Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

irish drinking age limit going up to 21

• 24-06-2013 9:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭

now i dont believe this for a moment because i haven't actually seen proof of this anywhere from searching news sites

but while scrolling facebook, mr adrian kennedy of fm104 says that according to news the irish legal drinking age is being moved up to 21 years old.

proof of this ? when will it happen ?

discuss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

This implies that the current legal drinking age actually makes a difference to when people start drinking in Ireland?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

It's not a move that suits the Vintners association, so can't see it happening.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

lol.

how about the current age limit is enforced...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

They can put it up to 50 or 100 and the amount of alcohol consumption will stay the same. Its too late to be changing it now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

mr adrian kennedy of fm104 says that according to news the irish legal drinking age is being moved up to 21 years old.

This guy. Isn't he a convicted drunken driver?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

An age limit of 21, that seems awfully unfair given I've just turned 22...lucky teenagers. pff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

now i dont believe this for a moment because i haven't actually seen proof of this anywhere from searching news sites

but while scrolling facebook, mr adrian kennedy of fm104 says that according to news the irish legal drinking age is being moved up to 21 years old.

discuss

What difference does it make? How many people do you know who don't drink before the legal age as it is? And even then, there's no way in hell the Vintners Ass. are going to tolerate this.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

If Adrian Kennedy says it, it has to be true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Radiosonde

This is the least credible news source since that Orson Welles War of the Worlds broadcast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭Manc-Red

Adrian Kennedy is a f**king idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Chris Barry is at it again :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭apollo8

Cunning plan by the Govt to get 18-21yr olds to sign off and feck off to London:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

Id be all for this, at least there would be a better chance that the people in the club would be 18 at least then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

Manc-Red wrote: »

but it works create a stir [the \op\just reacted to it and started advertising for him] sit back and wait for retards to call in :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭du Maurier

Kopparberg. Surrounded by ice in a glass. Discussing booze. You like the stuff, don't you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭rox5

Hope it doesn't, I'll have to wait another year then to be allowed into places.:mad:

Anyway what difference is it gonna make? Young ones are still gonna drink and get into places using fake or someone elses ID.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

du Maurier wrote: »
    Kopparberg. Surrounded by ice in a glass. Discussing booze. You like the stuff, don't you?

wut :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

All it would lead to is a rise in recreational drug use in those that fall under the age limit. It's a stupid idea, it will never work. If they spent more time enforcing the current age limit they wouldn't need to change anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

The problem with drinking in Ireland is the fetish we have with it; not the age we start drinking the stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

States like new York are considering lowering theirs back down to 18(it was 18 until the mid 80s) to combat under age drinking which is extremely common in their universities.

How much Garda time would be wasted on enforcing this year and charging underage drinkers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

discuss

I wish they'd ban threads with this in the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

I'm 19 and I've been drinking for 2 or 3 years. The sad thing is I was a late starter. The first time I drank I was fine but after that I had no idea about my limits, would often get sick or blank out or not remember anything from the night before. This is fundamentally down to the lack of education about alcohol. After a few drinks I'd decide I'm invincible and drink until it was time to go home. After all, school told me that if I drink at all it's bad. I must be above what the school says. Until the next morning comes, I have a hangover and can't remember anything.

The only education I ever got was a load of propaganda! Don't drink alcohol or you will die! Liver disease! etc etc. In different cultures it's not unusual for people to start drinking wine with their parents at the age of 14 with dinner. Teaching children their limits, the actual effects of alcohol and the social side of it is far more important than blatantly lying to people!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I'm 35 so I don't care.:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

IM0 wrote: »
    but it works create a stir [the \op\just reacted to it and started advertising for him] sit back and wait for retards to call in :D

i said i dont believe it for a moment. nice how most of you dont seem to keep that part of my post in here, i asked for proof or an actual news story of this.

im 21 so yes :pac:

and no its not going to stop people drinking , clearly, but as already said if i pick up a chick in a bar and the age limit is 21 then i have a better chance of not being convicted of statutory rape.

and yes adrian and fm104 is a crock of shite

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

So instead of drunken teenagers not being able to control their drink and acting up,we'll 21 year old men doing it.All this does is set the maturity level back three years.

Doesn't mean it'll make a difference other than forcing people age 18-21 onto the streets with cans instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

BOHtox wrote: »
    I'm 19 and I've been drinking for 2 or 3 years. The sad thing is I was a late starter. The first time I drank I was fine but after that I had no idea about my limits, would often get sick or blank out or not remember anything from the night before. This is fundamentally down to the lack of education about alcohol. After a few drinks I'd decide I'm invincible and drink until it was time to go home. After all, school told me that if I drink at all it's bad. I must be above what the school says. Until the next morning comes, I have a hangover and can't remember anything.

The only education I ever got was a load of propaganda! Don't drink alcohol or you will die! Liver disease! etc etc. In different cultures it's not unusual for people to start drinking wine with their parents at the age of 14 with dinner. Teaching children their limits, the actual effects of alcohol and the social side of it is far more important than blatantly lying to people!

They educate you at that age for a reason, your body has not been fully developed yet. Your liver is weaker than a 35yr old man for example.

You started drinking at 16, if you drank to get sloshed quite often a week and kept it up for the next 5 yrs from now, you will damage your liver. In my opinion, if you drank at your age once a week a few pints you should be fine just like our continental cousins who drink wine. Have breaks between your sessions, a week should be ok.

Those other cultures drinking wine drink it moderately. Knocking back countless pints in sessions quite often is not moderate, it takes several years to damage a liver. As you said know your limits and be moderate is the key.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

This will be the straw that breaks the camels back I tell you. There'll be revolution I say.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Dartz wrote: »
    This will be the straw that breaks the camels back I tell you. There'll be revolution I say.....

Really wasn't that suppost to happen 4 years ago ohhhhhh i forgot ,

Were not a nation of fighters

Were a bunch of light weight whinging dutch gold loving stooges

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

Another poster saying he feels like a late starter at 17, christ I feel like a grandfather at 25 then,
    Saying that Irish society does kinda live by the rule where you need to drink till you drop and this for me is idiotic.
    I myself go out and usually have 3 or 4 drinks and Im happy and buzzing but most people around me feel the need to have 10/11 or basically drink till they pass out and then go on about how they had a great night, I just cant understand that mentality.
    To use starting drinking at a young age as an example, the french drink wine with there food from 14 and they have a totally different mentality to us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,407 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Manc-Red wrote: »
    True. On the other hand, the only people he needs to convince, for whatever reason he feels they need convincing, are Adrian Kennedy listeners...

They're all either underage and tuning in between w*nks, or overage and just sitting there, quietly dribbling at the radio.

* Yes. Of course I mean 'winks'. **

** No. I don't. Its all true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Adrian Kennedy on the FM 104 Phone Show, your mate's Facebook news feed?

Surely these reputed journals of the day must be Harvard Referenced, carefully scribed and documented for safe keeping. We owe it to our children. And our children's children. And our children's children's children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Noooo, im legal in October!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Omackeral wrote: »
    Adrian Kennedy on the FM 104 Phone Show, your mate's Facebook news feed?

i know, im ashamed to have these fools on my page plonking around listening to this tripe.

the last time i listened to this show was well over a year ago and it only lasted about 30 seconds, everytime i hear one of them speak or a caller talk my iq drops.

besides the point i've still yet to see any evidence of this (bill?) to be in the news anywhere or passed ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Does anyone have any actual sources for this "news" APART from Adrian Kennedy? Where does he claim to have got his information from?

• Site Banned Posts: 17 itsonlyus

Should put the smokes up to 25 as must people start smoking in their teens or early twenties and people at that age will have the cop on not to smoke. I smoke myself by the way.

Drinking age at 21, meh. How can I molest young ones then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

I'm on a committee within the industry that has been ask to publish a report on this to the department of health by 26th of July. Its early days yet and our report is only a token gesture which will have no bearing on the outcome.
    At the moment, and from a brief meeting with James Reilly and Tony Holohan, it looks like this is in the program for government for 2014.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭TheFOB

Senna wrote: »
    I'm on a committee within the industry that has been ask to publish a report on this to the department of health by 26th of July. Its early days yet and our report is only a token gesture which will have no bearing on the outcome.
    At the moment, and from a brief meeting with James Reilly and Tony Holohan, it looks like this is in the program for government for 2014.

Did the Dept tell you the answer they wanted after they asked the question as is usually the case with BS reports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Hilly Bill

After drooling over the Obama's and the Kennedy flame, and the fuss this country makes over the USA then im not suprised that the drinking age limit would go up to 21. The next step will be replacing paddies day with a holiday on the 4 rth of July.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

TheFOB wrote: »
    Did the Dept tell you the answer they wanted after they asked the question as is usually the case with BS reports.

No we are against the proposal. But will are on industry side, we will make as strong a case as possible.
    Our best case scenario (though not what we want) for this is, on-sales will be over 18, off-sales over 21, Off-sales will pay a premium, bring it in line with on-sales prices.
    There are so many permutations, but the VFI no longer has the strength it once had and so these decisions will be made on "medial & social" needs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

They should make it 15 because most people start at that age at house parties or in fields . We may aswell get more money in tax by letting them go to the pub .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭TheFOB

No we are against the proposal. But will are on industry side, we will make as strong a case as possible.
    Our best case scenario (though not what we want) for this is, on-sales will be over 18, off-sales over 21, Off-sales will pay a premium, bring it in line with on-sales prices.
    There are so many permutations, but the VFI no longer has the strength it once had and so these decisions will be made on "medial & social" needs.

Bingo. The kite will fly to restrict sales to 21 year olds and the Irish compromise led by the publican TDs will be that pubs are exempt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

WTF, this is actually happening? I honestly though our f*cking nanny state couldn't get any worse...

Also bringing off prices in line with pub prices is moronic, pub prices need to come way down, not the other way around :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

So we'll have a "drinking society" like they do in Finland?
    Exorbitant cost of alcohol and still an alcohol problem.

At times the mind boggles at where the powers that be come up with these ideas. The majority of Irish people can't afford to go to the pub anymore and just go the offie to get a few cans or a bottle of whatever on a night off.
    And now they want to raise the cost so high that you can't even have a drink at home?????

No disrespect to you Senna, but medical and social needs, my ar3e

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Well they can't just change it. I will literally fuck shit up all over this fucking country if they take my sweet vodka away :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Marsden

All this talk of booze is making my throat dry, I'll have to drop down the offy tomorrow and stock up while it's still affordable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭jamaamaj

Lovely and refreshing out in the sun after a hard day at work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

Seems about right. 21 would be a reasonable cut-off point, for the sensible drinker looking to take it in moderation down the line

some backward nations only permit it from 21 onward. But I would I urge anyone from the age of 11 up to know your absolute limit, we tend to think we probably can't drink as much and fail to exploit that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

it needs to be lowered, not raised. 16 for beer / wine, 18 for spirits like most of the continent, sure it'll take a while for things to settle down but long term it'd be worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Ireland and Alcohol. A marriage made in Hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

Should be 12, like. Y'know... be grand!