Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today I did some detailing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Spike Witwicky

vectra wrote: »
    The only thing is that 845 likes to be used on bare paint.
    Good job though.

Balls. Ah well not to worry. Was more interested in gettin rid of the swirls.
    Seeing as i have Menzernas FG400 & PO85RD on order i might try their Powerlock sealant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭Curran

Good work....great to see the flake in the paint pop again! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Don't know whether I should start my own thread for this but I'll leave it here for now. Went to debadge the car today and this "stain" came and won't leave. What's the best course of action?

155145h.jpg

2liudt0.jpg

Why is the area around it so dull in the 2nd picture?

Anyways, it appears that the glue was fully removed and you are just left with the paintwork? The paintwork under the badge has never been damaged from washing, etc, so a bit of polishing around the area should help bring the rest of the paintwork closer to the un-damaged paintwork in appearance and as a result it will be less obvious.

Sorry ya under the badge is perfect, matches the paintwork on the rest of the car perfect, it's whenever I applied the AutoGlym tar remover it seems to have left the surrounding stain. I'm assuming the tar remover done it, I used nothing else, only a hairdryer. The tar remover wasn't even on that long. What kind of polish would be best, never bought polish before :o Would it be ok done by hand?

Did you apply the tar remover on the panel when it was very hot after the hair dryer?

You'll probably need something with a bit of cutting ability. For example, Autoglym Super Resin Polish doesnt have a whole lot of cut to it, its a better filler of defects than fixing them as such.

If the stain from the tar remover wasnt there; there wouldnt be an issue? So its the stain caused be the tar remover, is what you are questioning?

Ya the paintwork would have been hot alright. Basically yes, it must be the tar remover that left the stain, nothing else could have. If that stain wasn't there then it would be all fine.

Try a small bit of tar remover on a cloth and give it a light rub and rinse well afterwards. Failing that, try polishing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭Gordy6040

Quick top for the new guys. .. From a new guy. .. don't try a hand polish after hitting the gym. Its a heart breaker.
    Just finished polishing the wife's car. Thank god its a clio. Actually the first time I've ever been glad it's a clio.

You need to go to the gym more, or spend more time at polishing the cars! Wimp! :D :P :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Or you could stop hitting the gym and just go inside and use the machines like you're supposed to :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭Gordy6040

I see I've wandered into the comedians forum.
    Anyway... I'll give the polish a rinse off tonight and put a wax on. Crappy power washer is pulsing and I'm waiting for some parts to fix it because at the moment it's doing little more then giving the car a shower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Spike Witwicky

Typical. I gots me Menzerna polishes and am itchin to polish the car. Weather isnt too bad either but i'm on stoopid nightshifts this week :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Here's a little project that I got up to over last weekend. Spent about 10 hours on both Saturday and Sunday on it. I had fantastic intentions to take lots and lots of pictures throughout the process but as I'm sure a lot of you find it takes so much extra time when taking photos that it's not worth it when the car is needed again on monday morning!!

Anyway, here are the before pictures of the car.

AD998F260C174F9985DF653C548D1ADF-0000363222-0003629266-01024L-69E42384FF2E496A90FEF91F3D7787ED.jpg

516109850EF549D7B3AA9FA14249C0E5-0000363222-0003629265-01024L-42A37861A4704DC8AF7C20FE7CA207B3.jpg

2A81FF4284C742B382225EEC547E10B6-0000363222-0003629264-01024L-ADBAA7A54BAE433DAAD3AB67AFA1E6B7.jpg

50F9110DD88C48FF917B1AFBACF6B718-0000363222-0003629263-01024L-9ECD6043B40743119F72F7804AD24277.jpg

CD2CA77C9F054BD9941F59F1500FE181-0000363222-0003629261-00800L-00055C5E516E4DBB9B56239701F5B0D8.jpg

The car has 270,000km on it. That coupled with 9 years of automated car washes means that the paint was ruined with swirls and looked like crap. However, that wasn't the main problem. The car was painted to "touch it up" by the owners brother. Unfortunately he didn't bother with any prep other than a basic wash and he used cheap black paint on a lava grey car! You can see it on the back passengers door the worst. It had been there for a couple of years and she was told that the panels would need to be resprayed to fix it. As he painted most of the panels in a few small spots that wasn't an option. The other problem was the scratch in the front passengers door caused by a pillar in a carpark that jumped out of nowhere. As you can see its pretty extensive on the handle, the door and the rub strip.

The first job was a snow foam, and a 2bm wash.

A38AF6BBC75145F2BDCAB9B1D2F42FE8-0000363222-0003629260-01024L-165942CAF38E43F79AC2268921667B80.jpg

Then it was onto detaring and then claying.

Tar Cleanse doing it's thing
    2117D845BDDA4FE49743C3B17D114FB5-0000363222-0003629262-01024L-E32516B9D504410AA29A51AC00F7BCCB.jpg

Conveniently, the tar cleanse actually dissolved all the black paint off the car! Fortunately no sanding required and a lot of time saved :D:D

This is what was under the paint on the back door, a few suncream hand prints that polished off in about 30 seconds with the DA. :rolleyes:

061D8BDC07394D4085BB1030FED6AF2A-0000363222-0003629259-01024L-52FBF001FC4A472F917CFD9427CB9978.jpg

The scratch on the door was what occupied most of our time. We had paint mixed up in Halfords. It was applied into the scratch, allowed to dry, sanded back with 2500 wet and dry, paint was re-applied to the low spots. This was repeated until the surface was even enough. The aim was to do a 90% job. 100% was achievable but I would't be comfortable going for it without a paint depth gauge. Basically we wanted to turn it from a 30 footer (a scratch that can be seen from 30 feet away) to a 2-3 footer.

Herself paying the price for her years of abusing the car :p

7DABF9A1EEB94C12AD10B7B5731CDADC-0000363222-0003629256-01024L-FB613D4434B9434AA92C1598FE202B82.jpg

The end results

D5ACD7E6AFE04E42937C320B0CE50953-0000363222-0003629251-01024L-42673D3DF17F4C9AB8F0873803552E04.jpg

Scratch can still be seen but it's actually better looking in real life than in this photo

92A6649E1AED41378A780DF2C2BEC7DE-0000363222-0003629252-01024L-CA69982EE78941ED8AE8E7FD37F494AA.jpg

833DC23030974D3E959FE74762D320D4-0000363222-0003629255-01024L-338394C9AF6D4549BAABAC58900CA7EF.jpg

C202559400174084A69E3C618A21FB0B-0000363222-0003629254-01024L-500A6936BE824AA8BA05EDD27784C7BC.jpg

688F0B258F7C4820A49481A266E258EC-0000363222-0003629253-01024L-03B94206B68A48238235BB78D6DCDDCC.jpg

We're very happy with the results anyway! Maybe next weekend we'll do the exhaust tip and that scratch in the middle of the back bumper :)

Oh and what would this post be without a beading shot :P This is Finis Wax. Pity about the rain immediately after finishing the car though :(

1E2DC8168BB64061AFABCF9550DDCF19-0000363222-0003629248-01024L-81EC496AD9D4464D928DD8FFECB24A05.jpg

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,045 ✭✭✭✭mik_da_man

Some good work there.
    Fair play :)

Great work! Had you beem planning to sell the car, that would easily have added a couple of hundred quid to the value!!
    Nice turn around. ..with the finishing touches, it'll be spot on! ;)

Cheers lads. There's a couple of bits to finish off on it alright. One of the worst bits is the roof rails. They're aluminium and as far as I can tell they have a clear coat on them. The problem is that they have oxidised under the clear coat and they can't be polished back with metal polish. I remember people saying that this happened to their Audis on here before but can't remember how they fixed it. Any ideas? On a phone so I can't post up pics but I will later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Chimaera

Was it OAC's Tar Cleanse you used? I've got some dodgy rattle can work (sadly my own misguided attempts) to remove and this might make it easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,142 ✭✭✭✭cena

Not many women would look after a car this. Great job on the shine

cena wrote: »
    Not many women would look after a car this. Great job on the shine

Indeed! DZ is one of few women who look after their cars :pac:

Chimaera wrote: »
    Was it OAC's Tar Cleanse you used? I've got some dodgy rattle can work (sadly my own misguided attempts) to remove and this might make it easier.

It was:)

It may not work on your paint though. Apparently this stuff wasn't car paint but the kind of stuff that you get in Dealz or the likes for a couple of quid. I would imagine that car paint would withstand Tar cleanse .
    Indeed! DZ is one of few women who look after their cars :pac:

Not quite, 1 more operation to go :pac: Just saving up for it, that's why I'm driving a daysul now :p

Here are the roof rails I was talking about. Any ideas? :)

8677482D126548D6B4582BCB0687062D-0000363222-0003629258-01024L-6CC001B2260A487C9D745AD165E554E4.jpg

I had that oxidation on the chrome trim around my doors. A dremmel with the cotton polish pad and autosol did the job. I did that over a year ago and still fine.

Did it leave an even finish?
    Those roof rails have a lot of surface area for a dremmel…. Don't really fancy that much work :p Metal polish by hand did literally nothing for them and there was no blackness on the applicator like you would normally get when polishing metal. Is there a clear coat that needs to be polished through first?

Even finish?? What are ya gob****in' on about?? It left and oxidation-free, factory finish.

See, in order to remove this type of thing from metal, you need a bit of heat build-up and the fast rotation of the dremmel. It's tedious but it's the only thing I have found to work.

Even finish?? What are ya gob****in' on about?? It left and oxidation-free, factory finish.

See, in order to remove this type of thing from metal, you need a bit of heat build-up and the fast rotation of the dremmel. It's tedious but it's the only thing I have found to work.

Grand cheers for that :) the energy for detailing is low at the moment after the weekend but I will give it a go in a week or so maybe.

What kind of attachment did you use on the dremel? One of these boys?

DremelBuff.jpg

Yep, that's the one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,295 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

If you get an even finish on an area that large with a Dremmel I'll eat my hat!