Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Counsellor (Ridley Scott / Cormac McCarthy)

• 01-05-2013 4:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 351 ✭✭

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2193215/

Just saw this coming out later in the year. Pitt, Bardem, Fassbender and Natalie Dormer (Maergery Tyrell in Game of Thrones) Then it's a novel from Cormac MacCarthy who wrote "The Road" and finally it's directed by Ridley Scott.

This movie could be great :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Don't think it's a Cormac McCarthy novel, I think this is actually his first attempt at screenwriting, which is very, very exciting. Excepting a very bloodily profound affair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 351 ✭✭matTNT

Yeah I was looking for the book on Amazon :p I just realize that it says screen play now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,030 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Great cast for this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

First trailer is out, and it looks pretty sick:

Dir. Ridley Scott, written by Cormac McCarthy, starring Michael Fassbender, Natalie Dormer, Penélope Cruz, Cameron Diaz, Javier Bardem, Brad Pitt, John Leguizamo, Rosie Perez, Goran Visnjic ... even Bruno Ganz (Downfall) pops up in a small role. Serious cast, then.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,030 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

bnt wrote: »
    First trailer is out, and it looks pretty sick:

Dir. Ridley Scott, written by Cormac McCarthy, starring Michael Fassbender, Natalie Dormer, Penélope Cruz, Cameron Diaz, Javier Bardem, Brad Pitt, John Leguizamo, Rosie Perez, Goran Visnjic ... even Bruno Ganz (Downfall) pops up in a small role. Serious cast, then.

Could be another show stealing performance from Bardem plus his hair playing a leading role again :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭Burt Macklin

Interesting teaser. I like the fact that it gave a sense of the movie without detailing the entire plot like most trailers. Really, really hope now that this film turns out to be good!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 351 ✭✭matTNT

It looks very like NCFOM. Which I love :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

A full trailer has appeared. It certainly looks the part, and it's definitely giving off the vibe of McCarthy. One to keep an eye on:

Bardem's hair never ceases to amaze.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

This movie can’t come out soon enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Really looking forward to this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭weiland79

Bardems hair?

F that, how hot does Diaz look?

Movie looks pretty good too:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭Capajoma

This looks really good, great cast, anyone else excited?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭Ole Rodrigo

Big time. I love Mcarthys poetic nihilism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

No reviews????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,629 ✭✭✭brevity

This looks great. Cant wait.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,958 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

Ipso wrote: »
    No reviews????

Not proper reviews but some tweets that showed up in my timeline today.....
    Good pal texted me The Counselor is guaranteed to get an F CinemaScore.
    Man, The Counselor is mean. Just ugly, ugly cinema. Bleak with a capital B.
    Cameron Diaz is either getting a Razzie or an Oscar nom. There's no inbetween for this movie.
    It's a very subjective terrible. Some will love its delicious vamping.
    Wait, everyone's badmouthing THE COUNSELOR now? I liked it.

My personal favourite was....
    Really loved Cameron Diaz as White Rihanna in The Counselor.

Seems to be polarizing opinion then. I've read a few people praising the actors, but criticising the script. Also from twitter
    Saw "The Counselor" last night; wasn't high on it. Thinking about "The Counselor" today; now, I think I kind of loved it. So many feelings.

Any review I've seen of this has been bad. Very clunky script apparently, and horrible directing job by Ridley Scott. One critic even compared it to Showgirls. :eek:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

[McCarthy's] wordplay is rich, rhythmic, clearly the product of someone in love with language and everything it can both conceal and reveal, but listen closely and you will also hear the espousing of a philosophy of the world, where love is a mirage and only in death may we find something like redemption. “The Counselor” is one of the best films Ridley Scott has made in a career that is not often enough credited for just how remarkable it has been.
    Scott Foundas
    http://variety.com/2013/film/columns/the-counselor-rearview-ridley-scott-1200770790/
    Mr. Scott manages all these swiftly spinning parts with impeccable control and a lucid visual style. The story may be initially elusive, but there’s a clarity, solidity and stillness (the camera moves but doesn’t tremble) to his images that augment the narrative’s gravity and inexorable momentum. The beauty of the landscapes is about all that feels coherent in an often unrecognizable, unsettling world.
    Manohla Dargis
    http://www.nytimes.com/2013/10/25/movies/the-counselor-a-cormac-mccarthy-tale-of-mostly-evil.html?partner=rss&emc=rss

Looking like a pretty divisive film then. I want to see it anyway because I love Cormac McCarthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Phoenix Park

Any review I've seen of this has been bad. Very clunky script apparently, and horrible directing job by Ridley Scott. One critic even compared it to Showgirls. :eek:

Well thats me sold!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭silver_surfer

Being a huge Cormac McCarthy fan this is my most eagerly anticipated film in a long time, can't wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

When is it released here?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

Mid November, I think.

UK release date is listed as 15th November.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

It got awful reviews in the states

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭wowy

Saw a cineworld screening tonight. It's stylish, and moves along at a nice pace, but some of the dialogue was ridiculous.
    Diaz's monolgue at the end just felt completely out of character and tipped the character from outrageous to OTT.

Overall left feeling a bit underwhelmed. It's a fine; if not truly remarkable; story and was a great movie to look at, with good performances from Fassbender, Bardem and Diaz
    (not a believable character, but regardless she pulled off the ridiculousness of it very well)
    but still missed something....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭The Dom

Very disappointed. A disjointed mess of a film.

Dialogue felt forced much of the time also.

Was like watching a film that had a load of scenes missing.

Two scenes stick out though and it will be obvious after watching what they are but as a film, it was not up to much really.

Think Pitt thought he was making Killing Them Softly II.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 865 ✭✭✭FlashD

Cormac McCarthy is a great author but has little to no experience of screenplay writing, both are completely different mediums requiring a different set of skills or vision.

He has overstepped his mark here and in future should really stick to what he is good at.......or he'll end up damaging his rep permanently!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭poundapunnet

They ripped this to shred on BBCFilm2013 last night as well, though one guy was saying it might just be a misunderstood masterpiece. Have to say it always did seem like a strange choice of director for the material, I'll try reserve judgement til I see it though.

Ridley Scott was all set to direct ' Blood Meridian' , but bailed during pre production.

Maybe he felt he owed one to McCarthy ?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,019 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

ror_74 wrote: »
    Ridley Scott was all set to direct ' Blood Meridian' , but bailed during pre production.

A good thing if so! Cannot possibly imagine Scott doing that book justice. If Blood Meridian ever gets made - and given its content, I'd imagine the studios are incredibly reluctant to do so - it needs as bold and uncompromising a director as they can get. Alas, it's been a long time since Scott fulfilled those two criteria :(

Well McCarthy himself said in an interview ( one of only two he's ever done, fascinating read ) he thought it was possible for someone who had the kahunas. Since Scott jumped ship its been passed around like a hot potato and is now sitting on Scott Rudins shelf.

For a different thread but I reckon the Coens or John Hillcoat could pull it off ( The Proposition took some influence from it ). Casting would be a different matter.

Anyway, looking forward to seeing The Counselor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

I thought it was awful, just such a shame as it has a class cast, but they forgot to write a coherant movie IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Terrible film. I'm trying to write a review of it right now but cannot bring to words how poor it was.

I think its fair to say this could have been better. There were some great scenes, it looked well..some good performances ( it was probably saved by these ). I had the feeling something went wrong along the way. Parts of the script sounded out of place. Maybe nobody wanted to tell McCarthy certain things needed to be changed for it to work on screen ? Who knows.

Overall it lacked cohesion, I still liked it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

Disappointing reading some of the reviews. Had been looking forward to seeing this but I think I will wait for the rental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭lucky john

Went to see this last night. Strange film. The most educated drug deals ever. Some of the dialogue was so deep I had no idea what they were on about. Some scenes looked like they were from a different film because they added absolutely nothing to the this film anyway. Poor connections between scenes as well. I feel like I missed something though. Like there was a deeper story there that went over my head. Unfortunately, cant say I really liked it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭The Dom

Went to see this again last night with friends for the craic.

The best thing about it is how bad it is.

Sections in the cinema were cracking up for no reason.

A great unintentional comedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭DubOnHoliday

Saw this earlier today, wish I'd heeded the reviews here as it is rubbish. You'd swear it was a bunch of mates getting together for a bit of craic with a side project of making a movie. For the first hour I didn't know what was going on it was so disjointed. Avoid,

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

So go on, hands up: who's kinda curious to find out just how bad this film's supposed to be? It sounds truly dreadful, but entertainingly so, and part of me wants to see how badly such a combination of talent can apparently mess things up...

pixelburp wrote: »
    So go on, hands up: who's kinda curious to find out just how bad this film's supposed to be? It sounds truly dreadful, but entertainingly so, and part of me wants to see how badly such a combination of talent can apparently mess things up...

Cameron Diaz having sex with a car and being described as white Rihanna? I'm sold! Have heard clips though, and the script does sound wojus.

pixelburp wrote: »

I'm going to see it with friends on Tuesday. We're gonna drink vodka slushies and get sh*tfaced. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Really looking forward to seeing this tomorrow evening now! I assume ye are all wrong! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Went to see this last night. I've never walked out of the cinema before but Christ I was close last night. Absolutely crap! The windscreen part was funny and Pitt at the end looked cool but my god, a worse film I have not seen in a long time!

One star reviews in the Ticket on Friday and in the Culture section in the Sunday Times, this film sounds like an absolute train wreck. A real shame, given the talent at their disposal.

I think it might have been improved by a better director, or someone co-writing (and possibly making sense of) McCarthy's script. He's a fine writer, but he has basically no experience adapting his own work for the big screen. A friend of mine whose seen the film said that it has plenty of long monologues which are supposed to be deep and thought provoking, but come off as pretentious and empty. Disappointed as this was one of my most anticipated films this year.

NiallMH93 wrote: »
    I think it might have been improved by a better director, or someone co-writing (and possibly making sense of) McCarthy's script. He's a fine writer, but he has basically no experience adapting his own work for the big screen. A friend of mine whose seen the film said that it has plenty of long monologues which are supposed to be deep and thought provoking, but come off as pretentious and empty. Disappointed as this was one of my most anticipated films this year.

There's only ever been one adaptation of his work which did justice to it though* (No Country For Old Men), and that even skated a bit close to the line during some of the more talky scenes, fair play to the Coens for keeping it on the right side of pretentious. Then there was one terrible one (All The Pretty Horses), one fairly good one which lost so much of the impact of the book (The Road) and one that people have been trying to adapt since the dawn of cinema (Blood Meridian). In hindsight it mightn't have been a great idea to let this man who's very good at writing books that are hard to adapt for the screen write a feature script by himself.

*and then there's Child of God, if that ever gets any kind of distribution.