Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Little scumbags causing havoc in Sutton/Howth

• 09-06-2013 2:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Terrys chocolate melon

Given the great weather recently i agreed to bring a relative from down the country to Howth for the day yesterday and to have a nice peaceful day enjoying the sun and the cliff walks.

So we set out on the DART from Dun Laoghaire and once we reached Connolly, droves of 15/16 year olds started cramming onto the train. We just presumed they were all just heading for a normal day on the beach... Turns out we were wrong. A lot of them hopped off at Sutton station and just before arriving at Howth the DART was stopped and boarded by the gardai who went along searching the kids for alcohol. Same situation at Howth Dart station.

So anyway once we got to Howth we realised there were hundreds of these kids in their luminous clothes and shaved heads descending on Howth for the day. Once we walked up towards the cliff walks we left them all behind and had a really nice day walking to the top. There were loads of sightseeing tourists around which was a nicer atmosphere to say the least.

At around 8pm we made our way back to the DART station and thats when things got really bad. Apparently the pier had been shut off and the scumbags were all making their way towards the dart station. Gardai were everywhere and we managed to get onto the dart platform. Then these scumbags started pouring over the railings and running along the tracks into the station shouting their chants about whereever they were from (mainly Ballymun). It was then we just said **** it it's not worth it getting the dart. When the Dart pulled in they all crammed on (15 minutes before it was due to leave) and started banging the windows and floor of the dart and scrapping amongst themselves. A lot of them out of their minds on drink/drugs. The worst thing was, there was a lot of elderly people who wernt able to get off the dart cos of these scumbags piling on. Fights were breaking out and then the gards all came onto the platform.

We waited until the gards were there before walking back into the station and out onto the road. Ambulances were arriving and fights were breaking out. In the end we had to get a taxi into town from howth to get away from all the commotion.

Given that Howth is usually such a calm and peaceful area and there were so many tourists/old people around it really just made me feel sick to see it.

I have to say tho the gardai were doing a good enough job.

Was anyone else unfortunate enough to be there for this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

AH Scumbag Thread Part #34

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,632 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

You have me wondering why theres no melon flavoured chocolates

There's a serious infestation of the fcukers these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Planets been overrun...time for plan B
    http://nukeitfromorbit.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Lovely quiet day in ballymun though, not a scummer in sight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭generalmental

The part that kinda scares me the most is that there will be more of these cnuts around than decent people. Cause all the decent people who dont have any work have had to emigrate csuse they can't get work but these scrotes just sit round and drink all day and harass prople.

It sickening to think that these are our future

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 pawspaws

The part that kinda scares me the most is that there will be more of these cnuts around than decent people. Cause all the decent people have had to emigrate csuse they can't get work but these scrotes just sit round and drink all day and harass prople.

It sickening to think that these are our future

I work, I didn't emigrate, and I consider myself "decent", thanks very much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Camrat

I'm ready.....images.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Given the great weather recently i agreed to bring a relative from down the country to Howth for the day yesterday and to have a nice peaceful day enjoying the sun and the cliff walks.

So we set out on the DART from Dun Laoghaire and once we reached Connolly, droves of 15/16 year olds started cramming onto the train. We just presumed they were all just heading for a normal day on the beach... Turns out we were wrong. A lot of them hopped off at Sutton station and just before arriving at Howth the DART was stopped and boarded by the gardai who went along searching the kids for alcohol. Same situation at Howth Dart station.

So anyway once we got to Howth we realised there were hundreds of these kids in their luminous clothes and shaved heads descending on Howth for the day. Once we walked up towards the cliff walks we left them all behind and had a really nice day walking to the top. There were loads of sightseeing tourists around which was a nicer atmosphere to say the least.

At around 8pm we made our way back to the DART station and thats when things got really bad. Apparently the pier had been shut off and the scumbags were all making their way towards the dart station. Gardai were everywhere and we managed to get onto the dart platform. Then these scumbags started pouring over the railings and running along the tracks into the station shouting their chants about whereever they were from (mainly Ballymun). It was then we just said **** it it's not worth it getting the dart. When the Dart pulled in they all crammed on (15 minutes before it was due to leave) and started banging the windows and floor of the dart and scrapping amongst themselves. A lot of them out of their minds on drink/drugs. The worst thing was, there was a lot of elderly people who wernt able to get off the dart cos of these scumbags piling on. Fights were breaking out and then the gards all came onto the platform.

We waited until the gards were there before walking back into the station and out onto the road. Ambulances were arriving and fights were breaking out. In the end we had to get a taxi into town from howth to get away from all the commotion.

Given that Howth is usually such a calm and peaceful area and there were so many tourists/old people around it really just made me feel sick to see it.

I have to say tho the gardai were doing a good enough job.

Was anyone else unfortunate enough to be there for this?

You must be the only person in Dublin on the web that didn't know this was happening yesterday - was posted on facebook and commented upon everywhere else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

This weather brings out the scumbags, they ruin everything.

On the plus side, I brought my little dog for a walk and a dip in the river near my house. There was 4 girls about 17 or 18 I'd say skinny dipping and I mean skinny dipping, there wasn't a stitch on any of them.

I love the sun...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

donvito99 wrote: »
    AH Sutton party Scumbag Thread Part #34

FYP

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭generalmental

pawspaws wrote: »
    I work, I didn't emigrate, and I consider myself "decent", thanks very much.

I have edited that post for your pleasure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

I used to share the opinion of the OP until I hung out with people that friends with these type of people. I didnt make friends with any of them. Put you will find out the 98% of them are grand. 2% were ***** but that's the same regardless of class.

You mentioned no issues with them personally with them telling you to **** off or anything. Your only issue was their appearance and accent. They just wanted a good day like you. Maybe acknowledge that "scumbags" can enjoy themselves now and again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Lelantos

hfallada wrote: »
    I used to share the opinion of the OP until I hung out with people that friends with these type of people. I didnt make friends with any of them. Put you will find out the 98% of them are grand. 2% were ***** but that's the same regardless of class.

You mentioned no issues with them personally with them telling you to **** off or anything. Your only issue was their appearance and accent. They just wanted a good day like you. Maybe acknowledge that "scumbags" can enjoy themselves now and again

No, the issue is underage drinking, drugs, vandalism of the train, terrorising of the elderly & wasting garda time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

mike65 wrote: »
    You must be the only person in Dublin on the web that didn't know this was happening yesterday - was posted on facebook and commented upon everywhere else.

First am hearing about it as well. Shows I do have a life outside the internet.

Lelantos wrote: »
    No, the issue is underage drinking, drugs, vandalism of the train, terrorising of the elderly & wasting garda time

Any evidence of drug use? I'd say drink is 99.9% to blame. Unless we're in celtic tiger mark II territory and they're all running around on cocaine? You're not going to try tell us they did it because they were stoned, are you?

And I agree with the poster above - most people are fine. Just not altogether and drunk out of their minds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

This is the real legacy of the disastrous Celtic Tiger days, all of these particular youngsters have grown up in a world where money, celebrity and greed was the common backdrop. That backdrop has created a sub-section of young people who have no sense of manners, community, decency or empathy.

Add in the factor that now the money has gone, the new social currency or goal for this group is appearing rough tough and violent 24/7, it is the only currency left that they have been psychologically programmed to attain since they have been born.

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭TiGeR KiNgS

We live in a free society, people can choose where they want to go.
    Get over yourself OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

This was being discussed on liveline last week.

Disgrace Joe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

We live in a free society, people can choose where they want to go.
    Get over yourself OP.

I guess you missed the bit about the guards having to get involved?
    Or is that okay with you as well?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

buried wrote: »
    This is the real legacy of the disastrous Celtic Tiger days, all of these particular youngsters have grown up in a world where money, celebrity and greed was the common backdrop. That backdrop has created a sub-section of young people who have no sense of manners, community, decency or empathy.

Add in the factor that now the money has gone, the new social currency or goal for this group is appearing rough tough and violent 24/7, it is the only currency left that they have been psychologically programmed to attain since they have been born.

It's nothing to do with the Celtic Tiger, more bad parenting and a bad environment to have grown up in. The environment being a rough areas of the inner city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

wexie wrote: »
    I guess you missed the bit about the guards having to get involved?
    Or is that okay with you as well?

Or the bit about normal civilised people being scared or having their peace disturbed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

I bet youre under 20 yourself, its been like that for decades, nothing to do with celtic tiger or whatever equally retarded word you want to use.

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    Any evidence of drug use? I'd say drink is 99.9% to blame. Unless we're in celtic tiger mark II territory and they're all running around on cocaine? You're not going to try tell us they did it because they were stoned, are you?

And I agree with the poster above - most people are fine. Just not altogether and drunk out of their minds.

It was a rave, sorry, didn't realise it was the first rave in history not to have drug usage

CatFromHue wrote: »
    It's nothing to do with the Celtic Tiger, more bad parenting and a bad environment to have grown up in. The environment being a rough areas of the inner city.

Well, in my particular area, the majority of these young people causing trouble come from families and places who were not what some would call 'working class' or the stereotypical 'scumbag' types with bad environments, they are the children of those who falsely believed they were living the high life of the boom times, believed they could have anything they wanted and created a mindset of greed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭123 LC

BNMC wrote: »

On the plus side, I brought my little dog for a walk and a dip in the river near my house. There was 4 girls about 17 or 18 I'd say skinny dipping and I mean skinny dipping, there wasn't a stitch on any of them.

I love the sun...

https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcStaGO52v3he4Aa1NO9mt9Nbz-fg8OdU3wncupwQtTmkMOjjKOj

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

How are so many of you only realising now that teenagers can be annoying?

What's the relevance of this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭**Vai**

Its descriptive, makes for a more interesting read.

Or he confused them with the guards.

Lelantos wrote: »
    It was a rave, sorry, didn't realise it was the first rave in history not to have drug usage

A rave!? Ok, granddad. Do you know what a rave is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭Meritocracy Wins

Can Dublin's problems not be discussed in the Dublin forum. Ye are monopolising the forum with all yere scumbag problems.

IM0 wrote: »
    I bet youre under 20 yourself, its been like that for decades, nothing to do with celtic tiger or whatever equally retarded word you want to use.

I'm 35 years old. I seen the eighties and I know how Ireland was before the culture of greed and free credit.

And when my generation was the same age, sure, we went drinking outside in the good weather, but the difference is, my generation kept the clandestine activities hidden away from the rest of the community. We didn't brazenly walk around the main streets, parks and beaches of our community swamping 5 flaggins of cider acting tough actively seeking trouble and violence.

Can you say the same for this lot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Dublin needs a new Lugs Brannigan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Can Dublin's problems not be discussed in the Dublin forum. Ye are monopolising the forum with all yere scumbag problems.

Why click on it then. That hard to ignore it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭Meritocracy Wins

Omackeral wrote: »
    Why click on it then. That hard to ignore it?

You know why. Why ask?

I'm 35 years old. I seen the eighties and I know how Ireland was before the culture of greed and free credit.

And when my generation was the same age, sure, we went drinking outside in the good weather, but the difference is, my generation kept the clandestine activities hidden away from the rest of the community. We didn't brazenly walk around the main streets, parks and beaches of our community swamping 5 flaggins of cider acting tough actively seeking trouble and violence.

I'm 43, and I can safely say that yes, we walked around brazenly whenever possible. "Cider Crazed Youth" was a common headline of the day (still t-shirt worthy).

Depends how and where you were brought up I suppose. I agree totally though, that was my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,763 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

It's all bad parenting, you can see it with kids at about age 5 where they are set loose with zero parental control and don't see how their actions impact on other people, the kids end up not knowing any different for most of their life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

I'm from a similar age-profile and this is also my experience. We hid well out of the way because we'd be in trouble if we were caught.

This nonsense of kids getting pissed and acting the maggot in broad daylight is something that I've only seen since moving to dublin.

I'm not against underage drinking per se. It's the loutish behaviour that I dislike and if people can't drink without releasing their inner scumbag, they shouldn't be drinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

You know why. Why ask?

Is it so you can express your faux outrage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

Its always happens when the weather gets warmer. What you need to do is find the nest, and pour a mix of boiling water and bleach over them.

Ah wait.....thats flying ants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭doubledown

BNMC wrote: »

I love the sun...

Pictures or it didn't happen!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Well, today is a lovely regular sunny weekend day in Howth with the regular sunny weekend day problems of having to queue for ice-cream and traffic jams back to Raheny. Unlike yesterday, which was probably the worst invasion we've had here since the Vikings. Actually, that's a bit unfair on the Vikings.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

As Moderator of the South County Dublin forum, I'd like to Now move the motion that North County Dublin Be Sold to the Trokia...

Is there a seconder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭budgemook

They're making sh!te of sandymount strand the last 2 days too. Walking along yesterday and there was a small group listening to crap music on crap speakers and one of them just launches his empty glass cider bottle towards the shore. I was going to go over and hit him with my flip flop but then realised there were about 6 lads in the group so thought better of it. I went out running then this morning on the beach and the feckin state of it. Bottles, cans, boxes and I even saw a syringe! Admittedly the syringe could have been from anytime and used for all sorts of reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

hfallada wrote: »

What on earth are you on about? :confused:

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    A rave!? Ok, granddad. Do you know what a rave is?

Yep, been to a few in my yoof sweetie

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10 Tony Ripe

There are written records of monks a thousand years ago complaining about "the youth of today" and how they don't have respect for their elders like previous generations and how they have lost the values they had when they were young.

This phenomenon is as old as time, I suspect much of your issue with today's youth is exactly te same.

Tony Ripe wrote: »
    There are written records of monks a thousand years ago complaining about "the youth of today" and how they don't have respect for their elders like previous generations and how they have lost the values they had when they were young.

This phenomenon is as old as time, I suspect much of your issue with today's youth is exactly te same.

Big difference between the young lad from down the road with the Beatles haircut egged my house and 100s of youths invading and causing trouble in Howth after organising it on the net.

**Vai** wrote: »
    Big difference between the young lad from down the road with the Beatles haircut egged my house and 100s of youths invading and causing trouble in Howth after organising it on the net.

You don't remember all the rows around stephens green, I take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

**Vai** wrote: »
    after organising it on the net.
    This is the only difference between now and then, tbh.

Once upon a time, you had to know other people from outside your area and social circle to create mad raves. Now, you just post online, and when someone with eleven billions friends on facebook shares it half the planet will swoop onto the beach for a drinking session.

In the early 90's, only "geeks" had the internet, so unofficial raves would usually happen by word of mouth.