Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

safe for irishman in enniskillen on july 14th???

• 01-07-2013 7:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭

hi

I am going to a event up in Enniskillen on july 14th , I will be driving a southern reg car . july 14th is the orange man parade , marching season thing .

is it safe for a Irishman to be in Enniskillen on july 14th ??

cheers

brian

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

figs666 wrote: »
    hi

I am going to a event up in Enniskillen on july 14th , I will be driving a southern reg car . july 14th is the orange man parade , marching season thing .

cheers

brian
    Yes.

As houses.

No more explanation needed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

hi

cheers

brian

One word:

Kaboom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭RichT

Not another Safe thread.............:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

no, probably not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭Asbury Park

One word:

Kaboom.

:D no, in fairness OP, you'll be fine. I've been in the North all around the 12th although never on the day itself and nothing's ever happened to me or my car. Enniskillen is a predominantly nationalist town if that makes any difference to you, which it shouldn't really. Northerners, Catholic or Protestant, aren't the demons some people down here make them out to be. All it takes is a few rotten apples to spoil the barrel.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Aren't they all 'irishman' in Enniskillen :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

So long as you don't drive into the middle of the parade, yes, perfectly safe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

I believe Eniskillen is a popular destination for many lodge members from the Republic who enjoy the festivities and are made most welcome.

No seriously OP youll be fine.

This is the 'parade' in Enniskillen on the 14th. I don't think you have much to worry about.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

snubbleste wrote: »
    Aren't they all 'irishman' in Enniskillen :confused:

Yes, yes they are. but dont let that get in the way of stooopid questions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

You'll be sacrificed to the protestant Jesus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Hi brian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Got married there a few years back, one of the guests got called a "Free State bitch!!" when she got mouthy in a bar after the Hen but that was it. Knowing her, she had it coming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Ace Attorney

They will be after your lucky charms op

^ Apt username is apt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭josealdo

Specialun wrote: »
    Hi brian

hi specialun :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭shankespony

You will be fine, Fermanagh people are very respectful of each others cultures and have been brought up that way. Enjoy lovely town

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭cardwizzard

hi

cheers

brian

You might want to think about the other 'Irishmen' in Eniskillen before you start spouting that talk up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

You'll be grand. Sure, who'd want you?!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭gallag

If you come up we will get ya and do all the stuff out of that film saw to ya, yoooooooooo king billys on the wall king billys on the wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Bastille day? You should be fine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭Dostoevsky

hi

cheers

brian

Your pocket is safer in Enniskillen than in Donegal anyway - I had the misfortune to be in Donegal at that time last year and prices were ridiculous because of the annual political refugee problem from the Six Counties. Just as bad, they brought their kids with them. Expensive and noisy.

Enniskillen is grand. Loads of history. Fermanagh people are lovely, too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭Carry

Enniskillen is a rather middle class area with international tourism (boating, fishing etc.). Anyone who spends money over there is very welcome (very Oirish, innit?). Basically it's one of many places up North which don't give a damn anymore.
    You'll be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

Is that where that other flute quinn is hiding out? Fermanagh? Do us a favour and drag him back over the border will ya?

Enjoy the trip, ulster is grand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭TheFairy

Ye'll have no problems. PM me if you need to know anything else by all means.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭The Cool

July 12th is "orange day".
    The march may be on the Saturday (13th). We like a good Saturday march, us prods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Gary Sprake

You should be safe enough. The IRA haven't detonated a no-warning bomb in Enniskillen for quite some time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭policarp

The Cool wrote: »
    July 12th is "orange day".
    The march may be on the Saturday (13th). We like a good Saturday march, us prods.

COOL.

This year Derry is the European City Of Culture.
    Also the venue for the Fleadh Ceoil na hEireann.
    1st. time. So I'm looking forward. . . .

Sorry to hyjack the thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

Just make Ennis himself, isn't about or there'll be killens

Rudimentary.

OP, against form, Ulster appears to say YES.

I was in Dublin the day of the "Dublin and Monaghan bombings"
    So was my brother. We were very lucky.
    Just missed them by minutes.
    And the funny thing about it was there was no road blocks
    for me on the way home that day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭sadie06

Sorry to hijack the thread, but we have reason to travel up north this coming weekend also. We'll be staying near Enniskillen on Friday, then driving up to Derry for a short visit on Saturday morning, then home.

Do the same opinions expressed about Enniskillen count for Derry? We'll be visiting a person's house, not the city itself.

sadie06 wrote: »
    Sorry to hijack the thread, but we have reason to travel up north this coming weekend also. We'll be staying near Enniskillen on Friday, then driving up to Derry for a short visit on Saturday morning, then home.

Do the same opinions expressed about Enniskillen count for Derry? We'll be visiting a person's house, not the city itself.

100%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭ruthloss

Speed limit signs are in Miles Per Hour.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭markomuscle

About 60% of people in Enniskillen are Irish Catholics so there will be no problems for you, not everyone is of a different culture up here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭markomuscle

sadie06 wrote: »

Derry has around 70% Irish majority so you'll have no problems unless Martin McGuinness kidnaps you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭The Cool

If you're not going into the city you'll be grand. Watch out for the shneaky blue and red footpaths though ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

I heard they blow up people in Enniskillen if you don't spell their town with a capital letter.

You're fúcked OP.

Don't go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

you have only one thing to worry about and thats the traffic.. which side of town will you be coming in from OP? Are you staying in Enniskillen or passing through?

By the way, I know many members of the orange order that drive southern reg cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

How in the Hell is this thread still going? I'm genuinely shocked at how ignorant some people are about their own country.
    Here, I'm going to an island off the west coast next week. I heard there are aliens there called Grabbers that will eat you but will leave you alone if you're drunk. Is this true?

That's how stupid you sound OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

How in the Hell is this thread still going? I'm genuinely shocked at how ignorant some people are about their own country.
    Here, I'm going to an island off the west coast next week. I heard there are aliens there called Grabbers that will eat you but will leave you alone if you're drunk. Is this true?

That's how stupid you sound OP.

No aliens but being drunk helps on the Aran Islands. There's a grain of truth to most things.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,454 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Northern Ireland's a wonderful country. It's beautiful and it's home to some of the most genuinely lovely people I've ever met. You've nothing to fear unless you start talking loudly about stupid political nonsense. Most people just want to live their lives and couldn't care less about what flag flies where.
    You'll find trouble if you want it but I'd take the North over the Republic any day of the week. Baffles me that some people back home still think of it like it's some kind of warzone.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

I've driven to NI in my ROI Plates - Not a bother!

Stop worrying and enjoy yourself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Baffles me that some people back home still think of it like it's some kind of warzone.

It's like anything. People work off what the media tells them if they have no personal experience. I don't know why but southern media are fixated with the constitutional question in the north and all the associated physical conflict and its legacy.

All the pleasure trips I've made around the place have been a joy - because i started from such low expectations. The southern media doesn't cover normal day-to-day life of the north nor highlight its physical beauty.

Another good example is my hometown of Limerick - the media aren't exactly encouraging people to go and enjoy it. Working around Ireland, it has become clear to me that people think it is some kind of cartoon Gotham city. Why? Well if they haven't been there - something has to fill the vacuum for the concept of Limerick in their heads. Enter RTE and the national newspapers.

The good news is that it is always satisfying to go and find out the truth for yourself. Enjoy the wonderful town of Enniskillen and surrounding lakelands. Stunning if this weather holds.

Nemeses wrote: »
    I've driven to NI in my ROI Plates - Not a bother!

Stop worrying and enjoy yourself!

And often there are more southern reg cars around you than Northern reg cars. I've found this in Ballycastle, Warrenpoint, Castlewellan (for the Fleadh Uladh) and almost every GAA match I've gone to north of the border involving a team from the 26. Dromore in Tyrone in two weeks, for the Fleadh Uladh again, will be packed with southern reg cars. And Derry at the end of August for the Fleadh Cheoil na hÉireann will certainly have more southern reg cars (among the 200,000 peope who usually attend) than northern reg ones.

This natural flow of Irish people across Ireland without due regard to this country's partition by the British must really annoy the "It's a separate country!!!!!" wannabe mythmakers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

You won't be safe from the accent OP

topper75 wrote: »
    It's like anything. People work off what the media tells them if they have no personal experience.... All the pleasure trips I've made around the place have been a joy - because i started from such low expectations. The southern media doesn't cover normal day-to-day life of the north nor highlight its physical beauty.

I agree 100%.

Another good example is my hometown of Limerick - the media aren't exactly encouraging people to go and enjoy it. Working around Ireland, it has become clear to me that people think it is some kind of cartoon Gotham city. Why? Well if they haven't been there - something has to fill the vacuum for the concept of Limerick in their heads. Enter RTE and the national newspapers.

With absolutely no disrespect to you, Topper, but Limerick is exceptionally awful. I drove past it yesterday on the way back from Kerry and after seeing the way communities such as in Kenmare get together to present their towns, I just felt sad for the place. I have been through it many times now and there are so many things which should no longer be seen in Ireland - boarded-up homes, burnt-out homes, abandoned homes, gangs on the corner of streets. I drove from the centre out by a place called Hyde road (I made a point of looking for the road name) to get onto the M7 and we are talking kilometres of deprivation all around that area. It was shocking. Even Ballymun doesn't look that bad now. It really, really doesn't.

No place in Ireland, except Portadown or Ballymena, has as bad a reputation as Limerick. In my experience of being in those towns, all three places deserve it. It's as if the majority of citizens in Limerick, whom I presume are as decent as in any other place, have given up on improving their area. The politicians, being representatives, seem to reflect this apathy.

Limerick is perhaps lovely if you get the train down and just stay around the historic area and the river - it certainly looks lovely in the tourist brochures. It has a great history, and that could be a major selling point. But get lost in Limerick city and an outsider like me will be shocked with the contrast in that small city with a population the size of Tallaght. It really has been forgotten by the finances of the Irish state and the only people to blame are the Limerick people who continue to elect the same people who have no motivation to change things, even though there is usually a Limerick TD in each cabinet. Limerick will recover its reputation, but it's going to need a lot of local people to start believing in the place again and to start fighting for it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,454 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

It's like anything. People work off what the media tells them if they have no personal experience. I don't know why but southern media are fixated with the constitutional question in the north and all the associated physical conflict and its legacy.

All the pleasure trips I've made around the place have been a joy - because i started from such low expectations. The southern media doesn't cover normal day-to-day life of the north nor highlight its physical beauty.

The good news is that it is always satisfying to go and find out the truth for yourself. Enjoy the wonderful town of Enniskillen and surrounding lakelands. Stunning if this weather holds.

I've never been to Limerick but I can't imagine it's as bad as the media portray it. I'd be lying if I said my opinion hadn't been coloured by the media. I've never had a reason to visit the place and I think I'd like to if I ever got a chance.
    Most of the lads on my course came from Cork & Tipperary and were daunted by the prospect of living in the north for a year. There was a small amount of abuse, I won't lie. Most of it seemed to have been directed at the girls who rejected the local thugs who are fortunately a minority.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34