessarily be put off backing a horse just because I don't like the sire of they have the form, in that case I wouldn't like Sky Lantern (she has proven me wrong) or Canford Cliffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,702 ✭✭✭tryfix

Orvfevre at 7s is the best bet in the field.

That Flintshire @ 16/1 from the Fabre yard is also very promising and very stoutly bred.

http://www.easyodds.com/sports-betting/horse-racing-betting/ante-post-racing/future-races/outright/prix-de-larc-de-triomphe.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

This tread has got to almost 10 posts without someone mentioning Mars:rolleyes:

5/1 mars ante post foe this LUMP ON this horse had bags of talent that he just hasn't shown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

I'm all over Mars at 33/1

Keep the faith boys and girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭byronbay2

5/1 mars ante post foe this LUMP ON this horse had bags of talent that he just hasn't shown

Imagine what a monster he will be when everything falls right for him some day! Mars and Grandouet - the 2 unluckiest horses in training. :)

It's a pity Hidden Cyclone was gelded. Shark Hanlon always thought he'd take plenty of beating around Longchamp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

It's a pity Hidden Cyclone was gelded. Shark Hanlon always thought he'd take plenty of beating around Longchamp.

July Cup, Nunthorpe then onto Longchamp was the plan AFAIK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭meriwether

Im going to it, and I cannae wait.

Was there last year and would hope to be going this year, great meeting. Expensive city

How did you get to and from L'Champ?

I got taxi from hotel to course in morning, which is acceptable, but then queued for 1.5hours for taxi home outside course, Which I suspect is madness.

There's a train somewhere nearby, innit?

meriwether wrote: »
    How did you get to and from L'Champ?

I got taxi from hotel to course in morning, which is acceptable, but then queued for 1.5hours for taxi home outside course, Which I suspect is madness.

There's a train somewhere nearby, innit?

There's a pile of free buses out from town. We used to get them from where the bus from Beauvais drops you if you fly Ryanair. Can't remember the name of the place for the life of me but its on the metro

Getting back to town after is a nightmare alright

We got to and from with minimal fuss. Got a free bus from just across from a bus station (the one that the bus from Bauvais brings you to) which took about ten minutes, then get a free bus back into the city which took about twenty minutes. Have to get one of those chip rolls outside first though

Where did you get said bus back into the city?

Its some day out it has to be said.

I was there for Danedream, and when we were going in (2 of us) I went over to ticket desk and asked for two tickets. I had €200 in my paw ready to fork out (but hoping for a bit of change).

I was just astonished when the nice lady told me the tickers were €8 each. €8.

How much is it into Ballybrit during the festival?

€4 for a RP, €5 for a drink and a baguette. Its magnificent.

Can't remember it was just outside the track.Think it was if you come straight out from the trainers and owners entrance but there were loads, ask next time. We somehow got free tickets, were the race cards free the time you were there? And by race cards it was 110 pages heavy book sponsored by Qatar along with free caps

I didnt see the free stuff.

Have you accomm booked yet for this year? Im tossing up between the hotel we had 2 years ago, or an apartment in middle of town.

Hotels seem a lot dearer this year.

No plans yet, went with the horse racing society in college. 100 quid for two nights accomm and a meal we just had to book our own flights. Hostel was fairly sweet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Trading Leather 12/1 for the Arc :eek::eek: If he wins an Arc ill do a lap of me bookies in the nip

Arc returns to terrestrial television on Channel 4.

http://www.racingpost.com/news/live.sd?event_id=1078747&category=0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Forget the likes of Al Kazeem and St Nicholas Abbey. Flintshire looks like just the type of horse that can win an Arc - an improving 3yo trained by the master Arc trainer Andre Fabre, who romped home in the Grand Prix de Paris this evening. Take the 13/2 with Boyles. He'll be a lot shorter on the day after he wins the Prix Niel on the way to the Arc.

He looked good but 13/2 is plenty short would rather Intello at those odds

Best to wait and see whether Intello will be running in the Arc, the Marois is hardly an Arc prep, unless he flops in it and then his odds for the Arc will lengthen anyway. If he wins the Marois, then the QE II and champion miler status awaits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

tryfix wrote: »
    Best to wait and see whether Intello will be running in the Arc, the Marois is hardly an Arc prep, unless he flops in it and then his odds for the Arc will lengthen anyway. If he wins the Marois, then the QE II and champion miler status awaits.

I reckon the Wertheimer Brothers are dictating to Fabre where Intello will go. Fabre has no say in the matter if he wants to keep them on side.

They are very fond of the Breeders Cup. Seeing as they had such good success with Goldikova in the BC mile, that may well be his end of year target. His Dam never ran beyond a mile in three years of racing, and that's got to be playing on their mind, especially with Goldikova's half sister Galikova a similar type on breeding to Intello flopping in the Arc on them.

Flintshire is bred to stay all day, potentially heavy ground at Longchamp would be the only worry with him as he seems to like the good going.

Didn't even know he was going to the Marois hardly an Arc trial

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

I'm heading over this year. Staying in Mont Mart!.

Getting to the course using the underground.

Our local Metro Station is the Gare Du Nord (which incidentally is one of the biggest and classiest Stations in Paris).
    Take Line 4 in the direction of Mairie de Montrouge and get off at ODEON

At ODEON take Line 10 in the direction of Boulogne-Pont de Saint Cloud and get off at PORTE d'AUTEUIL

The undergound journey will take approx 30 minutes from Mont Mart.

The racecourse is a 10 minute walk away so probably take a stroll in after the underground but i believe there are free shuttle buses to the course from PORTE d'AUTEUIL and im sure a lot of places in Paris but this is just a perspective on getting there by underground.

Vive la France!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,047 ✭✭✭Itziger

I'm heading over this year. Staying in Mont Mart!.

Getting to the course using the underground.

Our local Metro Station is the Gare Du Nord (which incidentally is one of the biggest and classiest Stations in Paris).
    Take Line 4 in the direction of Mairie de Montrouge and get off at ODEON

At ODEON take Line 10 in the direction of Boulogne-Pont de Saint Cloud and get off at PORTE d'AUTEUIL

The undergound journey will take approx 30 minutes from Mont Mart.

The racecourse is a 10 minute walk away so probably take a stroll in after the underground but i believe there are free shuttle buses to the course from PORTE d'AUTEUIL and im sure a lot of places in Paris but this is just a perspective on getting there by underground.

Vive la France!
    The racecourse is a helluva lot more than 10 minutes walk from the metro station. There are two basic shuttle services, the Porte d'Auteuil and the Porte Maillot. The first named is busier, much busier in my experience but the second one is in the middle of an enormous roundabout thingy that can take an age to get around. I've done both and would say the Maillot is quieter and quicker but it depends a little (only a little mind) where you're coming from. I honestly haven't tried walking from either metro but I'd be amazed if you did it in under 45 minutes. Others will know as well here. This year should be my 12th of the last 13 years.

Itziger wrote: »
    The racecourse is a helluva lot more than 10 minutes walk from the metro station. There are two basic shuttle services, the Porte d'Auteuil and the Porte Maillot. The first named is busier, much busier in my experience but the second one is in the middle of an enormous roundabout thingy that can take an age to get around. I've done both and would say the Maillot is quieter and quicker but it depends a little (only a little mind) where you're coming from. I honestly haven't tried walking from either metro but I'd be amazed if you did it in under 45 minutes. Others will know as well here. This year should be my 12th of the last 13 years.

Thanks for that. This fellow is full of sh!t then. Would you usually bus it in there from the city?

No worries Rounders. Except for the first year, when I split a taxi with others, I've done the shuttle. It's fine but I have seen fairly long queues at Porte d'Auteuil. As I say, for the last two times I've gone down, I took the other option. As you pointed out, you have to change metro anyway (I'll be going from Gare de L'Est which is only a stop down from your one I think. Quick look at the Paris metro map and you'll sort the transfer. The Maillot was way calmer and I think the bus had a clearer run to racecourse as well with only problem being finding the bastard. The roundabout is pure and utter confusion and you could be looking for the shuttle stop for a while. As someone said above, 8 euro in and a great race card. Enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Any chance of talking about the race lads :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭bit of a bogey

Itziger wrote: »
    No worries Rounders. Except for the first year, when I split a taxi with others, I've done the shuttle. It's fine but I have seen fairly long queues at Porte d'Auteuil. As I say, for the last two times I've gone down, I took the other option. As you pointed out, you have to change metro anyway (I'll be going from Gare de L'Est which is only a stop down from your one I think. Quick look at the Paris metro map and you'll sort the transfer. The Maillot was way calmer and I think the bus had a clearer run to racecourse as well with only problem being finding the bastard. The roundabout is pure and utter confusion and you could be looking for the shuttle stop for a while. As someone said above, 8 euro in and a great race card. Enjoy.

Have you already got entry tickets? Im thinking of going but wont know until another month and a half or so? Are tickets easy to get or is it just pay in?

Pay on the day, its only €8 quid

Usually a pile of vouchers to be had online for free or half price entry but with admission prices so low you don't save a whole ton!

Al Thani bought Treve. Wonder would they supplement

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Any chance of talking about the race lads :D

I didn't want him to miss the bloody thing.:D

So, Telescope enters calculations for the Arc after his 24l win today over a 90 rated horse in second place. A performance that gives him a theoretical rating of 90 + ( 24 x 1.75 ) 42 = 132 :eek:. That would make him the best horse in the world :)

Going on time rather than distance, carrying 9.3 he won his race in 2.00 seconds faster than standard ( the only horse to win in faster than standard time on the card ), while in the handicap later on the card over the same distance saw a solid 3yo colt Thouwra rated 82 carrying the exact same weight 9.3 finish a neck second in a race won in a time 1.77 seconds slower than standard. Giving Telescope a 3.77 second advantage at 6l per second on good to firm ground. 3.77 x 6 = 22.62l + a neck, say 23 lengths, = 23 x 1.75 = 40.25lb + 82 = 122/123lbs which looks more realistic than 132. :)

That's Gp 1 place form ( of the level Farhh achieved last year ) on only his second start for a horse with a stout pedigree that promises more when he's stepped up in trip.

TELESCOPE (IRE) b. C, 2010 DP = 3-1-11-5-2 (22) DI = 0.76 CD = -0.09

Was going to mention that that if the form was right he ran to a crazy mark

Decent looking deal for anyone who hasnt booked yet.
    I emailed asking could you change from double to twin and they were right back saying no problem subject to availibility.

Treve is on target for the Arc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Telescope is a fly in the ointment, but on what we've seen so far that 6/1 Flintshire looks big. Pity NRNB is a long way off. Anyway, can't wait for the Arc. It'll mean the jumps will finally be back

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Telescope is a fly in the ointment, but on what we've seen so far that 6/1 Flintshire looks big. Pity NRNB is a long way off. Anyway, can't wait for the Arc. It'll mean the jumps will finally be back

You can't wait for it because its six months to the Guineas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Exactly. 6 good long months

A Fabre's Vancouverite put himself in the Arc picture after winning a GP 2 in France today. With 3 GP 1 winners in the race well beaten, the form through the beaten horses Silasol, Morandi, Havana Gold, is very solid. He's 1 1/2l ahead of Intello's French Derby win and 2 1/2l behind the top French filly Treve.

He's a Dansili colt out of a half sister to last years arc third Masterstroke from the family of Galileo and Sea The Stars. He'd have a good chance on firm ground but he's not very stoutly bred unlike his mud loving stamina laden brother, so heavy ground would be a no no for him at Longchamp.

http://www.racingpost.com/horses/result_home.sd?race_id=585565&r_date=2013-08-15&popup=yes#results_top_tabs=re_&results_bottom_tabs=ANALYSIS

He would have to be supplemented:

Treve Treve Treve

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Overthelast

I've been in the Treve camp for some time. Johnny Murtagh making more positive noises about Novellist today has my attention. Beating wild coco a couple of lengths getting 8lbs doesn't look great but it's just the visual impression she left on me each time. I wish I could swap jockeys, then I'd be more bullish.