Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

To the bell end on the M50......

• 20-06-2013 4:30pm
    Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭

You are the reason cyclists have a bad name.

Coming into the M50 at Cherrywood heading northbound at 17;15. Stupid mother ducker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Surveyor11

godtabh wrote: »

Coming into the M50 at Cherrywood heading northbound at 17;15. Stupid mother ducker.

On a bike?:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,429 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Have they a death wish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

How fast was he going?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,284 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

Did you call the Gardaí? Probably doesn't read this forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Minier81

Organ donor?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

I didn't realise we had a bad name.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

My name is kinda bad, everyone thinks I'm a girl.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

My panda doesn't go that fast so I assume he wasn't earlier

I was driving so couldn't use the phone. Was gonna call when I got home but who knows where he is now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

Galway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭mackeire

I was driving so couldn't use the phone. Cases gonna call when I got home but who knows where he is now

he's probably at the firhouse exit now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

I pay my road tax, same as them car drivers..........

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Inquitus wrote: »
    I pay my road tax, same as them car drivers..........

Don't mention the war.

dont-mention-the-war.jpg

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

as a cyclist i couldnt car less where he cycles as long as he is legally allowed but the m50 excludes cyclists. It gives more ammunition to the times and the like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

Probably needs armbands and a helmet 24/7 too.

kona wrote: »
    Probably needs armbands and a helmet 24/7 too.

He wasnt wearing a helmet but thats for another thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Minier81

A helmet wouldn't do you much good on the m50, what a plonker.

My panda doesn't go that fast so I assume he wasn't earlier

I was driving so couldn't use the phone. Was gonna call when I got home but who knows where he is now
    I believe you're permitted to use a phone to call 999/112 while driving.

RSA
    You can only use your mobile phone while driving if you're dialling 999 or 112 for an emergency.
    Whether that's classed as an emergency, or the RSA is accurate is another thing.

Did he look lost? I wouldn't fancy the M50 on a bike any time, let alone at rush hour.

I believe you're permitted to use a phone to call 999/112 while driving.

RSA

Whether that's classed as an emergency, or the RSA is accurate is another thing.

Did he look lost? I wouldn't fancy the M50 on a bike any time, let alone at rush hour.

Given the approach to the M50 from Cherrywood he wasn't lost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Should have reported him. He would lose his licence for that offense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭cython

As bad as that is, I think one of the most ridiculous things I've seen regarding cyclists and motorways was a member of the Garda Cycling Club heading north on the M11 a couple of months ago. Admittedly not rush hour but the hypocrisy of the Jersey stood out for me (I know it isn't a requirement to be a Garda to join but seeing as it's restrictive to join for non-Gardai there are good odds that he was one)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

He wasnt wearing a helmet but thats for another thread

That's the problem, probably felt like a dog without a leash .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

Passed by about a half hour ago and they had him pulled in. Seems a motorbike cop wasn't enough so a car and 3 other guards assisted. Wonder who got the short straw and had to cycle it back :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭paddydriver

Some of the cycle lanes are in sh!te around there.. M50 has a good surface guaranteed. Hard shoulders can have a bit of grit sometimes but other than that a great spot for a good cycle on a good surface.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭g0g

Must have had a death wish! They were clearly in the wrong and I don't support it, but at a guess probably using M50 for the quickest route from Cherrywood to Carrickmines or something like that? Again not saying it's not an idiotic thing to do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭check_six

mickdw wrote: »
    Should have reported him. He would lose his licence for that offense.

I'm not condoning the foolhardy cyclist, but bearing in mind that you would only receive two points (yes, that's right 2 points) for driving the wrong way down the motorway, I doubt you would lose your license for cycling on the motorway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭mackeire

check_six wrote: »
    I'm not condoning the foolhardy cyclist, but bearing in mind that you would only receive two points (yes, that's right 2 points) for driving the wrong way down the motorway, I doubt you would lose your license for cycling on the motorway.

what licence are we talking about here?
    he can hardly lose his drivers licence for doing something out of his car.

a fine is what he should get. and a hefty fine at that!!

ive seen lads that were pissed walking along the hard shoulder and stumbling all over the place. Bike are no different. one big gust of wind there and they get blown out infront of the traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

mackeire wrote: »
    what licence are we talking about here?
    he can hardly lose his drivers licence for doing something out of his car.

I was trying to highlight the point that there is no licence and really cyclists are a law onto themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

fairly usual to have cyclists on the M11 / M50 between Bray and Cherrywood - Carrickmines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭Gallant_JJ

Came across a cyclist on the M8 about 20 miles north of Cork last Saturday evening, extraordinary!

Very safety conscious though, decked out in the hi-viz gear.

If you have a driving licence and carry out an offence on your bike can points be put on your driving licence? Thought I read about that on here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

mickdw wrote: »
    I was trying to highlight the point that there is no licence and really cyclists are a law onto themselves.

But but but I have a licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

Idleater wrote: »
    But but but I have a licence.

Me too, and I've just paid road motor tax ;(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭carltonleon

Nutjob.
    Glad he got pulled in as he was a danger not just to himself but to the other motorists as well.
    Imagine a big gust of wind pushes him out of the hard shoulder even slightly as there is an HGV passing. HGV swerves to avoid into another lane, the result could be horrendous.
    Really stupid stupid thing to do.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭rp

Should be pretty safe provided you stick to lane #1 on the M50, there are never any cars in it.

Nutjob.
    Glad he got pulled in as he was a danger not just to himself but to the other motorists as well.
    Imagine a big gust of wind pushes him out of the hard shoulder even slightly as there is an HGV passing. HGV swerves to avoid into another lane, the result could be horrendous.
    Really stupid stupid thing to do.
    With the greatest of respect, this scenario is nonsense because hgv's passing in the neighbouring lane will be travelling just as fast as they would when performing the same manoeuvre past a cyclist cycling legally on a national road. Considering that there is also a few 120kmph national roads where cycling is not prohibited, it's not as fundamentally dangerous as made out.
    It is illegal, don't get me wrong, and from a cycling point of view probably the most boring of routes, but a danger he was not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭carltonleon

With the greatest of respect, this scenario is nonsense because hgv's passing in the neighbouring lane will be travelling just as fast as they would when performing the same manoeuvre past a cyclist cycling legally on a national road. Considering that there is also a few 120kmph national roads where cycling is not prohibited, it's not as fundamentally dangerous as made out.
    It is illegal, don't get me wrong, and from a cycling point of view probably the most boring of routes, but a danger he was not.

What I am saying is that the HGV (Which I just used as an example) would not be expecting a cyclist to be on the hard shoulder so if the cyclist was to swerve out, there is a distinct possibilty that any driver would react defensively and also move out to avoid. Bear in mind that the driver in the inside lane may be doing 90kmh and cars in the middle lane may be doing 120kmh. It is all hypothecical I know but I think that one thing that we all agree on is that it was a bloody stupid thing top do.

What about the n2? From finglas out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

It is all hypothecical I know but I think that one thing that we all agree on is that it was a bloody stupid thing top do.

I don't agree. It was illegal. I don't think it was that stupid. I saw a much stupider act this morning by a cyclist in an urban zone (Swords) at low speed but I won't bore everyone with it.

I almost did a way stupider thing than this M50 guy around Harold's Cross on my bike on Wednesday and there was no hypothetical gust of wind or HGV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

What I am saying is that the HGV (Which I just used as an example) would not be expecting a cyclist to be on the hard shoulder so if the cyclist was to swerve out, there is a distinct possibilty that any driver would react defensively and also move out to avoid. Bear in mind that the driver in the inside lane may be doing 90kmh and cars in the middle lane may be doing 120kmh. It is all hypothecical I know but I think that one thing that we all agree on is that it was a bloody stupid thing top do.

It's the left turning HGV's that kill cyclists, not ones swerving right... :o

I don't agree. It was illegal. I don't think it was that stupid.

exactly, it's not extra dangerous compared to any other road*, merely illegal and probably more boring.

*There are several 120kph DC cyclists can use, several 3 lanes roads, plenty of far far more dangerous narrow country roads with 60, 80 or 100 limits, plenty of roads with similar junction etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,313 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

What about the n2? From finglas out.

Yep, I've seen cyclists looking pretty scared as they realize that the N2 is actually bringing them onto the outside lane of what is basically a motorway!

exactly, it's not extra dangerous compared to any other road*, merely illegal and probably more boring.

*There are several 120kph DC cyclists can use, several 3 lanes roads, plenty of far far more dangerous narrow country roads with 60, 80 or 100 limits, plenty of roads with similar junction etc etc

I think the expectations of the drivers are the problem. You don't expect to see a bike, or a horse and cart, or a man with a wheelbarrow on the motorway so potentially you don't react correctly. Therein lies the issue. Of course, you should be alert and ready to react to hazards appropriately on any road or condition, but some people go into automaton mode on the motorway and are not focussing on their driving sufficiently.

I often wonder how people can manage to crash into cars parked in the hard shoulder on motorways, but they do manage it somehow. Maybe it's an inappropriate reaction to something that would normally not be there. "There's a car broken down on the side of the road. What do I do, what do I do? ... head straight for it? Good enough! Here we go!"

I think the expectations of the drivers are the problem. You don't expect to see a bike, or a horse and cart, or a man with a wheelbarrow on the motorway so potentially you don't react correctly. Therein lies the issue.

true, but were it legal this wouldn't be an issue, but it's too late for that now. Were it to become legal overnight it'd still be a long time before expectations change IMO.
    That said I think you learn pretty early on to expect pretty much anything on Irish motorways too :pac:

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭rp

The M4 goes past my house, but I have to ride 9km route before it turns into the N4 and I can use it. That 9km is certainly more dangerous than the rest of the journey on the N4: one of the few 'accidents' I have had happened in Leixlip when a car pulled out from a lane in front of me. If I could legally use that stretch of M4, I would, my journey would be faster and safer.

I often wonder how people can manage to crash into cars parked in the hard shoulder on motorways
    It's called target fixation. I'm sure I read that the hard shoulder is statistically the most dangerous place on a motorway. That's why you're told to get out of the car and stand behind the crash barrier if you break down.

07Lapierre wrote: »
    Yep, I've seen cyclists looking pretty scared as they realize that the N2 is actually bringing them onto the outside lane of what is basically a motorway!

My point exactly. It is for all intents and purposes the same situation that the other poster described as inherently dangerous, I merely pointed out that it is more illegal than dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

If you have a driving licence and carry out an offence on your bike can points be put on your driving licence? Thought I read about that on here?
    It's a grey area.

There's no facility for a judge to issue discretionary points - that is, you can only be given penalty points for an offence which has been designated a penalty points offence. So in court a judge can't give you points for driving without tax.

However, there is nothing in law which says that a penalty points offence must be committed in a motor vehicle. So in theory if you commit a penalty points offence on a bicycle, you can (nay must) be issued with penalty points onto your licence. It just so happens that none of the penalty points offences can be committed on a bicycle (afaik - though I may be wrong).

This is the same with all traffic offences - there is nothing which says that in order to be disqualified from driving a car, you have to commit the offence in a car. Any offence which may carry a disqualification order can be used to ban someone from driving.

This was illustrated a couple of years back when a cyclist who broke a red light and had a bad crash, lost his driving licence for it.

It's called target fixation. I'm sure I read that the hard shoulder is statistically the most dangerous place on a motorway. That's why you're told to get out of the car and stand behind the crash barrier if you break down.

'Target fixation' sounds like the explanation alright. I was reading up on that to try an improve my descending recently. Only stare at the point on the road you want to go through, and ignore the sheer cliff drop/patch of gravel/angry goat that would otherwise take your attention, and draw you towards them like a moth to a flame. Seems to work pretty well too!

rp wrote: »
    The M4 goes past my house, but I have to ride 9km route before it turns into the N4 and I can use it. That 9km is certainly more dangerous than the rest of the journey on the N4: one of the few 'accidents' I have had happened in Leixlip when a car pulled out from a lane in front of me. If I could legally use that stretch of M4, I would, my journey would be faster and safer.

I've cycled Dublin/Athlone along the N4 several times. Never had any issues. Much safer than the M4 as there are less HGVs on it

seamus wrote: »

It just so happens that none of the penalty points offences can be committed on a bicycle (afaik - though I may be wrong).

If I did 55km/h in a 50km/h zone could I be done for speeding? I cant find the thread now but I think thats what the debate was about.