Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The jumpers are coming 2013/14

• 26-06-2013 9:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭

Summer not quite over and the real racing not yet began but saw this and said I'd kick the thread off early ;)
    Tipperary target for Dessie Hughes-trained Our Conor

Our Conor will begin his new campaign in the Grade Two Grimes Hurdle at Tipperary on 6 October.
    The Dessie Hughes-trained four-year-old was one of the most impressive winners of the Triumph Hurdle for some considerable time but was ruled out of a seasonal swansong at the Punchestown Festival because of soft ground.

"Super Sunday" is usually a decent day's racing, might make the trek down if Our Conor does indeed run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

I've backed Grandouet for the Arkle. Bastard will probably let me down though. Hope he goes over fences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

I always tread cautiously with antepost bets on novice chases, very easy to back horses that are kept over hurdles.

I generally don't back ante post and it's not a big sum of money, was worth a little risk at 12/1 though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Ah jaysus tis a bit early for this!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Johner wrote: »
    I generally don't back ante post and it's not a big sum of money, was worth a little risk at 12/1 though.

Think 12/1 is a poor price ante post for a horse whose grade 1 win came in a terrible novice and doesn't finish a fair amount of races who may not go chasing

UrbanSea wrote: »
    Think 12/1 is a poor price ante post for a horse whose grade 1 win came in a terrible novice and doesn't finish a fair amount of races who may not go chasing

I already said it's not a large amount. It won't look a poor price if he wins a few mickey mouse novice chases on the bridle. And if he doesn't go chasing it's not the end of the world. Like I said I don't usually do ante post bets but I like the horse and think he'd improve for going chasing. What price would you have him so? Wasn't Sprinter Sacre 10/1 before he jumped a fence? How many grade 1's did he win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

Can't wait to see who lines up the arkle. I'd champagne fever will be aiming for number 3 at Cheltenham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Sprinter Sacre was a huge horse who looked made for fences, was guaranteed to go chasing and his third in a hot supreme novice when travelling all over the opposition made him look a more exciting prospect than Grandoeut ever has. Grandoeut is much older, is still unsure to go chasing and has already shown a tendency to not complete his races. There are dounts about his ability and he's also injury prone and has missed the festival before. 12/1 is a terrible price, especially considering you're guaranteed to have at least that available in October/November before he runs.

Slattsy wrote: »
    Ah jaysus tis a bit early for this!

It's normal for fans to start looking forward during the off season, especially with only mickey mouse stuff to keep them occupied until then :)

One thing I'm very surprised about is oscars well has never been tried over hurdles at 3m. The horse has talent locked away

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Sprinter Sacre was a huge horse who looked made for fences, was guaranteed to go chasing and his third in a hot supreme novice when travelling all over the opposition made him look a more exciting prospect than Grandoeut ever has. Grandoeut is much older, is still unsure to go chasing and has already shown a tendency to not complete his races. There are dounts about his ability and he's also injury prone and has missed the festival before. 12/1 is a terrible price, especially considering you're guaranteed to have at least that available in October/November before he runs.

What price could you realistically expect for Grandouet then? Much older than Sprinter Sacre? Grandouet is a lighly raced 6 year old. :confused: Sprinter Sacre was 5 when he went chasing so I don't know he you could say Grandouet is much older. :confused: Probably me being biased towards him but I think he would make a great 2 mile chaser. People saying he doesn't finish off his races? Yeah over 2 mile 4 he didn't because he didn't get the trip and a couple of times as a 4 year old over 2miles but he's a stronger horse now and provided he stays at 2 miles I don't think it will be a problem. I don't think you can use the International in heavy ground to say he didn't get home. I know he's fallin a couple of times but he's actually not a bad jumper and think he would respect a fence a whole lot more. Like you say he might never go over fences but I think it's worth a chance and it's probably just because I really like the horse that I've backed him.

Grandouet.gif

Beautiful Grandouet it's time for a fence my son.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

On what he's actually achieved on the track Grandouet is one of the most over rated horses in the game IMO (and I've said that repeatedly on here).

I agree he's a bit overrated by myself included, he's a 166 rated hurdler though and I would love to see him over a fence. The way he travels he just strikes me as the type to improve for a fence, if he jumps them!

Everyone just shut up slagging Grandouet okay!

What price could you realistically expect for Grandouet then? Much older than Sprinter Sacre? Grandouet is a lighly raced 6 year old. :confused: Sprinter Sacre was 5 when he went chasing so I don't know he you could say Grandouet is much older. :confused: Probably me being biased towards him but I think he would make a great 2 mile chaser. People saying he doesn't finish off his races? Yeah over 2 mile 4 he didn't because he didn't get the trip and a couple of times as a 4 year old over 2miles but he's a stronger horse now and provided he stays at 2 miles I don't think it will be a problem. I don't think you can use the International in heavy ground to say he didn't get home. I know he's fallin a couple of times but he's actually not a bad jumper and think he would respect a fence a whole lot more. Like you say he might never go over fences but I think it's worth a chance and it's probably just because I really like the horse that I've backed him.

Wasn't talking about his staying ability, more that he doesn't complete every so often. My definition of a good/bad jumper is probably different than yours. A hurdler who jumps most hurdles well and takes liabilities at the odd one is a bad jumper in my book. Falling more than once over hurdles can't be excused.

I'd have him at least 1/2 alone to make Cheltenham from this far out, and evens to be a chaser come 2014. Then he'd need decent ground. Given all that he'd still have to have the ability to actually win an Arkle, which I probably think he doesn't. I wouldn't be interested in anything under 33/1 atm, so probably 20's to 25's at this stage if I was stating his true price. If I was a bookie it'd be a different matter, because (no offense) all you're going to attract April-September in Cheltenham antepost markets are Punters who aren't price sensitive, and would back him or anyone else regardless if they were 16/1 or 12/1. 95% of the horses in the antepost markets will be the same price or bigger in the market in mid October, which will be the first time you might see any semblance of 'smart money'. There is zero value in the antepost market at the moment on any horse

Sorry what?

Wasn't talking about his staying ability, more that he doesn't complete every so often. My definition of a good/bad jumper is probably different than yours. A hurdler who jumps most hurdles well and takes liabilities at the odd one is a bad jumper in my book. Falling more than once over hurdles can't be excused.

I'd have him at least 1/2 alone to make Cheltenham from this far out, and evens to be a chaser come 2014. Then he'd need decent ground. Given all that he'd still have to have the ability to actually win an Arkle, which I probably think he doesn't. I wouldn't be interested in anything under 33/1 atm, so probably 20's to 25's at this stage if I was stating his true price. If I was a bookie it'd be a different matter, because (no offense) all you're going to attract April-September in Cheltenham antepost markets are Punters who aren't price sensitive, and would back him or anyone else regardless if they were 16/1 or 12/1. 95% of the horses in the antepost markets will be the same price or bigger in the market in mid October, which will be the first time you might see any semblance of 'smart money'. There is zero value in the antepost market at the moment on any horse

Well I don't think he's a bad jumper but never said he's a good jumper he's just stepped at a couple of hurdles in his career.(which I guess you can call him a bad jumper for :p But I chose not to :D ) I just think he would respect his fences a bit more thats all.

You don't think a 166 rated hurdler if taking to fences has the ability to win an Arkle? He has all the ability in the world but I understand that he is being overrated by me included but he's clearly a talented horse.

Reality is though you'd never see those type of prices for him, he's as low as 8/1 with some bookies. I agree there is no value in the ante post market and I rarely get involved but is it really going to get bigger than 12/1? If its announced Grandouet is going over fences and then he does win a few novices chases on the bridle the price will collapse. If he's staying over hurdles I haven't lost that much. Just on this one it's worth the risk for me, I understand why people don't think it's value but I can't see him getting bigger.

Sorry what?

Has Colonel ever mentioned Grandouet being overrated. :confused::pac:

Sorry what?

There was quite a long Grandouet thread a year ago. Read that one, saves the need to re-hash

Slatty's taking the piss. He got a new girlfriend in the Curragh thread and now thinks he's all that. :pac:

In my view he's a 5/2 shot to even make the race with a live shot at this stage, being very generous, adding up odds of making Chelt (1/2), becoming and remaining a chaser (evs) and no v.soft ground (1/6), all imo of course. 12/1 taking the 5/2 out would equate to a race price of 11/4. I'd be shocked if Grandouet started an Arkle shorter than 11/4, or actually went into an Arkle worthy of an 11/4 price, especially in what should be a decent renewal. Roundabout way of saying I think 12/1 is a very poor price

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Overthelast

Ffs lads. It's June. Jumpers are coming? Postman from Donegal said we'd get a hot summer. Put them away.

I'd personally much rather discuss Hurricane Fly vs Our Conor in 8 months time than Ruler of the World vs Libertarian in 3 days time.

Slatty's taking the piss. He got a new girlfriend in the Curragh thread and now thinks he's all that. :pac:

At least someone gets jokes!

Fair enough. But there's more to the flat racing season that 2 three yr old's running around the curragh, in 3 days time. Our Connor in Tipp this October. Ok.

PS. Fly has no chance next March :)

Our Conor will be a machine that will demolish Fly. :)

In my view he's a 5/2 shot to even make the race with a live shot at this stage, being very generous, adding up odds of making Chelt (1/2), becoming and remaining a chaser (evs) and no v.soft ground (1/6), all imo of course. 12/1 taking the 5/2 out would equate to a race price of 11/4. I'd be shocked if Grandouet started an Arkle shorter than 11/4, or actually went into an Arkle worthy of an 11/4 price, especially in what should be a decent renewal. Roundabout way of saying I think 12/1 is a very poor price

It's always good or good to soft at Cheltenham... :D that was pretty obvious this year! As a big grandouet fan who carried a truckload of money numerous times, I wouldn't touch him over fences at 20-1 until I see him beat a class 2 horse and perform 2 flawless races over fences. Steps to freedom and grandouet I'm hoping will stay in the market to keep champagne fever and others prices higher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Good stuff, people doubting the Fly and it only June, this is going to be a long 9 months :D

/thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,123 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Our Conor will be a machine that will demolish Fly. :)

It will be very hard to bear HF in Ireland. Hope HF beats him here and i can get a better price on Our Conor for Cheltenham.

Just got a text saying Pont Alexandre misses the season but can't find anything online

Can anyone confirm or deny :confused:

Just got a text saying Pont Alexandre misses the season but can't find anything online

Can anyone confirm or deny :confused:

It's true. :(

Was hidden away in a corner in the Racing Post yesterday. Terrible news. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 JAORTA

Good stuff, people doubting the Fly and it only June, this is going to be a long 9 months :D

our conor will destroy hurricane fly if he meets him in cheltenham next march.the fly has been a brilliant servant but his best is behind him,istabraq comes to mind....a brilliant horse but went to the well once too often.our conor is 5-1 compared to hf at 7-2.I would love evens on our conor in a match bet(nr no bet!!):eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,101 ✭✭✭klairondavis

I really like Our Conor and his win in the Triumph provided me with the biggest antepost payout of my life but I place no faith whatsoever in Danny Mullins. He's not in the same league as Cooper and having a good man on board is so important in these big Grade 1 events. I hope the horse is good enough in spite of him but I won't have the same confidence next season.

Jewson tops new Grade One heats

The two-and-a-half-mile heat is one of three novice events to be reclassified in the top division along with the Mildmay Novices' Chase and Mersey Novices' Hurdle, both run at Aintree's Grand National meeting.

The two-mile Celebration Chase, staged at Sandown on the final day of the season, will also be a Grade One event next year.

Aintree's two-and-a-half-mile Listed hurdle at the National meeting will now be a Grade Three affair along with November's Becher Chase at the Merseyside venue.

Was expecting the Jewson to be upgraded, as doesn't a race needs to be run at least 3 times before getting Grade 1 status?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

JAORTA wrote: »
    our conor will destroy hurricane fly if he meets him in cheltenham next march.the fly has been a brilliant servant but his best is behind him,istabraq comes to mind....a brilliant horse but went to the well once too often.our conor is 5-1 compared to hf at 7-2.I would love evens on our conor in a match bet(nr no bet!!):eek:

You have no evidence HFs best days are behind him.

Your comment comparing him to Istabraq is stupid and doesnt work.

Hope this helps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

As much as i liked this year's Jewson along with my 20/1 winner $$$$$$$ making it grade 1 will further weaken the RSA and Arkle, making it easier for trainers to avoid them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

As flawless as Our Conor has been over hurdles he's never been tested on a sound surface and I don't think he's beaten an awful lot this year. On what we've seen could he beat Hurricane Fly? Possibly but no way in hell could you suggest he'll trounce him on a 4 year old hurdle campaign.

Harold Kirk has paid £170,000 for Sanctuaire at the sales. Has he taken leave of his senses?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

Hurricane Fly will mangle Our Conor in all the small field 2m hurdles in Ireland, might be a different story at the festival but hopefully OC will make a price for HF at home

One Jump Ahead is just about finished according to Mark Howard's diary

Not long to go now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Jayo11780

One Jump Ahead is just about finished according to Mark Howard's diary

Not long to go now!

Bought it last year... What an inciteful little booklet it is.
    Cant wait to read this year's one!
    I subscribed to his email service last year, won a bagload over in Cheltenham last November because of him!

OJA is a really decent read alright. Cheap as chips also.

I'm on holidays the 1st 2 weeks in September. When I come back the jumps season is nearly upon us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

One horse I'm looking forward to seeing this year is Mala Beach. Due to be going over fences isn't he?

Invictus is one I can't wait to see again..price if 40-1 for the gold cup could be huge..hopefully he's back this season

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

ste2010 wrote: »
    Invictus is one I can't wait to see again..price if 40-1 for the gold cup could be huge..hopefully he's back this season

They NEVER come back

Is Marlbrook going straight over fences does anyone know?

It's getting closer. :D

http://www.attheraces.com/article.aspx?hlid=537851&lid=&raceid=&title=Bobs+to+be+kept+busy&ref=PA+Racing+Feed&nav=&sub=&day=Wed

Bobs Worth,
    Trainer Nicky Henderson is hopeful Bobs Worth will have a busier campaign this time around as he builds up to a defence of his Cheltenham Gold Cup crown next March.

The seven-year-old kicked off last season with a brilliant display in the Hennessy Gold Cup in early December, but was then not seen until clinching Gold Cup glory at the Festival in the spring.

Henderson said: "It was one bad tracheal wash and some bloody awful weather. He probably never really reached peak fitness last season. We were going to run him and a lot of the other top horses much more, but the winter set us back."

The Charlie Hall Chase at Wetherby and the Betfair Chase at Haydock are obvious early-season targets for Bobs Worth, but a tilt at the King George VI Chase at Kempton on Boxing Day appears highly unlikely.

"It's (Kempton) not a good track for Bobs Worth, who loves going left-handed and loves Cheltenham," said the Seven Barrows trainer.

One of Henderson's stars who could yet come into the King George reckoning is Simonsig, who completed a hat-trick over fences in the Arkle Trophy at Cheltenham.

Henderson said: "He started at over two miles and three furlongs last year, and he won the Neptune (over two miles and five furlongs) the year before that. It all tells you he stays and I wouldn't rule him out of the King George. Otherwise he's going to have to go straight in and take on Sprinter Sacre, which would be quite a pity."

Dual King George winner Long Run is likely to be back at Kempton on Boxing Day, while Oscar Whisky and My Tent Or Yours are also likely to be major flag-bearers for the stable.

Henderson claimed his first trainers' title since 1987 last season and is determined not to relinquish it. "I've still got the hunger, I want to go and win every bloody race there is and we've got a very strong team, both equine and human," he said.

"Oscar Whisky will go over fences. My Tent Or Yours will have to come in as a Champion Hurdle horse, and Grandouet is one of those, too. There's an awful lot of good ones for those races and some good youngsters, too."

Paul Nicholls looks likely to be Henderson's main challenger again this term, while Ireland's perennial champion Willie Mullins will bring an added threat after last month declaring his intention to saddle more runners in Britain.

Henderson said: "We just want to have a good year, but I don't think Paul is going to lie down just like that. He'll be trying like hell and we'll also have Willie Mullins to contend with too. Imagine what he's going to bring over here. It'll make it difficult for us."