Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kaiser's new chariot

• 28-05-2013 6:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,201 ✭✭✭✭

Evening all,

Regulars will know I've been promising myself an A6 for a while now.... well, thanks to some changes for the better, she's here!

20130528_173804.jpg

20130528_173902.jpg

20130528_173915.jpg

20130528_173844.jpg

Some specs....

- 2005 Audi A6 3.0 TDI Quattro (225 Bhp)
    - Leather seats
    - Sunroof
    - Parking sensors
    - Full MMI with 6 CD changer (sound is excellent too!)
    - Bluetooth
    - MFSW
    - Auto lights

I feel like Christmas has come early this year! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Sexy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭keithsfleet

Congratulations she's a nice un.
    Care to divulge what kind of monies were coughed up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Well wear dude, finally got what you wanted!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

And thanks be to christ its got an engine size that suits the car, not another paddy spec 2.0 furcoatandnoknickers mobile.:P:D

Best of luck with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Not bad for a smoker! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,201 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Cheers guys.. yep I'm well pleased with her and looking forward to taking her for a long spin over the weekend :)

3 quick questions if I may...

- I only got one key with it. I'm assuming an extra can only be gotten through a main dealer? Any idea how much these go for?

- Turns out she has a bluetooth kit rather than the integrated module (Oh well!) but I'd possibly get that if it wasn't mad money to do? Anyone done this?

- On a serious slightly depressing note.. with the all too frequent threads here of people's bigger engined cars being nicked :( should I debadge her or what do ye reckon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    Cheers guys.. yep I'm well pleased with her and looking forward to taking her for a long spin over the weekend :)

- I only got one key with it. I'm assuming an extra can only be gotten through a main dealer? Any idea how much these go for?

- Turns out she has a bluetooth kit rather than the integrated module (Oh well!) but I'd possibly get that if it wasn't mad money to do? Anyone done this?

- On a serious slightly depressing note.. with the all too frequent threads here of people's bigger engined cars being nicked :( should I debadge her or what do ye reckon?

I personally reckon that the coolest cars have big engines but don't shout about it.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,254 ✭✭✭✭beertons

That's a beaut man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Lovely motor, - needs bigger wheels though...:o:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Lovely car, well wear!

I was considering an 07 one of these but it was a paddy spec (cloth interior on a 3.0 quattro A6, really?) before I settled on my 535.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

Where the jealous button??? Nice motor, enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭rocksimmo

Lovely Car. Best of luck with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 Mikehaw

I paid 250e a few years ago for a q7 key. Had to show a copy of my drivers licence so they could order from the factory. When it was delivered they took the jeep for an hour to do coding

I think they there are cheaper ways of getting one these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭thecomedian

A fine motor indeed and nice to see the bigger engine in it.
    Best of luck.

Question guys.. there's what (google tells me) seems to be a GSM phone adapter in the centre armrest. I'm guessing this is why/how the phone book in the MMI was populated.

Is this bluetooth compatible, or can some sort of adapter be gotten to make it compatible with modern phones (Galaxy Note 2 in this case)

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

No lecky seats on a 3.0 TDI is a bit stinge of Audi. Best of luck with her, looks well clean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Question guys.. there's what (google tells me) seems to be a GSM phone adapter in the centre armrest. I'm guessing this is why/how the phone book in the MMI was populated.

Is this bluetooth compatible, or can some sort of adapter be gotten to make it compatible with modern phones (Galaxy Note 2 in this case)

Cheers

your looking for a cradle with bluetooth that fits your phone (iphone 4s example here http://www.ebay.ie/itm/Audi-iPhone-4-Bluetooth-Cradle-Exclusive-/320634159720?pt=UK_Mobile_Home_Phones_Bluetooth_Acc_ET&hash=item4aa7490268 )

I doubt youll get one for the galaxy note 2 , but there may be one for the galaxy S2 or similar that would have the same charging connector and bluetooth on it.

No lecky seats on a 3.0 TDI is a bit stinge of Audi. Best of luck with her, looks well clean.

Yea was surprised at that TBH. My Passat has them sure

Still, I don't plan to let anyone else drive her, so.. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭glynf

Congrats Kaiser, have same engine & quattro setup, you won't be disappointed.

When I got mine it was pre wired for bluetooth-microphone etc. fitted, and there was a blank cradle in the arm rest. Just needed to buy the unit that clips in, this is the one in mine:

no-image-large.gif

I got quoted €600 from a main dealer here, but got it up north in Agnews for about 280 Stg. Give them a buzz or try ebay before you try the crowd down here.

glynf wrote: »
    Congrats Kaiser, have same engine & quattro setup, you won't be disappointed.

When I got mine it was pre wired for bluetooth-microphone etc. fitted, and there was a blank cradle in the arm rest. Just needed to buy the unit that clips in, this is the one in mine:

no-image-large.gif

I got quoted €600 from a main dealer here, but got it up north in Agnews for about 280 Stg. Give them a buzz or try ebay before you try the crowd down here.

Cheers mate.. will check that out in the morning and stick up a pic of what's in mine to see if it's similar to yours if you don't mind? :)

Are there any part numbers I can quote/search for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

Best of luck with it, they are a fine machine :cool:

Now you just need to get a remap and locate a set of S-Line bumpers and 19" S-Line wheels :pac:

Cheers mate.. will check that out in the morning and stick up a pic of what's in mine to see if it's similar to yours if you don't mind? :)

Are there any part numbers I can quote/search for?

Not sure off hand (That pic is off an ad I have up for it.), no access to motor this eve., will be back tomorrow I will let you know the model no. from back of the unit and stick up a pic of the contact layout.

Best of luck with it, they are a fine machine :cool:

Now you just need to get a remap and locate a set of S-Line bumpers and 19" S-Line wheels :pac:

:p No there'll be none of that messing. Bit old for that now!

17" alloys might be nice though - something that suits the size of the car a bit better but not at the cost of a bone-crunching ride.

I'd like to get the windows tinted like the Passat but I rang today and was told that it's a very messy job on these as there's a rubber strip along the edge that ideally should be removed? Any thoughts if I was to bring her down to you...?

Keep the badge, I'd be making sure everyone knows what engine is in it rather than hiding it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,726 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Jealous, I want a big obnoxious luxobarge!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,146 ✭✭✭creedp

CianRyan wrote: »
    Jealous, I want a big obnoxious luxobarge!

Jaysus what's the tax on that yoke!!

Well wear. As I have 3 kids and one on the way I'm stuck with a bloody 7 seater for the foreseeable future. I can only dream!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭thecomedian

There's always one :)

Morning all,

So I was playing around with the buttons and MMI this morning and guess what I discovered.. it DOES have factory bluetooth after all and the Note 2 paired and works from the MFSW/MMI controller just fine. :D

For some reason the previous owner added a Nokia kit as well then? Anyone want it? :p

creedp wrote: »
    Jaysus what's the tax on that yoke!!

I know, that's the one downside it's not cheap!

But when ya break it down it works out at an extra €220 per quarter above what I was paying for my 2.0 TDI Passat

€220 / 90 days = €2.44 extra per day... less than a cup of coffee! (that's how I justify it anyway :p)

There's always one :)

I presume your referring to me? Apologiss for the use of sarcasm!

I know, that's the one downside it's not cheap!

But when ya break it down it works out at an extra €220 per quarter above what I was paying for my 2.0 TDI Passat

€220 / 90 days = €2.44 extra per day... less than a cup of coffee! (that's how I justify it anyway :p)

As I said above I was only taking the perverbial! I don't think the tax is a big issue when you decide to buy a car like that particularly as the price has been discounted to reflect it .. lower depreciation will more than compensate for the higher tax and you get to drive around in a machine that you will get some serious enjoyment from .. that's the part I am having difficulty adjusting to!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Viper_JB

Well wear Kaiser, proper car :), may it bring you many smiles per gallon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Fair play m8. That 3.0 I'm the back of it made my heart smile. You proved that we are not all dead inside yet! :D

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,658 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Lovely motor! Best of luck with it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Lovely car man, love that colour on them. Well wear!

Morning all,

So I was playing around with the buttons and MMI this morning and guess what I discovered.. it DOES have factory bluetooth after all and the Note 2 paired and works from the MFSW/MMI controller just fine. :D

For some reason the previous owner added a Nokia kit as well then? Anyone want it? :p

Good, rip it out, I hate seeing cars like that having aftermarket bluetooth kits when an OEM one was fitted / available , glad its not needed

@ Kaiser,

This is the module used in mine-assume its a similar pin-out on yours though;

IMAG0097_zps3bec8314.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Nice to see someone in Ireland buy an A6 with an interesting engine for once (even if it has the wrong reg) - well wear OP :)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Best of luck with her :)

glynf wrote: »
    @ Kaiser,

This is the module used in mine-assume its a similar pin-out on yours though

Cheers mate. Turns out that the factory system does have bluetooth installed after all so now the question is how do I remove the aftermarket Nokia one that was added for some reason? :confused:

Looks like the aircon unit has to come out and probably everything above it but I'm very reluctant to start pulling the whole dash apart yet.

Any way to disable it in the interim? Nokia CK100 i think it is.

Nice to see someone in Ireland buy an A6 with an interesting engine for once (even if it has the wrong reg) - well wear OP :)!

Ah nooo Cap'n! I know it shouldn't matter but I think a car like this HAS to have the D reg. Shallow I know. :o

No probs, glad you got it going. The cables for these kits usually come out between two differnet pieces of trim..If the nokia kit is fused separately, maybe pull the fuse and cut the wire(s) as close to flush to the dash panel as possible, tape it up and push it back behind same with a small driver.

Cheers mate. Turns out that the factory system does have bluetooth installed after all so now the question is how do I remove the aftermarket Nokia one that was added for some reason? :confused:

Looks like the aircon unit has to come out and probably everything above it but I'm very reluctant to start pulling the whole dash apart yet.

Any way to disable it in the interim? Nokia CK100 i think it is.

youll probably find theres a black box with a few cables coming out of it below the passenger glovebox / up the top of the footwells or similar, it will say nokia on it, just plug out all the cables and it should disable the kit , then if you really dont want it just pull the button out from the dash a bit and cut the cable close with a stanley knife, you can go back and remove the rest at a later point.

Or if your in dublin Ill remove the car kit if I can keep it hah :pac:

youll probably find theres a black box with a few cables coming out of it below the passenger glovebox / up the top of the footwells or similar, it will say nokia on it, just plug out all the cables and it should disable the kit , then if you really dont want it just pull the button out from the dash a bit and cut the cable close with a stanley knife, you can go back and remove the rest at a later point.

Or if your in dublin Ill remove the car kit if I can keep it hah :pac:

Actually as it's no value to me now that I have the factory kit working, if you want to/can take it out cleanly then it's all yours :)

And yes I'm in South Dublin

Actually as it's no value to me now that I have the factory kit working, if you want to/can take it out cleanly then it's all yours :)

And yes I'm in South Dublin

if your going to that meet tomorrow I can bring tools, if not Im around friday day or saturday, give me a pm whenever suits, Ill promise not to damage the new car hah.

PM sent :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭DetectivFoxtrot

Evening all,

Regulars will know I've been promising myself an A6 for a while now.... well, thanks to some changes for the better, she's here!

20130528_173804.jpg

20130528_173902.jpg

20130528_173915.jpg

20130528_173844.jpg

Some specs....

- 2005 Audi A6 3.0 TDI Quattro (225 Bhp)
    - Leather seats
    - Sunroof
    - Parking sensors
    - Full MMI with 6 CD changer (sound is excellent too!)
    - Bluetooth
    - MFSW
    - Auto lights

I feel like Christmas has come early this year! :D

Epic, just epic. Got an A4 2.0TDI recently - love it. Does it have the LED lights? mine doesn't. Only disappointment :(

No LEDs/Xenons unfortunately (I wanted them too!) but she does have Auto lights and coming home functionality which is handy/nice :)

Filled her for the first time yesterday:

20130531_183413.jpg

So about an extra €10/€15 vs my 2L Passat which isn't too bad. Bigger tank in her too.

Range shows as 740km which is about 250km less than the Passat but I'd imagine this will creep up a bit on the open road - depending on how handy I decide to take it :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

Let us know what kms you get from that tank. The tank in my E280CDI is about the same size and I rarely ever get below 1000km out of it, I am doing a lot of long runs though.

Will do George. It'll be getting a 500km motorway run over the weekend so we'll see what's left after that :)