Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

To the postman who saved my dog..

• 04-07-2013 11:00am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 632 ✭✭✭

I'm not sure if this is the appropriate forum to post this but it is one of the most popular and heavily trafficked.

Earlier this morning my dog of 14 was attacked by a PitBull and four other terrier like dogs. I didn't witness the attack but two of my neighbours did and came to my house to let me know and make sure my dog got home safe.

They told me that a postman in a van had seen the attack and stopped to intervene, hunting off the pack of dogs before serious harm had been done. If it wasn't for his stepping in my dog would surely be in a lot worse condition than she is. The postman had left before I had even been informed about the attack so I never got to thank him.

So I wanted to say on here thank you in the hope he might see it or someone he knew. He put himself in harms way just to help a random old dog and i will always be grateful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

Sorry to hear your dog was attacked. Was this outside your house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Supraman

Very nice of you to acknowledge the postman . Not all postmen are pricks . some of us are alright . Hope your dog is ok and gets over the attack .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭Corkbah

not trying to have a go ...but why was your dog wandering around ....and why were the other dogs out without owners ?

if I was you I would be on to the vet to see if any other dogs as described come in with injuries, or if he/she may know the pitbull and other dogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Lyra Fangs

Sorry to hear your dog was attacked. Was this outside your house?
    Yes just straight outside my front door. I had let her out to do her business. There's a large green in front of the house and she was just coming back when she was attacked. I was coming down to let her back in when my neighbour arrived. I didn't know anything had happened seemed like any morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭loveisdivine

Why was your dog outside your home unsupervised? Leaving some poor postman to have to step in.

Lyra Fangs wrote: »
    Yes just straight outside my front door. I had let her out to do her business. There's a large green in front of the house and she was just coming back when she was attacked. I was coming down to let her back in when my neighbour arrived. I didn't know anything had happened seemed like any morning.

Hope you picked up her poop :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

You need to take her to the vet, she is probably in shock, was she hurt can you see any cuts on her?
    This happened to my dog recently and i did not realise she was hurt at first but she was in severe shock and needed treatment.
    I would not let her out alone again if i were you especially if there are other dogs around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

stupid bitch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Rockfish

If you really want to thank him why not go to the post office and find out who he was rather than posting here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,067 ✭✭✭FixitFelix

Seems a few people on this thread don't own dogs, but do own high horses!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,763 ✭✭✭Knine

So you let your dog out to ****e all over the neighbourhood where kids play and then complain when something awful happens?

Be a responsible owner and keep your dog on your property and you won't have to worry out dog attacks or causing a road accident or your dog harassing other responsible dog owners walking their pets.

Corkbah wrote: »
    not trying to have a go ...but why was your dog wandering around ....and why were the other dogs out without owners ?

if I was you I would be on to the vet to see if any other dogs as described come in with injuries, or if he/she may know the pitbull and other dogs.

She was out doing her business in the green which she does every morning. The dogs seemingly came out of nowhere, none of neighbours recognized them and there wouldn't be many dogs in the area that we wouldn't know. Though apparently there was a man they seemed to be following.

The vet didn't mention any other dogs coming in though there are a number of vets people go to in this area.

My dog will always be supervised from now on for her business trips, I realise I am partly to blame you just never imagine something like this happening.

Why was your dog outside your home unsupervised? Leaving some poor postman to have to step in.

Dogs do go outside it's not a crime you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Surely he is your local postman so you will see him tomorrow morning or very soon so you can thank him in person? :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭from_atozinc

kfallon wrote: »
    Surely he is your local postman so you will see him tomorrow morning or very soon so you can thank him in person? :confused:

Exactly what I was going to post !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

I may be barking at the wrong tree but did you let the dog out to poo on a communal field? If so irate parents probably set their dogs on her to teach you a lesson.

stupid bitch

What an intelligent contribution.

stupid bitch

Really don't think that's necessary.

HondaSami wrote: »

Yes, dogs should go outside whilst supervised by their owner and on a leash.

Also it is a crime for a dog to be out of control in a public area, which it is if it has been left alone.

It is against the law to have dogs not under control i.e. not supervised and fouling where kids play.

Also the dog being attacked is an example of why the dog should not be on its own outside

kfallon wrote: »

no he wasn't the local postman he was passing through the area

I think you missed the word 'unsupervised'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭Freddy Smelly

you should probably get the dog checked at a vet if it has any bite wounds. incase it picks up an infection

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

She was out doing her business in the green which she does every morning. The dogs seemingly came out of nowhere, none of neighbours recognized them and there wouldn't be many dogs in the area that we wouldn't know. Though apparently there was a man they seemed to be following.

The vet didn't mention any other dogs coming in though there are a number of vets people go to in this area.

My dog will always be supervised from now on for her business trips, I realise I am partly to blame you just never imagine something like this happening.

I hope that's not a euphemism for doing a poo... I really do.

Yes, dogs should go outside whilst supervised by their owner and on a leash.

Also it is a crime for a dog to be out of control in a public area, which it is if it has been left alone.

We had one of these threads not so long ago and the dog haters were out in force then as well.

OP knows she was wrong to let the dog out on it's own etc, not all dogs need to be on leads.

no he wasn't the local postman he was passing through the area

still, the local post office should know who it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Jaysus, it's all sunshine and lollipops in this thread!

Glad to hear your dogs okay OP... and fair play to that postman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

Everyone will step in it, especially kids.

Who wants to walk anywhere or play on greens when down owners treat public spaces like a toilet.
    Dog fouling public place

Owners/handlers who do not dispose of dog faeces in a responsible manner may receive an on-the-spot fine of €15

http://www.dspca.ie/index.jsp?p=161&n=243

We had one of these threads not so long ago and the dog haters were out in force then as well.

OP knows she was wrong to let the dog out on it's own etc, not all dogs need to be on leads.

I absolutely love dogs. It's one of the reasons I get so angry when they get hurt because their owners didn't take care of them properly.

It's your laid back attitude to dog ownership that is one of the main problems with dog owners in Ireland.

Rockfish wrote: »
    If you really want to thank him why not go to the post office and find out who he was rather than posting here?

I could try but hes one of many many postman in the area and I doubt they would know him. I don't even know what he looks like.

you should probably get the dog checked at a vet if it has any bite wounds. incase it picks up an infection

shes already been and gotten shots and tablets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Sounds like a story line from the Beano

Its not the dogs they hate. Its irresponsible owners. They give all owners a bad name. So don't shoot the messenger.

Why not let the dog out into the garden and/or use a litter box?

I think you might find us dog haters are regular posters in the animals forum. What we actually hate are irresponsible dog owners.

There is nothing as bad as cleaning dog poo off clothes and shoes because some goon like the OP allows his dog to use the estate as a dog toilet.

Or trying to avoid loose dogs on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

Hope you picked up her poop :P

Id say there was lots of it.....with the fright.:D

Knine wrote: »
    I think you might find us dog haters are regular posters in the animals forum. What we actually hate are irresponsible dog owners.

There is nothing as bad as cleaning dog poo off clothes and shoes because some goon like the OP allows his dog to use the estate as a dog toilet.

Stop being such a judgemental prick. You have no idea of the circumstances as to why the dog was outside. Maybe it just managed to escape for a few minutes. Shit happens.

Read the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

As a dog owner, I finding it very hard to by sympathetic towards the OP. She put her dog in harms way. ...and to add insult to injury, it would appear that each morning she lets her dog out to shit in a public park. Which is despicable really.

Our neighbour let their dog out to "do it's business", and as a consequence, I need to pick up both my dogs shit, and their dogs shit. If it wasn't for my wife, I'd have posted their dogs shit into their letterbox long ago.

Ye are like a pack of hounds having a go at the OP with no regard for the dog that got attacked.
    I agree with the using the estate as a toilet etc but her dog got hurt and lots of people let their dogs out on their own to go to the toilet. The op never said she did not pick up the poop.

I could try but hes one of many many postman in the area and I doubt they would know him. I don't even know what he looks like.

yes you could try. there will not be many postman in one area and the local postmen will probably know who he is or will have heard about it in their depot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

As a dog owner, I finding it very hard to by sympathetic towards the OP. She put her dog in harms way. ...and to add insult to injury, it would appear that each morning she lets her dog out to shit in a public park. Which is despicable really.

Our neighbour let their dog out to "do it's business", and as a consequence, I need to pick up both my dogs shit, and their dogs shit. If it wasn't for my wife, I'd have posted their dogs shit into their letterbox long ago.

Outside to do its business........... says it all really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Do you really let your dog out to sh1t on a public green every morning op?
    Dog should be taken off you that is disgusting.I cant believe your neighbours tolerate this.

Read the thread.

Yes, I missed the post where she says she let the dog out to poop. That's not something I'd agree with but it still doesn't warrant some of the nasty responses imo.

Ye are like a pack of hounds having a go at the OP with no regard for the dog that got attacked.
    I agree with the using the estate as a toilet etc but her dog got hurt and lots of people let their dogs out on their own to go to the toilet. The op never said she did not pick up the poop.

Her dog got hurt because she is an extremely irresponsible person who should not have a dog.

Yeah right, if they can't be arsed to bring their own dog out, there is zero chance they search all over a green to clean it up. Its not sympathy that's needed here its an attitude adjustment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭iMac_Hunt

So she lets the dog out on her own onto a big green area and when the dog comes back, she heads out to search the green area where the dog went to the toilet to pick it up?

This gives the impression that perhaps this is not the only time that the OP's dog has been out on an unsupervised 'business' trip. If not supervised, then how does the OP 'pick up' (the 'tab')?

Still think the postman is a hero... he looked after the dog.

&, yes, some of us can think that what someone is/was or has been doing is stupid & still have sympathy for the victims of that stupidity, even if the victim is the person responsible. It's not that difficult for most of us to do this.

Her dog got hurt because she is an extremely irresponsible person who should not have a dog.

You know her personally do you?

When my dog got hurt it was in my own garden but a neighbours dog came in and attacked her, does that make me irresponsible as well?
    You can't judge the op on one post.

Just to finalise all this before things get out of hand. The attack was a wake up call for me. I will now keep my dog supervised at all times. I have another dog which is never off the lead or unsupervised I guess given the attacked dogs age and docile temperament i was lapse and now i will be diligent.

Thank you everyone who asked about the dog :)