Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[DFB] Temporary Emergency Services Controller

• 04-07-2013 12:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭

Panel went live there this morning. Already in contact with HR and they expect the number applying to be huge as there is a chance to apply to a
    Firefighter/Paramedic position after three years as a controller.

Looking at the information booklet, it seems I need to have "normal" vision without glasses. Anyone know how I would fare with 6/28ish vision? HR can't tell me anything about the specific value other than it will be judged at a medical (ie they're not arsed finding out). Seems a lot of hassle to only go through all the application process, interview etc only to be shot down at the medical.

Public Jobs link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭DUBLINHITMAN

They might turn a blind eye lol
    best of luck mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,414 ✭✭✭✭flazio

"Normal vision without glasses or lenses"
    That one buggers belief, I've never seen that condition on any Controller position before. Even Air Traffic Controllers at Heathrow Airport can wear glasses at work.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭donkey balls

flazio wrote: »
    "Normal vision without glasses or lenses"
    That one buggers belief, I've never seen that condition on any Controller position before. Even Air Traffic Controllers at Heathrow Airport can wear glasses at work.

I was looking at the eye sight requirements my self and I'm also a bit confused about the vision requirements as they state normal vision without glasses/lenses,What do they class as normal vision? I have had a class 1 medical done before(Airline Pilot) were I failed the eye sight requirement but passed some months later after I started wearing glasses.
    Yet I can pass a medical for just say your driving licence without having to wear the glasses also I'm going be hitting the 40yr mark soon would that rule me out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭Fire1985

You'll be grand for controller job with normal eyesight. If and when you get to become a firefighter you need 20/20 definitely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 niamh_k13

I have applied for this job but I don't have a full driving license, do I stand a chance?
    cant do my test until October because you need to have learner permit for 6 months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭Fire1985

I know a guy who was in the same situation for paramedic a while back. He couldn't proceed .
    When you go for your aptitude you need to bring a printout of your licence!

Best of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 niamh_k13

I get why it would be a problem for a paramedic, but for working in the control room I don't see why it would be an issue.
    just hate to think it would be the one thing that stops me from getting the job when I'm so close to being able to sit my test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,391 ✭✭✭5500

It states quite clearly in the application that full B licence is required to apply, you'll be turned away if you turn up to the PAS assessments without it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 noelr89

Anyone tell me what the process is.

apply on line

interview

medical ??

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭aido112

Hi Lads,

Do ye know if ya get paid for training. Really interested in the position but couldnt afford to leave my current job and not be paid for 14 weeks!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭GoProGaming

i would imagine you will be paid. will try and confirm that tonight.

i would glady run out of my current job and do the first year for free if i made the panel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭Celticfire

You will be paid, just no shift allowances until you finish training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭Arruabarrena

You will need to have your full driving licence when you take up employment. A learner permit should be fine until then.

BX 19 wrote: »
    HR can't tell me anything about the specific value other than it will be judged at a medical (ie they're not arsed finding out).
    Office staff are qualified eye specialists I suppose? Get a grip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Office staff are qualified eye specialists I suppose? Get a grip.

The HR person specifically dealing with the DFB recruitment should have an idea especially when the specifications are as vague as they are.

If they specify "normal" then they should prepared to answer questions as to what defines normal, especially when the previous FF recruitment jobs did. Giving a eyesight visual acuity rating is standard fare for AGS and the Defence Forces so I can't see why they cant here.

Get a grip and think before you type.

I agree that's its not ideal but for someone to say that HR couldn't be arsed to find out is quite simply not true.

Neither of us can confirm/deny that. Erring on the not arsed side of things to be honest from the answer I got on the telephone.

I wouldn't say anything will happen until September now anyway as the PAS usually take a collective holiday in August.

Online test -> Aptitude Test -> Interview

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,300 ✭✭✭ooter

5500 wrote: »
    It states quite clearly in the application that full B licence is required to apply, you'll be turned away if you turn up to the PAS assessments without it.

i turned up at the aptitude test for DFB a few weeks ago without a full licence (cos i only have a learner permit) and i wasn't turned away.i've an interview next week and i haven't been asked to bring my full licence.
    if i'm successful i've no doubt i'll have to have it to start training but for now it doesn't seem to be an issue..

I'm thinking of applying for the job even though it would mean me taking over 50% wage cut initially, I hold a full Irish licence (artic) and I'm a EMT the only thing holding me back is my age as I'm officially an aul fella this year when I turn 40.
    I know they haven't put an age limit on it but anyone know if it's worth my while applying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭thatboy

It really comes down to what happens after 3 years doesn't it, MAY progress to firefighter role doesn't instill mega confidence in the whole thing, especially given decisions such as cancelling the last DFB panel in 2012. You'd really need to know a definitive answer on the career progression.

I'm thinking of applying for the job even though it would mean me taking over 50% wage cut initially, I hold a full Irish licence (artic) and I'm a EMT the only thing holding me back is my age as I'm officially an aul fella this year when I turn 40.
    I know they haven't put an age limit on it but anyone know if it's worth my while applying.

I'm in a similar circumstance and I'm giving it a shot. Going to chance it with my eyesight. Hopefully it wont bar me from the controller position.

If you pass the physicals and are capable as a controller then you'll progress as a firefighter.

i'm 40 and i've an interview next week for dfb,i'm fitter than lads half my age so i've no qualms about the age thing..

Anyone know how the shifts work within the DFB I know the shifts are 1800-0900 and 0900-1800 how many days are they done over?
    Could it be that you do the 9 hour shift followed by the two 15 hour ones on a rolling roster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 OLS84

Hey folks,

Any ideas when the aptitude test will be taking place? I only ask as I am going away on holidays the first two weeks in September, can't help but feel that they maybe have the tests around this time.

Online test first. More than likely September. Depends when PAS are ready.

What would the online test consist of? Similiar to tests before or typing?

Online test first. More than likely September. Depends when PAS are ready.

I've never done any sort of online test/assessment for a job what do they normally comprise off? and if done online what is not to stop a candidate from getting someone else to do the test.
    The only tests I have ever done was the normal aptitude and psychometric tests were by the HR people would supervise the exam.

That's the info I have to hand. Know nothing further at present.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 OLS84

thanks for the replies folks! I'm kinda hoping things work out for me and the tests don't come up in the first 2 weeks of September, if anyone hears when they are then please do share :-) thanks folks!

i'd say there'll be some sort of online pre-test alright,no way have dublin city council got the HR staff to deal with the amount of applicants that will be going for these jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭pauld81

Usually online psychometric, then do parts of the tests again at the ladder and claustrophobia test day under supervision (maths and English comprehension tests). It's the norm now for county fire recruitment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Dublinmackem

Couple of posts strongly saying you'll be turned away from apptitude without full licence, This is wrong, the description specifically says "full licence required prior to comencement of training" To add also there was no one looking for proof of licence at Dublin council DFB apptitudes last month,

To add also there was no one looking for proof of licence at Dublin council DFB apptitudes last month,

there was in my group but if you didn't have it it wasn't a problem.

ooter wrote: »
    there was in my group but if you didn't have it it wasn't a problem.
    Correct, a copy of your driving license was taken from everyone who attended.

Apologies lads, a lad out of DCC who underwent the test told me he didn't need it with him, maybe he meant it wasn't mandatory there and then (and may have been asked) or possibly because he's a driver, I don't know, but in the case of the current competition though it states needed prior to comencement of training, so I wouldn't want anyone not to apply on account of someones assumptions,

the internal competition said the same that you had to have a full licence before commencement of training,training hasn't started yet (and won't till at least september by all accounts) so it's not a problem at present.

I have mine luckily, so I suppose to anyone who is applying and has not yet got their full licence they should apply For competition and make an important point of applying for their test by latest test date say late Sept or before in case of need of re-test, guessing training may start in late Sept/ early Oct for the ESC's? Good luck to all,

November I'd say

Apologies lads, a lad out of DCC who underwent the test told me he didn't need it with him, maybe he meant it wasn't mandatory there and then (and may have been asked) or possibly because he's a driver, I don't know, but in the case of the current competition though it states needed prior to comencement of training, so I wouldn't want anyone not to apply on account of someones assumptions,

If you pass your test the day before you start then that's fine :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Canyon86

ooter wrote: »
    the internal competition said the same that you had to have a full licence before commencement of training,training hasn't started yet (and won't till at least september by all accounts) so it's not a problem at present.

I hope the Gardai go down the same route!!!!!!!!!!!!!:pac:

Cheers for all the info Arruabarrena.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭spygirl

Just applied for this, wondering how long before others were sent the online assessments?

I don't think anyone has yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭lonfire1

I applied the day the position was on public jobs and i have nt heard anything yet either.Is this the first time PAS has been used for the Fire Service in Ireland?Its probably a good way of getting rid of a few thousand :).... but seriously dose anyone know anything about this type of assessment?

lonfire1 wrote: »
    I applied the day the position was on public jobs and i have nt heard anything yet either.Is this the first time PAS has been used for the Fire Service in Ireland?Its probably a good way of getting rid of a few thousand :).... but seriously dose anyone know anything about this type of assessment?

I imagine it would be on a similar vein to the Temporary Clerical Officer online assessment but more focused on the controller position

ie. what would you do if a call came in and you were unsure of the correct response and your supervisor was away for example.

Thanks for that ...BX 19. Something different I suppose, this obviously an on line assessment/aptitude test so.Is anyone going doing the 2 day Test Preperation course this weekend??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Paulzx

BX 19 wrote: »

ie. what would you do if a call came in and you were unsure of the correct response and your supervisor was away for example.

Just hang up. If it's important they'll ring back and some other sucker will have to answer it

:p

lonfire1 wrote: »
    Thanks for that ...BX 19. Something different I suppose, this obviously an on line assessment/aptitude test so.Is anyone going doing the 2 day Test Preperation course this weekend??

I was going to say the same thing ... just didnt want to sound like a smart ass :D