Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best radio station in Waterford

• 01-07-2013 3:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭deadybai

Seen as its Beat 102-103's 10th birthday today I was just wondering what radio station is the most popular in Waterford City and its surrounding areas. I personally like 2fm the most but seem to always be turning on Beat for the tunes.

What are your preferences?

Most popular radio Station in Waterford 97 votes

Wlr fm
    0%
    Beat 102-103
    12%
    Dr. BaltarfreewheelerArtVandelay76deekscomeraghsiphoneheadfitzcoffMax Powersinlikeflynn86blue noteChris RyanAnnestownRadio 12 votes
    Rte Radio 1
    30%
    Pulse8ziedthwitless1mailrewopiseegirlsMitchKoobskiSome_PersonDaveJac_LilyRose_pp_meDoylersLaura_lolly87deisedaveeiresandraskinnyboyJamie2k9YumDeiseMumdavi31cfc.foreverseavill 30 votes
    Rte 2fm
    7%
    JamboBeekercraoltoirdeise bluejupiterjackminibearmorebarn2 7 votes
    Today fm
    8%
    deisemumBaby4sparkling seaRubberlegsCreamsodadark_shadowdeadybaiVillaboi! 8 votes
    Rte Lyric Fm
    30%
    Aquos76SullylassykksouthjohnnykiloshockwaveTeebor15Musicman2000baronflyguy200motelsTheBoffinDunmoreroaderHijpoLedgerrude awakeningEthan EdwardsMinisterLETS BE AVN ITdaaavefitzeyboy. 30 votes
    South East Radio
    4%
    jmccCabaalGrandBlaalertsnim 4 votes
    KCLR 96fm
    2%
    ChiparusGalia 2 votes
    Tipp Fm
    2%
    maquiladoraToddyDoody 2 votes
    Newstalk
    2%
    callaway92Alpha Dog 1 2 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭0rt

There is more than that on Waterfords Airwaves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭deadybai

Today fm
    0rt wrote: »
    There is more than that on Waterfords Airwaves.

Like what? that's all the ones I could think of. I was going to include Opentempo fm but that only airs between 6pm friday until Sunday night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Zenith Classic Rock (now playing Be Bop Delux and that's why!)
    Open Tempo FM

Today fm
    mike65 wrote: »
    Zenith Classic Rock (now playing Be Bop Delux and that's why!)
    Open Tempo FM

Never heard of Zenith Classic Rock.
    What frequency is it?

Its got a temp licence between Jan and end March at the weekends, its online all the time though.

http://184.105.134.25:8002 also available in 64Kbps but have not got the link handy.

Today fm
    Its got a temp licence between Jan and end March at the weekends, its online all the time though.

http://184.105.134.25:8002 also available in 64Kbps but have not got the link handy.

cheers for that. never heard of that at all

Rte Radio 1
    Beat until about 9am, then when all the crap music begins, onto Newstalk.

Today fm
    Beat until about 9am, then when all the crap music begins, onto Newstalk.

Same for me except for the newstalk lol. I usually get my lunch at 1 o clock for a hour so I listen to Larry Gogans Golden hour on 2fm. In my opinion thats the best show on radio.

But I think its fair to say that Beat have the best breakfast show. I hate the way beat has basically a full half hour of ads and new when it gets to half past the hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭decies

Radio DSBC for all your Waterford Wolves and Waterford Utd Away matches .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭daaave

Rte Lyric Fm
    tramore community radio. my old neighbour, Thor Zeller, has a decent selection of rock songs on his show "access all areas"

http://tcrfm.ie/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Jason Todd

Rte Lyric Fm
    I'd be a Today FM listener for most of the day, but I do listen to Beat's Breakfast show and I'll put on Beat's Andy Mac on the way home in the evening for a few tunes if Matt Cooper is too depressing. :)

Today fm
    Jason Todd wrote: »
    I'd be a Today FM listener for most of the day, but I do listen to Beat's Breakfast show and I'll put on Beat's Andy Mac on the way home in the evening for a few tunes if Matt Cooper is too depressing. :)

I'm very surprised with today fm leading. Matt Cooper can be very interesting at times but I still would have thought that Will Leahys more music drive on 2fm would have been the most popular drive home show.

Today fm
    daaave wrote: »
    tramore community radio. my old neighbour, Thor Zeller, has a decent selection of rock songs on his show "access all areas"

http://tcrfm.ie/

What frequency is this on? or is it just an online one? And I presume they only broadcast in the city and Tramore (obviously Tramore lol)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭giles lynchwood

Anyone know who is behind opentempo.Pm me if you like.Thank's in advance.

Today fm
    Anyone know who is behind opentempo.Pm me if you like.Thank's in advance.

Sorry don't no. But some tunes when it gets going in the night.

Today fm
    So no takers on Rte Lyric Fm :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭Trick of the Tail

http://totalbroadcast.net/zenith/zenith32.pls

http://totalbroadcast.net/zenith/zenith64.pls

http://totalbroadcast.net/zenith/zenith128.pls

The latter is the best quality, the first is lowest bitrate, for mobile use, the middle is a compromise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

Newstalk all the time except for Matt Cooper on Today FM ahead of George Hook and then I'd listen to Paul McCloone if I happened to be in the car when he's on. If Beat ceased to exist in the morning I wouldn't even notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭.Henry Sellers.

No ABC Power 104 in the poll? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭daaave

Rte Lyric Fm
    deadybai wrote: »
    What frequency is this on? or is it just an online one? And I presume they only broadcast in the city and Tramore (obviously Tramore lol)

92.3fm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭Minister

Rte Lyric Fm
    IMHO - WLR = What a Load of Rubbish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Dunmoreroader

Rte Lyric Fm
    7.30a.m. rte 1 - morning Ireland if I can stand it, If not Ian Dempsey on Today FM!
    9.00a.m. rte 1 John Murray good but M.I.A. - Miriam O'Callaghan - nice to look at but dose of ire on the radio so switch to Newstalk until lunchtime or Ray D'Arcy on Today FM until he gets on my nerves.
    1p.m. Back to RTE1 for Sean O'Rourke's lunchtime news.
    1.45p.m. Talk to Joe - NO! Switch to Today FM Tony Fenton, Matt Cooper, Paul McLoone - class.
    Would like to listen to local stations a bit more for local news/topics but the music is usually woeful.
    But then I'm at that funny age.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

The experimental music show Nova on a Sun night can be good. Otherwise occasionally.

Today fm
    old gregg wrote: »
    The experimental music show Nova on a Sun night can be good. Otherwise occasionally.

Yeah same goes for Rte Rnag (which I forgot to include). Some of them night time shows have great tunes on them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭S28382

Rte Lyric Fm
    Dempsey in the morning, Darcy till 12, wont listen to the radio until Moncrieff comes on then wont listen again until Off The Ball. Beat FM is a sh*te station with pop crap rotating every few hours. WLR is for the old folks of Waterford who love listening to see who is after dying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,071 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Newstalk

Then really how the fúck was he supposed to know about it?

Jesus Christ. I'd go out on a limb here (yeah . .) and guess that 99% of people here haven't heard of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭S28382

Rte Lyric Fm
    callaway92 wrote: »

Jesus Christ. I'd go out on a limb here (yeah . .) and guess that 99% of people here haven't heard of it.

Touchy Touchy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭Hijpo

Rte Lyric Fm
    Beat is probably the cheesiest radio station iv ever heard with more ads than an american sports channel, they try waaaay to hard to be funny and cool for the younger audience.
    WLR is by far the worst of the lot playing the same awful songs at the same time every day for the week for all the crusties.

I'll wager you are wrong (and as an interloper from South Tipp I wouldn't expect you to have heard of it).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,895 ✭✭✭lertsnim

South East Radio

I do listen from time to time in the car

Newstalk
    I'll wager you are wrong (and as an interloper from South Tipp I wouldn't expect you to have heard of it).

I was in college up there until mid-May this year and go there on weekends constantly too but I never heard of it. I'd be a heavily frequent radio listener so again, I'm always open to change but never saw/heard an advertisement for this bullshít online station you're on about.

You'd think a poster with an amount of posts like yourself wouldn't be such an arrogant fúck in them. .

Newstalk

Links that are all 2+ years old. Yeah, tyvm sir. The station is only on RADIO till end-of-March . . . Some load of bs.

Still stick by my 99% . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,622 ✭✭✭lassykk

Rte Lyric Fm
    Links that are all 2+ years old. Yeah, tyvm sir. The station is only on RADIO till end-of-March . . . Some load of bs.

Still stick by my 99% . . .

Lads, lads, I think you should both sit down and talk about the problems you are having. You clearly care deeply about each other and this bickering just isn't helping anyone. I know there's an age gap between ye but I'm sure you can work it out.

PS... I am assuming you are a couple cos no one fights over something so unimportant otherwise.

Today fm
    lassykk wrote: »

Yeah they need to take a chill pill and relax.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T0b6cBaxj1U

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭Minister

Rte Lyric Fm
    I was in college up there until mid-May this year and go there on weekends constantly too but I never heard of it. I'd be a heavily frequent radio listener so again, I'm always open to change but never saw/heard an advertisement for this bullshít online station you're on about.

You'd think a poster with an amount of posts like yourself wouldn't be such an arrogant fúck in them. .

Post reported for vitriol and rudeness......

I see none of the poll options have been changed :P

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Rte Lyric Fm
    callaway92 & mike65; Take a deep breath folks. No need to be sniping at each other over something so small. If you feel the need, place each other on ignore. Lets hear no more of this petty argument and lets rejoice that we are blessed with so many great radio stations, temporary and permanent. :D

Today fm
    0rt wrote: »
    I see none of the poll options have been changed :P

Iv'e already tried to change them. Its a bit late now anyways the others would have too much of a head start and it wouldn't be a fair reflection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,530 ✭✭✭jmcc

South East Radio
    Some of the music is good but they have DJs interrupting it. :) It is a damned shame that scumbag Burke ruined pirate radio in Ireland. He should have been keelhauled.

Regards...jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Dr. Baltar

Beat 102-103
    Radio to me is nothing more than background noise in a car, but that being said, I can't stand Beat. Nothing grinds my gears more than the same 7 or 8 songs over and over again followed by a news segment with a 4/4 beat in the background polished off with a "and finally some celebrity just tweeted that she just took a massive dump in the jacks"

Beat to me is a glorified Ipod.. with the most played on repeat.. but its not their fault, thats what they are told to play!
    WLR are trying to get some of the younger generation back listening, they have Zoe Staunton 6-10pm all week, shes pretty good at what she does.. she started off on opentempo as far as i know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭wellboytoo

Id say this poll says more about the age group on boards than it does about who listens to what!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,622 ✭✭✭lassykk

Rte Lyric Fm
    Mostly negative comments towards Beat yet they are doing well in the poll!

Obviously their fans aren't too vocal or are scared of a backlash on here today!

I generally listen to Ian Dempsey in the mornings and then 2fm on the way home if Matt Cooper is talking politics.

Used to listen to Off The Ball on Newstalk before the presenters changed but haven't been in the car around that time lately so don't know what the new lads are like plus it would be mostly GAA / Rugby talk at the moment anyway which wouldn't really interest me.

beat are secretly getting all their staff to vote :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,530 ✭✭✭jmcc

South East Radio
    wellboytoo wrote: »
    Id say this poll says more about the age group on boards than it does about who listens to what!
    That and the difference between people who listen to radio channels for music and those who listen mainly for talk and chat.

Regards...jmcc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭TrustedApple

I will add my point in here student as well in WIT live down there for 8 mouths of the year and the only place i have had any clue of these smaller radio stations was on boards.ie so they must be **** if they cant even broadcast full time and there not even on the radio some of them LoL

But i would be a Beat man myself as you get some news around the south east its good for whats going on. Music is grand plays chart music but night time can be good plays a nice mix of music. Like if you not happy with what music is on the radio put on a CD ..... :rolleyes:

the only place i have had any clue of these smaller radio stations was on boards.ie so they must be **** if they cant even broadcast full time

you obviously know nothing about radio or licencing.
    Community radio stations regulated to a certain amount of broadcasting, as are temp radio stations..

Temps stations [zenith] are proving theres a need for something different on waterfords airwaves..

Each full time station has programming they have to adhere to as defined by their licence. Zenith is a station that isnt regulated by any licence that is available, so in order for them to become a full time station, they need a licence to be created before they can apply for it.

As for OpenTempoFM.. they are a pirate, and I guess as a pirate they keep under the radar by broadcasting after office hours or weekends.
    Transmitters that are above board and wont cause any interferance to other stations can go into the thousands so being raided can be a costly adventure.

BeatFM.. well.. they cater for the likes of you :)

Today fm
    surprised with 2fms showing here. Would have thought it was much more popular

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭bluesfan

I listen to the radio for a bit of chat mostly, so it's Newstalk for me. Tom Dunne in the mornings, Sean Moncrieff in the afternoon and On the Ball in the evenings. If I want to listen to music I tent to put on CD's or MP3s rather than random stuff from the radio.