Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you buy a stolen phone

• 01-06-2013 2:59am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭

Well there's a thread about buying a stolen bike and got me thinkin would you buy a phone off someone knowing its stolen
    In my old job there was a lad who at least every 3-6 months had a new phone top of the range one that he'd buy off his cousin who used to steal them
    Would u buy one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭jamesbondings

hahaha im sure i did years ago when i was a teenager, i wouldnt now though im all grown up mature etc.

has nothing to do with the sophistication of the security available on most new phones. Promise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Unregistered.

Brace yourselves.... The high horses are coming!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Fake moral answer by people: No.
    Reality: Yes.

It just depends on who is selling the phone. Some random, dodgy character on a street corner or someone they personally know. Such is life.

hahaha im sure i did years ago when i was a teenager, i wouldnt now though im all grown up mature etc.

Can you not remember? How long have teenagers had phones now, just over a decade?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Brace yourselves.... The high horses are coming!

You mean the "non-criminally inclined"?

Ya, I hate those people with all their "integrity". Makes me sick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

It just depends on who is selling the phone. Some random, dodgy character on a street corner or someone they personally know. Such is life.

Your right
    If someone offers a brand new iPhone 5 for 100 quid anyone would take it well most would

Can you not remember? How long have teenagers had phones now, just over a decade?

No I can remember its almost ten years! Just im not 100% sure it was stolen, also thought i was getting a bargain but now i look back on it I really wasnt. It was a brick of a yoke! even for ten years ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Probably not, I could see it causing more trouble than it is worth with all the measures taken to prevent and/or find stolen phones. For instance, I think they can turn some phones into a paperweight next time it connects to the internet, may be wrong with that one.

Seachmall wrote: »
    You mean the "non-criminally inclined"?

Ya, I hate those people with all their "integrity". Makes me sick!

Yes, the same non-criminally inclined folk who speed and talk on their mobile phone while driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Well there's a thread about buying a stolen bike and got me thinkin would you buy a phone off someone knowing its stolen
    In my old job there was a lad who at least every 3-6 months had a new phone top of the range one that he'd buy off his cousin who used to steal them
    Would u buy one?

Cut to the chase.

How much?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

id download one from piratebay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Yes, the same non-criminally inclined folk who speed and talk on their mobile phone while driving.

Do you need more straw to build absurd characterisation or do you have enough?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭Caribbean Cat

No

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭murraykil

No

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Cut to the chase.

How much?!?

Usually between 100-150 quid and he'd get his mate to unblock them

He told me his cousin would either break into houses or follow someone home that had one or worse wait for someone to walk past while on phone and basically snatch and run

not....sure.....if this is a joke......

hope so.....

It's quite sad and pathetic that a person would stoop so low just to have the latest phone every few months.

Wasn't just phones
    Dre beats aswell for bout 50 quid robbed off some poor fcukers head and I was amazed how many lads in work were buying them
    Also if someone wanted a iPhone 5 white the chap would have it in a week
    iPads and laptops were easy to rob according to him

Wasn't just phones
    Dre beats aswell for bout 50 quid robbed off some poor fcukers head and I was amazed how many lads in work were buying them

I have more respect for the people stealing the items (as long as there is no violence involved) than the people buying them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,004 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Wasn't just phones

I've heard some spoofers in my day, but you might be the worst bull**** artist I've encountered yet. Bravo.

Why? This is a very common occurance.

having beats robbed off someones head is a common occurance? come on now, keep in mind they would be plugged into something to just grab and run would damage them rendering them useless!

i have a pair of fake in ear beats, ya would never tell the difference and sound quality is really good maybe he isnt selling stolen goods rather knock offs! when i iphone first came out i bought a HI phone on amazon looked and performed just as good as the real thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Not a chance, I'd report the f*ckers. Had my iphone stolen last November with a new batch of concert videos and stuff like that not yet backed up, could see the phone in a gaff on Gardiner Street for the next couple of hours until they switched it off. Absolutely horrible feeling when your phone disappears like that, people who do it should be kicked repeatedly in the nuts until they lose consciousness.

Worst part is I googled the address my phone was taken back to and discovered that this guy had been in court a year earlier for stealing smartphones (A few hundred of them) to feed his heroin addict, he had a number of previous convictions in the 200+ range, and the judge gave him a suspended sentence. F*ck our judiciary and f*ck our justice system. :mad:

having beats robbed off someones head is a common occurance? come on now, keep in mind they would be plugged into something to just grab and run would damage them rendering them useless!

i have a pair of fake in ear beats, ya would never tell the difference and sound quality is really good maybe he isnt selling stolen goods rather knock offs! when i iphone first came out i bought a HI phone on amazon looked and performed just as good as the real thing!

The post described more than just the beats! The stealing of items to order is a common occurance, especially the items decribed by the poster, beats, iphones etc.

The headphone jack is not that tight and secure and it's more likely that it will come out easily if it's a straight line, or just take the item it's attached to if it's L shaped. Even it was to break the main value is in the head phones, the wiring and connection would not be difficult to fix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 offmeheadpal

I would try to be be an honest person and refuse it. but if its a galaxy s4 for 100 euro my greedy selfish self would be tempted to buy it and make up some excuse for doing so. (e.g sure someone else will buy it why the fek shouldnt that be me?)

if i can get a phone without seeing the stress someone went through having it stolen, i could see myself buying it..although a stolen phone wouldnt feel like new and would always haunt be for being stolen.. the little scratch or dent on it that the previous owner made would be a constant reminder. :P

sure better off buying a phone on adverts.ie, people can get so desperate lowering their price its practically stolen.

murraykil wrote: »
    I have more respect for the people stealing the items (as long as there is no violence involved) than the people buying them!

That is a retarded view.

Do you mean it's occurring or developing later than expected or it's affected with mental retardation? :pac:

I think we can safely assume that you mean the latter!

It's difficult to survive in modern society without money, so while I don't agree with theft, I find the mentality of someone who has such a desire to have the most up-to-date phone that they buy a stolen one every 3 months even more repugnant that someone who steals (without violence) for money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

If it was in a box, yes.

As the old saying goes, it fell off the back of a lorry. but if it was hands free(snatched from someones hand)no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,089 ✭✭✭keelanj69

You wouldn't download a horse would you?

Wait.. I have that wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

Not a chance. I wouldn't take an iPhone 5 for free, if I knew it was stolen.

Anyone who would, I wonder if they know what it feels like to be mugged? I do, and I'd never want to profit by means of buying something cheap that was stolen in that manner. Fcuk that. It's not like I need a fancy smart phone anyway, and if I do, i'd buy my own, at full price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Shocking that people here would consider buying goods they know to be stolen. It has nothing to do with being on a high horse, you either have morals or you don't. Behind every crime somebody has been hurt, physically, emotionally or financially. What goes around comes around, perhaps (and I wouldn't wish it) to the most vulnerable member of your family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭Icaras

To my shame I wouldn't, not because its stolen but because I don't fell I get any value out of new phones. I have an S3 and use it exactly the same as I used my HTD desire from 2 years ago. I just need a phone that makes/receives calls and messages, a bit of internet and taking a few pics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭Corkbah

oldyouth wrote: »
    Shocking that people here would consider buying goods they know to be stolen. It has nothing to do with being on a high horse, you either have morals or you don't. Behind every crime somebody has been hurt, physically, emotionally or financially. What goes around comes around, perhaps (and I wouldn't wish it) to the most vulnerable member of your family.

but the problem is faceless corporations and the huge taxes in this country set prices high - and in times of recession - people can get the same product cheaper ...they will.

in saying all that I completely agree with you, I have been the victim of crime on 3 occasions and my partner has also been mugged and robbed, I've also seen the same families before the courts on several occasions - sometimes generations of the same families all for similar offences.

there are multiple problems here - those that steal are not deterred by the law or risk of getting caught, the majority steal out of habit (sometimes for a fix, sometimes because they see an easy mark and sometimes simply out of begrudgery) - the courts do nothing to deter/stop them, the system is set up to facilitate them (complex legal issues mean that unless the person is caught at the moment of actually robbing then its difficult to prove they did any robbery - the latest method is to pass off the stolen item asap to another person - this means that if person A is caught they have no stolen item on them, if person B is caught they didn't steal an item and can only be charged with possession of stolen goods - but you also have to prove they knew the goods were stolen - the burden of proof is set too high in this country)

I could go on and on - but its pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭kristian12

Not a chance, nor would i buy a car stereo or a bike. I'd hate it if my stuff was stolen so i wouldn't be encouraging others to steal either by buying stolen stuff no matter how cheap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

I don't know many scumbags so my opportunities to buy stolen phones are limited.

That and the phone will more than likely be blacklisted. I don't understand people who'd knowingly buy stolen goods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Scruffles

Corkbah wrote: »
    but the problem is faceless corporations and the huge taxes in this country set prices high - and in times of recession - people can get the same product cheaper ...they will.

in saying all that I completely agree with you, I have been the victim of crime on 3 occasions and my partner has also been mugged and robbed, I've also seen the same families before the courts on several occasions - sometimes generations of the same families all for similar offences.

there are multiple problems here - those that steal are not deterred by the law or risk of getting caught, the majority steal out of habit (sometimes for a fix, sometimes because they see an easy mark and sometimes simply out of begrudgery) - the courts do nothing to deter/stop them, the system is set up to facilitate them (complex legal issues mean that unless the person is caught at the moment of actually robbing then its difficult to prove they did any robbery - the latest method is to pass off the stolen item asap to another person - this means that if person A is caught they have no stolen item on them, if person B is caught they didn't steal an item and can only be charged with possession of stolen goods - but you also have to prove they knew the goods were stolen - the burden of proof is set too high in this country)

I could go on and on - but its pointless.
    the recesion is not why some people steal phones/head phones whatever ,being a jobless person living on very little money does not make someone steal or buy luxury items stolen from someone, if a person has the morals and consideration for other people they are not going to accept stolen items full stop,the user who blindly generalizes all of humanity as being up for buying stolen goods is using pyschological projection;projecting their own views onto everyone else.

plenty of us are unable to work and live in poverty but we dont go around stealing items because we have morals and consideration-thats part of how a society works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭Corkbah

Scruffles wrote: »
    the recesion is not why some people steal phones/head phones whatever ,being a jobless person living on very little money does not make someone steal or buy luxury items stolen from someone, if a person has the morals and consideration for other people they are not going to accept stolen items full stop,the user who blindly generalizes all of humanity as being up for buying stolen goods is using pyschological projection;projecting their own views onto everyone else.

plenty of us are unable to work and live in poverty but we dont go around stealing items because we have morals and consideration-thats part of how a society works.

please re-read my post.

the first line is not about people stealing the product just because there is a recession on - its people who purchase the product because they are getting the same product "cheaper".

as for the highlighted part above ... I dont understand what you are actually trying to say there ... are you saying that I'm making "blind generalisations" and "protecting my own views onto everyone else" - if this is the case you are REALLY going to have to re-read my post and have another think about what I'm saying in my post.

and the final part - I agree there are plenty of people who are unemployed who simply do not steal because they are decent people - but there are many families who steal for a miriad of reasons - one of them being habit, its what their father/mother did to earn extra money, its what their grandparents did to earn extra money ... its part of life for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,605 ✭✭✭OakeyDokey

Not a chance! Same goes for anything other than phones. If you want something that bad save up and get it yourself ffs. The person who used to own such phone would have.

Phones are more that just phones these days there is so much attached to them like contacts, banking apps etc. not to mention sentimental values such as photos. I would be distraught if mine was stolen!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Hownowcow

No I would not.

But I'd pay to get a hold of the person who stole one from me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

No, I wouldn't.

Besides the moral problems of buying stolen goods there is the pretty high risk that the IMEI number will be blacklisted by the network and the manufacturer. And while that can take a while to take effect, it will eventually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

"Fake" just because you would?
    Do they?

What utter scum. Yet apparently to be of that view, one is on a "high horse". No need for the projection, folks - if you're happy to financially support a person who'd do the above, it's understandable you feel bad about it, but no need to pretend most others would do it, in order to make yourselves feel better. They wouldn't. ;)
    If it was in a box, yes.

As the old saying goes, it fell off the back of a lorry. but if it was hands free(snatched from someones hand)no.
    Exactly. Big difference between the above and breaking into someone's house/snatching their phone. I would think more people would be inclined to buy a phone in the former instance, which isn't as bad IMO. With a phone though, too much risk attached in terms of security settings.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5 zaph.

Your right
    If someone offers a brand new iPhone 5 for 100 quid anyone would take it well most would

I wouldnt take an iphone for free

Samsung ftw

Seachmall wrote: »
    Do you need more straw to build absurd characterisation or do you have enough?
    Do they?

Let he who is without sin cast the first stone etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭con___manx1

you can buy stolen phones on eBay from the UK. if you see a phone on eBay that says it has no signal in the uk that means its imei barred off all networks in the uk but it will work in Ireland. if you want a stolen phone that's the way to get one. the phone robbers in Ireland sell the imei blocked phones to the uk on ebay or other country's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

you can buy stolen phones on eBay from the UK. if you see a phone on eBay that says it has no signal in the uk that means its imei barred off all networks in the uk but it will work in Ireland. if you want a stolen phone that's the way to get one. the phone robbers in Ireland sell the imei blocked phones to the uk on ebay or other country's.

But you have to put the EMEI number into a listing when you're selling on ebay and the number is looked up to see if it's stolen.

http://community.ebay.co.uk/question/Selling-Ebay/Imei-Number/1700039006

So if you buy a phone and the imei numbers don't match you know it's stolen. At which point you just open a case with paypal. they'll refund the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,096 ✭✭✭✭looksee

There appears to be snow on my horse's head.

zaph. wrote: »
    I wouldnt take an iphone for free

Samsung ftw

Nuts! Don't let pride get in the way of sense! :pac:

You could sell your (legitimately sourced :pac:) free iphone and use the proceeds to buy your (legitimately sourced :pac:) Samsung! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭con___manx1

Grayson wrote: »
    But you have to put the EMEI number into a listing when you're selling on ebay and the number is looked up to see if it's stolen.

http://community.ebay.co.uk/question/Selling-Ebay/Imei-Number/1700039006

So if you buy a phone and the imei numbers don't match you know it's stolen. At which point you just open a case with paypal. they'll refund the money.

good point but i just typed in iphone blacklisted uk into ebay and there are phones for sale lol