Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aoibhinn Ní Shúilleabháin to take Miriam's Sunday slot.

• 25-06-2013 1:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭

Aoibhinn Ní Shúilleabháin the on again- off again GF of Tubbers is to take over Miriam O'Callaghan Sunday slot for the summer.

She Starts on July 14th

Its an interview show, according to the RTE press release.

and the Tweet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

giftgrub wrote: »
    Aoibhinn Ní Shúilleabháin the on again- off again GF of Tubbers is to take over Miriam O'Callaghan Sunday slot for the summer.

To be fair, she has plenty of broadcasting experience in her own right.

I enjoyed her shows on Newstalk. I think they could have done worse.
    The hour-long show begins at 10:00am on Sunday July 14 with Ní Shúilleabháin joined each week by a guest who "will talk about their life, their times, the passions that drive them, the influences that formed them" and choose their favourite music.

http://www.rte.ie/ten/news/2013/0625/458749-rte-radio-1-show-for-ni-shuilleabhain/

So it is pretty much 'Aoibhinn meets'. Not very imaginative, but it's a solid format (an inferior copy of Desert Island Discs)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,796 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Skid X wrote: »

http://www.rte.ie/ten/news/2013/0625/458749-rte-radio-1-show-for-ni-shuilleabhain/

So it is pretty much 'Aoibhinn meets'. Not very imaginative, but it's a solid format (an inferior copy of Desert Island Discs)

RTE being RTE, the first show will probably be 'Aoibheann meets.......Miriam O'Callaghan'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

There's a joke in the thread topic line somewhere but I'm not going to comment upon it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭heybaby

There's an article in today's Indo referencing Miriam's inability to work 7 days a week despite Rte loving if she actually could, the article also pleads with Rte to introduce new talent. Aoibheann for me falls into the newish talent category but moreso into the nepotism category and further underpins Montrose's obsession with celebrity. She has a modicum of experience from her newstalk stint but how much can her rapid progression through rte tv and radio be attributed to her relationship with tubbers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

heybaby wrote: »
    how much can her rapid progression through rte tv and radio be attributed to her relationship with tubbers?

Newstalk and BBC Northern Ireland have given Aoibhinn presenting work too. Do you think that was just because of who she was going out with at the time?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Aoibhinn Ní Shúilleabháin is currently studying for a PhD at Trinity College Dublin in Mathematics Education.
    Fair play to her!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

snubbleste wrote: »
    Aoibhinn Ní Shúilleabháin is currently studying for a PhD at Trinity College Dublin in Mathematics Education.
    Fair play to her!

so she is not qualified as a journalist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,801 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

so she is not qualified as a journalist?

That is hardly a requirement to work in RTE.

Haha was I the only one to think something else when reading the thread title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    That is hardly a requirement to work in RTE.

True. But you would expect that if someone have an interest in a role and they were in college they would at least take a course in that area.

Well of all the people who have gotten gigs in RTE she has at least done another job in the outside world. Well anyway good luck to her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭armchair fusilier

Skid X wrote: »
    Do you think that was just because of who she was going out with at the time?

Kind of, yeah. Would she have got those jobs if Neol Kelly wasn't her agent? I don't think so. Would Kelly be her agent if it wasn't for her relationship with tubridy? Again, I doubt it. That said, as a persenter she's fine - certainly better than the unbearably mawkish Miriam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭real rocker

Kind of, yeah. Would she have got those jobs if Neol Kelly wasn't her agent? I don't think so. Would Kelly be her agent if it wasn't for her relationship with tubridy? Again, I doubt it. That said, as a persenter she's fine - certainly better than the unbearably mawkish Miriam.

Best of luck to Aoibhinn - accordingly to The Herald ( quoting her ) she got the gig purely on merit. I don't know if anybody else was being considered.
    I believe that Miriam was doing her Miriam Meets show free so can RTE afford to pay her successor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭todolist

She's as bland as the rest of them in donnybrook.I couldn't care less except I have to pay the TV tax to those shower.

Was the role Aoibheann is filling advertised? No. As someone else said already she's clearly a gifted academic and it's no harm she is a good looking woman. But as has already been said, would she have met Rte management without knowing Tubs? No. Personally I find her quite wooden presenting that travel programme in fact having been annointed by Rte doesn't mean she's a capable broadcaster at all, there are plenty of broadcasters in Montrose which are woeful. Having said that good luck to her, working for Rte is a license to print money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,416 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Waking up to the sound of Aoibhinn's voice on a Sunday morning?

Roll on July 14th.!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,290 ✭✭✭Deedsie

todolist wrote: »
    She's as bland as the rest of them in donnybrook.I couldn't care less except I have to pay the TV tax to those shower.

Beautiful well spoken woman, not from Dublin 4, theoretical physicist, PhD candidate, bilingual, award winning musician and singer and she actually comes across as a really nice warm person.

God ya she sounds as dull as dishwater :rolleyes:. Good on her and best of luck to her with the new show. Great to see fresh actual talent coming through RTÉ.

Suggesting her links to Tubridy are what have got her the gig are pure Irish begrudgery. Her CV is more impressive than anyone else in Montrose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,832 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Miriam is a pure fake anyway. Overdoes the niceness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Neol Kelly

I have it on good authority that Mr Kelly is posting here under the username 'jimmynokia'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭Hondo75

The whole family together.
    http://www.nkmanagement.ie/contact-us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭ghiertal

I'm not going to get too much into the whole Aoibhinn (child) debate but there was an editorial in the Irish Independent this week, lamenting the lack of new talent in RTE. What about all the people in their twenties who studied media and worked part-time or for free at a local radio stations?

This is from today's Irish Independent:Ryan Tubridy said "Its about time Aoibhinn Ni Shuilleabhain has been given her own programme on RTE radio."

http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/tv-radio/its-about-time-aoibhinn-got-her-own-show-says-tubs-29377054.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

ghiertal wrote: »
    This is from today's Irish Independent:Ryan Tubridy said "Its about time Aoibhinn Ni Shuilleabhain has been given her own programme on RTE radio."

The sense of entitlement from this fkwit.. Maybe It's about time RTE stopped indulging him moonlighting in the UK while his two shows here are failures... Maybe it's about time that he started delivering more than his usual grey mediocrity, while talking about himself in the media like he's Michael fkn Parkinson..

And Aoibhinn should have just kept her mouth shout about the topic.. I dont have any problem with her, but her appointment just stinks of the usual State protocol of giving good jobs to pals or relations. I dont know if there were any other candidates for the job, but having the support of the LLS host in your back pocket AND getting the job is a huge coincidence... I'm presuming that she's done the chapter on probability..

The sense of entitlement from this fkwit.. Maybe It's about time RTE stopped indulging him moonlighting in the UK while his two shows here are failures... Maybe it's about time that he started delivering more than his usual grey mediocrity, while talking about himself in the media like he's Michael fkn Parkinson..

And Aoibhinn should have just kept her mouth shout about the topic.. I dont have any problem with her, but her appointment just stinks of the usual State protocol of giving good jobs to pals or relations. I dont know if there were any other candidates for the job, but having the support of the LLS host in your back pocket AND getting the job is a huge coincidence... I'm presuming that she's done the chapter on probability..

Totally agree. RTE is an impenetrable clique of back patters who are vastly overpaid and operate in a different universe compared to those in commercial radio. I have said before that all advertising should be removed from all RTE stations, see how long their ridiculous salaries last then. Its utterly crazy that on a small island the state broadcaster is allowed to benefit from both advertising revenue and tax payers money.

Without the benefit of both private and public funding Radio na G , Lyric FM and all RTE's digital stations (which collectively have fewer listeners than 98 fm) would not exist. RTE is a behemoth on the irish broadcasting landscape even more so than the BBc is in the UK, no wonder RTE constantly cleans up at radio awards ceremonies, there is no credible competition in the state.

I'll say it again, the temporary position which Aoibheann is filling wasnt advertised. Clearly she has been annointed by the bosses in Montrose as their next big thing. Its 8 years since she won the rose of tralee since then she has been on The Panel, an irish music programme on radio 1 for two months about 6 yaers ago, celebrity banaisteoir and temporarily with newstalk and most lately on that travel programme, yes shes attractive and clearly highly educated but as a broadcaster, never mind a radio broadcaster she has very little experience, but this doesnt seem to matter to RTE who seem to draw from within their organisation whenevr they wish to fill on air roles even for a brief period of time, a case in point would be Bryan Murray the fair city actor who often sits in for Alf Mac carthy on Radio 1, He is absolutely woeful.

RTE seem to be diametrically opposed to taking talent from outside unless its a TV celebrity. Hector is another case in point. If he hadnt had a tv programme he wouldnt have had a hope of getting on air on 2fm.

So RTE basically consists of the old guard of lifers like Miriam , Marian , Ronan Collins , Pat Kenny, Ryan Tubridy, Larry Gogan etc and a newer guard of TV celebs ... neil delamere, Aoibheann, Craig Doyle, Nicky Byrne etc

Where are the dyed in the wool radio presenters who worked they way up through the medium of radio and only radio ? Where are the radio presenters whose on air talent and knowledge of the medium would outweigh the currency that z -list celebs like Nicky byrne can bring to the Montrose table ? Im sure there are plenty out there, the crime is you'll probably never get to hear them on our national broadcaster because they dont have instant name recognition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,860 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Aoibhinn Ní Shúilleabháin is a breath of fresh air, hopefully she will take over tubs programmes, bright intelligent funny and hot. Perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

I actually quite like Aoibhínn, I enjoyed her time at Newstalk. Plus I can't stand listening to Miriam so it's instantly an improvement to me.

I do agree though that RTE needs to make more of an effort to look for new talent and people who are genuinely working their way up in the industry and who want to be broadcasters.

Typical Irish.Cute hoors,stroke pullers and jobs for the boys.Yer man got her the job.don't be kidding yourself.

i don't see anything wrong with this....she's better than most

Her boyfriend is an overpaid presenter who got her the job.It looks terrible and it's an example of everything that's wrong with this accursed island.

todolist wrote: »
    Her boyfriend is an overpaid presenter who got her the job.It looks terrible and it's an example of everything that's wrong with this accursed island.
    personally i think tubs should be executed...but i think she is head and shoulders above everyone in RTE

"head and shoulders above everyone in rte". That's not saying much.They all suck.:mad:

To paraphrase Mrs Merton.

"So Aoibhinn, what first attracted you to RTE royalty - Ryan Tubridy."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,416 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Ireland's number one drag queen Linda Martin Panti :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭blue4ever

Oh its complete sh1te - she's terrible - AND you want to know where your licence fee goes - it goes on the RTE website - here's the link to her show - one the front page of the licence fee supported site.

blue4ever wrote: »
    Oh its complete sh1te - she's terrible - AND you want to know where your licence fee goes - it goes on the RTE website - here's the link to her show - one the front page of the licence fee supported site.

Yes I can confirm she is no natural broadcaster. She's wooden on TV and really quite clueless on radio which as a medium will expose any weaknesses you have very quickly. The irony is the geniuses in Montrose will be.patting themselves on the back thinking they've made an inspired decision. Fools.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Terribly boring predictable interview, it's kinda well past time that RTE in general got over it's incredulity that somebody is gay. I have heard the same interview with so many people on RTE now. Gay men/women can be boring too, and this one was most definately so, I tuned out eventually. If he had had something new or interesting to say then by all means reveal and discuss it but it could all have been left on the edit room floor and we would not have lost anything.
    Interviewer and production team must work harder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭bbability

Nepotism is alive and well at Montrose :o

It's funny I can't remember an advertisement for presenters on RTE Radio.. Ever!

bbability wrote: »
    Nepotism is alive and well at Montrose :o

It's funny I can't remember an advertisement for presenters on RTE Radio.. Ever!

I wasn't that bothered about Aoibhinn's new job, mostly because of how awful Mirimum Meets is, but then I heard Abie Philbin Bowen pop up on Arena to do a report last week. Apparently it's a regular gig for him. This got me thinking about all the other little RTE connections - it stinks. You'll never see a newspaper article about it though, as the same thing is rife in the Irish newspaper industry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭real rocker

Happyman42 wrote: »
    Terribly boring predictable interview, it's kinda well past time that RTE in general got over it's incredulity that somebody is gay. I have heard the same interview with so many people on RTE now. Gay men/women can be boring too, and this one was most definately so, I tuned out eventually. If he had had something new or interesting to say then by all means reveal and discuss it but it could all have been left on the edit room floor and we would not have lost anything.
    Interviewer and production team must work harder.

Heard around 5 minutes of the interview. It was really awful radio - the only gay in the village and that fellow on Are You Being Served? FFS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

I seem to remember RTE went searching for a new young edgy cool with-it etc. showbiz reporter for the Afternoon Dozing show, and by an amazing coincidence came up with Gerry Ryan's daughter ( cant think of her name or bother looking it up), so talent is hereditary, or possibly a sexually transmitted condition as far as RTE are concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

Aidric wrote: »
    I have it on good authority that Mr Kelly is posting here under the username 'jimmynokia'.

Proof please! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭serfboard

radio ... as a medium will expose any weaknesses you have very quickly.
    100% agree. Never really thought much about Miriam O'Callaghan one way or the other until she started on the John Murray show.

For me, live radio has really exposed her.

It then got me thinking about "Miriam meets" and emphasised one of the benefits of taping the show - so they could tidy it up before broadcast.

However, I would say that this kind of thing doesn't just happen here. When I worked in London, a colleague of mine had a boyfriend who used to sub-edit for some national papers. For some of the celebrity columnists he would be told to keep an eye on their copy because it would need serious re-writing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,290 ✭✭✭bobbyss

Yes I can confirm she is no natural broadcaster. She's wooden on TV and really quite clueless on radio which as a medium will expose any weaknesses you have very quickly. The irony is the geniuses in Montrose will be.patting themselves on the back thinking they've made an inspired decision. Fools.

Spot on.
    Have heard bits of her radio prog. She never lets the opportunity go without mentioning UCD/PHd which is so elitist and crass. It tells you all you need to know about this person. Boring as hell. No talent. No spark. No wit.

Any 'inspired decision' RTE may feel they have made was without question
    influenced by her fee-which given her lack of all of the above qualities including experience, could not be much.

Actually, I wonder how much she does get paid for those weekend progs? Any ideas? Any way of knowing that? Would we be surprised if it was not little?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

A fella who studies the sun, and his wife who's a bat expert. Just another ordinary everyday couple for Aoibhinn to interview :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭redtelephone

Aoibhinn jumps the shark. Bizarre programming for Sunday morning. What strange people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭hawley

Aoibhinn called over to her two nerdy friends one evening and decides to use it as an opportunity to fill a programme on the series.

It's a Gaffer of an Acca

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

It was always a challenging idea to run a programme like this. If the guests are already well-known, it's likely to be repetition of stuff we have heard many times before. If they are not very well-known, then listeners might wonder why they are on air at all.

Most weeks, whether with Miriam or with Aoibhinn, I have not found that the programme made for gripping listening. That is mainly because the guests did not interest me greatly. I am happy to settle for people about whom I know little or nothing provided that they are interesting and engaging.

I think today's programme is moderately interesting.

[Emma Teeling just used the phrase "quite serendipitous"; I like that.]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭hawley

It was always a challenging idea to run a programme like this. If the guests are already well-known, it's likely to be repetition of stuff we have heard many times before. If they are not very well-known, then listeners might wonder why they are on air at all.

Most weeks, whether with Miriam or with Aoibhinn, I have not found that the programme made for gripping listening. That is mainly because the guests did not interest me greatly. I am happy to settle for people about whom I know little or nothing provided that they are interesting and engaging.

I think today's programme is moderately interesting.

[Emma Teeling just used the phrase "quite serendipitous"; I like that.]

Dara O'Briain is a qualified scientist and would make a far better and wittier guest. This is more like Paddy O'Gorman meeting random people on the street.

It's a Gaffer of an Acca

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

hawley wrote: »
    Dara O'Briain is a qualified scientist and would make a far better and wittier guest. This is more like Paddy O'Gorman meeting random people on the street.
    That's going down the road of interviewing only people who are already very well-known. And it's presuming that the primary object of today's programme was some sort of science promotion. I don't think that is what it's about.

Aoibhinn is also a qualified scientist (Theoretical Physics or, as we non-scientists might describe it, Hard Sums).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

hawley wrote: »

but dara is on radio in this country to much imo.