Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Season 3: Episode 8 * Have READ the books/SPOILERS

• 19-05-2013 9:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Episode 8, Second Sons, airs tonight in the US

Dany meets the Titan's Bastard and Daario, Stannis "The Maniss", Tyrion looks resigned to his match, Arya attempts reconstructive surgery on the Hound's face, Gendry has his bodily fluids used to "make kings rise and fall", Samwell meets someone with cold hands and Joffrey is apparently hard of hearing.

Interesting that after Gilly says, "Don't go out there", we next see Sam with a torch with another Night's Watchman in the background. Is tonight Sam the Slayer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

They also have a week off next week for Memorial Day weekend. Last year they went ahead and put the episode out even thought it was a holiday weekend, and they lost a bunch of viewers or something.
    There will be a two-week break between "Second Sons" and "The Rains of Castamere", due to the Memorial Day holiday on May 26th in the United States. Since HBO is a premium channel, they usually don't bother skipping holiday weeks as network and cable broadcasters do. However, "Blackwater" aired over Memorial Day in 2012 and took a slight dip in TV ratings, so HBO opted to just take the week off for Season 3.

Wonder if they'll have an extra juicy cliffhanger to end on given that there's a week off?

Edit: Having checked the episode descriptions on the show's wiki, we'll be getting A wedding but we'll have to wait two weeks for the wedding we all want to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Finally, Sam got his redemption. I'll admit it worked better that they did it this way.
    Thought the wedding was great - Tyrion had some fantastic lines this week.
    Thought the Melissandre/Gendry thing worked really well. I like how they've changed that storyline.
    Daario is cool - I had pictured him completely differently when reading the books. For some reason I imagined him more like a Danny Dyer type.
    Great improvement on last week, which apart from the scene with the Bear, was really slow compared to the rest of the season.

Great episode. Some of Tyrion's lines were fantastic "I'm the god of tits and wine" We all wish we were Tyrion, we all wish were!

Liked Cersei's explanation of the "Rains of Castamere" prior to next week's episode. I cannot wait for those bloody drums and then that realization that Rob is truly ****ed. I wonder will non book readers pick up on the leeches and Stannis saying those 3 names.

I like the casting of Daario fits the part, I wonder will they even do the duel scene at all.... I really hope they do was one I enjoyed in the book and reminded me of something out of "Troy" while reading it!

Roll on next week it's going to be epic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Retrovertigo

Excellent episode, Tyrion really stole the show and we finally get Sam the Slayer although from the episode description I was really expected coldhands to appear. Nice bit of misdirection from the writers.

Looking at the promo for the next episode it's looks like absolutely nothing is given away regarding the RW, I can't wait to see peoples reaction to that. I'm sure youtube will be full of reaction videos from non book readers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭beardedmaster

Nice bitta naked Dany. Thought we weren't going to get any of that anymore :pac:

Fantastic episode in general though. Sam the Slayer and the wedding were done marvelously.
    It's gonna be a long two weeks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,027 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Sansa kneeled :eek:

Episode wasn't too bad, didn't need the stupid Melisandre sex/leech thing, that was just pointless. I hate them, but I expected Robb and Cat to be in this episode considering the next one.

Also, might have just been me but the CGI at the end was awful. Other going to shards, the sword shattering, and the crows flying at the camera all looked terrible.

I actually thought the CGI at the end was class!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭rcazzy

Although it was a change, I liked having Sansa smile with Tyrion when he explained that he would not hurt her and how they're kinda in the same boat, and the kneeling didn't bother me as she trusted him as someone at least partly decent. Tyrion's threat to Joffrey was ferocious and brilliant.

No Coldhands, but I suspect they'll have Sam and Gilly attacked by Rast and Coldhands saves them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

titan18 wrote: »
    Also, might have just been me but the CGI at the end was awful. Other going to shards, the sword shattering, and the crows flying at the camera all looked terrible.

I thought that too. The Other shattering was OK and the crows weren't too bad, just a little OTT. The sword shattering looked terrible though, they should have just had the steel freezing and Sam dropping it.

Overall, it was a very good episode. There were no boring scenes which some thought about last week.

Gonna watch season 2 over the next two weeks to get my fix until the RW episode. The non-readers thread should be good :D

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 10,005 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

SaulGoode9 wrote: »
    Gonna watch season 2 over the next two weeks to get my fix until the RW episode. The non-readers thread should be good :D

Can't wait to see the reaction to that incident............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

Did I miss something or did they merge the Second Sons and Stormcrows into 1 group in the show ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭hootietootie

Eeekkk this is the episode I'm in!! Can finally show people the pictures. Was a great wedding:D

Daario does not have an oily brightly dyed beard, and doesn't come across as slimy as he does in the books. He still has his naked woman swordhilts though, so overall I think it's an improvement :P

Tyrion & Sansa's wedding always made me feel really sad, it was handled well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭mariebeth

I also thought the wedding was handled really quite well, I had the same cringey feeling that I had when reading the chapter, especially when Joffrey took the steps and Tyrion couldn't reach Sansa. I'm kind of glad though that she knelt, Tyrion is a decent character, and didn't need to be made into an even bigger fool by the whole event. Some great one liners as well.

The drums at the end, it's giving me goosebumps for the next episode. I wonder will non-readers catch on to the whole leeches scene? It was kind of buried in the episode, so it could be a scene that may be forgotten about, although semi naked Gendry would be hard to forget!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,027 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Jelle1880 wrote: »
    Did I miss something or did they merge the Second Sons and Stormcrows into 1 group in the show ?

Ya, they did, but even I don't care about that. Second Sons are the more important ones, Stormcrows are meh

titan18 wrote: »
    Ya, they did, but even I don't care about that. Second Sons are the more important ones, Stormcrows are meh

Wonder what will happen to Brown Ben Plumm and him turning traitor on Dany...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

is it sad that my second fave thing is reading the non spoliered threads

look :D
    Bedding ceremonies and copious amounts of wine. The people of Westeros throw a fine wedding :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,602 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Didn't like the episode up to the wedding reception. The Tyrells just don't look like that much of a threat without Mace or at least more of a presence than a young girl, her gay brother and an old woman as their representatives. Sansa didn't look nearly as unhappy as she should have too. Really don't know what to think of Gendry at the moment either.

The reception was brilliant though and I liked Daario and Dany's scene. The scene with the white walker was good too. Haven't seen the Tullys near enough this season to care about them, thought they'd get some time in this one. Davos' importance to Stannis was handled well too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Not much setting up for next week but I suppose it's going to be wall to wall RW.

From here: Robb presents himself to Walder Frey, and Edmure meets his bride. Jon faces his harshest test yet. Bran discovers a new gift. Daario and Jorah debate how to take Yunkai. House Frey joins with House Tully.

So I'm guessing there'll be bits and pieces about the others but they'll devote all of the last 30-45 minutes to the RW.

Didn't think the last scene was great.
    I can't remember. Did the dragonglass dagger break when Sam used it in the books? Bit stupid leaving it behind.

Don't really like the direction they took with the white walkers. They look too much like old frozen dead guys and not ethereal enough for my liking.

All in all was good - short scene with Hound and Arya, quite good, although Sandor is maybe slightly too cuddly.
    The wedding scenes were really good. The withering look Tywin gave to yer man laughing in the crowd was legendary.

The only problem is stupid yanks making us wait 2 weeks!:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭GoodBridge

Eeekkk this is the episode I'm in!! Can finally show people the pictures. Was a great wedding:D

Pics?!

Hope he was the lad on the receiving end of one of these :pac:

tywin-lannister-1024.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

That's not the Daario I grew to despise because Dany would never shut the hell up about his lovely blue eyes! I agree he doesn't seem all that slimy at all. The hell is his blue beard?! Who's the actor? as I got the sense he was an Australian surfer in another lifetime. He also looked like Jaqen which I can see non-readers picking up on? :pac:

Finally Sam did the deed and I really enjoyed it. I had no issue with any of the effects I thought they were all done well. Full sure Coldhands was turning up when all the crows appeared. Enjoyed Sam and Gilly just having a conversation about the boy.

The wedding was good craic too. Joffrey being sufficiently evil with the step ladder :D Of all this Tyrion/Sansa/Shae love triangle going on I really hope we get to see Shae for what she was in the end. I don't want anyone to feel an iota of pity for her when Tyrion comes a callin' for papa.

The Gendry plot is working pretty well so far, I was genuinely intrigued with where it was all going that I nearly didn't notice Mellisandre's cracking bod for a minute :pac: It was nicely buried within the episode too although once Robb falls and we get word of Balon everyone will be waiting gleefully for Joff. When reading the book I didn't pay much attention to the prophecy/spell after another chapter or so until sometime later I went, "huh? they're all dead"

And now we wait....

Is it 2 weeks time yet? :pac:

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,530 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

I'm glad they've let Sansa have a bit of empathy for Tyrion in the show, she came off horribley in those chapters in the book.The wedding scene was great. Was good to see joffrey being a bastard again.

When they cut straight from leeches to the wedding I thought they were going to off Joffrey this week!

Daario is a git just like he is in the books although he seems like he's from Westeros in the show, wish they had a bit more consistency when casting non-westerosi characters. Other than that I liked his portrayal though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭Bessarion

Jelle1880 wrote: »

I suppose it was easier for a TV audience to grasp (I am speaking in terms of time constraints than intelligence here) same situation with the chopper of Jamie's hand, Vargo Hoat does not appear in the TV series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭thehairyone

So so episode. Improvement on last week though. Not surpised they had Sansa kneel, although i think she is taking the whole marriage to tyrion thing too well. at this stage in the book she is a broken woman/child and all seems lost. which makes her refusal to kneel in the book seem that more braver. the only really act of rebellion she could carry out.
    The wedding was good craic too. Joffrey being sufficiently evil with the step ladder :D Of all this Tyrion/Sansa/Shae love triangle going on I really hope we get to see Shae for what she was in the end. I don't want anyone to feel an iota of pity for her when Tyrion comes a callin' for papa.

I have a feeling the shae/tyrion scenario will not play out like it does in the books. i think tywin will have shae killed rather than bed her, which will drive tyrion mad. id prefer for it to stick to the books, but shae is too likeable in the show for tyrion to be the one to kill her.

agree with others regarding daario, not sleazy/slimey enough but will give him a few episodes before i make up my mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

Good episode.

Fianally we got Sam the Slayer. no issues here with the CGI at the end. Is it only me thinking that the white walker looked like Charles Dance? :confused:

Some good liners too from Tyrion "My Lord father wants someone to be fúcked. I can think of where to begin" -or something like that- :D And he collapses

I'm quite disppointed with Daario. Yeah, he's cocky but meh.

Now two weeks to wait. But worth the episode and the reactions on the non readers thread <insert evil laugh>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭KonFusion

Thats not Daario. :(

Cracking episode otherwise!

GoodBridge wrote: »
    Pics?!

That's me in the green dress to the right of Cersei, theres a few others that need resizing

969006_10151463806113691_660393183_n.jpg

How does one get involved in this hootietootie? I would thoroughly enjoy being an extra for Joffrey's wedding so i could shout **** as he chokes :D

I'm hoping for a wee visit there too-I was sat with the Tyrells at the feast, (haven't seen it yet cause himself is away til Thursday)
    Sign up with ExtrasNI.com, upload a photo and sit and watch the phone for months!!! I signed up in June, didn't get a call til September. Think filming starts July

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭Daith

While I thought Cersei was a bit heavy handed I did think it helped with the misdirection of the song. Hell I keep forgetting that there's supposed to be a war going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 AthenaA

Great episode, much more exciting than the last one which was a bit slower than usual. Loved the wedding, most depressing wedding ever! Tyrion was brilliant. Great scene with the leeches too, wonder if non-readers will make the connection between the three names and the deaths to come.
    Quite annoying that there's no episode next weekend, with all the talk that the next episode will contain the RW I was looking forward to it. Then again.. RW is kinda an event you are both looking forward to see and at the same time not. Reading it was absolutely dreadful. I went all WTF George Martin!!! on the train. I know plenty of people who threw the book across the room and left it there for a week :D I heard they aren't leaving out all the gruesome sewing Grey Wind's head on details. Not sure if I'm looking forward to that bit! The Purple Wedding will be next season I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I finished reading the third book so am now in the strange place where the season can't be spoiled for me but upcoming events can so I dont wanna be in here too much. Gonna start book 4 asap though.

I can't wait to see my housemates head explode as the Red Wedding happens, I'm not sure it will have the same impact as in the book though as Robb hasn't really done much this season aside from sit around tents, he's much better in the book. I genuinely sat there open mouthed reading that chapter, and read it again straight after, should make for phenomenal tv if they get it right.

you'd forget the kingdoms are at war for the majority of it, last season everything was building to a battle this season isnt. Sucks to see blatant book readers dropping events in as conjecture yet again in the "not read" thread. Wonder will they show Balon Greyjoy's demise or will it just be mentioned in passing, considering he was a pretty prominent character in season two for a few episodes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭Daith

AthenaA wrote: »
    I heard they aren't leaving out all the gruesome sewing Grey Wind's head on details. Not sure if I'm looking forward to that bit! The Purple Wedding will be next season I believe.

I love Grey Wind :( No opinion really of Robb but I'm going hate seeing this happen. Grey Wind hopefully will get some moment to shine next episode.

Purple wedding almost makes up for it but I was gutted after reading RW

Daith wrote: »
    I love Grey Wind :( No opinion really of Robb but I'm going hate seeing this happen. Grey Wind hopefully will get some moment to shine next episode.

Purple wedding almost makes up for it but I was gutted after reading RW

the whole weddings aspect of the book was brilliant, from sadness with Tyrion and Sansa to shock with Robb and Cateyln to overwhelming joy with Joffrey :pac: I'll kinda miss the little sh1t as he was such a good character to hate, but watching him die will be brilliant. Tommen hasn't really been in it at all since Cersei was about to poison him in the Blackwater episode has he? You'd nearly forget he's even in it at this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 AthenaA

Yea RW is horrendous, nobody expects it. I'd say twitter and facebook will explode after the episode with angry non-readers. A lot of people love Robb, killing him off in such a way and then doing such foul things with his body.. George Martin already said he is considering fleeing to a country with no tv's or internet for a while :D Also heart-wrenching I thought was when Catelyn told the guy with the knife at her throat not to cut off her hair as Ned loved her hair.
    I wonder though, will they show Undead Cat before the season is up? I was seriously confused when that happened in the book. And she's never really mentioned again in the later books, so I'm really wondering when she's going to reappear and what exactly she will do. The last two books were really slow I found, nothing huge really happened.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,530 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Yea RW is horrendous, nobody expects it. I'd say twitter and facebook will explode after the episode with angry non-readers. A lot of people love Robb, killing him off in such a way and then doing such foul things with his body.. George Martin already said he is considering fleeing to a country with no tv's or internet for a while :D Also heart-wrenching I thought was when Catelyn told the guy with the knife at her throat not to cut off her hair as Ned loved her hair.
    I wonder though, will they show Undead Cat before the season is up? I was seriously confused when that happened in the book. And she's never really mentioned again in the later books, so I'm really wondering when she's going to reappear and what exactly she will do. The last two books were really slow I found, nothing huge really happened.

Hard to know, I think since they've gave the Brotherhood a fairly big part this season they intend to have them involved in the show from here on out, having said that they might ditch them next season much the way they've ditched anything that's happening in the Iron Islands this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

I just read this on the other thread
    Wonder how Rob will react to the hound showing up to the twins with Arya?

hahahaaa Is it evil to wait for their reaction? Two weeks to meltdown :D

Barna77 wrote: »
    I just read this on the other thread

hahahaaa Is it evil to wait for their reaction? Two weeks to meltdown :D

Yeah but one or two have pretty much spelled out that everyone Stannis mentioned with the leeches will probably get offed. Thought that scene gave too much away imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

its getting a bit obvious that the sh1t is going to happen. Rob and missus are too happy all going great for them as a couple so clear that something gonna happen. Joffrey being a complete arse to make everyone hate him even more and sansa and tyrion so forlorn..Tywin has made them all sad...i cant wait to see GFs face after next episode in 2 weeks!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

As an aside, people who misuse the word 'filler' should be beheaded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

What'd be more hilarious at this stage is if they changed it so that Robb doesn't die at the Red Wedding, nor Cat etc. The nerd-rage would probably destroy the world.

As an aside, people who misuse the word 'filler' should be beheaded.

I don't think this season has had much of it tbh, everything is character development, I was chatting to someone who said the scene last week between Joffrey and Tywin in the throne room was a filler scene, eh seriously? That one scene showed just who Tywin was and how little he'll put up with from Joffrey. and the scene at the wedding again where he was fit to kill Tyrion and Tywin defused the whole thing with two lines of dialogue. A ruthless bastard he may be but what a fantastic character Tywin is.

They can't have her too decomposed.

I reckon one of the last scenes will be Dondarrion shooing away a wolf from the shore (with a nod to
    Nymeria's pack
    ) and giving his zombie-energy to Cat.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

krudler wrote: »
    I don't think this season has had much of it tbh, everything is character development, I was chatting to someone who said the scene last week between Joffrey and Tywin in the throne room was a filler scene, eh seriously? That one scene showed just who Tywin was and how little he'll put up with from Joffrey. and the scene at the wedding again where he was fit to kill Tyrion and Tywin defused the whole thing with two lines of dialogue.
    Exactly my point. Apparently an episode where Sam kills a White Walker, Sansa and Tyrion get married, tensions in King's Landing get stepped up yet another notch, Davos is freed and gets to watch Melisandre make another spell with Gendry's blood, the Hound tells us he's taking Arya home, and Dany gets more allies and 2000 fricking cavalry is... 'filler'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

Exactly my point. Apparently an episode where Sam kills a White Walker, Sansa and Tyrion get married, tensions in King's Landing get stepped up yet another notch, Davos is freed and gets to watch Melisandre make another spell with Gendry's blood, the Hound tells us he's taking Arya home, and Dany gets more allies and 2000 fricking cavalry is... 'filler'.

I saw that alright :mad: well good news is that the next episode might pass as an acceptable one :pac:

I mean even just seeing a White Walker, let alone killing one surely makes an episode even if the other 50 minutes involved Podrick doing "Gangnam Style" from one side of Kings Landing to the other :pac:

I think the show is a victim of the size of it's cast.

Parts feel like filler because most scenes are only little morsels.

It would seriously benefit from a binge session of watching a whole series at a time.

Gbear wrote: »

It would seriously benefit from a binge session of watching a whole series at a time.

I have no idea why they didn't make this a longer season. If they had split SoS into 3 seasons even it's another year that they can drag out before the books are caught. This is the only real problem with HBO, their lack of commercials mean they can't give things the budgets that they need whereas some of the other networks would be making a bomb off ad revenue so would be more open to longer seasons. Banshee which I've been watching a bit of GoT has as many dodgy scenes and that's not an HBO show for instance, HBO have their reputation and they have made a lot of the best shows out there but this budget constraint is really holding back the quality of the show imo. 10 hours is not enough for what they try to cram in.

Gbear wrote: »

That's how I watched season one and rewatched season 2 and they do flow together much better without the week gap, the stories don't seem as spaced out when you're ploughing through the episodes, I really wish they had even 12-13 eps a season though it'd give all the stories a bit of breathing room. I only finished the third book and there's a lot to happen yet, three major character deaths, a couple of minor ones, the giants and turtle at the wall, rounding up a good few stories, I dunno how they're going to cram it all into 2 episodes without skipping stuff or leaving it run over to next season.