Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

junkies in dublin flat out on the sunbeds

• 03-06-2013 11:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭

What's going on with this new craze? Is there a new drug enhanced by uv exposure or something? Or have our junkies just become a bit more concerned with their pasty appearance?

A salon I know (that shall rename nameless) has become awash with them. Each one of them say its clearing up acne that they've got from steroids, but they come out of the sunbeds high as kites. I am intrigued

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

They're high on life, man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Pasty faced junkies getting some colour into their cheeks ? ...well I never

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

Each one of them say its clearing up acne that they've got from steroids, but they come out of the sunbeds high as kites. I am intrigued

Are you like that Paddy O' Gorman fella interviewing junkies , if you really want to know more do the rte interview technique thing and say "so tell me about your parents then".

I'm confused....

Is it "junkies in a Dublin flat are out on their sunbeds"
    Or
    "Junkies in Dublin are flat out on sunbeds"

?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

These junkies should spend more time finding veins than feeling vain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

I nominate this for best "junkie" thread yet, a new high point for After Hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭JD DABA

I thought UV lighting was supposed to make life difficult for them.

Maybe its their version of survival training. He-ar what would ye do if the whole world was UV man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

do they still hang out at the abandoned block of flats in ballymun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

They're probably taking tan injections . Few lads (Steriod heads) i know used to get them out of merchant quay .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

How can you "rename" the salon "nameless" ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 328 ✭✭becost

What's going on with this new craze? Is there a new drug enhanced by uv exposure or something? Or have our junkies just become a bit more concerned with their pasty appearance?

A salon I know (that shall rename nameless) has become awash with them. Each one of them say its clearing up acne that they've got from steroids, but they come out of the sunbeds high as kites. I am intrigued

Sounds like someone is banging out from the salon. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

Those lads have the life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Junkies are a fascinating breed alright, The mad things they get up to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Lapin wrote: »
    How can you "rename" the salon "nameless" ?

It's the nameless salon. I was gonna edit it but I couldn't be bothered. I would like to thank you for reading my post so thoroughly and dedicating the effort to point out said mistake. You really must have an exciting life.

Festy wrote: »
    Those lads have the life.

Telling ya! This salon is only 50 cent a min too, the salon up the roads 80 so they don't go there, recession and all that.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Tanning creates endorphin's, feel good effect etc. So maybe in their pretty terrible life, they feel genuinely happy for a few hours without the need of drugs.
    If they are paying, then I dont see any problem, if it means they dont shoot up for a few hours then great.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

It's the nameless salon. I was gonna edit it but I couldn't be bothered. I would like to thank you for reading my post so thoroughly and dedicating the effort to point out said mistake. You really must have an exciting life.

I do.

Although compared to the junkies in your nameless salon, a hibernating goldfish has an exciting life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭jamaamaj

"For fucXs sack man'
    "ah here"
    "will ya leave it out"

disclamier....i am not a junkie..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Hownowcow

I tend to avoid places that are awash with junkies.

A lot of junkies that I see could do with a wash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

ah here bud, give us a euro will ya, i'm short for the train

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

charlemont wrote: »
    Junkies are a fascinating breed alright, The mad things they get up to

I forsee a tv show - 'My Big Junkie Wedding'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Nodin wrote: »
    I forsee a tv show - 'My Big Junkie Wedding'

You may now share the needle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭Archeron

Maybe they're preparing for the launch of the derelicte summer collection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Junkies have simply completely transitioned to actual vegetables and therefore now need photosynthesis to survive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭frank reynolds

Doubtful that it's ACTUAL junkies... probably just people that dont match up to the snobby ideals that OP would like to see in people.

and if it is, good for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭space_man

Dundrum Town centre was full of 'em over the weekend.
    Many of them were holding very large red 'Vodafone' balloons.
    I never laughed so much.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Not surprising some people turn to drugs with some of the attitudes on display here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I nominate this for best "junkie" thread yet, a new high point for After Hours.

No junkie thread can be a high point for anything, even After Hours

Doubtful that it's ACTUAL junkies... probably just people that dont match up to the snobby ideals that OP would like to see in people.

and if it is, good for them.

They are junkies by any ones definition of the word.

They actually take heroin while they're on the sunbeds!!??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

Anyone who uses a sun bed, rich or poor, is an ejit.

I don't know that now, but I'm just real nosey to find out what drugs they take that are made better with uv exposure. I should ask them but jaysus, bit personal

So, if you saw no indications of their heroin addiction, were you just judging them by their appearance then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Heroin/crack addicts on sunbeds?or those reality tv wannabe steroid lads on sunbeds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

My definition is as follows; "Anyone who can inflate, or partially inflate, a party balloon through the use of gaseous emissions of the anus"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

somefeen wrote: »
    My definition is as follows; "Anyone who can inflate, or partially inflate, a party balloon through the use of gaseous emissions of the anus"

What if you inhale a helium balloon through the anus and then fart?

Is the fart high pitched?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭italodisco

Weird because a few years ago I was in chartbisters phibsboro and a fair few junkies came in to use the sunbeds, the girl behind the counter said it was a new thing and she didn't know what they were up to but it was getting popular with them.... Said she heard it was good for drying out leasions and that they were probably 'turnin on' while in there ( shooting up) ......

But.seriously,someone posted that merchant quay project was giving melanotan shots to users ?? The most ridiculous thing I've ever heard, it only got trialled 2 years ago and green lighted for med use in Oz.....urgh

Perhaps they might just want a tan, like any person who uses a sunbed who doesn't look like a heroin addict.

Anyway, be careful you don't get your nose caught in the sunbeds as they close!

Is this common!?

Oh no!

So, if you saw no indications of their heroin addiction, were you just judging them by their appearance then?

Yes. And the way they talk, all drawn out. I am not one to make judgement without looking at the bigger picture.

And no I don't think they're steroid heads, god love them they do look like a few mugs of complan wouldn't go astray on them, though they say they are on steroids and use the beds to clear acne, so maybe, but they come out of the session high so I don't know

Is this common!?

Oh no!

Only for people who are very curious about the tanning habits of strangers.

I'm very open with my tanning habits. I have quite a few Cistercians looking for a funky Friesian or Suede habit...rather than the usual coarse wool.

Messy work, tanning.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 328 ✭✭becost

Who knows. Maybe you get a mad bang if you shoot up and get into one of those machines...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭italodisco

Steroids don't have to be anabolic...some heroin addicts are probably on corticosteroids like prednisone/deltacortril to help them gain weight and boost red blood cells etc. They don't cause muscle gain, quite the opposite.

Maybe they are hanging out in solariums because they love polish birds (and the polish birds live on sunbeds ) ;-)