Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IBJJF Mundials

• 30-05-2013 8:15am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭

Good luck to the Irish lads competing at the Mundials this weekend.

Darragh O'Conaill (ECJJ) and Chris Bowe (GB) are both at Adult Brown which will be on Saturday. Open Class is the same day for brown too. There will be a stream on IBJJFTV.

James Gallagher (SBG) competes at Blue on Saturday too.

Anyone else out there for this?

Oosss!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,339 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

James Gallagher is already World Champ. He's just there to collect his medal ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭Kieran81

Tom.D.BJJ wrote: »
    There will be a stream on IBJJFTV.

is that a free stream or ppv

looking forward to the black belt open weight and weight divisions and another potential meeting of buchecha and rodolfo . gui mendes looks untouchable in his weight. it will be interesting to see braulio return too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭Tom.D.BJJ

Kieran81 wrote: »
    is that a free stream or ppv

looking forward to the black belt open weight and weight divisions and another potential meeting of buchecha and rodolfo . gui mendes looks untouchable in his weight. it will be interesting to see braulio return too

No, it'll be $25 for the Saturday and Sunday.

My picks:
    Rooster: Malfacine
    Light-Feather: Ary and Gui to close it out
    Feather: Rafa
    Light: Langhi v Lo, with Lo winning again
    Middle: Hopefully Calasans at last
    Medium: Tarsis, Braulio, Romulo, Galvao...just sit back and watch the epicness
    Heavy: Rodolfo v Xande, with Rodlfo winning
    Super-Heavy: Lovato hopefully
    Ultra-Heavy: Buchecha

Open Weight: Depends on injuries and entries, but Xande, Galvao, Buchecha and Rodolfo after the dust settles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭SDTimeout

Will be at CageWarriors but any idea what times DOC , James and Chris will be up ? Are budo doing an on demand of every mat replay or just highlights ( main stream )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭Odats

Chris just won his first fight there.

Chris won next fight on points

Hon Chris 3rd fight by submission lapel choke from back mount

Chris wins his 4th fight

Chris takes Silver loses to team mate Luke Costello in the final. Gracie Barra Dublin Oss

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 381 ✭✭manga_10

anyone know how james or darragh got on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Chris89

manga_10 wrote: »
    anyone know how james or darragh got on

james lost first darragh his second.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 14 venum

Chris89 wrote: »
    james lost first darragh his second.
    gutted for the young conor mc gregor wannabe, after all the smack talk

venum wrote: »

i'm sure he'll be just as dissappointed for you when you come up short playin ufc on xbox too , with a comment like that you clearly wont do much more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭da-bres

You have literally no Idea the sacrifices James has made, 16 years old competing for Ireland at the world stage all the way in LA.

Rather lose at worlds then be a loser on the internet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Kirby92

Any updates on Chris in the open weight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Chris89

Massive congrats to chris, great to see him go so far and make the podium twice.

Sucks for James, the worlds is tough and there are some seriously talented juveniles on the mats. But if you post everyday on the internet saying yuore just going over to collect the medal, youd want to win that medal! or else youll have every dope in the country only dying to take you down a peg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭Stillweak

You'll also get every dope in the country thinking your cockyness is great.
    Spare a thought for poor stuffins. James is still your little champ.

Stillweak wrote: »
    You'll also get every dope in the country thinking your cockyness is great.
    Spare a thought for poor stuffins. James is still your little champ.

You also get people who will lurk in the background and wait for somebody to fall short before kicking a person when he's down. A guy who has worked hard to fulfil his dream, done what most people don't get to do and compete against the best in the world at his level.

He's brash and cocky and put a lot of pressure on himself. He fell short. To some people that creates an opportunity to bash them.

I'm happy to support Irish athletes and to see them succeed. A lot of people will try to drag them down as a result of their own insecurities. I'll continue to do what I do and I'm sure you'll continue to do what you do too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

manga_10 wrote: »

Probably the most epic kneebar I've ever seen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Dermighty

Some great fights so far!

What time (Ireland) do the womens fights finish, I don't want to watch them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭Tom.D.BJJ

In 45 minutes according to the live schedule

http://62.141.40.50/sportos/application/orderfight/index.php?acao=ordemluta&modulo=controleluta&idevent=177

Best Mundials i've seen, some great fights

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Dermighty

Cheers Tom.

Yeah some great fights, surprised to see a high level competitor like Lovato get angry :P

Braulio is unreal!

Braulio gave chris bowe his black belt too , congrats to him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭J0hnick

Kieran81 wrote: »
    Braulio gave chris bowe his black belt too , congrats to him

chrisboweblackbelt_zps10d76962.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭ATMatm

I don't think anyone who has ever trained with James Gallagher would come into this thread and put him down.
    He guillotine choked Kieran McGeeney. What have you done with your lives?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭nino1

No need for comments like that he's only 16 ffs.

It's good to have a world champions mentality and train like a world champ and I guess that's what he's aiming for.
    He should be saying to himself that he's a world champ to enforce this mentality rather than saying it publicly but he's only a young lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭DavidPhelan

Congrats to Chris on his performance, was brilliant to see what he was able to achieve and even better for him to get his black belt which should also really help him build his school.

Regarding all the talk around James, I feel gutted for him to be honest. I can't imagine how he must have felt walking off that mat, having had so much belief in taking gold (which is needed to succeed at that level).

I saw his comments leading up to the worlds but I didn't think he was being cocky. I was worried that with all of the comments going up publicly that he could have been putting too much pressure on himself. He's experienced in fighting but he's still 16 and learning how to deal with pressure at this level and how to be in the best place mentally for world class tournaments. Overall, hope this doesn't deter him in the slightest.

Already looking forward to next years worlds, there'll be a bigger Irish contingent than ever before and an even better opportunity for Ireland to have a first adult world champion!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

I don't think James was being cocky. I think it was more a case of positive thinking and self belief. As was said, he needs that self belief at such a high level of competition.
    The fact that everyone was reading his comments and building him up so much must have put a lot of pressure on him.
    At least he knows what it feels like to be on the works stage now and hopefully he can take the experience and learn from it. Best of luck to him in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭fisher8181

El Guapo! wrote: »
    I don't think James was being cocky. I think it was more a case of positive thinking and self belief. As was said, he needs that self belief at such a high level of competition.
    The fact that everyone was reading his comments and building him up so much must have put a lot of pressure on him.
    At least he knows what it feels like to be on the works stage now and hopefully he can take the experience and learn from it. Best of luck to him in the future.

there's a big difference between self belief and cockiness.
    self belief is thinking (to yourself) and training like a world champion.
    cockiness is telling people you will be a world champion before you compete.

law of attraction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭EnjoyChoke

fisher8181 wrote: »

What would you know

EnjoyChoke wrote: »
    What would you know

I suppose because you are a high level grappler you know the definition and difference between self belief and cockiness better than anyone else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭EnjoyChoke

I suppose because you are a high level grappler you know the definition and difference between self belief and cockiness better than anyone else?

I asked how you would know, not how I would know.

For the record anyone who comes anonymously onto a message board and gives grief, to an outstanding high achieving teenage athlete, over a few Facebook posts is a cretin. End of.

EnjoyChoke wrote: »
    I asked how you would know, not how I would know.

For the record anyone who comes anonymously onto a message board and gives grief, to an outstanding high achieving teenage athlete, over a few Facebook posts is a cretin. End of.

cockiness is okay if you can back it up, if you can't you just look stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭dardis

Jesus Christ lads give the kid a break.

So maybe the way he was trying to pump himself up rubbed you the wrong way, maybe he should have said it only to himself, if that's the case maybe you should keep your opinion that he is cocky to yourself.

From all accounts he is a nice fella as well as a little bad ass on the mats. Fair play to him for heading over there and giving it a shot, it's a great experience for him.

anybody come across any links to any of the irish lads fights ? would love to see chris vs miyao

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭slammer187

I agree with you to a certain extent if this was a different context but you have to look at it from James' point of view.
    He's 16 years old, has left school and wants to make this his living.

But to all those who disregard his ambitions and think he's too cocky:

A winner's mindset is what you need and he definitely knows this and thought that constantly giving positive affirmations to himself is the way to train his mind to win...it's not cockiness, it may come across like that but how is he supposed to know, he's 16 years old, not some 30 year old guy who is fully socially developed and understands how to calibrate to society from life experience (but probably spends their time posting on internet forums :P)

Obviously vocalizing your self belief isn't the right path to go on because if you truly believe something it is yours to believe and you shouldn't have to qualify yourself to anyone else because your planned success is for your own benefit and sacrificing your humility will only put yourself under pressure

At the end of the day James isn't even an adult yet and he's got his own ambitions and goals and he's trying to achieve them and make something with his life.....if you want to come on the internet and bash him fair play. I'm sure you have amounted to more than he will...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,695 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

slammer187 wrote: »
    He's 16 years old, has left school and wants to make this his living.........

Fair play to the guy for going, trying and having the ambition to win, he could learn more from this than a month in the gym and a lifetime on a forum.

But 2 things come to mind, first is the mindset of " say nothing if you lose and less when you win" when you are good enough the spotlight will shine on you, no need to be looking for it.

The other is that leaving school to make a living from bjj is simply a stupid idea, its a stupid one when a kid has lots of soccer potential and there are far more earning a living in that field. to be honest i question the advice that his family and coaches are giving him, each to their own but it's irresponsible and the elders in this situation should know better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭Richy06

Fair play to the guy for going, trying and having the ambition to win, he could learn more from this than a month in the gym and a lifetime on a forum.

But 2 things come to mind, first is the mindset of " say nothing if you lose and less when you win" when you are good enough the spotlight will shine on you, no need to be looking for it.

The other is that leaving school to make a living from bjj is simply a stupid idea, its a stupid one when a kid has lots of soccer potential and there are far more earning a living in that field. to be honest i question the advice that his family and coaches are giving him, each to their own but it's irresponsible and the elders in this situation should know better.

He's left to pursue a career as a Mixed Martial Artist, not just BJJ. He just happens to be pretty damn good at it. He'll be a f*cking black belt by the time he's 20. I reckon he'll be alright tbh.

It's MMA he wants to become professional in, not BJJ.

Richy06 wrote: »
    He's left to pursue a career as a Mixed Martial Artist, not just BJJ. He just happens to be pretty damn good at it. He'll be a f*cking black belt by the time he's 20. I reckon he'll be alright tbh.

And he could be a black belt with a leaving cert by 21, he's nothing to me, never met him, don't even know what he looks like and i don't really care, I just think it's irresponsible for his peers to allow it. But the best of luck to him chasing his dreams.

Yeah, because everyone knows that a 21 year old with a Leaving Cert has the world at his feet.

The kid is an athlete. No different from the many thousands of athletes in the country. Do you tell the parents of our Olympians not to allow their children to compete? You'd have probably told Lionel Messi he shouldn't have followed his dream of being a footballer.

Just because he isn't in Full Time education now, doesn't mean he can't go back to it if he doesn't make it. I am one of many people who returned to education as a man. Done me well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭Richy06

I pursued education, did well and am now in a job I ****ing hate. James followed what he wants to do in life, will always have a job and always has the option of returning to education whenever the hell he wants to. Like you said, you DON'T KNOW HIM! Nor his family or coaches. They and he think he has the potential to make a career out of it. You don't get many shots at that type of thing so when you do, you have to take it and make the most of it. He's doing exactly that. Just because you think he needs to have completed his education already before he tries to make a career of it doesn't mean you're right. What right have you to pass judgement on him in that respect?

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Yeah, because everyone knows that a 21 year old with a Leaving Cert has the world at his feet.

The kid is an athlete. No different from the many thousands of athletes in the country. Do you tell the parents of our Olympians not to allow their children to compete? You'd have probably told Lionel Messi he shouldn't have followed his dream of being a footballer.

Just because he isn't in Full Time education now, doesn't mean he can't go back to it if he doesn't make it. I am one of many people who returned to education as a man. Done me well.

I'm not telling anyone to do anything, im just of the opinion that the people who should be responsible are not bring so.

As you asked if I was to give messi advice when he was younger then emigrating to ensure your medical condition gets the expensive treatment it needs would have been the best idea.

There is nothing stopping both education and sport going hand in hand, and while you can always go back to education it's not as easy, and there also exists the possibility that to make a living in Bjj/ mma requires certain skills off the mat.

Take chuck lidel, rich franklin, rashad Evans, Cain Velasquez, randy couture..... Not bad fighters with some very impressive college qualifications...