Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Speed Campaign Warning

• 23-05-2013 12:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭

Driving Miss Daisy Day

You have been warned.
    Looks like any long journeys will be cancelled for 31st May...:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Wut?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Why cancel the long journey?

Just start earlier and stick to the speed limit. You'll be grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

Please don't worry , I know a man who can get those points removed for you .... of course you have to vote a certain way , or be famous , or both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

I wont take my car out on the road on that day as I have no NCT/TAX :) On the plus side, its nice to see them out in force

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

I usually travel quite a lot on bank holiday weekends and I rarely see guards on the road, in fact when I hear them say "we will be out in force" I translate it as "we won't be on the roads at all".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

kingtut wrote: »
    I usually travel quite a lot on bank holiday weekends and I rarely see guards on the road, in fact when I hear them say "we will be out in force" I translate it as "we won't be on the roads at all".

I drive over 2000 km per week on average and haven't seen a checkpoint in years.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

kingtut wrote: »

I reckon its code for "Gone to Coppers, will be back on Tuesday, don't do anything bold in the mean time".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I would prefer them to be doing other things like solving crimes

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,632 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Im going to quote your mans name and number if Im ever pulled over. Tell the Gardai to give him a ring as he's a friend of mine. Im sure it'd work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

annascott wrote: »
    Driving Miss Daisy Day

You have been warned.
    Just so we're clear, you're saying that if you can't speed you'll cancel your journey?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

What, the traffic corps?
    That should be interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,041 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Uriel. wrote: »
    Just start earlier and stick to the speed limit
    ....or even drive below the limit. It's not a target.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Drive at 5kph on a motorway and you'll see how wrong you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭pabloh999

Speed vans parked on the quays, aungier st, all over the city centre enforcing 30kmph speed limit IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT!
    Revenue raising effort, nothing more

pabloh999 wrote: »
    Speed vans parked on the quays, aungier st, all over the city centre enforcing 30kmph speed limit IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT!

You know, it's very, very easy indeed to avoid contributing to that "revenue raising".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

Shenshen wrote: »
    You know, it's very, very easy indeed to avoid contributing to that "revenue raising".

Yes , be a member of the social elite in this country and get your points quashed for no good reason.

Davidth88 wrote: »
    Yes , be a member of the social elite in this country and get your points quashed for no good reason.

Never knew I was elite, I always thought I was just a lowly immigrant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

The "I have a car - leave me alone" brigade out in force again I see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Driving Miss Daisy Day

You have been warned.

You'll find the same statements being made on bank holidays in the summer and coming up to Christmas,if they have any effect or not or if they're actually out in force who knows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭Meritocracy Wins

If you stay within the speed limit, you won't have an issue. Beggars belief that people have an issue with this simple fact.
    It shows respect for other road users.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

cournioni wrote: »
    I reckon its code for "Gone to Coppers, will be back on Tuesday, don't do anything bold in the mean time".

or perhaps "force" is some nightclub known only to the guards :eek:
    lucky feckers !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭BeardySi

pabloh999 wrote: »

Ah yes, that time when traffic is light enough for cars to go fast enough to do damage and there's lots of folks stumbling about after leaving pubs.....

how dare they....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

So driving below the limit = driving at a snail's pace :confused:

I heard them talking about this on Crimecall, they're asking people to treat the speed limit as the maximum speed they will do rather than using it as a target and going over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭Meritocracy Wins

Seriously, who in their right mind would go on a motorway and drive at 5kph?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,909 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

It would also be a help if they caught the boyracers doing doughnoughts on the roads every weeked.

The roads do be black every monday morning, but I suppose it's easier to sit in the cop car with a speed gun out the window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

I'm not really understanding - They are enforcing the rules of the road for 24 hrs on the 31st of May? What is it they're doing every other day? :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Gosub

I'm not really understanding - They are enforcing the rules of the road for 24 hrs on the 31st of May? What is it they're doing every other day? :/
    Taking over the world, Pinky. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

They are the police, not matlock :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

( •_•)

"So you don't know how fast you were going? I guess that means..

( •_•)>⌐■-■

I can write anything I want on the ticket...."

(⌐■_■)

Yeeeeeeaaaaaaahhhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭stevedublin

( •_•)

"So you don't know how fast you were going? I guess that means..

( •_•)>⌐■-■

I can write anything I want on the ticket...."

(⌐■_■)

Yeeeeeeaaaaaaahhhhh

The guards would need some sort of proof a car was travelling at the speed alleged on the ticket rather than making something up.
    We live in a democracy, where the police force are accountable
    ....although watching the news recently............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,711 ✭✭✭C.K Dexter Haven

It would also be a help if they caught the boyracers doing doughnoughts on the roads every weeked.

Mmmmm...Donuts!

The roads do be black every monday morning, but I suppose it's easier to sit in the cop car with a speed gun out the window.

If they happen upon them I'm sure they would stop them otherwise it's hard to know how they could catch them .

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

kneemos wrote: »
    If they happen upon them I'm sure they would stop them otherwise it's hard to know how they could catch them .
    This kinda stuff goes on in well known spots on an ongoing basis. Ditto with joyriding scum and many of these s. They could make a dent in the scums activities. Why dont they? Resources are low and the will among their upper ranks is lacking. Plus if they catch a scumbag the little bastard is usually out after a court appearance, usually after many court appearances. Then again if I refuse to pay my TV licence... I don't blame the Garda on the ground they have a shítty job and the majority are on the ball(though you get some real dense ones, but that's the same in any walk of life), but yea the political will aint there. Much easier to target the normally law abiding Sean Citizen, where results will be seen.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

More people die every year from speeding than die from doughnuts being done an a back country road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Killing someone because of dangerous driving is a crime.

Prevention is better than cure and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

If you are on a good N road with a 100kph limit and potter along at 70 ish kph then you are an inconsiderate nuisance. It is as simple as that really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

We live in a democracy, where the police force are accountable

( •_•)

Were not here to practice democracy; we're here to uphold it.

( •_•)>⌐■-■

You should take account of that.

(⌐■_■)

Yeeeeeeaaaaaaahhhhh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Gosub

If you are on a good N road with a 100kph limit and potter along at 70 ish kph then you are an inconsiderate nuisance. It is as simple as that really.
    No, it's not.

Normally I'm right up there pushing the limits. GPS speed not speedo readings. But sometimes, when I'm not in a hurry, I might just fancy pottering along at 70 or 80. If I do this I will watch my mirrors and slide into the hard shoulder to let the busy poeple get past. If I can't get out of the way, I'll speed up until I can.

We're all road users with equal rights. Your need for speed all the time doesn't trump my need to just chill out and enjoy my drive. Lack of consideration works both ways.

It amazes me how many people think that everyone must conform to their thinking or they're inconsiderate. What if I wanted to force you to conform to my norms, would you like that? Don't think so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

I drive over 2000 km per week on average and haven't seen a checkpoint in years.

I only drive 3,000 miles a year and go through easily one a month. I must be in a checkpoint hotspot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Driving Miss Daisy Day

You have been warned.

That is an insult to everyone who has been killed or injured by speeding drivers.

The Guards should get a 10,000 watt PA system, and a copy of 'Crash' by The Primitives. Every time a speeder passes by they belt out

na na na na na
    slow down you're gonna crash
    na na na na na

That would be cool.:)

I only drive 3,000 miles a year and go through easily one a month. I must be in a checkpoint hotspot.
    What's a hotspot not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Everyone here who's saying "just don't speed" is very clearly missing the point which is that vast, vast numbers of Irish motorists would appear to be in general consensus that a lot of speed limits are too low and should be altered. If they weren't unreasonable I doubt you'd see so many people b!tching about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Just floor her on the straights and break hard into the corners. Can't get done that way...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Everyone here who's saying "just don't speed" is very clearly missing the point which is that vast, vast numbers of Irish motorists would appear to be in general consensus that a lot of speed limits are too low and should be altered. If they weren't unreasonable I doubt you'd see so many people b!tching about them.
    I presume the mail boxes of TDs across the country are overflowing with letters of protest. With an issue like this affecting such a huge segment of the voting populous I'm sure you won't be waiting long to see change.

• Site Banned Posts: 124 ✭✭The Queen of England

I've no problems with people driving too slowly or people driving too quickly. The slow ones, you can overtake, the fast ones can overtake you. Everyone's happy.

What I do do have a problem with however, is the idiots who tailgate the slow cars with absolutely no intention of overtaking them or leaving you enough room for to overtake without taking two or more cars at once.

And the worst thing is that they seem to travel in drones, like idiotic lemmings all stuck behind the slow driver. Those fuckers should be banned from driving for life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Vast numbers of irish motorists think they're immune to being in an accident.

What eveidence do you have to say they're unreasonable?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

SV wrote: »
    More people die every year from speeding than die from doughnuts being done an a back country road.

The road I see the marks on isn't a back country road.

You'll see them all over the country mostly at junctions but they're done I'd imagine when no ones around.

kneemos wrote: »
    You'll see them all over the country mostly at junctions but they're done I'd imagine when no ones around.

Yeah they do it at night when the roads are quiet.