Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

should children pay road tax?

• 21-05-2013 1:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭

well If cyclists are being though of, lots of kids cycle to they will if you get your way ;)

should they? 36 votes

no, thats more rediculous than cyclists being asked to pay
    0% 0 votes
    yes, Ive no kids so bite me
    100% 36 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Deer as well, think they're entitled to everything the bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

How about a tax on children instead!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

About time this issue was raised! Pesky kids. Jumping up and down every time they see a red light...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,182 ✭✭✭✭listermint

But there is no road tax in this country, unless you are refering to the road tolls. Sure what would kids be doing on motorways...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Fat kids should pay more because they destroy the roads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

Only the ones who use a peg and a piece of cardboard on the spokes to simulate the noise of an engine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

listermint wrote: »
    But there is no road tax in this country, unless you are refering to the road tolls. Sure what would kids be doing on motorways...

same thing cyclists are doing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

Only the fat ones should be used to plug potholes,all the others,60% of their phone credit .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

There should be a tax on tax. Anyone who pays any kind of tax, tax the bastards out of it. That'll learn them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Anyone wrote: »
    Only the ones who use a peg and a piece of cardboard on the spokes to simulate the noise of an engine.

What about the crushed coke can?

Actually, not if they're still on a strider. No pedals, no tax. When they progress to a 'proper' bike though, double! Stabilisers count as wheels. Four wheels, double tax.

While we're on the subject, what about a skateboard tax?

endacl wrote: »
    Actually, not if they're still on a strider. No pedals, no tax. When they progress to a 'proper' bike though, double! Stabilisers count as wheels. Four wheels, double tax.

While we're on the subject, what about a skateboard tax?

walking tax?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭dodderangler

donvito99 wrote: »
    Deer as well, think they're entitled to everything the bastards.

Don't forget jellyfish
    Them whack invertebrates will sting you old schoo!l

frag420 wrote: »
    How about a tax on children instead!!

there is, its called pocket money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,661 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

People who drink too much and vomit on the street should pay as should those that stand in the middle of the path and make every walk around them and mothers with double buggies all should pay road tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I've said it before, at the very least bikes should be registered, and if you keep getting caught breaking red lights you should lose your right to cycle it just as you would to drive if you kept breaking the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Children find the term 'kids' offensive because its un-PC and rhymes with 'dustbin lids'. They should be called 'maturity challenged'.

I've said it before, at the very least bikes should be registered, and if you keep getting caught breaking red lights you should lose your right to cycle it just as you would to drive if you kept breaking the law.

Try to stay in the spirit of the tone of the discussion. We're finally taking that point seriously! Stop yer messin' now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Bicycle VRT

iDave wrote: »
    Children find the term 'kids' offensive because its un-PC and rhymes with 'dustbin lids'. They should be called 'maturity challenged'.

I'm 'maturity challenged' at 39. I don't rhyme with 'dustbin lid'. Exactly what point is it you're trying to make?!?

challenged implies, disability, the full PC term would be "maturity differently abled"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,661 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

I agree riding's not a right it's a privilege.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭PerrDub

"Daddy engine" tax on kid's balance bikes!

Though I swear this frickkin country is obsessed with tax, thanks Herr Merkel!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

Tax increases....Tax Increases Everywhere!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

Don't you just hate pants???

PerrDub wrote: »
    "Daddy engine" tax on kid's balance bikes!

Though I swear this frickkin country is obsessed with tax, thanks Herr Merkel!
    Frau.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,033 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Anyone wrote: »

Killjoy .... Who spoiled your childhood ....
    Tax the deer, tax fat kids , tax fat horses , tax all the walkers and slow joggers, tax bikes , more tax on tractors... Just don't tax me anymore

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

Markcheese wrote: »
    Killjoy .... Who spoiled your childhood ....
    Tax the deer, tax fat kids , tax fat horses , tax all the walkers and slow joggers, tax bikes , more tax on tractors... Just don't tax me anymore

"tax doesnt have to be taxing"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Isn't there a dedicated cycling forum for this kind of crazed whining?

anncoates wrote: »
    Isn't there a dedicated cycling forum for this kind of crazed whining?

There is indeed. The 'road tax' sh1te tends to get shot down more efficiently there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

What next...'should cats pay road tax?'

Freeloading b*stards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

What is this "road tax" you speak of? Source?
    Is it different to motor tax paid by motorists?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

There should be a punitive tax on the sale of lycra cycling clothes to middle-aged, overweight and elderly people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,488 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

If I grow a tree in the garden, do I get an exemption from the water tax as my garden is providing oxygen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

They'll be taxing the chicken next...........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

Let the bears pay the bear tax! I pay the Homer tax!

That’s the home-owner’s tax.

Unintelligent people should have to pay a levy.

Call it the TicTacs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Unregistered.

In before "motor tax"!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

I'm outta here before we have an influx of hard done by boardsies from the parenting forum venting their spleen and insisting it's childrens allowance and not childrens benefit payments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭Mince Pie

I demand a badger tax! My bumper is ragged because of em and I demand retribution!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

I say they should pay a Kerb Tax if they wanna play Kerbs

As 'freechildren on the land' they haven't consented to enter into a kerb tax agreement with the state. Man overboard!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

at the very least bikes should be registered, and if you keep getting caught breaking red lights you should lose your right to cycle it just as you would to drive if you kept breaking the law.
    Would you suggest you similarly lose the right to walk if caught jaywalking? which is one of the most prevalent laws broken in this country. Maybe force them to use wheelchairs or something?
    Why I hate pedestrians

You know what I hate? Pedestrians. That self-satisfied, striding, boot-bedecked bunch of scum. Is it just me, or does the country suddenly seem to be full of them? I've never tried walking anywhere myself -- why would I? I'm a successful adult -- but it seems I can hardly travel down the street these days without one of them stepping off the pavement in front of me without looking, their face set in a holier-than-thou expression as they jump out of the way of my car in a burst of expletives. Something clearly needs to be done, and it's good that the government are starting to realise this.

The thing is, it's not just that pedestrians are all smug and annoying when they bang on about "health" and "pollution". That's sickening enough, but if their smugness was the only problem I could just ignore them - after all, they and their silly 'shoes' flash past quick enough when I get going, and their smugness can't penetrate my car's tinted windows. But the thing is there's more to it than that, because have you noticed that even though pedestrians walk millions of miles on our road system every single day, they contribute nothing at all to the cost of that road system? They have thousands and thousands of miles of dedicated pedestrian-only travel routes -- pavements, they're called, or sidewalks if you're that way inclined -- which they don't pay a penny for! Whilst honest motorists are taxed left, right and centre, they don't pay anything at all for all these facilities they enjoy. It beggars belief.

And recently, of course, it's got worse. As I'm driving up the street I constantly come across pedestrians walking across my part of the road to get from one of these pavements to another. I mean, what the hell...? Do they want the shirt off my back as well? They've been given vast tracts of pedestrian-only routes, where I'm certainly not allowed to drive, but apparently this isn't enough for them. Oh no, they want to keep encroaching into my space as well. Sure, we've all heard these walking zealots who say that it's because the 'pavements' don't form a joined-up network, meaning they can't walk to where they want to go without having to step onto the road from time to time. Aw, bless their little hearts. To pedestrians I say this: get off my part of the road. If you walk there when I'm coming along then I'll happily run you down, that's all.

In the long term there's clearly only one solution to all this. If pedestrians want to walk on our streets, which we pay for with all our driving taxes, then they need to pay their share and take their part of the responsibility. Anybody who walks anywhere should undergo training, should have to pay an annual tax towards the facilities they enjoy, should display a license plate so they can be identified, and should each be made to carry insurance in case they are ever involved in any accidents. Until then, they can sod off back to Shoeville or wherever it is they go when they aren't freeloading off the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Let the roads pay the road tax, I pay the Homer tax.

Point of order! We don't have jaywalking laws here. We should, but we don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Point of order! We don't have jaywalking laws here. We should, but we don't.
    We certainly do have jaywalking laws here (thats just a colloquial term for them). I know a guy who was done for it.

The fact you (any no doubt many others) think we don't have laws about it just goes to show how prevalent, unenforced & accepted it is. It is unenforced in many cases by most gardai, as are many cycling offences, both with good reason, only an idiot would not realise why, or a pedantic gobshite feigning ignorance.

Since most people do use their feet for transport they don't moan about "one of their own". Most whingers are repressed bigots who can't openly whinge about some other prejudice they used enjoy, like exclaiming hatred about people because of their sex, religion or skin colour, these are not fair game any more, but they think peoples mode of transport is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭returnNull

Try to stay in the spirit of the tone of the discussion. We're finally taking that point seriously! Stop yer messin' now!

I hear ye endacl,there's always one

Oh. So we do. I missed the 1997 act. As it happens it seems to be in enforceable, rather than unenforced...

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/loophole-means-jaywalkers-escape-prosecution-26254447.html

My mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

IM0 wrote: »
    well If cyclists are being though of, lots of kids cycle to they will if you get your way ;)

It's almost as ridiculous as spelling ridiculous 'rediculous'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,033 ✭✭✭Markcheese

My nan was one of the few people to ever get done for Jay walking In cork city... Must have been when the law first came in , but I think it was in the early 70's ...... She was horrified....

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦