Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Royal Ascot

• 04-06-2013 6:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭

Well lads, 2 weeks away and looks a good one to me.

Queen Anne

Think Animal Kingdom is in the top few horses in the world and have had a couple of antepost bets on him. It's a 2 horse race between himself and Farhh but Animal Kingdom's owners have brought him to Ascot with the sole aim of getting a English middle distance group 1 win to his name before he's rushed off to stud. With Sheikh Mohammed now being a 29% owner of AK, I can't see him jeopardising that, especially with Farhh being equally adept over 10f. I expect Farhh to lineup in Prince of Wales (currently 11/4 fav with PP) and Animal Kingdom to be close to evens come the day of Queen Anne.

Prince of Wales Stakes

Would be the race of the meeting if all turned up. Couldn't be having Camelot at all but Al Kazeem looked very good when beating him LTO. Ed Dunlop says Snow Fairy may make it and she would be massively interesting. Even St. Nic, although unlikely, could possibly turn up if Ballydoyle decide to save Camelot from a further loss and play their best horse.

St James Palace

Looks another shootout with Magician (evens fav) and Toronado (9/4). O'Brien's will take all the beating but Toronado surely didn't show his best in Guineas?

Kings Stand & Diamond Jubilee

Have backed Shea Shea for King Stand. Comefortably held Sole Power and the rest in Dubai runs and as long as he settles in new surroundings and ground's any way decent on the day, he looks the winner to me. The best sprinter in the world IMO.

Interestingly, De Kock says he may go for both this and the Diamond Jubilee:

"Shea Shea is a happy horse. He has been taking in his new regime very well.
    "It isn't easy to adjust to all the changes, but things have gone very well.
    "That (King's Stand) is the primary option, but I'm also going to leave him in the Jubilee.
    "It's about a week between the races, so, providing he comes back sound from the King's Stand, we may as well try our luck in the big city and go for both.
    "We're here for a good time, not a long time."

I also like Society Rock for Diamond Jubilee. Winner 2 years ago, 5th behind Black Caviar last year when hugely unlucky in running. Fine win LTO when giving weight showed he's as good as ever. A somewhat under-appreciated group 1 sprinter IMO.

Gold Cup

Rite of Passage makes his comeback this Friday at Leopardstown. Simenon was a massive eye-catcher at Chester and I see Segal has tipped him as an each-way bet for this.

Coventry

Stubbs looked very good yesterday.

Queen Mary

Hannon's Fast really impressed me on her debut. It's paid to follow lofty 'names' lately too!

Royal Hunt Cup

What you think about Educate for this Rossom? Had a small ew bet on him at 25/1. Now best price 20's I see. Sheikhzayedroad franked the form of his last win at Epsom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

Already backed Educate at 25s as well Jim and will be topping up on him in the coming weeks. 5lb rise to a mark of 98 is very fair and as you said form strongly franked. Put a line through his inexplicable performance in the Spring Cup and he's on a massive upward curve. His improvement definitely hasn't stopped. I'd like a tiny bit of cut in the ground on the day for all that Terry Norman says he is better on a fast surface as 1 mile is definitely his minimum trip.

Will be very interested to see if they step him up to to 12f at any stage as well as I think his future lies at 10f+

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I refuse to acknowledge the 'R' word for this meeting, it's just Ascot to me!

St Nic is going for the Hardwicke if he runs at the meeting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

kfallon wrote: »

Yea, 'the lads' will have to have a whip-round for the 15k to supplement him first though! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭MoscowFlyer

Ribblesdale Stakes on the Thursday @ 3.05.

ALIVE ALIVE OH

As soon as the betting opens on this I am firing a few bullets at this one. Was so impressed with her performance last time out. Just flew away from her rivals and I expect further improvement on this big stage.

Any idea when the betting will be available for this sort of race?

Ribblesdale Stakes on the Thursday @ 3.05.

ALIVE ALIVE OH

As soon as the betting opens on this I am firing a few bullets at this one. Was so impressed with her performance last time out. Just flew away from her rivals and I expect further improvement on this big stage.

Any idea when the betting will be available for this sort of race?

Thought she was being saved for Irish Oaks?

I just assumed she would be at Royal Ascot and when I searched upcoming races that was the one she was entered in.

Wherever she races next I'll be on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Ray Mond

Had a big tip for rite of passage last year from the owner hopefully get a good word again ill be backing him regardless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭luckyeye

I just assumed she would be at Royal Ascot and when I searched upcoming races that was the one she was entered in.

Wherever she races next I'll be on.

From Sportinglife.com:

Tommy Stack's promising filly has the Darley Irish Oaks as her main aim in the summer but the Ascot event fits nicely into her schedule.
    There is a possibility she could stay at home for the Pretty Polly Stakes at the Curragh on June 30, but connections are favouring a trip to Ascot 10 days earlier at this stage.

Stack's son and assistant Fozzy said: "She's very well at the moment and has a couple of options. She could either go to Ascot or go to the Curragh, but at this stage I'd say we're more likely to be heading for the Ribblesdale. I'd say good ground wouldn't be a problem for her.
    "Her main aim is the Irish Oaks when a few of the Epsom fillies will no doubt be there. The winner might have been 20-1 (Talent), but she was impressive.

"I wouldn't swap ours for anything else in the race, though."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Shes going for the Ribblesdale at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

animal kingdom and magician two standout bets for me
    I know toronado is probably better than last time out but
    Magician looked tremendous winning the irish guineas, not looking
    past it at all

just took 6/4 on animal kingdom
    just sorry i missed the bigger prices

definitely on stacks horse also when the prices come out

agree with jim, ak will be evens tops come race day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Animal Kingdom 6/4 or 5/4 now.
    Farhh will go for the Prince of Wales (imho) and this will cut AK to 4/6 or so. Maybe shorter consider 3rd fav is a 10/1 shot....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Slattsy wrote: »
    Animal Kingdom 6/4 or 5/4 now.
    Farhh will go for the Prince of Wales (imho) and this will cut AK to 4/6 or so. Maybe shorter consider 3rd fav is a 10/1 shot....

Unless its NRNB its a high risk bet lumping on at that price any sort of setback and the horse is out of the race, I am not a big fan of betting ante post :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

St Nicholas Abbey will be a lay for me if he goes for the Hardwicke. A Group One penalty and running round a right-handed track will make him vulnerable if something half-decent turns up against him.

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Unless its NRNB its a high risk bet lumping on at that price any sort of setback and the horse is out of the race, I am not a big fan of betting ante post :o

Yea, it's risky at the best of times and bookies must just love it. In this case though, I felt that given the lack of depth and quality to the market after Farhh and the likelihood that he may go Prince of Wales, it was a great opportunity to back a 7/2, 3/1 shot who could be an even money shot on the day, in a 6/7 horse race.

St Nic swerving the Hardwicke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

Fahrh is out of the meeting,he's lame according to twitter.Just goes to show anything can happen to these amazing animals

Even though I've Animal Kingdom backed for QA, it's a pity. Looks no real quality opposition to him now while the POW looks a shootout between Al Kazeem and Snow Fairy, who may not even turn up.

ak is evens now with pp

that is a gift and the fact that dow is second fav at 7s tells you
    all you need to know

only needs to turn up now imo
    that price wont last long

mailburner wrote: »
    ak is evens now with pp

that is a gift and the fact that dow is second fav at 7s tells you
    all you need to know

only needs to turn up now imo
    that price wont last long

I wouldn't like to be having a massive single on AK at current price given his injury problems in past. Still, if he turns up he wins so I'm off to throw him in a few smaller doubles with Solwhit tomorrow, Magician (James Palace), Al Kazeem (Prince of Wales).

jimjamcos wrote: »
    I wouldn't like to be having a massive single on AK at current price given his injury problems in past. Still, if he turns up he wins so I'm off to throw him in a few smaller doubles with Solwhit tomorrow, Magician (James Palace), Al Kazeem (Prince of Wales).

think you have to take evens now
    i think it'll be 8/13 or shorter on the day

im on solwhit tomor also, she's never let me down yet
    ak, al kaz and magician all look nailed on to me
    was backing all three anyway

small bet on the accum which works out at 41/1 on pp
    i've seen worse bets and if quevega can pull it off tomorrow
    it'll look a whole lot better

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

^ :confused:

Solwhit is 3s with Billie Hills at the minute only 7/4 with Boyles they know ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

The 20s on Educate worth taking? Is there much chance he'll be a non runner? I've never bet antepost before.

Mocha Joe wrote: »
    The 20s on Educate worth taking? Is there much chance he'll be a non runner? I've never bet antepost before.

Hunt Cup's definitely the aim. He'll be a runner bar injury.

feck,
    dont have a willie hill account
    their odds didnt show up on oddschecker for that race
    hopefully ill get bigger than 2s tomoro morn

3s is big

SRFC wrote: »
    ^ :confused:

somehow i backed solwhit earlier and convinced myself it was
    quevega running instead :confused:
    twas only now looking for a price to do a single tomoro i realised
    oh dear :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

kfallon wrote: »

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

ft9 wrote: »
    Why?

Tongue-in-cheek republicanism maybe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭shy-tall-knight

Saddler's Rock for the Gold Cup anyone?

Terry Norman has tweeted:

"Ismail is going to have a select team for Ascot. Educate (Hunt Cup), Shamaal Nibras (Buckingham Palace) and Dubawi Fun (Coventry). Pat Cosgrave will ride Dubawi Fun, Tom Brown Shaamal Nibras and hopefully Jamie Spencer on Educate"

What you think about Spencer, Rossom? Should suit horse nicely I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭madmoose

Couldnt be more happier than Spencer on a horse in a big field handicap. That hunt cup is a handicap right??

madmoose wrote: »
    Couldnt be more happier than Spencer on a horse in a big field handicap. That hunt cup is a handicap right??

Sure is! You'd have to assume Spencer had his pick of a few so bit of a coup if they get him.

Alive Alive Oh looks like a likely runner in the Ribblesdale. Will be interesting to see the market once it opens.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭carpothepunk

Have done Magician, Shea Shea, Educate, Animal Kingdom. Few multiples. Think Shea Shea/AK double is the banker of the meet, if SS turns up. 5/2 on betfair, I know there is chat of him not going, but I just cant see it.

De Kock scratched him from the Diamond Jubilee today but he's definitely still going Kings Stand, health permitting of course.

Like yourself, Animal Kingdom (3/1) and Shea Shea (11/4) is my main bet of the meeting. Would be absolutely shocked if AK is beaten but you just never know in a sprint (draw, luck in running etc) so wouldn't be near as confident on SS.

I've Magician, Shea Shea, Al Kazeem, Educate, Animal Kingdom and Society Rock in various small doubles etc antepost. To be honest it's just been Animal Kingdom with everything else! I'll be happy (and in profit) if I get 2 up.

As you say, AK and SS probably the best chance.

Oh sorry, I must have taken something up the wrong way. I knew he was a NR for the Diamond Jubilee, but thought there was a question mark over his participation overall. Excellent.

Yep, the main two would see me in handsome profit. Have to admit I didnt get 3/1 on AK, only just shy of 2/1, but still great value as I expect him to be maybe 4/6 on the day.

Snow Fairy out of POW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Anybody think The fugue might be a bit of value in the POW at 10/1?

baraca wrote: »
    Anybody think The fugue might be a bit of value in the POW at 10/1?

Couldn't be having her myself.

I'm praying that "the lads" come in with money for Camelot and he ends up fav somehow as I'll be all over Al Kazeem. He pulled like a hoor early on in Tattersalls and still beat Camelot with plenty in hand.

The horse I'd fear most would be the French one, Maxios. 2nd to Pastorious 2 runs back, beating Dunaden, and Giofra. 1st LTO, beating Planteur.

Ill be all over Al Kazeem like a rash on the day. Had a small one today, as I feared Snow Fairy, but I do think Camelot probably goes off favourite.

Here's hoping! I would just love Aidan to come out and say he wasn't right or wasn't fit at Curragh and encourage hype followers to rush in on day.. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

Very happy that Spencer looks set to ride Educate. Pair clearly get on very well. Although Terry Norman has persistently said he's better on a sound surface, I hope there is a small bit of cut in the ground as 1m is definitely his minimum and I've a small fear that he'll be staying on too late. I'm utterly convinced that he has the ability to win a competitive race of this nature off 98 and although he's not a horse to go nuts with in a 30+ field I've backed him at 25s and 20s and will keep backing him in the lead up to Ascot.

Tom Queally just said on 5live that he'll probably be riding Hot Snap in Coronation and Joyeuse in Albany next week. Would be great if one of them could win in the famous colours for Sir Henry.

Bad, bad news for Magician backers... :(

Dawn Approach getting backed on exchanges and apparently set to turn up in St James Palace.

Another Bolger stroke but at least the race just got tasty! :)

Betting has been suspended! Here comes the Dawn!!!

He's in! :)

DAWN APPROACH, the 2,000 Guineas winner who flopped when hot favourite for the Derby, is set to make a shock return to action in Tuesday's St James's Palace Stakes at Royal Ascot.

Trainer Jim Bolger, quoted on Godolphin's website, said: "He's been left in the St James's Palace Stakes and subject to a satisfactory piece of work on Thursday, he is an intended runner."

Johner wrote: »
    Betting has been suspended! Here comes the Dawn!!!

He's in! :)

Hopefully...only makes Magicians price chunkier! :D

Bolger has some time for punters in fairness to him! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

rossom wrote: »
    Very happy that Spencer looks set to ride Educate. Pair clearly get on very well. Although Terry Norman has persistently said he's better on a sound surface, I hope there is a small bit of cut in the ground as 1m is definitely his minimum and I've a small fear that he'll be staying on too late. I'm utterly convinced that he has the ability to win a competitive race of this nature off 98 and although he's not a horse to go nuts with in a 30+ field I've backed him at 25s and 20s and will keep backing him in the lead up to Ascot.

You backing him ew or do you think if he gets himself in the frame near the end of the race he'll win?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Dawn Approach back over a mile, cant see him being beaten to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Whats he priced up at lads?