Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gay Mitchell should have been President...

• 07-07-2013 4:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

At the moment we have a poetic dwarf in the Áras who vomits out the typical clichés you expect from a symbolic President i.e. no originality but mere empty utterances of nonsense and populism. We should have had someone in the Áras who has some degree of originality, maybe even David Norris. But maybe his ostentatious nature is more of a distraction rather than an attraction.

Of all the other Presidential candidates that we had to suffer listening to - I'd say Gay Mitchell stood out as a solid candidate with years of experience, relatively good speaker and author of 'By Dáil Account', which became a best seller on the New York Times.

If you watch this clip, you'll recall why he would have been the ideal Presidential candidate:

So, in hindsight, now that we've had to suffer the musings of our current President, would you have changed your vote or voted for someone else?

I think Gay Mitchell should have been President.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Not a hope in hell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

I'd rather Dana!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,544 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

I'd rather have no President TBH.

Would save some cash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Glad I'm not the only one with sunstroke. . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Of all the other Presidential candidates that we had to suffer listening to - I'd say Gay Mitchell stood out as a solid candidate with years of experience, relatively good speaker and author of 'By Dáil Account', which became a best seller on the New York Times.

...a man so horrific even his own party were against him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

efb wrote: »
    I'd rather Dana!
    Id rather Dana International.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Michael D is perfect for the Aras,it keeps him quite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

Nodin wrote: »
    ...a man so horrific even his own party were against him.

But this is the party which everyone disagrees with all the time - so what makes them right this time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

You're a funny guy wretcheddomain.....

...that's why I'll kill you last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Christ the Redeemer

The fecking Jesuits have it sewn up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

They're all shite. Why do we even have a president? They don't even do anything or have any power

But this is the party which everyone disagrees with all the time - so what makes them right this time?

....bizarre way of trying to load a question. Anyhoo - normally party loyalty will overcome personal conflicts. If an Irish political party ditches one of their own members, it says very little good about the candidate in question.

Apparently Michael D Higgins said in a recent interview "Miriam, I can't quite fathom why every other President I've met from abroad looks down on me?"

I thought that would be pretty obvious.

And this is the person we want as symbolic head of state?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Watching that video was like watching paint dry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Martin Sheens name was bandied about at the time,he would have made a great president.
    Not so sure about Gay Burns though.

*Awaits the punchline*

Whoever said that watching paint dry was a bad thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

I don't think the vast majority of the country really cares who is president, they have very little real power, it's more of a figure head position. Personally I like Michael D, he signed into law the welfare of greyhounds act and the dog breeding establishment act, something that badly needed to be done, in my opinion they don't go nearly far enough but it's definitely a step in the right direction.

Not so sure about Gay Burns though.

Pete Burns would have been an entertaining President. :pac:

Whoever said that watching paint dry was a bad thing?

Probably most people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Christ the Redeemer

I believe the word you're looking for is Milquetoast.

Probably most people.

Most people voted for Fine Gael and currently most people would harbour Fianna Fáil under their wing, most people down in a wasteland in Kerry voted for the Haely-Rae's.

I believe the word you're looking for is Milquetoast.

Had to look that up. That word fits perfectly. Thanks ever so much!

Most people voted for Fine Gael and currently most people would harbour Fianna Fáil under their wing, most people down in a wasteland in Kerry voted for the Haely-Rae's.

Right, let me phrase this another way: the man bored me to tears. Couldn't watch the full thing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

At the moment we have a poetic dwarf in the Áras who vomits out the typical clichés you expect from a symbolic President i.e. no originality but mere empty utterances of nonsense and populism. We should have had someone in the Áras who has some degree of originality, maybe even David Norris. But maybe his ostentatious nature is more of a distraction rather than an attraction.

If you watch this clip, you'll recall why he would have been the ideal Presidential candidate:

So, in hindsight, now that we've had to suffer the musings of our current President, would you have changed your vote or voted for someone else?

He should be in Fair City.

paddy147 wrote: »
    He should be in Fair City.

That bad? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Want him as "symbolic" head of state?

He's the head of state already, over a million people voted him in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Thank fúck that right wing reactionary homophobic catholic git didn't get the job, imagine the constitutional crisis we would have when he refused to sign into law any piece of legislation the bishops didn't agree with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

He would have pimped us out to all his mates in Europe,wait,they own our ass already.
    We really showed them Europeans how progressive we are with all the Gays going for the Aras.

Apparently Michael D Higgins said in a recent interview "Miriam, I can't quite fathom why every other President I've met from abroad looks down on me?"

You've a source for that?

Gay Mitchell is an odious little man. He was the only candidate whose name I refused to put a number beside during the last election; I couldn't even justify giving him my number 7 out of the 7 candidates. Frankly I'd have been less embarrassed if we elected Dana or Gallagher.

*He has hosted conferences on behalf of the homophobic and misogynistic Iona Institute
    *Reportedly has links with Opus Dei (not confirmed but also never denied AFAIK)
    *Defended homophobic remarks from an Italian MEP
    *Compared abortion to the Holocaust and blasted women who "sneaked off" to England to have a termination
    *Claimed that he wrote letters of appeal for a man on death row in America because he's against the death penalty (but in reality he only did it because the man's crime was blowing up an abortion clinic, which Gay would undoubtedly not see as a crime at all)
    *Constantly threw sly little digs at Martin McGuinness during the presidential campain, and threw a pathetic little temper tantrum at Pat Kenny during the final debate

Not to mention his numerous gaffes, like making light of suicide by "jokingly" saying he'd to throw himself into the Liffey and how he'd be president of the "22 counties".

A despicable creature and a conservative dinosaur who, along with his party colleague Creighton (and I'm sure there are many others in FG of that ilk), should be sent back to the dark ages where his views belong.

As for President Higgins - a gentleman, a scholar and a renowned and respected human rights advocate. I'm very happy a man like him is representing us in the Áras, I just wish he had more power.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

If that's the best you can do then it's plain to see that Michael D is doing just fine.

kraggy wrote: »
    Michael D

Why do people keep saying 'D'?

His name is Michael, not Michael D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Actually David Norris "should" have been President. The political parties behaved disgracefully during the election.

Earlier you stated
    Apparently Michael D Higgins said in a recent interview "Miriam, I can't
    quite fathom why every other President I've met from abroad looks down on
    me?"

Do you have a source for that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

MadsL wrote: »
    Actually David Norris "should" have been President. The political parties behaved disgracefully during the election.

Actually, the position should have been scrapped as a cost cutting measure

David Norris

Maybe we should call him David P. Norris, and his first name as David P.

Hell, let's be consistent and call that Eurovision crank Dana R.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Wompa1 wrote: »
    Actually, the position should have been scrapped as a cost cutting measure

A republic with no President..just like..um...um..wait...no they have one..um..um. Nope, can't think of one.

You'd find that if we didn't have a President people would be complaining why we don't have one.

There's just some battles you can't win with the Irish people.

You'd find that if we didn't have a President people would be complaining why we don't have one.

There's just some battles you can't win with the Irish people.

Is there some reason you can't answer my question? Do we just go ahead and assume that you lied and in fact made that 'quote' up yourself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

President Higgins is a fine representative of the Republic. The job is purely to be a Statesman on official occasions and he carries it out with dignity and without controversy. Serious question, what more do you expect of him?

oldyouth wrote: »
    Serious question, what more do you expect of him?

To do the admirable thing and abdicate.

For somebody who makes up quotes, you've a bit of cheek to ask anyone to do anything "admirable".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Yeah and replace him with your brother/cousin/uncle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭apollo8

Don't waste your time on the OP he relish's posting unpopular views and the storm they provoke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

oldyouth wrote: »
    Yeah and replace him with your brother/cousin/uncle

Are they the one person???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Go home wretcheddomain. You're drunk. etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Maybe we should call him David P. Norris, and his first name as David P.

Hell, let's be consistent and call that Eurovision crank Dana R.

Aldi are doing a special on goat meat next week, you should stock, do you have a freezer?:D