Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PS4 Pre-Order Thread! Where are you getting yours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,805 ✭✭✭✭siblers

rob808 wrote: »
    Well it be on current gen so you can watch the review plus remember American get ps4 first on 15 of November so we can see if a game worth it or not on 29 November

Ah feic it yeah, good point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭uprooted tradition

Xenji wrote: »
    As it stands it looks like I will just have to make do with Killzone and the PSN games we get, will probably get Knack as well though, none of the other games interested me besides Watchdogs, hell I even would not of got Killzone except for the fact it is coming with the bundle, I have not actually had to pay a cent for the console so far, have €452 euro payed off just by manipulating the trade in deals they had in March.

I had knack in mind myself as my first choice next would be infamous but if there is any hint of an uncharted follow up, all bets are off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,506 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

For those who ordered the Watchdogs bundle from Gamestop, the blanket answer they are giving people is that they are looking into their options and will make a announcement soon, it is possible that you will be given a free year of PS+

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭LauraW7746

For those who ordered the Watchdogs bundle from Gamestop, the blanket answer they are giving people is that they are looking into their options and will make a announcement soon, it is possible that you will be given a free year of PS+

Wow all I want is to be able to pick another bundle. PS plus sub for a year would be awesome but no biggy if it doesn't happen.
    I wonder what people who preordered the xbox one bundle get?
    Oh yeah nothing, Microsoft will blame them saying it's their fault for choosing that bundle in the 1st place! Haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭Deano7788

LauraW7746 wrote: »
    Wow all I want is to be able to pick another bundle. PS plus sub for a year would be awesome but no biggy if it doesn't happen.
    I wonder what people who preordered the xbox one bundle get?
    Oh yeah nothing, Microsoft will blame them saying it's their fault for choosing that bundle in the 1st place! Haha

There wasn't one was there? I thought it was just Fifa and Forza.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭tonedef

I had the Watchdogs bundle pre-ordered in Smyths on Jervis Street, Dublin, and called into them yesterday evening when I heard about the delay. I work around the corner so was able to pop in before they closed.
    They hadn't heard anything official about the delay and gave me the option to either transfer to the €440 Killzone bundle or wait and see what Sony replaced the Watchdogs bundle with. I chose to wait and see but left my number with the guy and he promised to call as soon as they got word from head office.
    They rang me this morning, before the shop even opened, to come in and transfer to the Killzone bundle as they won't be getting any new options from Sony. I called in on my way to work to get my new receipt and the guy there said that Smyths may do their own bundles on launch day but they won't know ahead of time. One example of a bundle that he gave was adding in a controller at a reduced price.

All in all I'm pissed off with Ubi for leaving it so late to announce the delay (but not for wanting to make the game as good as they think it can be). Am really happy with level of service from Smyths though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,908 ✭✭✭mozattack

Smyths told me that I am guaranteed at launch so am going with that until told otherwise. I have only the message in the text they sent and then in store when I called in. What conflicting messages are you getting?

When I ordered the bundle, they went to their computer presumably to check stock and then put my name to one. I would say if they only had say 5 killzone bundles, and 5 people before me ordered one they wouldn't have been able to allocate one to me so I would just have had to pick a different bundle (or wait).

So my guess is if they took your order for a bundle and allocated one to you, they must have enough allocated stock to cover you. Only a guess but I don't see any other logical way they could have done it.

Thanks for this... I hope you are right.

Yes I got that text too... was it only those who pre-ordered and are guaranteed a console those who got that text?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 soulsearcher26

Sure it is nothing worse then doing a Jobsbridge over here.

tonedef wrote: »
    I had the Watchdogs bundle pre-ordered in Smyths on Jervis Street, Dublin, and called into them yesterday evening when I heard about the delay. I work around the corner so was able to pop in before they closed.
    They hadn't heard anything official about the delay and gave me the option to either transfer to the €440 Killzone bundle or wait and see what Sony replaced the Watchdogs bundle with. I chose to wait and see but left my number with the guy and he promised to call as soon as they got word from head office.
    They rang me this morning, before the shop even opened, to come in and transfer to the Killzone bundle as they won't be getting any new options from Sony. I called in on my way to work to get my new receipt and the guy there said that Smyths may do their own bundles on launch day but they won't know ahead of time. One example of a bundle that he gave was adding in a controller at a reduced price.

All in all I'm pissed off with Ubi for leaving it so late to announce the delay (but not for wanting to make the game as good as they think it can be). Am really happy with level of service from Smyths though

Hmmmm, the girl in Smyths in Waterford said it was one of these bundles or nothing, that Smyths wouldn't be putting together their own bundles.

Seemingly most Smyths stores do not have a clue when it comes to the PS4 and preorders, they are run as a chain and not a franchise so they should all have the same information.

Absolutely, sounds like someone was giving an opinion rather than a fact which they shouldn't do on something like this.

I don't know what they are like in the other stores but I have always found the staff in Waterford to be very helpful and quite knowledgeable.

I would imagine their problem is a lack of information from the powers that be but for a major launch like the PS4 (or I guess the xbox one) you would imagine they should be all over it from top to bottom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭tonedef

tonedef wrote: »
    I called in on my way to work to get my new receipt and the guy there said that Smyths may do their own bundles on launch day but they won't know ahead of time. One example of a bundle that he gave was adding in a controller at a reduced price.

I've highlighted a very important piece from my conversation with the guys in Smyths this morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,360 ✭✭✭NeVeR

Hey Lads..

sorry if this has been posted already..

Will the games for PS4 be in the same short supply as the console ?

I have a console pre-ordred.. but no games.. I just didn't think about them being in short supply.

Also family will be getting be games for xmas and birthday :D and wanted to make sure that there will be some stock around. ( I know watch dog is delayed )

NeVeR wrote: »
    Hey Lads..

I have a console pre-ordred.. but no games.. I just didn't think about them being in short supply.

Also family will be getting be games for xmas and birthday :D and wanted to make sure that there will be some stock around. ( I know watch dog is delayed )

Nah games will not be in short supply, your safe there, but if you want a bit of piece of mind you could always put a fiver down on the ones you want on launch day, leading up to Christmas you will be grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭King Krib

Hey Lads..

I'd imagine you'll be safe enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,908 ✭✭✭mozattack

King Krib wrote: »
    I'd imagine you'll be safe enough.

Surely buy in PSN store if stuck?

Emailed Smyths yesterday and they more of less said "feck off, no more information on pre-order availability being released"

Still don't know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

Changed my Amazon order from the Watch Dogs bundle to "Bundle 5: Gamer Pack (Sony PlayStation 4 + Killzone Shadow Fall + 2 x Sony PlayStation DualShock 4 +PS4 camera)"

It's going to be the longest 6 weeks ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

mozattack wrote: »
    I AM CONFUSED...

Who here is guaranteed a PS4 on launch?

I am high up the list (or low in the list? - you get my point) in Smyths because I ordered in mid June but I am getting conflicting messages from them which is a worry.

Also does the bundle pack which I picked effect my chances. For example say Smyths get 20 bundles and I am number 15. I picked the £499 bundle and say they got 1 and two before me picked the same bundle; do I not get one at all?

All I want is a feckin PS4 so I'd hate for the bundle to effect this.

Im with smyths aswell, 35th on the list. (ordered in July)

I've went in a couple of times in passing to gauge exactly how "guaranteed" I am to be getting my consoles, only to be receive mixed response each time I go in - from people saying I'm definitely guaranteed one on launch day, to we can't guarantee anything but my place on the list is very promising *wink* *nudge* to other flat out refusing to guarantee anything.

Heck, Some have even told me they'll definitely be holding a midnight launch to other saying they don't know or they doubt it. :rolleyes:

So i'm getting fairly mixed response but overall I reckon I should be safe as they sayid they'd be expecting to get a few consoles in (50-60).

However, If I don't end up with a console on launch day due to an "administrative error" on their part or something like that, I'll be fairly pissed off :mad:

I'm about 80% confident at this stage but time will tell...

ION08 wrote: »

Heck, Some have even told me they'll definitely be holding a midnight launch to other saying they don't know or they doubt it. :rolleyes:

So i'm getting fairly mixed response but overall I reckon I should be safe as they sayid they'd be expecting to get a few consoles in (50-60).

However, If I don't end up with a console on launch day due to an "administrative error" on their part or something like that, I'll be fairly pissed off :mad:

Some stores have said they are only getting 10-20 in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭King Krib

I was told in Gamestop I'm guaranteed my Mega bundle anyway... I'll be keeping everything crossed just in case..

I've went in a couple of times in passing to gauge exactly how "guaranteed" I am to be getting my consoles, only to be receive mixed response each time I go in - from people saying I'm definitely guaranteed one on launch day, to we can't guarantee anything but my place on the list is very promising *wink* *nudge* to other flat out refusing to guarantee anything.

Oh please let there be a midnight launch... (and of course let me be guaranteed my machine)

I see Smyths are opening early for the skylanders game launch, surely the PS4 is significant enough to warrant at least this?
    (Mind you, do Smyths ever do midnight launches for any video games or consoles?)

I do agree with you on the administrative erro thing, if I dont get one because I wasn't high up enough on the list, so be it, but if it is because someone f**ked it up, I will be more than a little upset.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭Deano7788

Oh please let there be a midnight launch... (and of course let me be guaranteed my machine)

I see Smyths are opening early for the skylanders game launch, surely the PS4 is significant enough to warrant at least this?
    (Mind you, do Smyths ever do midnight launches for any video games or consoles?)

I do agree with you on the administrative erro thing, if I dont get one because I wasn't high up enough on the list, so be it, but if it is because someone f**ked it up, I will be more than a little upset.

The one in Childers Road in Limerick had a midnight opening for GTA V.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭Batesy

I've said it before. There's a world of difference in a mid-night opening for a game as opposed to a console launch.

There's a security issue for staff and customers to consider.

I'd be amazed if they go with a midnight launch.

8am I reckon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,425 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

Batesy wrote: »
    I've said it before. There's a world of difference in a mid-night opening for a game as opposed to a console launch.

8am I reckon

Stooooooooory bud? Comin' out of cumpuuther gay-yem shop at this late hour? So close to Crimbo? Wha' are the odds ya got su'im deadly In tha bag there.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,360 ✭✭✭NeVeR

Just got an email off Amazon.co.uk offering me an upgrade to 1 of 5 bundles.

I take it by getting this mail that I will be getting the console before xmas :D.. I know my expected delivery date was 3th-4th Dec.. but I was waiting for an email saying it was wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

That's precisely why I went via Amazon. If it'd happen to anyone, it'd happen to me, & as this is an Xmas pres, there's just too much at stake to risk someone not screwing up somewhere along the line. The demand for the console will be huge, & as such if you miss out, it'll be a tight squeeze to get one for Xmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,522 ✭✭✭✭Varik

Just got an email off Amazon.co.uk offering me an upgrade to 1 of 5 bundles.

I take it by getting this mail that I will be getting the console before xmas :D.. I know my expected delivery date was 3th-4th Dec.. but I was waiting for an email saying it was wrong.

I got the email and chose option 5 but still no delivery date, Amazon are my back up if Gamestop don't sort out a decent offer for online customers; I've even got the email written and waiting to tell Gamestop where to shove the PS4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,591 ✭✭✭bennyl10

Gamestop in limerick playing up now.
    Saying today only geting 100 ps4s for launch.. despite assuring preorders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭ziggyman17

Batesy wrote: »

8am I reckon

remember preodering a xbox360 for launch in blanch and that was a 8am launch.. friday morning it was, picked up project gotham racing, fifa, and call of duty, the amount of mothers and kids crying when they did'nt get a console was a sight to behold...