Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you like your job?

• 15-06-2013 2:41am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭

Well as the title says, do you like your job?
    Or do you dread going to bed in the evening knowing you must go into the same place tomorrow?

Do you only work there because you believe you have to?

Would you change your profession if you could??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Absolutely totally completely love it.

How about you OP?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,380 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

I'm fortunate - I love my job. Not going to discuss what it involves but I know I'm lucky as plenty of my friends hate what they do and openly admit to being stuck because they need the money and there are no other jobs available.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭Cd_doe

Absolutely totally completely love it.

How about you OP?

Good to hear that,

The short answer to your question is : sometimes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I work in a very busy bar.... I fcuking love it. I hope some day within the next 5 years I'll be managing a very busy bar and within 10 I'll own one. I fcuking love bars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭JustLen

I hope in ten years I own a bar of hash too. I fcuking love hash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭sparrowcar

Love it.

Very good job in Dublin airport, 3 minute drive to work, get to see an amazing sunrise every other day, no day is ever the same.

Seeing hot ladies every day be it crew or passengers just ad a cherry to the topping :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I work in a cold storage warehouse and no I don't really like it but there ain't much out there at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

I just farted and it fúcking stinks. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

Simple answer no, the same as everyone that works in the same dept. as me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

Cd_doe wrote: »
    Well as the title says, do you like your job?
    Or do you dread going to bed in the evening knowing you must go into the same place tomorrow?

Do you only work there because you believe you have to?

Would you change your profession if you could??

I like my work when we're busy. Otherwise no.

So, i plan my holidays for the winter months when we're not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

I love my current job. 13 quid and hour and 6 hours a night weekdays
    But I am a mechanic by trade and I loved that even more. Getting to work with new and old model cars. I do miss it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

I have the best job ever, when I am working. But a lot of the time they keep us on the bench waiting for the next project and even though I get paid I feel like committing suicide when I am stuck at home with nobody to talk to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭doyle61

I love my job, it's some of the gobsh!tes I have to work/deal with that I have a problem with

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

...but I hated my previous one with a large US multinational in a very demanding role which I should have got out of sooner.

But the money was good.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

kjl wrote: »
    I have the best job ever, when I am working. But a lot of the time they keep us on the bench waiting for the next project and even though I get paid I feel like committing suicide when I am stuck at home with nobody to talk to.

What are you, an assassin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

doolox wrote: »
    ...but I hated my previous one with a large US multinational in a very demanding role which I should have got out of sooner.

But the money was good.

I'm the same with my current job. But the money is mediocre and the job is shyte. Working my ass off in full time college to get a better job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

My job isnt too bad as in the work is not that difficult, however the nasty gosspipy people I work with make it a pain at times. Thankfully there are a few really decent people there and the money is v good so Im staying put for now. Bills and holidays dont pay for themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Aint got no job to like yo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,120 ✭✭✭andrew1977

I did enjoy my career path for the first 10 years or so, now not sure if I want to stay at the same job going forward, my role has changed slightly in the past few months and I have zero interest or motivation in the new tasks put my way, no choice at moment due to recession .

Big few months ahead for me, weighing up my finances and options to go back to college in the evenings to learn something new.If i am going to do it, it has to be this year, as i am in my mid thirties now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,564 ✭✭✭notnumber

My job isnt too bad as in the work is not that difficult, however the nasty gosspipy people I work with make it a pain at times. Thankfully there are a few really decent people there and the money is v good so Im staying put for now. Bills and holidays dont pay for themselves.

I hear you on the gosspipy people..but all in all I love my job and would be devastated to lose it..9-5 can't be beaten..had jobs involving shifts before and they fcuk up your life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

I work in customer service...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Like my job, hate where i'm working.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭illuma

I don't really like my job but I do like the people I work with. They're a mad shower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 fishfarmer

I love my job. There is boring stuff that has to be done everyday but when all that is done it feels like I'm just playing.
    I also get to live in beautiful part of the world, right on a beach.
    I don't think the work is for most people, we never actually leave work, literally because we live on site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

I like my job, I work part time and the pay is good . Dealing with the public is hard though, its the worst thing about the job. There are lovely people too but the assholes just cross out the nice ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭The Cool

Yeah I quite like my job, it's in the field I did my masters in and in exactly 12 months I've gone from unpaid intern to senior project manager. Makes me feel big and important :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

The Cool wrote: »
    Yeah I quite like my job, it's in the field I did my masters in and in exactly 12 months I've gone from unpaid intern to senior project manager. Makes me feel big and important :)

Is 'Senior Project Manager' code for 'office boy'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

I used to, but then our paper was bought over by a shower of greedy, ignorant, pig headed scumbags who have been destroying it bit by bit for the past two years. they tore the heart out of the place, nobody cares any more and im just pickin up my cheque and countin down the days until i go to canada

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭retroactive

Litigation. Mortgage arrears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Yes and no. Each day is different, I learn new skills everyday, get to do some very cool sh/t and get paid for it and have many opportunities available to me should I want to avail of them.

The downsides are I am rarely home, the hours are very long and there is a degree of sh/t you have to put up with.

In comparison to other jobs I've worked its 100x better in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

Love one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

nope but I'm switching to something, I hope, will be more fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

I dont have one at the mo wished i did but one of my previous jobs i loved it!

• Site Banned Posts: 8 propertyefc

if reporting foreigners who commit welfare fraud several times a week is counted as a job...then i love my job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,068 ✭✭✭LoonyLovegood

I dislike my job Monday to Friday, but love the people I'm working with. Saturdays are gorgeous though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭The Cool

Is 'Senior Project Manager' code for 'office boy'?

Haha! Nope, it means I went from getting other people's coffee to getting people to get mine. Win!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Six months ago I was in a job that paid quite well but I fookin hated. Stressed to fook every day, stressed in the evenings about the next day in work, stressed at the weekends about the next week in work. Left it for a job I enjoy with half the pay but I don't mind getting up in the morning for. In time I will move up the ladder and get closer to what I was on in the last job but the difference in myself the last six moths is worth every penny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I work for an exam board at the moment, in an office full of other students. The job itself is incredibly boring, but still tiring. It'd be soul destroying if it wasn't for the other people there.

Love my job and the people I work with, but the pay isn't enough for me to move out of the family home (yet!), so I might have to quit if I find anything (even something I don't enjoy) that pays more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Henlars67

I didn't really like my job when I had it, hard manual labour on the buildings, but I'd love to have it now.

I'm a mature student now and I'm enjoying it but I have almost no money to spend after bills and rent.

It's a life I'd really enjoy if I had money though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,120 ✭✭✭andrew1977

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Six months ago I was in a job that paid quite well but I fookin hated. Stressed to fook every day, stressed in the evenings about the next day in work, stressed at the weekends about the next week in work. Left it for a job I enjoy with half the pay but I don't mind getting up in the morning for. In time I will move up the ladder and get closer to what I was on in the last job but the difference in myself the last six moths is worth every penny.

I admire you for that, well done and fair play to you .

I am more or less in the same boat and the next few months are big for me job wise. I admire your courage, best of luck with it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭danish pasterys

Henlars67 wrote: »
    I didn't really like my job when I had it, hard manual labour on the buildings, but I'd love to have it now.

I'm a mature student now and I'm enjoying it but I have almost no money to spend after bills and rent.

It's a life I'd really enjoy if I had money though.[/quote

I too worked in construction and didn like my job.. Im a mature student myself biting the bullet an goin to college to try a new career IT to be percise, I dream of one day having a half decent paid monkeys job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭QuiteInterestin

Don't hate my job but don't think I love it either. Don't mind going to work but sometimes I wish I was doing something else. Don't know what that something else is and I don't think I could face giving up work to go back to college to start again either so I'll just keep at what I'm at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,693 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

I hate my job, the same boring crap for 8 to 12 hours a day. I mean, its easy and requires no skill at all but its soul destroying. Also the fact that I have no idea when I could be working next isn't pleasant, I don't think I've ever got longer than a day notice and I get paid under minimum wage due to me starting work there when I was 17 and so on.

Been looking for a different job elsewhere for months now, most of the time not even getting a reply after applying for vacancies but I guess a job is a job at the end of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭danish pasterys

I hate my job, the same boring crap for 8 to 12 hours a day. I mean, its easy and requires no skill at all but its soul destroying. Also the fact that I have no idea when I could be working next isn't pleasant, I don't think I've ever got longer than a day notice and I get paid under minimum wage due to me starting work there when I was 17 and so on.

Been looking for a different job elsewhere for months now, most of the time not even getting a reply after applying for vacancies but I guess a job is a job at the end of the day.

Ur mad to be working for under min wage cosidering ur over 18 thats illegal and your being explioted. Seek legal advice please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭mewe

In general my job is ok and most people in the company are sound but there's a couple who do my head in and really wish i didn't have to interact with them. I'm talkin major headwreckers/w'ankers here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

mewe wrote: »
    In general my job is ok and most people in the company are sound but there's a couple who do my head in and really wish i didn't have to interact with them. I'm talkin major headwreckers/w'ankers here.

In my experience those type of people are in every group really. I used to work in a shop and one of the lads was a pure wanker, he would mess and irritate people all day:mad:

not working now but when I was I loved it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

Boring job. Cut down to three days. Life is too short to for 5 boring days every week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭jinxremoving

I left a job that I hated that was well paid but stress made me incredibly ill to working from home. Its drastically different and there have been moments of panic where I wonder did I do the right thing. But I did :-) no job is worth absolute misery and depression!