Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's The Longest You've Stayed Awake?

• 21-06-2013 1:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭

The reason I ask is because I get these crazy bouts of insomnia that seem to come out of the blue. Last week I woke up at 8.30am Wednesday and didn't sleep till midnight on Friday. I reckon that I was awake for just over 40 hours. On the Friday I had to drive from Galway to Dublin. During the latter part of Friday I started feeling a bit odd. I call it the fuzzies. It's like your senses are slowing down and speeding up. The whole thing is baffling really. I wake up early, I don't nap during the day, don't drink any caffeine after 4 in the afternoon and go to the gym for a good workout after work. Sometimes I'm fine and sleep well other times the tiredness just never arrives.

So anybody else plagued with insomnia? What's the longest you've gone with no proper shut eye?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I haven't slept in days. I sleep at night. BoomBoom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Dunno exactly, I always fall asleep before I can check.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭DublinArnie

I once stayed up for 24hours ... and I don't have insomnia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭greenbicycle

i was very sick once, in hospital, i was sedated for a good long while. when i woke up i couldn't sleep naturally, i was awake for about a week and a half straight despite trying everything (was still in hospital though). i couldn't take sleeping tablets though cause of what was wrong with me. in the end i just drifted off while sitting in a chair,lots of noise around me. only slept for an hour or so before i was awake again but it was a great sleep all the same....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

probably till 3 or so the next day on various benders, hellish aftermath though, hopefully never again as I'm old now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

3 days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

36 hours. Had my final year project report due in college and only started it the day before it was due. 50 pages (well, ~25 was code)

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

48 hours

I had a 14 hour flight journey but I didn't sleep the night before because I had to leave the house at like 3 anyway and I spent like 7 hours in transit between flights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

I don't know maybe about two days but one weekend in work we were doing crazy shifts from thursday to sunday where i may have only gotten 4 or 5 hours sleep over the 4 days. That was horrible.

About 55 hours. Was more of a work binge than a social one and was in peak form at the time. I've done 30-36 hours occasionally, makes me see the importance of sleep and how sleep deprivation can be used as a torture device.

From my experience, the first 24 hours are grand.

24-30 hours is that 'wow I haven't slept since I woke up yesterday morning' phase, my perception of normal things seem a bit surreal then. Walking becomes a bit of a chore and multi-tasking abilities start to diminish. Tolerance for BS and general annoyances plummets to zero.

Beyond 30 hours is when my voice starts to go. All the previous symptoms are now amplified and at around 36 hours that is probably when you start to feel as close to zombie-like as a human ever should.

All the above said, if you are taking uppers then who knows, the sky's the limit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 843 ✭✭✭Whatsernamex33

36 hours. ;)
    This was between my Leaving Cert results and my 18th birthday, the day after. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

stankratz wrote: »

All the above said, if you are taking uppers then who knows, the sky's the limit!

the skys not the limit

psychosis will get you first

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Pretty near to 3 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

i was very sick once, in hospital, i was sedated for a good long while. when i woke up i couldn't sleep naturally, i was awake for about a week and a half straight despite trying everything (was still in hospital though). i couldn't take sleeping tablets though cause of what was wrong with me. in the end i just drifted off while sitting in a chair,lots of noise around me. only slept for an hour or so before i was awake again but it was a great sleep all the same....

A week and a half?? The world record is 11 days.

The most I have ever done is 40 hours and I just have to sleep there is no two ways about it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭puddinboxxx

44 hours..sat morn around 8 untill monday morning around 4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

36 hours, travelling! Then as soon as i get there I dont want to sleep...too excited!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭a0ifee

Had an early morning flight so decided to pull an all nighter, decided at around 4 that I needed sleep but as soon I went to bed I was told to get up :(

tried to sleep on the plane but the attendant gave out to me for lying across three seats with my legs in the aisle :pac: with no sleep & the general flight stress I felt disorientated and weird for the whole day it was awful, I like my sleep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

96 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭greenbicycle

YbFocus wrote: »
    A week and a half?? The world record is 11 days.

The most I have ever done is 40 hours and I just have to sleep there is no two ways about it!

Thats why i said "about", it might have been a week and 2.5 days, defo over a week anyway cause the doctors were all quite worried. plus i think mine would not have counted for a world record as i assume a world record would have to be natural mine was partly due to medication/illness etc

you have made me feel a bit special all the same though, i was as close to a record as i will get for anything! cool!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

A little shy of 72 hours at a festival back in 2011. I didn't intend to do it and it wasn't like I struggled through as a matter of principle. There was just always something going on and I didn't feel the need to turn in at any stage, not that I reckon I'd have been getting much kip even if I tried.

I remember the whole thing and stayed remarkably sane throughout the whole experience. I've seen people lost the plot from less, though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭rambutman

stayed up Thursday night, Friday night, Saturday night and slept the Sunday night

so from Wednesday til Sunday night

t'was one hell of a glastonbury

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

4 Days as an experiment but started having visual and auditory hallucinations so had to sleep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

3 days 50 mins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Just over 10 days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I had a class with some students a few years ago, and asked them the question, "how long is the most you have ever slept?" Most said something like 13-15 hours due to jetlag, but one guy said 28 hours.

We all looked at him, thinking it was total bull, and I asked him how he got so tired. It turns out he was a member of the Japanese self-defense force and had been in a helicopter that crashed into the Sea of Japan. He'd got into the lifeboat but had to wait nearly 4 days to be rescued, and hadn't slept at all in that time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

I'm awake 5 days every week,I just can't sleep before night shifts and when I come home im too wound up to go asleep,and so the vicious cycle continues week after week after week after week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

46 hours. Had a late night/early morning connecting flight to Seoul, I knew I'd never be up in time so didn't go to bed that night and as much as I try I can never go to sleep on a plane. So Roscommon-Dublin-Dubai-Seoul. Fun times.

SaulGoode9 wrote: »
    46 hours. Had a late night/early morning connecting flight to Seoul, I knew I'd never be up in time so didn't go to bed that night and as much as I try I can never go to sleep on a plane. So Roscommon-Dublin-Dubai-Seoul. Fun times.

I can't stand connections.One year I allowed my friend to book tickets to Canada,but surely enough he chose the cheapest and never bothered looking at the connections so,Dublin-belfast-london-frankfurt-nova scotia-Toronto.Almost 3 days to get to bloody Canada.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

About 4 years ago I went to the denist for a checkup and ended up leaving with a temp filling. The next day I was in London just for a day and by the time I was flying back I started to get a very bad toothache. This was Saturday evening. By the time I got home it was the most excruciating pain I've ever ecperienced. Took iboprofen to no effect. The Only thing that numbed it was cold water. So I sat in bed sipping cold water and holding it in my mouth til it was warm then sipping more. Got so tired I started to nod off but woke seconds later as the drilling pain in my left jaw to temple returned.

Couldn't get an emergency dental appointment til Monday so all Saturday night and all day and all night Sunday not only did I get 0 sleep I was also in the a level of pain I couldn't describe. Eventually I got to a dentist, not the one I went to the previous time, and she was horrified that a plastic temp filling was sitting on the nerve in my tooth. She said only morphine would have given me any respite.

In an effort to save the tooth the dentist tried to extract the nerve. Despite being numbed up with several injections every time she tweezed the nerve I got a shocking pain that made the last 3 days seem mild. If anyone's seen 127 hours and he tries to cut his nerve with a blunt knife, that almost captured what I felt. The dentist got most of the nerve before I begged for mercy and put a new (leatherish) temp filling on and sent me home to see how I felt. Well as the drugs receeded the agony crept back.

At this point I hadn't slept in almost 3 days and was basically in torturous pain the entire time. I'm not ashamed to say I broke down. Drove back to the dentist (definitely shouldn't have been driving) and asked her to pull the tooth. So the dentist needled me up once again and left me to wait a few minutes then got out a big pliers, got one knee on my leg, leaned into my gaping jaw and ripped the fcuker out... The second I felt it be pulled out of my head it was like a release valve instantly eased the pressure in my head. I felt almost normal again for the first time in what seemed an eternity. I thanked the dentist, paid her for her kindness in ripping out my tooth and went home and slept for a day.

I don't know if it was just the sleep deprivation or that coupled with the pain but honestly with less than 3 days of no sleep I was a shell of a man and never want to experience that again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭seosamh1980

pmcmahon wrote: »
    I can't stand connections.One year I allowed my friend to book tickets to Canada,but surely enough he chose the cheapest and never bothered looking at the connections so,Dublin-belfast-london-frankfurt-nova scotia-Toronto.Almost 3 days to get to bloody Canada.

My God, how much did he actually save booking it that way? I've flown direct from Dublin to Toronto (6.5/7 hours) for €300-400. It'd want to be costing about €50 before I'd consider that trip!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Three and a half days in mid 90"s with a bumper bag of narcotics for company.
    Took about a fortnight to recover though.

My God, how much did he actually save booking it that way? I've flown direct from Dublin to Toronto (6.5/7 hours) for €300-400. It'd want to be costing about €50 before I'd consider that trip!

I never really found out the saving,cost 420 anyway.I usually take the direct to Toronto or else connect to London (not too bad) if its worth the saving.

Forgot to mention,the Dublin to Belfast was by train so it probably worked out more expensive than going direct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

I had 8 hours sleep since I woke up on Wednesday morning. On oxycontin for back pain which I think is meant to make you sleepy but I've been tripping balls since only getting 30mins to an hour power naps.

I didn't really answer the question in the thread though did I? :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

2 days. Day one was grand, day 2 was an absolute nightmare....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭6781

Around 40 hours. I was at work for 25 hours of that too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

78 hours, but when I was young. Won the bet though and got a bottle of Brandy and a 200 smokes :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭seosamh1980

pmcmahon wrote: »
    I never really found out the saving,cost 420 anyway.I usually take the direct to Toronto or else connect to London (not too bad) if its worth the saving.

Forgot to mention,the Dublin to Belfast was by train so it probably worked out more expensive than going direct.

€420 with that many connections, what an idiot to book that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Ace Attorney

72 hours drinking and other stuff, takes fecking ages to recover from sessions like that

€420 with that many connections, what an idiot to book that!

Needless to say,I took care of the return

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

About 35hrs.

Staying up from around 12am till 12pm next day in an effort to 'normalise' my sleep pattern...
    I end up doing it more often than I'ld like but I'm always quite amazed by how well I can still function after 30hrs of wakefullness, although I do begin to feel like a zombie slowly as the day progresses...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭Gamayun

Guinness World Records don't recognize the sleep deprivation record for fears people will do themselves damage while attempting to beat it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Gamayun wrote: »
    Guinness World Records don't recognize the sleep deprivation record for fears people will do themselves damage while attempting to beat it!

I wonder what other things they do that with....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

About 4 days. Was not nice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

About 30 odd hours the odd time when I'm working night shift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭FreshKnickers

The missus used to be mad for that Sex and City program. I once made it almost all the way to the end before dozing off. Had a mad dream then where the good looking one with the dark hair and the old one, the hoor, got it on with themselves.

Mightnt have actually been a long time but it bloody felt like it. Anyway in the end I told herself about the dream and, like magic, I was never again forced to watch the three young women and their friend buy shoes and eat cake and talk durty to each other. Was mighty tempted to say it happened again when that Desperate Wives show was on but I didn't want her to get suspicious.

• Site Banned Posts: 4 daniel90

58 hours.........Vegas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The world record without using stimulants is 11 days. Anyone think they could beat that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭ceegee

I haven't slept for ten days

Because that would be too long

(Source: M Hedberg)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭yoloc

3 solid days. Was flat out on drink and drugs and when i did sleep, i slept for a solid 24 hours and woke up soaking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭apollo8

I've been awake now for seventy fou