Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Midgets

• 02-06-2013 8:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭

They're out. I hate them. What do others do or is there any way to get rid of the itchy basterds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Midge's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭starling

They're out. I hate them. What do others do or is there any way to get rid of the itchy basterds.

I am offended on behalf of little people everywhere. Also I am not itchy the doctor gave me a cream for that.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

Walk around them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Careful of the shotgun midgets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

Midge's what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭davetherave

I think you mean midges, unless there are some smallfolk pulling, poking and scratching at you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Midges are grand but the mosquitoes are coming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Cap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

Mozzies are here. Midge don't like citronella. Neither does mosquito. Rub some on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Get a german phrase book and explain you can no longer participate as your membership of the Deutche Porno actors guild has expired.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Culchies and their midgets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Dammit, now I've got the circus song stuck in my head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

I'm gonna set my best friend on you, OP, she's only 4'7.

PMSL, wish I could thank that one twice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭JD DABA

hahahaha - midgets !!

they're called dwarfs ya eegit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

Sorry about the mistake. I meant midges. I had to google the word midges as I always thought they were midgets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Catch em with chopsticks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,868 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

JD DABA wrote: »
    hahahaha - midgets !!

they're called dwarfs ya eegit

Also dwarves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I got a packet of Deet free insect repellant wristbands, you can wear them on your ankle as well, from Doc Morris. They smell of lemon and seem to do the trick. Usually we get bitten really badly and the bites swell. I think I paid 10 euro for a pack of 3 and the pack says you get about 100 wear per bracelet, I think. So far so good.

Also dwarves

"Dwarfs" v. "Dwarves"...Geek war in 5...4...3....

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Get a sex change. Mossies and their ilk apparently prefer women and their blood. Something to do with extra phosphorus that the ladies have IIRC? Also take up pipe smoking, that keeps the beggars away. Luckily they've always left me well alone(same for my dad, but they made a beeline(no pun) for my mum). This is probably not a good thing if bloodsuckers don't want your blood... "fcuk me I'm not biting that fecker, I might catch something". I've found similar with vampire attacks. Mind you zombies only love me. Werewolves always end up owing me money, the hairy freeloading lycanthropic bastids.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Wibbs wrote: »
    Get a sex change. Mossies and their ilk apparently prefer women and their blood. Something to do with extra phosphorus that the ladies have IIRC? Also take up pipe smoking, that keeps the beggars away. Luckily they've always left me well alone(same for my dad, but they made a beeline(no pun) for my mum). This is probably not a good thing if bloodsuckers don't want your blood... "fcuk me I'm not biting that fecker, I might catch something". I've found similar with vampire attacks. Mind you zombies only love me. Werewolves always end up owing me money, the hairy freeloading lycanthropic bastids.

A lot of British officers on colonial service would spend as much of the time pissed as they could get away with for this reason. The mossies object to alcohol apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭Almaviva

starling wrote: »

So, is a pixie, the same thing as an elf ? :confused:

What do others do or is there any way to get rid of the itchy basterds.

Some people get terrible reactions to midge bites (extraordinary swelling and redness that can require treatment by a doctor).

Most people however, just get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

fucking midgets

is actually what we all thought this thread was about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭gufnork

Brunette ones are the best...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

I got a packet of Deet free insect repellant wristbands, you can wear them on your ankle as well, from Doc Morris. They smell of lemon and seem to do the trick. Usually we get bitten really badly and the bites swell. I think I paid 10 euro for a pack of 3 and the pack says you get about 100 wear per bracelet, I think. So far so good.

Sounds like a flea collar for humans. I'll try it anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭con___manx1

Sorry about the mistake. I meant midges. I had to google the word midges as I always thought they were midgets.

i call them midgets too

Sounds like a flea collar for humans. I'll try it anyway

I vaguely recall being told in History class that the fur stole originated as exactly that - the fleas would gather on the fur and eventually the stole would be thrown away and replaced with a new one....always made me chuckle when I saw rich people wearing them in films..

Almaviva wrote: »
    So, is a pixie, the same thing as an elf ? :confused:

I dunno...I think it depends on whether we're talkin Tolkein elves..

kowloon wrote: »

A lot of British officers on colonial service would spend as much of the time pissed as they could get away with for this reason. The mossies object to alcohol apparently.

Well it's as good an excuse as any....

Edit: The ad at the bottom of this thread is for a pest control company who'll get rid of bedbugs for you...nice work Adchoices, now I actually am getting itchy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

I don't mind them all, they tend to leave me alone for the most part. The things I hate the most are wasps, houseflies/bluebottles, and horse flies. Also moths. I cant open my window for 5 minutes without ten of them coming in and arsing around.

Pretty sure we don't have mosquitoes in Ireland, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

6 out of 7 aren't Happy.

It's only a small thing really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Nothing as bad as the midges in a bog. They're a more aggressive and plentiful breed. I think they get over excited because they only see people a couple times a year so they really tackle you.

I think garlic is great for repelling them. And if you didn't like garlic, you could take the supplements. Or cigarette smoke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

Do I remember hearing before that some people are more naturally sensitive to midges than others? It could be an old wives' tale.

I am very sensitive to them; can't sit by the river or a ditch in the evening except they're after me, I have friends who wouldn't notice them at all.

Do I remember hearing before that some people are more naturally sensitive to midges than others? It could be an old wives' tale.

I am very sensitive to them; can't sit by the river or a ditch in the evening except they're after me, I have friends who wouldn't notice them at all.

No I think you're right...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Imps, anyone remember Dublin bus launched little buses called city imps?

You could get on and off wherever you pleased. Crap service.

Focking imps.

I don't mind them all, they tend to leave me alone for the most part. The things I hate the most are wasps, houseflies/bluebottles, and horse flies. Also moths. I cant open my window for 5 minutes without ten of them coming in and arsing around.

F*cking moths I really hate them and I like to sleep with the windows open.

Pretty sure we don't have mosquitoes in Ireland, no?

It was a joke, did you see the picture?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I opened the door there a while ago and a small army of midges came in, the house spider that made his web on the corner of the ceiling is having a great aul time killing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Rasheed wrote: »
    Nothing as bad as the midges in a bog. They're a more aggressive and plentiful breed. I think they get over excited because they only see people a couple times a year so they really tackle you.

I think garlic is great for repelling them. And if you didn't like garlic, you could take the supplements. Or cigarette smoke.

+ 1

The bog is the worst place for them.

Focking imps.

I thought imps were supposed to be mischeivous and mess with people..so an apt name I suppose

You though buses messed with people?! Is it not the other way around?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭off.the.walls

This is the best thread ever!

Is the thread off the wall?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

Focking imps.
    oh yeah! they were around until about 2003 iirc?

the buses were absolutely filthy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

I am very sensitive to them

Me too. The bastards chewed the eyelids off me on more than one occasion. I remember being tortured by them 'on holiday' in a forest when I was being trained in a quasi-paramilitary kids religious organisation (Catholic Boy Scouts of Ireland).

Funnily enough I was left alone by mosquitos by Bodensee while me German GF was being chewed up? Fussy little feckers those flying blood-suckers are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Funnily enough I was left alone by mosquitos by Bodensee while me German GF was being chewed up?

Well, at least one of ye was having some fun.

You though buses messed with people?! Is it not the other way around?

Guess it depends whether you're actually on the bus, or waiting around for one that never turns up :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Are these the same things that can sometimes latch on and stick to some skin and look like a black dot and can be itchy and you need to get a tweezers?

Sciurtán they are in irish but I'm not too sure of the spelling.

I've often wondered what would happen if you got one stuck in an awkward place. Like say for example your arse became very itchy and you can feel a little spot or whatever and you suspected it was a midge stuck to your arse, you can't really take a tweezers to your arse, can you? How would you get one off from your arse? Would you have to go to the doctor and tell them you suspect there's a midge stuck to your arse.