Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tony Rochford - Property Tax Hunger Striker

• 02-07-2013 1:30pm
    Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,461 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I don't see anything up about this guy here.. He's taken his hunger strike to the steps of Dail Eireann and plans to go to the bitter end if the Property Tax is not abolished.

He is on day 15 now :(

You have to admire his passion... Last I heard, he hadn't even been approached by anyone from Dail Eireann to talk about the matter :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭electrobanana

It won't be long before some sneaky politician is on to him for nice photo op.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Richard Boyd Barrett dropping the ball there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,428 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Negative equity? Unemployed? Has to pay the property tax? Him and thousands of others...

Sad to see the desperation, but its also hard to see what this'll achieve besides damaging the man's own health. Its not like negative equity, unemployment, and the property tax are issues that need to be brought to the public attention.

He's in a bad situation. Self-starvation can only make it worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭Chairman Meow

Fair play, but the govt will let him starve to death and nothing will change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,081 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

xzanti wrote: »
    I don't see anything up about this guy here.. He's taken his hunger strike to the steps of Dail Eireann and plans to go to the bitter end if the Property Tax is not abolished.

He is on day 15 now :(

You have to admire his passion

I'm not in favour of the property tax, but starving your self to death over it is neither admirable nor logical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,428 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I'm not in favour of the property tax, but starving your self to death over it is neither admirable nor logical.
    Absolutely. Even the 'noble' hunger strikes we've seen 'on this island' were ill-advised and ultimately futile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Jesus H Christ, what will the next hunger strike be against..the price of postage stamps?
    This is a guy who lashed out €480,000 after the boom ended on a house in Trim, a guy who was making a mint from the construction industry during the boom.
    I can think of a lot more people deserving of sympathy than this muppet!
    http://www.thejournal.ie/property-tax-hunger-strike-965245-Jun2013/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭Chairman Meow

Jesus H Christ, what will the next hunger strike be against..the price of postage stamps?
    This is a guy who lashed out €480,000 after the boom ended on a house in Trim, a guy who was making a mint from the construction industry during the boom.
    I can think of a lot more people deserving of sympathy than this muppet!

Seriously?? Didnt know that. In that case, hes a ****ing clown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Christ will someone through him a burger or a nugget before he starves to de...............oh!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,357 ✭✭✭emo72

Ah lads this is dreadful. Obviously he got to the end of his tether and had enough. Whatever the rights and wrong of it,Please don't make fun of him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Seems like the property tax is just part of this guy's problems.

Tough story but no worse than many others.

Hard as it may be to hear it, he and his family should not be in that house. It was too expensive and is now a millsone around their neck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

So he admits making a mistake and his solution is to starve himself to death? This guy's a moron.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

You have to admire his passion...

Admire his passion? He's a loon. Starving himself over the property tax for god's sake.
    Last I heard, he hadn't even been approached by anyone from Dail Eireann to talk about the matter :mad:

Like they've got nothing better to do than indulge a madman.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,461 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Like they've got nothing better to do than indulge a madman.

They could at least acknowledge him, tell him that he's wasting his time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

Might head down that with my lunch tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭daveyeh

Bono paid his property tax, said it would be cuuuuurrrrlish not to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

These morons are best ignored.
    They view any attention as encouragement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Not their responsibility. They're politicians, not babysitters. Someone should call him a doctor.

and a takeaway pizza.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Hangs head in Shame

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Don't call Reilly.
    He'll probably show up with his beard covered in spare rib sauce.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

How do you know he's really starving himself? He probably stuffs his face with mars bars when no one is looking. Who's watching him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭daddyorchips

Let him die

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

How do you know he's really starving himself? He probably stuffs his face with mars bars when no one is looking. Who's watching him?

Where'd he get them? They shut down the sweet shop there didn't they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

If he drops dead - I'd say he was being honest.
    If not - he's be lying.

There is 0% chance they'll drop the property tax. On the contrary, I'm sure the politicians are all salivating at the chance to increase it.

• Administrators Posts: 54,619 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Last I heard, he hadn't even been approached by anyone from Dail Eireann to talk about the matter :mad:

They can't. If they went to talk to everyone who plonked themselves on their steps they'd never get anything done.

If they bring this guy in for a chat what's to stop someone else declaring themselves on hunger strike tomorrow over something else and going to sit outside the Dáil demanding an audience?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

UCDVet wrote: »
    If he drops dead - I'd say he was being honest.
    If not - he's be lying.

There is 0% chance they'll drop the property tax. On the contrary, I'm sure the politicians are all salivating at the chance to increase it.

They could counter his hunger strike by increasing the property tax by a euro every day hed on his strike, therell be plenty of volunteers to move him on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭RayCon

Think of all the money he's saving by not eating ...

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,587 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Upon seeing his plight, I've realised that my intended career path as a marble fireplace installer isn't the surefire path to everlasting riches I thought it would be.

Tis off to retrain as a patio heater installer and decking engineer I go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Bad week for the sweetshop to close.could have made a killing off this guy when he gets peckish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

RayCon wrote: »
    Think of all the money he's saving by not eating ...

The worst part is all that saved money is going to end up paying penalties for the property tax that he refused to pay. Or it might go towards his funeral if he continues this ridiculous nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

why do the irish always have to go on hunger strike??

is there not a better way of doing it, a quicker way like this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,553 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

He "feels" the tax is unconstitutional....give me a break.

He cant work because he cant get a TCC, because he wont pay the property tax, but he has a couple of companies, and the ability to earn cash through them. That's a lot more than other people. He's a moron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

This guy is a bellend....

didn't he have a hit single back in the early 90's or is that a different rochford??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,553 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

fryup wrote: »
    didn't he have a hit single back in the early 90's or is that a different rochford??
    No, that's deffo him. Different name, skin colour, nationality etc, but its him alright...good spot.

thought it was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭RebelSoul

Ah come on lads the name calling is a bit much. No need for that. He is someone's son and husband at the end of the day. Forget the hate and share the love.

RebelSoul wrote: »
    Ah come on lads the name calling is a bit much. No need for that. He is someone's son and husband at the end of the day. Forget the hate and share the love.

I'll share my lunch with him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

RebelSoul wrote: »

He deserves everything he gets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,240 ✭✭✭ceegee

He bought the house in October 2008 without thinking his household marble installations company was at risk. did he not pickup a fecking newspaper in thhe preceeding few months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

daveyeh wrote: »
    Bono paid his property tax, said it would be cuuuuurrrrlish not to.
    WTF does that mean? Will Bono start paying all his other taxes now :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Am Chile

I dont think there will be a media blackout about tony rochfords hunger strike for much longer- tomorrow morning the ula are set to hold a short press conference with tony rochford.

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=564446643593724&set=a.388489954522728.86524.183654648339594&type=1&theater

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Am Chile wrote: »
    I dont think there will be a media blackout about tony rochfords hunger strike for much longer- tomorrow morning the ula are set to hold a short press conference with tony rochford.

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=564446643593724&set=a.388489954522728.86524.183654648339594&type=1&theater

There shouldn't be a blackout, this twat deserves the full media spotlight on his stupid protest, he was happy to ride the boomtimes, had to have the big overpriced mansion, and now want the rest of us to pay his bills, give him headlines, just not the type of headlines the selish ego driven git is looking for!
    ULA=Utterly Lunatic Assholes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,768 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Am Chile wrote: »

Those three b@stards never met a microphone or a camera they didn't like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,428 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

love how the fact he did well during the boom means he's a moron yet if he was an ordinary member of the public he would be a hero and have lots of support for his protest from some of the people in this thread, he feels strongly about the property tax and has decided to protest by going on hunger strike, he's wasting his time and will end up dead for which this government isn't worth killing yourself for, what he had or didn't have is irrelevant, truth is that many here if they could have had what he has or had they wouldn't be complaining

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

love how the fact he did well during the boom means he's a moron yet if he was an ordinary member of the public he would be a hero and have lots of support for his protest from some of the people in this thread, he feels strongly about the property tax and has decided to protest by going on hunger strike, he's wasting his time and will end up dead for which this government isn't worth killing yourself for, what he had or didn't have is irrelevant, truth is that many here if they could have had what he has or had they wouldn't be complaining
    No. He'd still be a moron. Property tax is a necessary evil.

• Administrators Posts: 54,619 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Clare f**king Daly, ugh. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 MrGreenfun

Im sorry buy whoever calls this man a loon or says he is crazy is a F'ing cob****e. This man is up there putting his LIFE on the line to stand up for what HE believes is right. Who are any of you to say hes right or wrong. In my opinion its was not acting that got us into this mess in the first place, so i say fair play to ya your an inspiration

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

He mightn't be eating but the vultures in the ULA will feast on him to further their own cause.