Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anal Hazing has become a new thing in high schools

• 25-06-2013 9:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,476 ✭✭✭

In the last year, there have been more than a dozen hazing incidents around the country involving high school boys who have sodomized other boys with foreign objects, reports Bloomberg. Over 40 boys have been reported victims. Most have been younger students.
    There’s a dearth of data concerning the size and scope of the national boy-on-boy anal hazing problem. Astonishingly, though, a study published in the Journal of Youth and Adolescence has claimed that nearly 10 percent of high school males report suffering some form of sexual assault including, in some cases, forced oral sex or rape.
    Social media plays a big role in the spread of hazing in high schools, asserts Susan Lipkins, a New York psychologist who has studied the phenomenon. High schoolers learn new and more brutal ways to haze thanks to virtual communities.
    “Each time a hazing occurs, the perpetrators add their own mark to it by increasing the pain or humiliation,” Lipkins told Bloomberg.
    A sampling of recent incidents certainly demonstrates creative cruelty.
    Three former soccer players at La Puente High School in the suburban sprawl east of Los Angeles were convicted of sexually assaulting other students with a javelin and a broken flagpole, reports Southern California Public Radio.
    A bit farther east, in Fontana, Calif., underage students allegedly tried to place a piece of rebar inside the anal cavity of another student, according to NBC Southern California. There was a similar incident involving a broom handle. Prosecutors say a masonry teacher was present at the time and knew what was happening.
    In tiny Greenfield, Iowa, a group of members of the Nodaway Valley High School wrestling team allegedly pinned down a 16-year-old teammate and sexually assaulted him because he had missed practice. An unidentified student told ABC affiliate KCRG that older wrestlers ordinarily forced jump role handles into the anuses of younger wrestlers who missed practice or failed to make weight.
    At New York’s fancypants Bronx High School of Science, three members of the track team stand accused of violently sexual abusing at least one younger student, reports CBS New York.
    “You need a good fingering, you freshman,” one of the attackers allegedly told the victim at one point.
    In the suburbs of Chicago, prosecutors say a group of older soccer players at Maine West High School sodomized several younger players with fingers or sticks, says WLS-TV.
    The embattled coach, Michael DiVincenzo, is charged with abetting the hazing abuse.
    “He himself threatened players that he would order varsity players to perpetrate acts of violence and hazing upon these young men,” charged a prosecutor in the criminal case against the coach, according to the Niles Herald-Spectator.
    Bloomberg covers the horrifying, fascinating details of another case that occurred in 2012 in the tiny ranching town of Norwood, Colorado. Three varsity wrestlers bound a 13-year-old boy with duct tape on a bus — at the state wrestling meet — and sodomized him with a pencil.
    The wrestling coach was the father of two of the attackers. The victim’s father was the principal of the school’s single, all-grade public school.
    The superintendent gave the assailants a one-day, in-school suspension.
    The unnamed principal confronted the wrestling coach. After initially denying the incident, the coach allegedly said, “This happens 1,000 times a day around the U.S.”
    Students teased the 13-year-old boy. “What’s been stuck up your butt today?” they would ask.
    The townies sided overwhelmingly with the coach and the pencil-wielding attackers.
    “I got bullied as a kid because I had long hair and earrings,” a local carpenter told Bloomberg. “I played football, baseball and soccer and the older kids bullied me. But we always shook hands and it would be over with. But today, you can get prosecuted. It has all gone too far.”
    “When I was in school there might have been bullying, but there was none of this crap about telling the school,” added the carpenter’s husband.
    The principal eventually had to accept a buyout of his contract and move to another Colorado town.
    The wrestling coach is still employed by the school.
    The sexual assault craze that is sweeping America’s schools isn’t limited to hazing, or anal violations, or high schools.
    Three male students — two third-graders and a fifth-grader — at an elementary school in New York City forced a third-grade boy to perform oral sex on them, according to a disturbing lawsuit. (RELATED: Three grade-school boys allegedly forced third-grader to perform oral sex on them)
    The March 2012 incident allegedly occurred in a bathroom at Public School 194 in Harlem. The eight-year-old victim was standing in a hallway when the three assailants dragged the boy into a bathroom stall. His pleas for help went unheard.

Source ="http://news.yahoo.com/anal-hazing-apparently-thing-american-high-schools-now-140040056.html"]

This isn't even bullying. What sort of sick twisted person would think this is funny or cool to do to someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

For a second I thought it could be here, but alas another US thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

What kind of seemingly 'straight' person would stick something up another dudes ass?

... think I may have answered my own question with 'straight' in commas :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭dar100

You'd have a pain in the ass hearing about this stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

'At New York’s fancypants Bronx High School of Science'

Impressive journalism there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

First it was callcards, then pogs and now anal hazing!

Where will it all end?

First it was callcards, then pogs and now anal hazing!

Where will it all end?

In the ass me thinks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

That is actually fcuked up. And in the original article, it states that the wrestling coach is STILL employed by the school too? What sort of system have they got over there? It's beyond normal!!

And here was me just thinking it was along the lines of kids imitating young Japanese lads, using Kancho as a joke thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Bugger to that...

What kind of seemingly 'straight' person would stick something up another dudes ass?

... think I may have answered my own question with 'straight' in commas :pac:

I think sexual orientation has very little to do with this kind of bullying and sexual abuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Schools an ass..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

Candie wrote: »
    I think sexual orientation has very little to do with this kind of bullying and sexual abuse.

I agree that it is more an exercise in humiliation. Absolutely horrific .

Edit
    But there must be a sexual thrill that is compounded by the pack mentality. It just seems to escalate so quickly and so violently.
    I hate the teenage jock mentality that equates sex with violence that can be taken cruelly from someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

joke

[johk] - noun, verb, joked, jok·ing.

Example:
    Candie, has no sense of humor.

... Wait, thats not a good example :pac:

joke

A poor one.

ETA: This horrible story is about the humiliation, dominance and sexual abuse of younger kids by older kids, condoned by so called responsible adults. I think the 'jokes' are a bit much. Some of those kids are going to be struggling for years, if not for life, to deal with those events. Nothing about it is funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

It is high time the powers that be got up the bottom of this behaviour before it spreads.The cheek of these people.

It does if it's a sexual thing:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭SugarCoat

Could be still linked to innerhomophobia against themselves though. If they're in very deep deep denial and can never accept that they're actually gay they could turn to violence though :( Horrible thing to do to another human being! Expel each and every one of them!

SugarCoat wrote: »
    Could be still linked to innerhomophobia against themselves though. If they're in very deep deep denial and can never accept that they're actually gay they could turn to violence though :( Horrible thing to do to another human being! Expel each and every one of them!

Prosecute each and every one of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭clairefontaine

Oh once again the jocks are involved. Why is it always in sports?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

SugarCoat wrote: »
    And start stuffing things up other peoples bottoms? Way to keep it hidden. We were feckers in school, but this sort of stuff would never have dawned on us. It is just waay ghey and beyond the beyond. Is there any hope of blaming the parents?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Cos in the US you are either a nerd to be abused or a jock and hand out the abuse. Two tribes but only one will inherit the earth (the nerds).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭spankysue

Shocking stuff, the punishment should fit the crime for those fcukers, I'm calling Zed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

mike65 wrote: »
    Cos in the US you are either a nerd to be abused or a jock and hand out the abuse. Two tribes but only one will inherit the earth (the nerds).

Not sure, that documentary changed my mind about a lot of things. It was called 'The Breakfast Club' I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭clairefontaine

I hope they all end up on the sex offenders list. probably not though since the Us pathologically glorified sports. Glad my family are nerds.

Ah your family must all have sore bums:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭CroatoanCat

Replace "hazing" with "raping". I despair of such barbarity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

If books and movies haven't lied to me, this kind of humiliation went on in English public boarding schools back in the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

If books and movies haven't lied to me, this kind of humiliation went on in English public boarding schools back in the day.

Ah those Rugger schools....Tom Brown and Flashman, and those books were written for exactly the cohort that went to public school. Irony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

I know it's a serious issue, but I did chuckle a little at the following
    The townies sided overwhelmingly with the coach and the pencil-wielding attackers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

We used to have a great game in school where you dared each other to stab people with a compass.

The idea was to do it stealthily in a crowded corridor so they wouldn't know who it was and you wouldn't get caught.

Torso or heads weren't allowed.: just leg, arm or arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭Username99

Why is it always the Jocks?

Username99 wrote: »
    Why is it always the Jocks?

A culture of deference to sporting figures leads to a sense of both untouchability and entitlement.

Couple that with the poor judgement and hormone fuelled aggression of teenage years and you have a recipe for disaster among a portion of that demographic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

That is very disturbing. Like another poster said, that's not hazing, that's rape. Disgusting :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

In grappling we call it 'getting the third hook in' (any grapplers here?) :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Ace Attorney

what the fuck goes through these childrens heads that they would stick objects up each others arse for entertainment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

and i thought my 2 favourite teenage pastimes had been merged :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

A culture of deference to sporting figures leads to a sense of both untouchability and entitlement.

Couple that with the poor judgement and hormone fuelled aggression of teenage years and you have a recipe for disaster among a portion of that demographic.

I think you're missing the obvious jocks pun. Never give AH the benefit of the doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭JD DABA

Terrible, just terrible, I guess I'll have to be on watch to stop this kind of thing.
    Im going to make sure it doesn't happen anywhere near any of Dublins girls schools. Im even willing to risk it happening to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭JD DABA

spankysue wrote: »
    Shocking stuff, the punishment should fit the crime for those fcukers, I'm calling Zed.

who's Zed ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

JD DABA wrote: »
    who's Zed ?

Zed's dead baby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

its just practice for when they leave school and get shafted up the a**e for the previous generations mistakes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Ericaa

Jesus Christ that's terrifying...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭mentalist101

Trust America to reduce sexual assault to mere hazing..... All the perpetrators should be behind bars so they see how it feels to be 'hazed' too. Of-course the coach should be thrown in with them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

What...Why........What sick fcuks would do this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭mentalist101

Boombastic wrote: »
    What...Why........What sick fcuks would do this?

Cos they think its cool.... My question is what sick fcuks would condone this?

Parents actually made shirts supporting their sons who committed this awful crime:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭Kev.OC

Yahoo wrote:
    "a javelin"
    "a broken flagpole"
    "a piece of rebar"
    "a broom handle"
    "jump role handles"
    "fingers"
    "sticks"
    "a pencil"

As if the "hazing" itself wasn't bad enough, every single one of the items mentioned in the article has the ability to perforate soft tissue and cause a lot of internal damage.

Jerry Flannery missed training, and this (see above) happened. If someone on a team misses a training session, by all means haze them. Have the team throw/kick balls at them or something. Maybe if it's football have some of the bigger lads hit them some some high impact tackles, which would wind them and leave them sore for maybe a few days. Trying to forcefully insert a javelin in them, that crosses a line.

What I find more disturbing than the actual assaults here is the apparently complacent attitude conveyed by the coach and superintendent. I think it was last year when that woman in India was gang-raped on a bus with (again, I think) a piece of rebar, and she died from the internal injuries. Yet when a group of teenagers hold a lad down and force some rebar up his arse, apparently because it happened in the locker room it's only some good natured "hazing" and they get a one day in-school suspension.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

Plz, can I unsee the thread title. The pink shirts; everything in this times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

what the fuck goes through these childrens heads that they would stick objects up each others arse for entertainment
    the inevitable consequence of well over a decade of freely available gonzo porn on impressionable young minds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Kev.OC wrote: »
    If someone on a team misses a training session, by all means haze them. Have the team throw/kick balls at them or something. Maybe if it's football have some of the bigger lads hit them some some high impact tackles, which would wind them and leave them sore for maybe a few days. Trying to forcefully insert a javelin in them, that crosses a line.

Are you off your head? Since when is organised bullying and having bigger lads hurt smaller youngfellas an appropriate way to conduct a team? You realise it's kids' sports we're discussing like, not the SAS? If a young person is slacking off in training then it's up to the coach to give them a b*llocking and challenge them to step up to the plate or do something else; it is never acceptable to humiliate someone in front of their peers or turn groups of young people on an individual in a punitive sense. That type of behaviour is disgraceful and fundamentally cowardly. Permitting bigger lads to batter small fellas in training is only encouraging bullying and persecution. It does nothing for team dynamics.

As for the Jerry Flannery video, that's just typical rugger-bugger stupidity to be honest. When I was bouncing in Cork I worked with a door team of predominantly rugby players and they were the greatest pain in the arse. Mad into that "hazing" sh*t usually accompanied by a load of group guffawing. They'd go out after games dressed in blazers and then proceed to wind up everyone else in the pub.

There was a very homoerotic "man love" element to it all that I found a bit weird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭rox5

What is with Americans and hazing?!? Why can't new students come into schools without going through these stupid, humilating rituals?!
    I mean if they did this anal hazing here, there would be an absolute uproar.