Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mark Mullen League

• 06-06-2013 8:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭

The ever popular Mark Mullen road league will commence on Mon Night June 24th.The handicap event will take place on the usual 6.4 k circuit with sign on in Donore village near Drogheda each night.There will also be youths.7.30 start each night.The dates are Mons June 24th July 1st,8th.15th,22nd,with the concluding round on Mon July 29th.Its approx 40k each night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭granda

cant wait for this league thanks wav

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

this is a great league on a tough little circuit. Same circuit as the Peter Bidwell memorial earlier in the year. Rolly up and down. Looking forward to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Aye raced this last year, great way to spend a Mon evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭wav1

Bump
    Dont forget Mon next 24th kick off.Im away now for a few days and wont be around till next Mon but we're good to go..Spread the word..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭xbox gamer

Just a quick question regarding this. How much is it for entry? Don't want to be carrying around a load of change for the night, it'll kill my suprise attack to be first off the back :P

xbox gamer wrote: »
    Just a quick question regarding this. How much is it for entry? Don't want to be carrying around a load of change for the night, it'll kill my suprise attack to be first off the back :P

its either 5 or 10 euro. Cant remember of the top of my head.

lennymc wrote: »
    its either 5 or 10 euro. Cant remember of the top of my head.

Think its a fiver from memory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

Blast from the past rip mark mullen a lovely guy .

xbox gamer wrote: »
    e3 per night and it will build a prize fund at the end.e1 for the kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭abc_xyz

What time are sign-on and start for seniors?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,967 ✭✭✭De Bhál

abc_xyz wrote: »
    What time are sign-on and start for seniors?

I would also like to know

Mark Mullen League

the league will commence on Mon night June 25th and will run for 6 x Mon nights up to and including July 30th.Sign on will be in Donore village and will start each night at 7.30pm.All welcome including youth riders.All abilities will get their chance as the league is run on a handicap basis each week.

http://droghedawheelers.ie/racing.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭michael196

is this an open league ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭granda

it's open to anyone with a current CI club competition licence,as long as you have this just turn up on the night and race

Lovely night for it, got dropped on the last lap, killed myself trying to bring back Lusk Doyle who pretty much spent the whole race on his own off the front, and who I presume won because Grp 2 were miles and miles behind, and we didn't look like closing him down.

Thanks to Drogheda Wheelers, see youse next week for more of the same, don't be fooled by Lusk Doyles A4 license next week, he belongs in grp 2!

urghh
    arrrghhh

that is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭smurphy29

That was great, well done Drogheda Wheelers.

Well done to the Swords fellow who rode off the front and time trialled his way to victory. Great ride.

Fancied the sprint up the drag if we could reel him in but spent the entire last lap on the front trying to no avail, so spent my legs and came in 6th.

I arrived at the start line about a minute before the start after a traffic-related disaster on the way up, so I wanted to die for the first 15 minutes but gradually got into it.

I must say this is a terrific way to blast off the monday blues. I shall return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭xbox gamer

Went in group 1 and that was fast from the start. Dropped on the first lap and cycled with somebody in castelli gear (sorry didn't catch a name) for two laps. I thought I was going to get lapped at the end so pulled in with a lap to go. I will know in future to finish it out fully regardless.

Well done to Lusk Doyle, had a big gap at the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

Inquitus wrote: »
    killed myself trying to bring back Lusk Doyle who pretty much spent the whole race on his own off the front

Good to see the club's proud tradition of frustrating fellow members' ambitions is alive and well.

Ha! 'fraid not, mistaken identity there. I'm DWCC, the Swords lads were sitting in and had no intention of ruining their mate's chances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

Inquitus is one of our own. Wasn't wearing a Swords jersey. It's no big deal though.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Great result by young Doyle well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭padjo5

Crackin evening for it. Found it v tough having missed a month of racing, but bloody enjoyable!

Bust a gut, particularly trying to get to LuskDoyle a few times, fair play he rode hard. If ya could corner less like a bus you'd have had a 10minute gap ;) Well done on a good win, #rodeaway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Lusk_Doyle

Thanks fellas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭RO 06

Lusk_Doyle wrote: »
    Thanks fellas.

Your back!
    To bask in the limelight.
    Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭killalanerr

Doyle wins. Ill never here the end of it :). Well done mate

That was tough going, as I was expecting! Good fun.
    Not sure who won it, although I hear the local man Peter Sharkey is in yellow after 6th tonight?? Fair play to him!

Did Lusk Doyle substitute himself for Beasty this week!?

Cracking evening for it too.

Nulty got it in a sprint with David Wherity I think. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Peter sharkey a star from the past and jarvin nulty a future star or surly it wasn't Mick nulty who won .:D

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Peter sharkey a star from the past and jarvin nulty a future star or surly it wasn't Mick nulty who won .:D

If it was Mick the rest of us were going the wrong way round the circuit;)

First RR since April for me. I took my place in the limit group and did some decent stints until we were caught towards the end of the second lap. I hung on until the hills and then watched the enlarged group ride off into the sunset

I then did a lap on my own then another two with Inquitus before calling it a day with some desperately needed hill work in the legs.

Another good race. No staying away for us this time, it all came together, with the (very small?) limit group catching up on the final lap. The lead group whittled down a good bit, there was 11 or 12 of us at the finish... I felt I was hanging on by my fingernails and didn't have any sort of a sprint. 8th place, happy enough with another good workout.

jarvin nulty first who got second and confirm please was peter sharkey 5th.
    thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Swordsdave

Javan Nulty First , Gary Gorman second

wow great result and my buddy peter sharkey 5th super result hasn't raced in 8 years oh man this made my night.:cool:

Javan Nulty got the win from Gary Gorman and third was another blast fom the past Seamus Howard.Sharkey was 5th on the night.A gallopers instincts dont go away you know.Another little bit of tweaking to the handicap next week and we'll have them all coming to the line together.Its turning in to a great little league and is a great Monday night workout.Maybe a few more oldies to make their mark over the coming weeks.Andrew Watters who hasn't raced in 14 yrs is up and running this yr as well.Howabout it feck sake lads?

padjo5 wrote: »

Did Lusk Doyle substitute himself for Beasty this week!?

He did not! Much needed rest and recuperation after the efforts at mullingar on Sunday!

i missed sitting on your wheel for the entire race. Come back soon!! :)

wav1 wrote: »
    Javan Nulty got the win from Gary Gorman and third was another blast fom the past Seamus Howard.Sharkey was 5th on the night.A gallopers instincts dont go away you know.Another little bit of tweaking to the handicap next week and we'll have them all coming to the line together.Its turning in to a great little league and is a great Monday night workout.Maybe a few more oldies to make their mark over the coming weeks.Andrew Watters who hasn't raced in 14 yrs is up and running this yr as well.Howabout it feck sake lads?
    yeah great to see the lads having a go again jesus andrew was an animal on a bike fierce strong as for me ,hah you must be joking i wouldn't get ten yards with those boys , mick nulty is flying as well .your lads are class sure hope they make the big time no reason they couldnt go all the way.;)

Are the scores on the board anywhere to be seen online for this league?

no scores available at the moment, but pictures are available here

Had good legs this week, great race, great weather, got dropped half way round the last lap having been caught early it was a case of hanging on for grim death for 3 or 4 laps. New PR of 39.2kph avg for the circuit, as well as a 39 and a 38.5!

i have a love hate relationship with that circuit. I love it when im not riding it, i hate it when I am.

Missed it tonight......shame, as I was planning on winning it this week =P!

How did it go lads?

Great turnout tonight and what great weather.Good race as well with it all coming together with a lap to go
    1 David Wherity
    2 Ciaran Campbell
    3 Declan Byrne
    4 Gary Gorman
    5 Seamus Howard
    6 Adam [Swords] not even trying to spell it again
    7 Adam Stenson
    8 Tadgh Kelly
    9 Eamon Waters
    10 Alan Andrews
    We'll get an up to date chart of the standings for next week as we're now half way.
    Priceless tonight to see a rider who shall be nameless getting ready to zip up the jersey and celebrate the win,only to hear that dam bell ringing for another lap.Hint them yellow lap boards are not there for nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭abc_xyz

Missed it tonight as caught late in work :(

Next week - hopefully the weather will be the same.

wav1 wrote: »
    Great turnout tonight and what great weather.Good race as well with it all coming together with a lap to go
    1 David Wherity
    2 Ciaran Campbell
    3 Declan Byrne
    4 Gary Gorman
    5 Seamus Howard
    6 Adam Swirydowicz[Swords] not even trying to spell it again
    7 Adam Stenson
    8 Tadgh Kelly
    9 Eamon Waters
    10 Alan Andrews
    We'll get an up to date chart of the standings for next week as we're now half way.
    Priceless tonight to see a rider who shall be nameless getting ready to zip up the jersey and celebrate the win,only to hear that dam bell ringing for another lap.Hint them yellow lap boards are not there for nothing.

Adam's surname added fyp.

And that was a joke BTW with the jersey zipping up! I knew exactly how much was left!

Adam's surname added fyp.

And that was a joke BTW with the jersey zipping up! I knew exactly how much was left!
    Wasn't you i meant Lusk Doyle.It was closer to home than that.And this guy defo thought it was the finish.Great craic though.Looking forward to seeing you all again on Monday night.

Looks like a good evenings weather is in prospect again for later.Round 4 ready to go.Updated league chart will be on display also.
    Rumour has it that we wll have a very interesting spectator this evening.
    A certain Mr Dunbar who triumphed in the Junior Tour last week will be around en route to the Czech Rep in the morning for the European Jun R/R Champs next weekend.Good luck to him over there together with our own Ciaran Campbell,and Danny Bruton from Naul,who all fly out in the morning.

Results Round 4

1 Eamon Waters
    2 John Reynolds
    3 Declan Byrne
    4 Darragh Long
    5 Adam Swirydowicz
    6 Daragh Campbell
    7 Thomas Duffy
    8 Craig Arrigan
    9 Glenn White
    10 Alan Andrews
    Another lovely evening for it,with 2 guys from the limit group staying away.The other 3 groups all came together and resulted in a great gallop for third place.Still 2 x more Mon nights to go,with the finale and presentation on Mon 29th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭GlennaMaddy

Are there CI points for this, I presume not?