Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

14ft dory

• 30-06-2013 2:11am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭

Anyone ever been out in one...I am looking at one on adverts ..looks a great boat for pike fishing out of.
    I have an 18 ft sheelin type boat ATM and would be looking at a part ex for this boat.
    I would be putting a 15 HP Honda on it.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,352 Mod ✭✭✭✭fergal.b

They are both good boats your sheelin would be more comfortable cutting through the chop and the dory would be more stable when stopped and would have a bit more deck room for that big pike :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭spynappels

Spent quite a lot of time on a Dell Quay dory on Carlingford Lough.

It's coped with some serious seas, but as Fergal says it's not comfortable motoring into any sort of chop, slams like anything. Taking waves on the quarter is best but not everyone likes the corkscrewing that results.

You mention pike so I guess you'll be lake fishing, where were you thinking about? I guess you'd never get worse sea states on a freshwater lake than over the bar in Carlingford Lough, and even there it's felt very safe, so I'd say go for it, you'll find it very stable as Fergal said.

Just use a kill cord....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Cheer for the info lads.

I'd be using it in lough ree and the Shannon mostly.

My only other concern is that I might find it small compared to the 18ft sheelin.
    Or would the shape of the boat mean there is actually more room in it??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭spynappels

I don't know the Sheelin at all, but we've regularly had 3-4 people fishing for mackerel from the dory, there is loads of room because of it's shape.

I have attached a couple of pics of my sheelin and here is the link to the dory im looking at.
    http://www.adverts.ie/boats-accessories/look-cheap-14ft-dory-boat/3183476

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,352 Mod ✭✭✭✭fergal.b

I think your boat is a nicer looking one and would hold is value more:)
    Also when you say part ex do you mean the owner of the other boat is giving you cash as well and not the other way round :D The dory seems to have had a hard life and the bow looks to have been patched up a bit, it has also been hand painted and that can hide a lot so if you are thinking about buying it go and have a good look at it first.

Part ex with the other guy giving me cash too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭davlacey

id hold on to your own and get a sea boat about the same size wider beam and deeper draught plus plenty of room for all your fishing gear

davlacey wrote: »
    id hold on to your own and get a sea boat about the same size wider beam and deeper draught plus plenty of room for all your fishing gear

Can't afford both lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 IreJohn

Can't afford both lol

The boat you have looks a very nice boat
    Looks a lot better than the boat your going for. Good luck with your decision :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭murphym7

Your yoke is way nicer and if I had a choice of the two I would pick yours. Are you just bored with your boat, maybe if you pimped it out with paint, varnish couple of shiny bits you would love her again?

murphym7 wrote: »
    Your yoke is way nicer and if I had a choice of the two I would pick yours. Are you just bored with your boat, maybe if you pimped it out with paint, varnish couple of shiny bits you would love her again?

I love my boat I was just toying with the idea of something a bit faster that was a bit better suited to pike fishing . .there is also a 16ft dory up there for sale but its set up for remote control and a longshaft engine , I cant afford controles for my engine and its a short shaft , feck it i might just hold on to mine and pimp her out , i need to put a decent fin system onto the stern to help it on the speed front , and to keep the bow down.

• Site Banned Posts: 638 ✭✭✭imurdaddy

I love my boat I was just toying with the idea of something a bit faster that was a bit better suited to pike fishing . .there is also a 16ft dory up there for sale but its set up for remote control and a longshaft engine , I cant afford controles for my engine and its a short shaft , feck it i might just hold on to mine and pimp her out , i need to put a decent fin system onto the stern to help it on the speed front , and to keep the bow down.

I think your own boat is far nicer looking and id see more value in it, the dory looks like it has plenty of use got.