Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fantasy Lions Rugby - ESPNscrum

• 23-05-2013 8:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭

It's only the 4th day since the fantasy season has ended and I'm currently going through withdrawal and have a void in my life that has left me clicking the refresh button in the FSA in the hope that something will happen :eek:

But of course many of you may not have any interest in "soccer" so lets quit this jibberjabber and stop acting like crazy fools. I have an equal interest in Rugby but fantasy football had taken over so rugby had been lost somewhere recently so now is the time to make that right.

I have no idea how this works just yet but I made a team and it looks like you pick 3 forwards and 4 backs in a 7's style situation. I would assume we can make changes in between each match and be able to pick Super Aussie players too. So here's the link:

http://espnscrumgl.fantasyleague.com/Index.aspx

If there's any interest I'm sure we can make an FSA league (Fantasy Sports Arena) and if not then well we won't. Also if anyone finds a better game please let me know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

Oh and the prize for the winner is quite something lads. An Ipad, a Lions OR Aussie Jersey and an ESPN goodie bag. I should've kept this on the down low :pac: Not to fear as 2nd and 3rd get the Jersey AND the goodie bag :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,747 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

Good man, I'm in now, you might have to settle for the goodie bag!

Am I right that we can change our entire team before every game?

To be honest the goodie bag sounds more exciting than an ipad :pac: Yeah I would assume so, if not then this will be a terrible, terrible game. I've just picked 7 Lions so far until I actually read all the rules and scoring etc. I'll look into setting up a private league soon too. That way there may be more than just the 2 of us!

Ok well I set up an FSA league anyway: Here's the pin folks: 23510

I'll sign up later, hopefully it won't just be the two of us, c'mon everyone it only takes a minute or two to set up a team and you can change it as much as you want until the first game at least. The Lions always grab the public interest when it comes to test time, I was in the campervan army in New Zealand in 05(by chance) and it was brilliant, looking forward to this years where we should win it, the game will add a bit of extra craic hopefully. Most of ye will be watching the games anyway.

Sounds like deadly craic, was half thinking of doing something similar this year but well money and the timing were issues.

I think you can make as many transfers every week which makes things easier, doesn't look like there's any Baa-Baa's players to pick from which is a pity considering the Lions players can be selected.

Not sure how serious I'll take it but I'll be watching the matches so may as well add some spice.

I'm in(awaiting approval), come on fellas, lets be havin ye!

Up to 3 in our wolfpack now. Apparently the league needs 3 people for the podium function to come into use so at least we have that :pac:

Lions: S Hogg; A Cuthbert, J Davies, J Roberts, S Maitland; O Farrell, M Phillips; M Vunipola, R Hibbard, A Jones, R Gray, P O'Connell, D Lydiate, J Tipuric, T Faletau.

Subs: T Youngs, C Healy, M Stevens, A W Jones, J Heaslip, C Murray, J Sexton, G North

Lions: S Hogg; A Cuthbert, J Davies, J Roberts, S Maitland; O Farrell, M Phillips; M Vunipola, R Hibbard, A Jones, R Gray, P O'Connell, D Lydiate, J Tipuric, T Faletau.

Subs: T Youngs, C Healy, M Stevens, A W Jones, J Heaslip, C Murray, J Sexton, G North

None of the Leinster or Ulster heads start. A very Welsh looking side which is to be expected and NO captain Warburton.

I was hoping that Dean Mumm (second row for the Baa-Baas) would've been included on the Wallabies players as a sneaky differential but I may have slightly overestimated the sophistication of this game :pac:

Ah lads, we need more than 3 teams in this um.....wonderful, amazingly designed game :eek: First game's tomorrow but ye could potentially get away with joining midweek too......if you want to lose :pac:

I hate to beg but c'mon will ye!!! Just pick 7 players who'll play tomorrow and ye can change them all for next week, literally took me 5 minutes, do me and Prodston a favour and ye might get it back some time;)

I've a feeling I shouldn't use this joke so early but... :pac:

rollingtumbleweed.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,193 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Would have signed up to this but have an upcoming wedding and honeymoon which means I wont have suitable internet access to make it worthwhile

KevIRL wrote: »
    Would have signed up to this but have an upcoming wedding and honeymoon which means I wont have suitable internet access to make it worthwhile

Well as far as I can see there's only one solution....call it all off, NOW. There's only just over 12 hours you can do this :pac:

Nah seriously congratulations and I think we can forgive you on this one :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,193 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Well as far as I can see there's only one solution....call it all off, NOW. There's only just over 12 hours you can do this :pac:

Nah seriously congratulations and I think we can forgive you on this one :)

Well had to get the priorities lined up and make sure the nuptials took place in the FPL off season

Swiper you may want to be sitting down for this as I have great tidings that may interest you. We are up to 5, let me repeat that...5 players now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭swoody

i'll join, just cause i've a fantasy sports addiction. :o

This is looking up, c'mon now lads, last few hours!
    swoody's name is a giveaway but who are the others, hope they're not some wino's that Prodston kidnapped and has locked in his cellar with Micky Turner:eek:

This is looking up, c'mon now lads, last few hours!
    swoody's name is a giveaway but who are the others, hope they're not some wino's that Prodston kidnapped and has locked in his cellar with Micky Turner:eek:

I was thinking they were your wino's :eek: Our propaganda has attracted a solid 4 people, we should be proud :cool:

Mickey Turner would be glad of some company though :pac:

One more waiting to join us, very tight at the top after the first game, it seems to me that we can change our entire teams right up to the minute the games are due to start,

Sickened I didn't keep Mike Phillips, was thinking Hogg was more likely to finish the game getting the extra point :pac:
    Tipuric was robbed on the line too I tells ya :eek:

Well Leigh Halfpenny on kicking duty is unfortunate, compounded by the fact I have him too with Jonny. At the 50 minute stage my gamble of no BOD and Healy over Heaslip don't look all that inspired :pac:

15 points behind already....I never did like this game anyway :pac:

Stupid BOD and Bowe

:(

15 points behind already....I never did like this game anyway :pac:

Stupid BOD and Bowe

:(

I thought I was gonna streak ahead when I saw the try scorers, I had all of them except the subs that scored, the other guy at the top of our league had the same team as me except one. Presume everyone had Sexton as kicker so that doesn't matter, at least Halfpenny got man of the match.
    Glad I'm playing though. although it isn't a very well thought out game where nothing but tries really matter.

I thought I was gonna streak ahead when I saw the try scorers, I had all of them except the subs that scored, the other guy at the top of our league had the same team as me except one. Presume everyone had Sexton as kicker so that doesn't matter, at least Halfpenny got man of the match.
    Glad I'm playing though. although it isn't a very well thought out game where nothing but tries really matter.

Yeah it is a terrible format but then again it'd be difficult to make it much better without putting a lot more effort in.

One thing's for sure, Leigh Halfpenny is going to be 1st choice kicker on tour, a great performance. I had heaslip dropped the tullow tank so not as bad. Guess it was a toss up between Tuilagi/North and Bowe/Bod I tried to use non irish glasses.

It's far from over yet, I mean when we get to the test the points double so if someone had Dan Cole and Paulie and they scored a try or 2 it will really shift the balance.

Top of the league now lads!

Luke Morahan FTW 12 points

I was between Morahan and Tapaui, looks like I chose well :pac:

i had Faingaa as well and when he did that line break i was secretly willing him on, then hogg ruined it all, same with Warburton when he should of scored although thank god he didnt, not to mention Farrell dropping the ball when it was easier to score.

The fantasy element of sport has ruined it for me :pac: I was cursing BOD last week with his 2 try haul as I went for Tuilagi. Once it comes to the actual test matches I'll be in a very confused state :eek:

What happened, I was top of the league when I checked on Saturday evening, was there some change?
    You've a mountain to climb Prodston:pac:
    Oh and who is likely to have kicking duties for the Lions tomorrow? Is there a recognised place kicker in that lineup?

Gatlands said it's gunna be Richie Gray on kicking duties ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,632 ✭✭✭ormond lad

What happened, I was top of the league when I checked on Saturday evening, was there some change?
    Oh and who is likely to have kicking duties for the Lions tomorrow? Is there a recognised place kicker in that lineup?
    Hogg will be place kicker and Is a recognised place kicker, has kicked at club level.

Things have not being going well so far, no Mickey Turner's my downfall :pac:

As for the kicker I could tell you but this is war :eek: and a war that I'm losing :(

There'll be no aussie secret weapons for this one I'm guessing?

swoody wrote: »
    Gatlands said it's gunna be Richie Gray on kicking duties ;)

Although Murray has a decent kick on him too. Ignore any talk of Hogg taking kicks. Some folk around here may be using underhand tactics to claw themselves back into contention :pac:

There'll be no aussie secret weapons for this one I'm guessing?
    nope, just a bunch of randomers....

Nathan Trist, Alex Gibbon, Lewie Catt, Tareta-Junior Siakisini, Tom Cox, Angus Roberts, Michael Snowden, Tim Davidson (captain), Jarrad Butler, Richard Stanford, Blake Enever, Phoenix Battye, Tim Metcher, Josh Mann-Rae, Haydn Hirsimaki.

Replacements: Tom Kearney, Dylan Evans, Rikki Abraham, Rory Arnold, Trent Dyer, Adam McCormack, Shaun McCarthy, Dale Ahwang.

Frustrating game watching your players being taken off one by one till you barely have anyone on the pitch,
    Some ball from Drico for the last try, Juan Mata or Mickey Turner would have been proud of it.

Frustrating game watching your players being taken off one by one till you barely have anyone on the pitch,
    Some ball from Drico for the last try, Juan Mata or Mickey Turner would have been proud of it.

Feckin' BOD, my Murray over Drico was looking inspired for a while and and bam he steps up in the second half.

Still I reckon I've caught up some ground on most bar Swoody today, we'll find out whenever the table refreshes.

handy scores today..... (except for Tipuric, unless he got an assist)

just thought i'd do my lions test starting xv

1/2P
    Cuthbert
    North
    O'Driscoll

Roberts

Sexton

Philips

Heaslip

Tipuric
    O'Brien

Gray--O'Connell

Jones---Hibbard--Vunipola---

Up to 3rd , 1 point behind you now Swiper with Swoody using all his expertise to steamroll ahead. I have you in my sights boy :pac:

Tricky one for tomorrow, Kearney on the bench will have to get at least 30 minutes for Halfpenny, Sexton could be given kicking duties from the start in any case(maybe), I'm tempted to leave Halfpenny out of my team, seems to be more chance of a few others playing the 80 and it takes a lot of conversions to make up for one try, decisions! I assume we'll all have Zebo?

I'm keeping 1/2P I think no guarantee he'd be the one to go off anyway, Zebo may not be able for the full 80 after the flight so Kearney could pop up on the wing, especially as North (one of the two welsh lads anyway I believe?) is likely to miss the first test.

I have Zebo atm but for the reasons above I may switch to Maitland yet. As a proud Munster/Cork man it could be my first clouded judgement.

I'm keeping 1/2P I think no guarantee he'd be the one to go off anyway, Zebo may not be able for the full 80 after the flight so Kearney could pop up on the wing, especially as North (one of the two welsh lads anyway I believe?) is likely to miss the first test.

I have Zebo atm but for the reasons above I may switch to Maitland yet. As a proud Munster/Cork man it could be my first clouded judgement.

right so, i'll drop halfpenny as some sort of differential since we're so close, I think it's unlikely Kearney will get his first game in anything but his best position, if I was Gatland I would want sexton to have some match kicking practice behind him as well so I'm hopeful he'll be on them tomorrow.

Well I clearly know my stuff, what a disaster, everything I did was a fúck up, changed Halfpenny for Phillips, Croft for Wyn Jones and Davies for Maitland, I'm gonna be miles behind.

AW Jones could easily get MOTM, he was immense. Davies has served me well in this game, 2 assists and a try was the real difference between us this week, aside from the 1/2 gamble.

Swoody had Davies too though :( My Mitchell and Dennis look (If only Webb was playing :pac: ) didn't do much but didn't cost me either thankfully.

AW Jones could easily get MOTM, he was immense. Davies has served me well in this game, 2 assists and a try was the real difference between us this week, aside from the 1/2 gamble.

Swoody had Davies too though :( My Mitchell and Dennis look (If only Webb was playing :pac: ) didn't do much but didn't cost me either thankfully.

I have been absolutely blown out of the water, never saw it happening as bad as that, I took the chance on leaving out Halfpenny but it was his two tries that really killed me rather than his kicks, if Phillips had scored two tries and Halfpenny none I would be in a far better position, it will take huge differentials now for me as though the tests are double points the scoring won't be as high, like Fantasy Football there is no joy in this game, just disappointment, you're never happy when things go your way but usually pissed off when it goes wrong for ya:(

I was in a similar place last week, albeit not as big of a gap. However if you find the right differential with the test's you'll be bang right back in it.

There's fleeting moments of joy but we're all stone mad for actually putting ourselves through it. Head up it's far from over yet. Who knows Rory Best might get a hat-trick on tuesday or something similar.

Tomorrow's game is a tricky one to call. I don't particularly fancy this Lions team at all. Any chance that Twelvetrees could be kicking? doubtful I know. Williams will either be hit or miss and I'm edging towards miss. I'm torn between Kearney and hoping Zebo wreaks havoc off the bench.

Well I guess it's as we were give or take a point or two after that. Roll on the big guns and the big points now.