Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

That's a big job..

• 06-06-2013 8:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭

Though some of the mechanics(or even if your not a mehcanic) on here might be able to post pics of major jobs they've done...I mean the really scary, looks like it'll never go back together, type jobs(dgt, your barred:p)

I'll start off with a Range rover sport V8 diesel that requires 2 new turbos and all the resulting intercooler etc cleaning. With the utter lack of space an accessibility to the turbo's there was only one thing for it....

2013-05-30163121_zps22a655ca.jpg

2013-05-30123517_zps118e6349.jpg

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

What's holding the body to the lift?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

godtabh wrote: »

Its sitting on the arms of the lift in the same ways cars always sit of lifts. In this case there are lengths of wood used so the small lift heads don't damage the body.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Its sitting on the arms of the lift in the same ways cars always sit of lifts. In this case there are lengths of wood used so the small lift heads don't damage the body.

Ah I see it now. I thought it was just balancing on its own

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭navara man

what would a job like that cost

navara man wrote: »
    what would a job like that cost

Well the parts alone are in the region of 2.5K alone :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭Mr.Fred

Sweet Jebus if that was my car and I walked in on it I'd have a coronary. Another reason not to buy expensive cars. Out of curiosity how did both turbos go at the same time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Wheelnut

Remind me not to buy a Range Rover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

I wonder if the dual turbo failure here is a result of driving style, i.e. not allowing the turbos to cool down before turning ignition off and conversely hooring off down the road before the oil has got up to temperature?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

Someone's left the milk out.. Will be some grumpy heads with no tae this morning!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

godtabh wrote: »
    1465854-yoda1.jpg

Man that's some job. :eek: Still seems like one advantage of the old stylee separate chassis idea, or is it more of a PITA for mechanics? I'd say the labour on that will be big, are you sitting down big. God be with the days of small engines in big empty engine bays. They can really pack em tight nowadays. I've changed a turbo in one of my old cars. Me, with more thumbs than a hitchhikers convention.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I wonder if the dual turbo failure here is a result of driving style, i.e. not allowing the turbos to cool down before turning ignition off and conversely hooring off down the road before the oil has got up to temperature?
    And/or not changing the oil often enough, or using crap oil.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

All new LR's are a body off job for nearly anything though arent they?

Was poking around a disco 4 yesterday and dare I say, its nearly a body off job to change the feckin oil :eek:

I don't know about LR's, but most older 4x4's that use simple ladder chassis are pieces of cake to take the body off, the bodies are often lifted using metal/poly spacers to raise them from the chassis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Wooot! Looking foreward to some epic posts..... Not from me either, save everyones sanity :pac:

On a much smaller scale the cab mounts had to be replaced on the Daily which meant lifting the body off the chassis. On a similar scale I have to put a bulkhead into the FFR someday, old one completely rotted away! :eek:

Mr.Fred wrote: »
    Sweet Jebus if that was my car and I walked in on it I'd have a coronary.

That's Pretty much exactly what happened to the customer when he called in one day to see how we were getting on:D
    Mr.Fred wrote: »
    Out of curiosity how did both turbos go at the same time?
    Wibbs wrote: »
    And/or not changing the oil often enough, or using crap oil.

It wasn't maintenance issues with this one, the guy looks after it very well, I recon it was more to do with the Overfinch tuning and the dyno sheet he had for just under 350hp(standard is 270odd)

One turbo just about let go, the other one had a fair bit a shaft play and both manifolds had warped causing the studs in each end to snap in the heads.
    Cheensbo wrote: »
    All new LR's are a body off job for nearly anything though arent they?

Was poking around a disco 4 yesterday and dare I say, its nearly a body off job to change the feckin oil :eek:

I don't know about LR's, but most older 4x4's that use simple ladder chassis are pieces of cake to take the body off, the bodies are often lifted using metal/poly spacers to raise them from the chassis.

I was looking at the alternator on this engine and it was still a nightmare to access...even with the body off:eek:

Unbolting the body from the chassis is easy, its only 8 main bolts holding them together. The problem on the RR is the dozens of electrical, hydraulic, fuel and air systems that have to disconnected before lifting....missing one could be expensive.

I have a video of the body being lifted that I'll post when I get a chance to upload it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

Nice :pac:

We have done plenty of work on these but have never had to replace turbos on one yet! I will be hassling you for info if we ever get one in! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭bmstuff

That's Pretty much exactly

Unbolting the body from the chassis is easy, its only 8 main bolts holding them together. The problem on the RR is the dozens of electrical, hydraulic, fuel and air systems that have to disconnected before lifting....missing one could be expensive.

I have a video of the body being lifted that I'll post when I get a chance to upload it.

Hey say Hello to Marek for me and ask him to hurry up finishing up that job ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭defforirl

Wasn't me but my Grandfather once made a set of pistons for a rare 1930's Oldsmobile , I have actual old school photo's of the job, I'll scan them and post them here. He reckoned about two weeks solid work went into making them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Bizarre coincidence seeing this after seeing a baffling Range Rover at the vintage show on Sunday.

There was a 70s chassis (hence 70s registration) with the 94-02 body, interior and wheels attached. It had everyone scratching their heads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Bizarre coincidence seeing this after seeing a baffling Range Rover at the vintage show on Sunday.

There was a 70s chassis (hence 70s registration) with the 94-02 body, interior and wheels attached. It had everyone scratching their heads.

That was on donedeal, guy near me has one too.
    Disgraceful having something like that at a vintage show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Haha, you would be amazed by the amount of bizarre yokes parked up with entrant numbers.

We saw Minis (06 models), Corollas (96), Fiestas (90s), E46s, Focus STs (06), Porsches (07) etc.
    In fairness many were using it as a specific manufacturer owner club meet, but a bit silly when they were all mixed up.

Sorry for OT.

PS, apparently no one in vintage land has heard of a DA polisher, everyones paint was shocking, swirl city!

A couple more, Not so much big jobs overall, but a lot of stripping for minor jobs.

B5.5 Passat, factory HID bulb change:

2013-03-25114657_zps6116cc74.jpg

Mazda 6, radiator change:

2013-06-08113345_zps0a4ee56d.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 866 ✭✭✭renofan

Might not be a big job to the professionals but it was to me! I failed the NCT on my K11 in 2010 on a rotten crossmember and was shocked at what my local nissan garage wanted to change it so did it myself.

DSCF4613.jpg
    DSCF4616.jpg
    DSCF4617.jpg

And while I was at it I did this

DSCF4641.jpg
    DSCF4638.jpg
    DSCF4635.jpg

Fair play renofan, but may I ask how old is the car? That crossmember looks like a sieve. :eek: Good call on the underseal considering how bad the part you changed was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

thats a fresh looking micra all the same!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Nice work on the Micra renofan, those crossmembers are notorious rust traps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 866 ✭✭✭renofan

Thanks Lads. Its a '98 that I bought when it was 18 months old as my first car. Had only 8k in it. I still have it. The cross members on the K11s and 90's Almera's/Primera's were notorious for rotting. The Nissan garage were only going to cut out what was rotten and cut it off the new piece and weld it it! The car has never been in a garage since I've had it, I do everything myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭puddinboxxx

not that its any of my business but you might want to blur our the reg's..people might not want the whole country knowin what work they had done to there cars etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭ianobrien

not that its any of my business but you might want to blur our the reg's..people might not want the whole country knowin what work they had done to there cars etc

I take the opposite view. It shows that the car owner is serious in looking after their motor, rather than the typical Irish attitude of drive it until it stops, then rant and rave about the "fierce bad design" and after all that, find the cheapest back street spanner monkey to fit cheap Chinese pattern parts......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

There's probably something in that to be fair. This place is full of understanding motor heads but sections of the general public would prefer to keep it hush that their prize car had to be cut in half for an expensive repair job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Ronnie Beck

Pj! wrote: »
    ....had to be cut in half ...

consaw?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

consaw?

Yep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭puddinboxxx

ianobrien wrote: »
    I take the opposite view. It shows that the car owner is serious in looking after their motor, rather than the typical Irish attitude of drive it until it stops, then rant and rave about the "fierce bad design" and after all that, find the cheapest back street spanner monkey to fit cheap Chinese pattern parts......
    oh it wouldnt make a difference to me..just wouldnt like the op to get chewed by a vehicle owner thats all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭GSBellew

IMG_2545.jpg

All in a normal days work :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭jayok

GSBellew wrote: »
    All in a normal days work :p

Whatcha making? A hearse, stretched limo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Pj! wrote: »
    There's probably something in that to be fair. This place is full of understanding motor heads but sections of the general public would prefer to keep it hush that their prize car had to be cut in half for an expensive repair job.

True, it may well kill the retail value of the 15 year old micra should he decide to sell , what with all the other pristine ones available with full dealers service histories .......:)

Similar to above , its preferable to know that a cars bonnet has actually been lifted at some point between when the previous bought it then sold it on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

jayok wrote: »
    Whatcha making? A hearse, stretched limo?

Hearse I'd imagine, considering its a merc and estate rear

Maybe they will also make a range rover..

http://lego.cuusoo.com/ideas/view/16894

thumb640x360.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭GSBellew

Hearse I'd imagine, considering its a merc and estate rear

Correct, here is another one:

e9795e06ccb85b9858687dea26f22407.jpg

Few limos mid build there too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭MercMad

I assume that's Duffy's in Dundalk ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Out of interest, are the hearses and limos all diesel these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

GSBellew wrote: »
    Few limos mid build there too.
    Slightly O/T but am I the only one that wouldn't consider a stretched Merc saloon with 6 doors a "limo"?

This is a limo...

limo.jpg

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    Slightly O/T but am I the only one that wouldn't consider a stretched Merc saloon with 6 doors a "limo"?

This is a limo...

limo.jpg

Theres limos and stretched limos. That is one of the latter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Theres limos and stretched limos. That is one of the latter.

Yea but still.. I've always thought the 6-door Mercs look ridiculous myself. It's a posh people carrier for people who don't want to be seen in a people carrier

Why not even have the middle 2 seats reversed and facing the rear 2 and just remove the middle doors. At least that'd be more aesthetically pleasing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭firefly08

Audi A6 (C5) 2.8 30v V6...timing belt and front seal job. Normally you just pull the front carrier forward but I needed extra access for some stuck bolts, so I had to open it up like a door :eek:

IMG_0779.jpg

The chain tensioner seals on the passenger side (wrong-hand drive car) are a bit of a pain, so the cams had to come out altogether, tensioner and all. This was turning into a can of worms:

IMG_0791.jpg

Ah, the futility of putting tipex on the sprockets and chain when they're out of the car lol!

IMG_0792.jpg

Definitely the most apart this car has ever been.

IMG_0793.jpg

This job was a little scary, being a complete amateur. But it all went back together no bother and has been running like a champ ever since.

Still leaking oil however :(

They way the timing is set up on this engine is ingenious and completely foolproof, but unfortunately I don't have pics to hand. But it is cramped in there. It's incredible to think that they actually make a twin turbo version of this, and it fits in the same engine bay with basically the same sized block.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

firefly08 wrote: »
    Audi A6 (C5) 2.8 30v V6...timing belt and front seal job. Normally you just pull the front carrier forward but I needed extra access for some stuck bolts, so I had to open it up like a door :eek:he chain tensioner seals on the passenger side (wrong-hand drive car) are a bit of a pain, so the cams had to come out altogether, tensioner and all. This was turning into a can of worms:

Ah, the futility of putting tipex on the sprockets and chain when they're out of the car lol!

Definitely the most apart this car has ever been.

This job was a little scary, being a complete amateur. But it all went back together no bother and has been running like a champ ever since.

Still leaking oil however :(

They way the timing is set up on this engine is ingenious and completely foolproof, but unfortunately I don't have pics to hand. But it is cramped in there. It's incredible to think that they actually make a twin turbo version of this, and it fits in the same engine bay with basically the same sized block.

oil leakage could be cracked oil sumps, seen a lot on 2.5 v6 tdi . they have dual sump, and crack very easy, if somebody overtightened bolts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭firefly08

Mar4ix wrote: »
    oil leakage could be cracked oil sumps, seen a lot on 2.5 v6 tdi . they have dual sump, and crack very easy, if somebody overtightened bolts.

In this case I know it's still coming form the valve cover gasket. I have replaced them both a few times, and they just seem to take it in turns to leak. I think I need to check the PCV hose system as I've read that when they get clogged they can cause valve cover leaks from excess pressure.

firefly08 wrote: »
    In this case I know it's still coming form the valve cover gasket. I have replaced them both a few times, and they just seem to take it in turns to leak. I think I need to check the PCV hose system as I've read that when they get clogged they can cause valve cover leaks from excess pressure.

If you fitted new gaskets and torqued the bolts correctly then I'd definitely be looking for a cause of excess crank case pressure if they keep leaking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

I posted this over in the 4x4 forum but think its ideal for this thread.

3 guys a shift, 24 hours a day over 9 days to put this right. A parts bill of $1.1m. 1600L of hyd oil, try filling that with a 5 gallon drum...

Pic #3 shows the 6 new pumps lined up ready for install and #4 shows the old pumps before removal

F9990B34-7603-4412-A3DC-8D794735ABA0-364-0000003AD973BDCB.jpg

373E23FC-C583-417B-842C-CA03DE9EC1A0-364-0000003AF4F5300F.jpg

39A99A4A-CFEB-4294-8E02-C809A86D096F-364-0000003B0C70AA65.jpg

35CE2F28-0B26-43E9-BF39-238246BA2E63-364-0000003B20FDB97D.jpg

BB41F89F-0CED-4D15-AA8C-B5C0B78B459F-364-0000003B2AA87330.jpg

6CA0F912-BF6F-42E0-96B7-C60E0E048B87-364-0000003B32F3104C.jpg

0D12F8D4-B988-4352-92F8-8A5BAC28E843-364-0000003B3E6E504D.jpg

Finally back out of the workshop

A9EF7B2E-BBEC-4589-871B-94F755245483-364-0000003B449D3807.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,883 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Slidey wins!!

That thing looks like the mine-clearing machine Clarkson had on TG once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

Slidey wins!!

That thing looks like the mine-clearing machine Clarkson had on TG once.

Haven't seen that. Our rivals on site which can be seen in one of the pics to the right of our machine was on Dirty Great Machines on the discovery channel