Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dundrum South Dublin

• 19-06-2013 9:39am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 737 ✭✭✭

Hi, I'm sure this has been asked before but I've searched this forum and only came up with bits and pieces.
    Dundrum is the nearest club to where I currently live. I'm just wondering what sort of standard they accept. I'd be interested in doing the shorter events, like the 100m, 200m and that. Thing is I'm not fast anymore.
    I was never really fast anyway but I've got really bad, fitness levels are low also. What sort of times are the worst senior athletes running at the Dundrum club?
    Would they accept someone who lacks pace and fitness like me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Rogue Runner

As with most clubs athletes of all levels are accepted. as it says on their site

'You DON’T need to be a great runner, we have people running 10km between 37- 65mins. We promise you will fit in and feel welcome. Over 18’s under 100.'

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Yellow121

Yes, they might accept me but what I'm really asking is will I be way behind everyone else? I want to do sprint races, so will I be 6 seconds behind in a 100m race? I don't think I'd show up every week if that was the case.
    Is there anyone from DSD on this site that could answer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

What sort of times can you run for 100 and 200? More info required.

Well I don't know for 200 but 100 is about late 15/early 16. I timed that with someone else recently enough on a track but not one with proper surface.
    Obviously no one will be running 10 seconds at this club so I wont be 6 seconds behind them but it's a slow time.
    I ran the 100 a couple of times and got about the same time each go. I was really struggling after it, coughing and breathing heavy. I just gave up smoking last year.
    Now, I never timed a run of this lenght when I was younger but I would have been far quicker than 15/16 seconds.
    I'm 6'0 and 12st 7lbs-13st. I'm not fat but could lose a few pounds/convert into muscle. Any other information I need to give?

Yellow121 wrote: »
    Well I don't know for 200 but 100 is about late 15/early 16. I timed that with someone else recently enough on a track but not one with proper surface.
    Obviously no one will be running 10 seconds at this club so I wont be 6 seconds behind them but it's a slow time.
    I ran the 100 a couple of times and got about the same time each go. I was really struggling after it, coughing and breathing heavy. I just gave up smoking last year.
    Now, I never timed a run of this lenght when I was younger but I would have been far quicker than 15/16 seconds.
    I'm 6'0 and 12st 7lbs-13st. I'm not fat but could lose a few pounds/convert into muscle. Any other information I need to give?

Contact the club for sure. It's always great to see people wanting to get into sprinting. They'll be a far ahead of you to begin with but don't let it put you off. There's ways of easing into it. For example if the group were doing 4 x 200m for example you could do 4 x 100m and run the last 100m of each of their reps with them. That's the type of stuff I did when I started off a couple of years ago. I'd be shocked if a club turned away somebody enthusiastic and looking to improve and get involved, so just do it and don't worry about looking out of place. You'll get good coaching and will improve in no time.

Ok, thanks. I might give it a go but the embarrassment of being so far behind might be too much. Especially at the start when they're wondering how bad I really am.
    Also I'd probably attempt the 4x200, just as not to be looking stupid. That could end badly.
    I'll call them anyway and make up my mind from there. If I go and improve from being a long, long, long, long way behind them, to being a long, long, long way behind them then that would be decent.
    Anyway, thanks for the help. Are you one of their sprinters?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,876 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Hi, I'm sure this has been asked before but I've searched this forum and only came up with bits and pieces.
    Dundrum is the nearest club to where I currently live. I'm just wondering what sort of standard they accept. I'd be interested in doing the shorter events, like the 100m, 200m and that. Thing is I'm not fast anymore.
    I was never really fast anyway but I've got really bad, fitness levels are low also. What sort of times are the worst senior athletes running at the Dundrum club?
    Would they accept someone who lacks pace and fitness like me?

I tried to joined that club about 6 years ago, had ran a marathon in 4:06. Basically told me i wasnt good enough for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Rogue Runner

I tried to joined that club about 6 years ago, had ran a marathon in 4:06. Basically told me i wasnt good enough for them.

Jesus, that's a bit harsh

4:06 in a marathon would be better than 15 seconds in the 100m if you were to compare or cross analyse or whatever you would do.
    Do they have loads of members? Is that why they can tell people no? Did you join another club after?

Ok, thanks. I might give it a go but the embarrassment of being so far behind might be too much. Especially at the start when they're wondering how bad I really am.
    Also I'd probably attempt the 4x200, just as not to be looking stupid. That could end badly.
    I'll call them anyway and make up my mind from there. If I go and improve from being a long, long, long, long way behind them, to being a long, long, long way behind them then that would be decent.
    Anyway, thanks for the help. Are you one of their sprinters?

I'm in Australia but when I was home last July I trained with them a couple of times. Yes they are of a high standard but I found them extremely helpful and provided lots of advice. I took a lot from that short time and became a much better runner.

I think it would be a bit crap for people who are keen to sprint to not bother because of fear of looking stupid. Try not to think like that.

4:06 in a marathon would be better than 15 seconds in the 100m if you were to compare or cross analyse or whatever you would do.
    Do they have loads of members? Is that why they can tell people no? Did you join another club after?

Wouldn't agree. 4:06 is twice the WR. It is not better than 15 secs, not that it matters anyway.

Oh right. I'm not really an expert in these things but I thought 4:06 was decent enough for an average runner. 15 seconds looks really slow compared to 10 when you see it on the track. Anyway, yeah that doesn't matter.
    I'll give them a call later and if they reject me that's not the worst thing to ever happen so I'll get over it.
    By the way when you say the standard is high, do you mean these are up there with the best in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Nappy

Let me know how you get on yellow121, I'm currently injured but was planning to join as soon as I'm recovered. I would be going for longer distances than you though.

Pisco Sour wrote: »
    Wouldn't agree. 4:06 is twice the WR. It is not better than 15 secs, not that it matters anyway.

Just to say I can run 100m under 20 secs:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭PVincent

You could try Bros Pearse AC in Cherryfield Pk every Tuesday /Thursday at 6.50pm. A club with a really friendly attitude, craic and banter, but a club that is getting bigger and better by the week. Have a look at our Facebook page under bros Pearse AC or knocklyon runners. We cater for all standards and all types of events from sprints all the way to the marathon and field events

Nappy wrote: »
    Let me know how you get on yellow121, I'm currently injured but was planning to join as soon as I'm recovered. I would be going for longer distances than you though.

Sorry, didn't get time to ring them tonight. I will tomorrow though and I'll ask about long distance standards also.

PVincent wrote: »
    You could try Bros Pearse AC in Cherryfield Pk every Tuesday /Thursday at 6.50pm. A club with a really friendly attitude, craic and banter, but a club that is getting bigger and better by the week. Have a look at our Facebook page under bros Pearse AC or knocklyon runners. We cater for all standards and all types of events from sprints all the way to the marathon and field events

Nice ad. Do you have a track?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Grass track, and the sprint group train in Santry most weekends.
    You realise that DSD don't have a track either? (not yet anyway)

I think its crusader's in ringsend that has a track.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 666 ✭✭✭A0

True, it's a very good way of promoting a club :rolleyes:
    You are likely to find some unobjective opinions here (i.e., people will tell you "my club is the best", etc.).
    If I were you, I'd check club websites and call them and then choose which one to go for (based on phone conversations, etc.).

The best club for you is the one that has the sessions you want to do, at a time and place you can do them, with a group around and above your level.
    Brothers Pearse is the best club, that goes without saying :), but it might not be the best club for *you*.

RayCun wrote: »
    The best club for you is the one that has the sessions you want to do, at a time and place you can do them, with a group around and above your level.
    Brothers Pearse is the best club, that goes without saying :), but it might not be the best club for *you*.

No, Boards.ie is the best club.

A0 wrote: »
    No, Boards.ie is the best club.

No track either, but plenty of sessions

Grass track, and the sprint group train in Santry most weekends.
    You realise that DSD don't have a track either? (not yet anyway)

What? I thought they had a track. I didn't look at their website fuly but all the pitures were of them on tracks. Suppose that was at competitions.

Ok, I wasn't sure how thes clubs worked but everyone's saying where they train is not where their club is based. DSD actually train somewhere a good bit away. I looked up this Cherryfield park and it's ages away. Santry is far away. The nearest to me then is that place in Ringsend that someone mentioned but do they train in Ringsend? Is that where the track is?
    I'm going to ring some of these places now to see the story.

Lots of clubs have multiple training locations. DSD train in Marley Park, Irishtown Stadium, maybe a couple of other places. Bros Pearse train in Cherryfield park, Tallaght track, and Santry (and more places in winter). Rathfarnham and Sportsworld both train regularly in Bushy Park and on Tallaght track. Crusaders are based in Irishtown stadium, but I don't think all of their training sessions are on the track.
    It sounds like Irishtown is nearest to you so Crusaders would be a good bet, but you should find out when they do their track sessions and see if that time suits you.

No track either, but plenty of sessions

Track is here

Right, I contacted DSD, Crusaders and Brothers Pearse.
    I couldn't get a number for DSD so I had to email them. The Crusaders guy I was talkin to wasn't sure about the up to date story of what' happening with the sprint group so he said to email him and he'll find out. He said he thinks they're relaying the track in Ringsend soon, he also said I should call down on Tuesday or Thursday evening (when they train) and ask one of them there about what's happening.
    Brothers Pearse said they have a small group that train together and they've been training for a good while. They're not international standard but they're pretty good. They also train Tuesday and Thursday nights and in Santry on Saturday mornings. He also told me I should contact Randymann from the Crusaders club as they seem to suit me the best.

My own thoughts are that Crusaders would suit the best but I can't train Tuesdays and Thursdays, same story for Brothers Pearse. That leaves DSD but I have to wait for their email response. Any other clubs want to put their name forward for consideration. :D

DSD sprinters train Wednesdays and Saturdays
    http://www.dsdac.com/images/stories/2013/PDF/DSD_COACHING.pdf

Ever think of running for the Dail?

Boards mod, club chair... Dail would be too easy

Yes it looks like DSD would be the best bet. They emailed back but wanted more detail, just like people here did but they say they accept all abilities. Looks like they win.
    Thanks for everyone's help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Lots of clubs have multiple training locations. DSD train in Marley Park, Irishtown Stadium, maybe a couple of other places. Bros Pearse train in Cherryfield park, Tallaght track, and Santry (and more places in winter). Rathfarnham and Sportsworld both train regularly in Bushy Park and on Tallaght track. Crusaders are based in Irishtown stadium, but I don't think all of their training sessions are on the track.
    It sounds like Irishtown is nearest to you so Crusaders would be a good bet, but you should find out when they do their track sessions and see if that time suits you.

Tallaght AC also train on tallaght track ;)

In fact; since it is actually our track we get to train on it every night :p We just rent it out to you grass trackers and park runners on a saturday.

menoscemo wrote: »
    Tallaght AC also train on tallaght track ;)

In fact; since it is actually our track we get to train on it every night :p We just rent it out to you grass trackers and park runners on a saturday.

The OP can already run 100m in 16 seconds, I'm assuming he wants to improve :P

What is the fastest 100m time in your club? We have a junior who is on the Irish team for the European Youths......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

What is the fastest 100m time in your club? We have a junior who is on the Irish team for the European Youths......

Mine is bigger....

....no mine is bigger! ;)

We've a senior on the Irish team for the European Team Champs :D

(I've no idea who our fastest 100m runner is, I don't think there's anyone faster than 11.xx)

pconn062 wrote: »
    Mine is bigger....

....no mine is bigger! ;)

oh I admit it, Tallaght are bigger. And some of their athletes aren't that bad.
    Pity about their strip :eek:

oh I admit it, Tallaght are bigger. And some of their athletes aren't that bad.
    Pity about their strip :eek:

Oh and another thing, senior athletes from other clubs have to pay to use our track (on designated days) whereas Tallaght AC members use it for free!!

OP what i am saying is consider joining Tallaght. We have excellent facilities and a large sprinting group training most nights on the track...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Enduro

I'm enjoying this discussion, as I need to join a club soon so that I can be officially registered with AAI. Don't suppose any of your coaches knows anything about ultras?!

Oh and another thing, senior athletes from other clubs have to pay to use our track (on designated days) whereas Tallaght AC members use it for free!!
    OP what i am saying is consider joining Tallaght. We have excellent facilities and a large sprinting group training most nights on the track...

Actually, our club membership is half the price of yours, and we cover the cost of track use from club funds :P

(And the OP said he was close to Irishtown)

Enduro wrote: »
    I'm enjoying this discussion, as I need to join a club soon so that I can be officially registered with AAI. Don't suppose any of your coaches knows anything about ultras?!

You have two choices
    1) Join a club that has a group you could train with. But tbh I don't know how many clubs will have training sessions that are relevant to you. Maybe Rathfarnham?
    2) Join the cheapest club you can find, just for the registration

You have two choices
    1) Join a club that has a group you could train with. But tbh I don't know how many clubs will have training sessions that are relevant to you. Maybe Rathfarnham?
    2) Join the cheapest club you can find, just for the registration

Pretty much what I was thinking. Closest clubs for me are Rathfarnham and sportsworld. But with DSD training in Marley and Pearse Bros not being a million miles away either they are also contenders. As you say, I doubt any club would have any sessions that really suit me, but I do go for occasional interval sessions so potentially there might be some use there.

Option (3) is to join a club I would have some other affinity with, like Le Cheile for being a sound bunch of lads, or Ballymore-Cobh for being my ancestoral homeland :)

Do you lads know of any club that has a barebones membership fee that would just get me onto the books with AAI?

The affiliated Boards A.C. might have been perfect for me! That's defunct now, isn't it :(

Not anymore, now that Boards AC has gone.
    We're 50 quid for adult members, which is lower than most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭jeffontour

The affiliated Boards A.C. might have been perfect for me! That's defunct now, isn't it :(

Marathon club of Ireland might be an option. Last I heard they were going to have AAI affiliation sorted this year. I'm not sure if it's finalised yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Letyourselfgo

For the OP, either of the 3 clubs mentioned will see you right. I myself was going to join DSD with my kids but they wouldn't take them (full), DSD and Bros pearse are nearer to me but the best thing I did was join Tallaght. Takes me 10 mins to get there.
    Our sprints coach is excellent and he'll sort you out no probs, come up tonight for 6:50 if you like and ask for Tony or next Tuesday. I'll be there myself so feel free to ask for David.
    And if sprints is what your after having a track just up the road from you is what you want but as said before the other two clubs in mention are pretty damn good as well.

jeffontour wrote: »
    Marathon club of Ireland might be an option. Last I heard they were going to have AAI affiliation sorted this year. I'm not sure if it's finalised yet.

Yes, I heard that all the member not already affiliated with other AAI clubs have all got their AAI membership cards for 2013.

Ok, looks like Tallaght have come with a late run but will my runners be robbed off my feet out there? Only messin, might even prefer their accent to the American one in Dundrum. Only messin again, I'm only a culchie.
    I'll contact Tallaght tomorrow because DSD haven't got back to me since.
    Edit: It says on their website that they train Tuesday and Thursday night for sprinting. There the only two nights that I can't train.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭geld

I don't think anyone in Bro Pearse would have experience in Ultras. (Is there anyone in the country who could coach you in Ultras??:P)

However you could join a fella IMRA runner in the most progressive AC club in Dublin. It's just up the road from you and for €50 you get your your AAI registration and access to great training sessions. Drop down to Cherryfield at 7:00 on Tue or Thurs. You will be more than welcome.

I'll tell you more if you are at Kippure next Wed.