Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Has facebook turned people into narcissists?

• 21-06-2013 4:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭

http://well.blogs.nytimes.com/2012/05/17/does-facebook-turn-people-into-narcissists/?_r=0

What do you reckon? I remember before social networking sites, I'd be mortified if I saw a photo of myself on the internet. I'd be like "take that down."

Now nobody seems to care. I see some pretty girls on facebook uploading hundreds of photos of themselves looking for compliments. And the guys are all to happy to tell her she's gorgeous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

I use facebook, But don't upload any pictures at all of myself. I upload either funny pics, some pictures of Tux the penguin (linux) on a toaster for whatever reason and my infamous ms paintshop mashes to annoy close friends with.

Yet there are pictures of me tagged from either nights out or whatever the case maybe.. I dont them up there yet I dont have the choice to remove it either..

Digital age - eh I'll show you digital age.... moan moan moan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

There were narcissists long before Facebook.
    There were also people who don't give a **** about Facebook long before Facebook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

I use Facebook to laugh at the people who document their entire lives on it, throwing them the occasional like to keep the entertainment going.

Oh, you couldn't wait to get home from London and your girlfriend to see your dog? Keep this **** coming, babe *likes*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭rox5

I agree, social media came in when I was 13 so spent all my teenage years after school stuck on the blasted sites like Bebo and Facebook, uploading edited photos for compliments and wanting to have a high amount of friends.

I am 20 now, and I hate how much time I wasted on it.

Also it pisses me off to see people thinking the bloody sun shines out of their arse just because they are "facebook famous" within certain social circles, with their 100 likes on a measly picture or stupid status. I delete these people straight away because of their massive egos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭Manc-Red

It's turned people into nosey bastar*s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Sirsok

It's a medium for untalented people to feel important like myself, people do things to try and increase other people's pleasure except people that are good at it get paid, like musicans

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Facebook just gives them a platform

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,709 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

If girls are willing to provide me with an endless supply of potential fapping material, who am I to complain?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭Singularity 1

rox5 wrote: »
    I agree, social media came in when I was 13 so spent all my teenage years after school stuck on the blasted sites like Bebo and Facebook, uploading edited photos for compliments and wanting to have a high amount of friends.

I am 20 now, and I hate how much time I wasted on it.

Also it pisses me off to see people thinking the bloody sun shines out of their arse just because they are "facebook famous" within certain social circles, with their 100 likes on a measly picture or stupid status. I delete these people straight away because of their massive egos.

Ohh there's certainly a lot of ego boosting on it. Heck I'm guilty of it myself. One of my photos was liked by 3 girls and I thought I was the bees knees for ages. Just imagine whats its like for the people getting hundreds of likes on several different photos. Any wonder some people are addicted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭6781

These type of people existed long before social network sites but you notice it more now because of them. Thankfully my friends on Facebook don't do it, but I notice it's mainly women constantly posting up photos of themselves on sites like Instagram.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Hope ur ok hun x

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

I'm saving childrens lives with the click of a button, what's not to like and feel good about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭**Vai**

6781 wrote: »
    These type of people existed long before social network sites but you notice it more now because of them. Thankfully my friends on Facebook don't do it, but I notice it's mainly women constantly posting up photos of themselves on sites like Instagram.

Thats because lads would slag the livin **** out of each other for posing. And rightly so.
    Im not on it but from what I have seen its women posing in exchange for likes and lads becoming ever so complimentary about the pics.
    Not all of them obviously but a good portion.

6781 wrote: »

In fairness I know a lot of people that are quite humble or even shy in person, but on facebook they become quite different. I remember some comedian saying, "If there was a party where everyone behaved like they do on facebook, nobody would go to it. "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

http://well.blogs.nytimes.com/2012/05/17/does-facebook-turn-people-into-narcissists/?_r=0

What do you reckon? I remember before social networking sites, I'd be mortified if I saw a photo of myself on the internet. I'd be like "take that down."

Now nobody seems to care. I see some pretty girls on facebook uploading hundreds of photos of themselves looking for compliments. And the guys are all to happy to tell her she's gorgeous.

some girls have always looked for compliments , this is just a new way of doing it - and guys will always tell them what they want to hear

ny times filling space again :rolleyes:

Ohh there's certainly a lot of ego boosting on it. Heck I'm guilty of it myself. One of my photos was liked by 3 girls and I thought I was the bees knees for ages. Just imagine whats its like for the people getting hundreds of likes on several different photos. Any wonder some people are addicted.

Haha same here. The most I got was 20-30 likes on a Debs photo and a modelling photo I did and I thought I was the greatest thing on earth for a while, I am not gonna lie, especially when I was not one of the popular students in school, so for me to get 20 while the popular students only get 10 or under, it was like "Haha!" to them. But thoses days of trying to my ego are now gone for me, it's so stupid looking back on it.

In fairness I know a lot of people that are quite humble or even shy in person, but on facebook they become quite different. I remember some comedian saying, "If there was a party where everyone behaved like they do on facebook, nobody would go to it. "

Guilty of that too, I would spend ages talking to people on it...in person, you would only get small talk for me as I struggle with social situations, even one-on-one.

dj jarvis wrote: »
    some girls have always looked for compliments , this is just a new way of doing it - and guys will always tell them what they want to hear

ny times filling space again :rolleyes:

True, but as I said, I know shy people that wouldn't be very attractive doing the same thing. Of course the better looking girls will get more attention, but that's not the point here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

donvito99 wrote: »
    I use Facebook to laugh at the people who document their entire lives on it, throwing them the occasional like to keep the entertainment going.

Oh, you couldn't wait to get home from London and your girlfriend to see your dog? Keep this **** coming, babe *likes*

Throw the occasional like???? Are you a script writer for 3 advertising dept? I hate that expression!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

I never understand all the Facebook rage - either tailor use to your preferences or don't use it! Annoying people can be hidden from you feed or deleted altogether.

I like having loads of pics in one place, reading back on old statuses for memories and keeping in touch with overseas friends and how their lives are progressing. I never worry about people finding out about my personal business, if they're sad enough to root through pics of me with my friends and family then that's their funeral.

True, but as I said, I know shy people that wouldn't be very attractive doing the same thing. Of course the better looking girls will get more attention, but that's not the point here.

well if someone was to randomly look at my profile they may come to the conclusion that i was narcissistic , but the reality is , a lot of my family live abroad, and my partners family are not irish , so a good way of them seeing their grand kids and daughter is us posting photos of our lives , i work a lot and dont get to see my mates much , so its another way of keeping in touch , becasue if i did not use it this way , i would miss out and so would others

not really being a narcissist - just using a tool at my disposal - anyway people dont have to look if they dont want to.

rox5 wrote: »
    Haha same here. The most I got was 20-30 likes on a Debs photo and a modelling photo I did and I thought I was the greatest thing on earth for a while, I am not gonna lie, especially when I was not one of the popular students in school, so for me to get 20 while the popular students only get 10 or under, it was like "Haha!" to them. But thoses days of trying to my ego are now gone for me, it's so stupid looking back on it.

How you doin?

well if someone was to randomly look at my profile they may come to the conclusion that i was narcissistic , but the reality is , a lot of my family live abroad, and my partners family are not irish , so a good way of them seeing their grand kids and daughter is us posting photos of our lives , i work a lot and dont get to see my mates much , so its another way of keeping in touch , becasue if i did not use it this way , i would miss out and so would others

not really being a narcissist - just using a tool at my disposal - anyway people dont have to look if they dont want to.

There is nothing wrong with any of that and it has nothing to do with been narcissistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

Some people have left Descartes' mantra behind and taken up "I facebook therefore I am."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭Table Top Joe

Katgurl wrote: »
    I never understand all the Facebook rage - either tailor use to your preferences or don't use it! Annoying people can be hidden from you feed or deleted altogether.

EXACTLY!
    I sometimes wonder if there isn't an evil Facebook Bastard going around forcing people to use it at gunpoint

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

yep. At least 200 shots of myself, not too many of other people. No bad thing either. Incidently, dictator was a career recommendation on my aptitude test.

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    yep. At least 200 shots of myself, not too many of other people. No bad thing either. Incidently, dictator was a career recommendation on my aptitude test.

There's an aptitude test on it?

There are actually some companies that ask for your facebook log in details when you're going for an interview.

There is nothing wrong with any of that and it has nothing to do with been narcissistic.

well that was my point , at a glance , someones profile might Look narcissistic , but might have other reasons for looking user centered

There's a difference between uploading a few photos of your family and uploading hundreds of photos of yourself posing in front of a mirror.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

I wonder what American Psycho would have been like if it was set today...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

There's a setting on FB that when activated nobody can post pictures on your time line or tag you in photo's with your prior approval.

I like to keep my affairs private so I very much appreciate this feature

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

donvito99 wrote: »

You're cool

There's a difference between uploading a few photos of your family and uploading hundreds of photos of yourself posing in front of a mirror.

not really - you cant know why someone does that , could be a thousand reasons why - like video games makes everyone a killer , Facebook is turning everyone into a narcissist , well if social media and media in general was influencing as much as the NY times would have us believe , should we not be all gourmet chefs seeing all the cooking rubbish on the tv ?

whatever new social media arrives , it will still be blamed for turning us all into whatever the new buzz word from new york is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭yoloc

I hate the ****ing thing but think im addicted. On it every hour of the day im awake

If I had as much internet access when I was in school as I have now, I never would have got any homework done. When I was a teenager, viewing porn invloved waiting 10 minutes for a picture of a naked woman to load on a screen. It started at the head and worked its way down. It seemed like an eternity for the pu$$y to be revealed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

The latest buzzword for this trend is "selfie": short for "self-portrait", and by extension those who take self-portraits and post them online. "Selfies" are the new target market for phone makers - see for example Huawei banks on the rise of the selfie for world's thinnest smartphone:
    The Ascend P6 is just over 6mm thick, comes in white, black and baby pink, and in language usually associated with skin creams rather than computer technology, its maker claims the camera's "instant facial beauty support" software reduces wrinkles and blends skin tone.

The phone capitalises on the growing popularity of the self portrait or "selfie", examples of which now litter the internet, with celebrities from Justin Bieber to Rihanna as likely to photograph themselves as their friends and family.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

RikkFlair wrote: »
    Hope ur ok hun x

If I had a euro for everytime I have seen or had people say that to me on facebook.......

I mean it is nice to look out for someone if the seem upset on facebook, but it is very cliched by this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭HurtLocker

There's this one guy on my friends list who can't do anything without photographing himself. Not of the event which is usually on a park bench with some other people. Just himself and multiple of himself and an extra one of himself in a mirror and runs them all through this thing called Cam wow like Instagram. I rarely use FB but when I do he's feckin on my timeline the filter on his photos blending him into the background.

Also theres other guy who's a proper friend got an iphone last Christmas and since then he's decided to become a bloody professional photographer. Sunsets, water, rain, the moon he's basically the local weatherman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭TheBellJar

Nope, it's turned people into narrow minded moanbags with nothing better to do than rant about people who use Facebook, whilst on Facebook themselves.

If you don't like it, don't use it. You didn't invent it; if you hate it that much then develop your own social media platform and if you hate social media then turn off your wifi.

Jesus the amount of sh1te people find to become personally aggrieved over amazes me sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

The way people use facebook is a load of bollocks.
    On paper Facebook was designed to connect with friends and family.... not to add every single person you've ever had contact with in an attempt to seem "popular" or to post 25-50 photos of a social night out you had in an effort to come across with this amazing social life.

I have a facebook. I use it to connect with people I know. Not to blow myself out. What's the point? it's fake. It's not real. I could have 200 friends but still lead a crappy and boring life. For what? for appearances?

The way people use facebook is a load of bollocks.
    On paper Facebook was designed to connect with friends and family.... not to add every single person you've ever had contact with in an attempt to seem "popular" or to post every 25-50 photos of a social night out you had in an effort to come across with this amazing social life.

I have a facebook. I use it to connect with people I know. Not to blow myself out.
    I use my facebook strictly for people I know also. But I couldn't give a crap how other people choose to use theirs. I don't really understand why this bothers people so much? If someone's facebook usage bothers you, then delete them - problem solved. Facebook is a business and one that has evolved to meet the demands of the market, and like it or not the market for it has changed. The question is, why do you give a flying fcuk?

TheBellJar wrote: »
    I use my facebook strictly for people I know also. But I couldn't give a crap how other people choose to use theirs. I don't really understand why this bothers people so much? If someone's facebook usage bothers you, then delete them - problem solved. Facebook is a business and one that has evolved to meet the demands of the market, and like it or not the market for it has changed. The question is, why do you give a flying fcuk?

I don't give a fuck how other people live their lives. But does that mean I can't comment or voice my opinion? :confused:

Or better yet, since you say why care about others - Why care what others opinions are? ... So why get back to me? ... Answer that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

I like to keep my affairs private so I very much appreciate this feature

Not a great example of security :

http://www.reuters.com/article/2013/06/21/us-facebook-security-idUSBRE95K18Y20130621

I don't give a fuck how other people live their lives. But does that mean I can't comment or voice my opinion? :confused:

Or better yet, since you say why care about others - Why care what others opinions are? ... So why get back to me? ... Answer that one.

Ah but see, I don't care :) I'm merely engaging for entertainment value.

Don't take my quoting you personally, I was simply questioning your opinion - not saying you weren't entitled to one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

Sirsok wrote: »
    It's a medium for untalented people to feel important like myself, people do things to try and increase other people's pleasure except people that are good at it get paid, like musicans

and pornstars

Ah but see, I don't care :) I'm merely engaging for entertainment value.

Don't take my quoting you personally, I was simply questioning your opinion - not saying you weren't entitled to one.

What you said was hypocrisy. You may deny it, you may try to cover or dodge it. But it was hypocrisy.

I did not quote you or anyone else in this thread. I simply put my input. But the reality was you didnt agree with my input (or opinion) So you told me to mind my own business but at the same time you werent minding your own. Thus, making you a hypocrite.

What you said was hypocrisy. You may deny it, you may try to cover or dodge it. But it was hypocrisy.

I did not quote you or anyone else in this thread. I simply put my input. But the reality was you didnt agree with my input (or opinion) So you told me to mind my own business but at the same time you werent minding your own. Thus, making you a hypocrite.

Ahh I see, so THAT'S why I posted! Thanks so much for explaining that to me :) Here was me thinking I was simply passing time in the midst of the oul insomnia. But no you're right - it's all about you :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

yoloc wrote: »
    I hate the ****ing thing but think im addicted. On it every hour of the day im awake

Don't worry, its not a drug. You will eventually get bored with it and move on.

Ahh I see, so THAT'S why I posted! Thanks so much for explaining that to me :) Here was me thinking I was simply passing time in the midst of the oul insomnia. But no you're right - it's all about you :)

I would say you are good :pac: but:
    You may deny it, you may try to cover or dodge it. But it was hypocrisy