Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Late Late Show Friday 17th May

• 16-05-2013 8:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭

Kelly McDonagh Mongan will be on to chat about life after the Voice of Ireland, sing us a song, and to show off Baby Bernie.

I betcha Ryan won't lift this little guy if he is asleep. Don't ever again wake a sleeping baby Ryan. :)

Edit : See Skid's post below for extra details concerning Amanda Brunker and Co celebrating an amazing 40year life of the The Sunday World

Edit 2: Welsh MegaMan has discovered that music is to be provided by Jake Bugg and Jamie Callum.
    Rumors of Twink providing the backing vocals have yet to be verified.

Edit 3: Sam McGuire and Liam macCarty cups will be along for some chat with some esteemed GAA pundits.
    Tony Fenton will be on tonight discussing his health battles. All the best Tony you've shortened many a long car journey for me. I hope all goes well for you.
    Nicky Byrne. . . . (For once I'd be happier to see Mary Byrne instead)
    Also a PI will be telling a tragic identify thief story.

Thanks to Welsh MegaMan, Skid, and Jonathon Anon for their trusty and hardworking detective work. Any errors and omissions are of course mine :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

More babies.

Just open a Creche Mr. T.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,986 ✭✭✭squonk

Kelly McDonagh Mongan????

At this rate, I'll be a guest in a few weeks, on to talk about life as a boardsie and the trauma of my recent illness! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

More babies.

Just open a Creche Mr. T.

He would be better off doing this for sure !!! There has been babies or talk about babies on nearly every Tubridy Show this year.

It seems like another poor Tubridy outing this Friday night !! The usual theme. To add a little extra excitement to the proceedings, we need to see Twink again and Ruby Walsh.

Babies seem to be Tubridy's hobby horse. By coincidence, three more of Tubridy's favourites also just have had babies: celeb couple Brian O'Driscoll and actress Amy Hubermann (the best promo for Irish-German relations, this child will be?) and of course Imelda May. Expect to see these on not talking about rugby, acting or music but about their babies sometime soon !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭pcomer

It seems like another poor Tubridy outing this Friday night !! The usual theme. To add a little extra excitement excrement to the proceedings, we need to see Twink again

Fixed that for you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

There will be some nonsense about celebrating 40 years of everybody's favourite Crime and Country Music rag, The Sunday World.

Amanda Brunker and other non entities will be there for this blatant free plug.

I wish I was making this up. I'm not. 10.55pm tomorrow.

https://twitter.com/AmandaJBrunker

Skid X wrote: »
    There will be some nonsense about celebrating 40 years of everybody's favourite Crime and Country Music rag, The Sunday World.

Amanda Brunker and other non entities will be there for this blatant free plug.
    I wish I was making this up. I'm not. 10.55pm tomorrow.

https://twitter.com/AmandaJBrunker

This show is turning into Loose Women at its worst...........

Speaking of Amanda Brunker, I feel bad about slagging Bonnie Ryan's singing so much last week. So I'd like to put that right.

Sorry Bonnie, you definitely sang better than Amanda did at Oxegen a few years ago IMO.

No words can describe wtf was going on here, except to say it was another case of having friends in the right places going a long way in Ireland.

Never have so few heard a singer so bad at a main stage at a Festival. If your ears still haven't recovered from last week you might not want to watch this with the sound on (Sorry again, Bonnie.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,283 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Speaking of Amanda Brunker, I feel bad about slagging Bonnie Ryan's singing so much last week. So I'd like to put that right.

Sorry Bonnie, you definitely sang better than Amanda did at Oxegen a few years ago IMO.

No words can describe wtf was going on here, except to say it was another case of having friends in the right places going a long way in Ireland.

Never have so few heard a singer so bad at a main stage at a Festival. If your ears still haven't recovered from last week you might not want to watch this with the sound on (Sorry again, Bonnie.)

She performed at Oxegen 'just for a laugh', but what bothers me is that her timeslot could have been given to a band (signed or unsigned) who deserve the exposure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,006 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

All we need now is Twink on to duet with Amanda

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    All we need now is Twink on to duet with Amanda

I just had a vision of Bonnie, Twink and Amanda as a trio........

It was not a good one.

Why do bad singers get gigs?....Are producers really that hard of hearing?

I only hope Paul Williams doesn't make a special appearance as a "Star" born out of the Sunday World. :(

Why do bad singers get gigs?....Are producers really that hard of hearing? :(

Well, poor singers and other celebs in Ireland get exposure usually not because of their "talent" but because of who they are, who they are connected to and if they had a past with RTE. To me, Twink comes in as the latter. Whatever she once was, she has NOTHING to offer now and is a very mentally unstable person who needs help going on the last few times she was on. Bonnie gets exposure because of her connections.

RTE are a notoriously closed shop who stick with their favourites and often try to relaunch washed up acts. One wonders where Twink would be only for Tubridy and his ilk. Sinead O'Connor too is kept afloat by RTE.

Producers don't care about good music, only the acts who have the connections to RTE, Louis Walsh and so on. I am unsure if this is true for other countries but Ireland is very much who you know in every field and not how good you are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I would literally rather gouge my eyes out.

Anyway, on The Graham Norton Show... Daniel Radcliffe, Isla Fisher, Baz Luhrmann and Ed Byrne. Not a classic lineup by any means, but guaranteed to be infinitely more entertaining than watching a bunch of nobodies celebrating the inexplicable survival of Ireland's worst newspaper.

If you are reading this, Miss Brunker...

No need for you to sing tonight! Music will be provided by Jake Bugg and Jamie Cullum!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,005 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

RayM wrote: »
    I would literally rather gouge my eyes out.

Anyway, on The Graham Norton Show... Daniel Radcliffe, Isla Fisher, Baz Luhrmann and Ed Byrne. Not a classic lineup by any means, but guaranteed to be infinitely more entertaining than watching a bunch of nobodies celebrating the inexplicable survival of Ireland's worst newspaper.

3oyw0y.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭Ian Whelan

After a brutal Late Late Show (which tonight's offering will no doubt be) I always console myself with three thoughts:

1. Brian McFadden was not on it.

2. Brian McFadden is in Australia.

3. It is possible that Brian McFadden might never be on it again.

Ian Whelan wrote: »
    After a brutal Late Late Show (which tonight's offering will no doubt be) I always console myself with three thoughts:

1. Brian McFadden was not on it.

2. Brian McFadden is in Australia.

3. It is possible that Brian McFadden might never be on it again.

Oh dear ...
    Brian Mcfadden ‏@BrianMcFadden 20m
    Great to be back home in Dublin and on the #latelate Show tonight!!
    Expand Reply Retweet Favorite More

https://twitter.com/BrianMcFadden

Sorry, I made that up. But he is on a UK tour at the moment (In Glasgow tonight). He could be on before the series is over :eek:

Also on...Nicky Bryne (for a change!) and Today FM DJ Tony Fenton talks to Ryan about his battles with cancer.

We're getting dribs and drabs of Westlife etc. Ex family members and current RTE staff for how long now? One by one they are pulled out of obscurity looking for nixers using the LLS for a platform.

Why is it not possible to offer invites outside the inner circle or the Canteen?

The guest list for tonight is pathetic so far.

And a show without an illness related interview would be a real treat. I've given up looking for lighthearted laughs with a guest that has no "inner problems" and is not plugging for a new program. It seems the producers and Mr. T wouldn't know a laugh if it came up and bit them on the behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

There's no beginning to Amanda Brunker's talent. I wonder if Tony Fenton will be speaking in his DJ voice tonight? I've heard his real voice is a cross between Navan and Ardee.

I'd take Tony Fenton's DJ voice over the shrillness of Amanda Brunker's shriek anyday!...

More kissing ass is all we are in for tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

tits.

that's all it ever was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Celebrities types are well known for making demands like ..........
    Jim Carrey, who is not a pilot but owns his own Gulf Stream as an investment, has strict rules should an aeroplane ever be needed in one of his films. He insists that the film company first try to charter his Gulf Stream for transportation or background. He even has it written into his film contract.

Minority Report star Tom Cruise once had a meal from his favourite Indian restaurant in London (the Bombay Brasserie) flown in by private jet to Italy where he was on holiday with Nicole Kidman.

Leonardo DiCaprio had to have new clothes daily on the set of Gangs of New York and then threw out the old ones from the day before.

The Backstreet Boys require 24 peanut-butter-and-jelly sandwiches on every tour.

Robbie Williams bizarrely decorates his dressing room with kumquats, a bonsai tree, a pair of undies and a framed photo of Blockbusters' Bob Holness.

Marilyn Manson demands a box filled with kitty litter in his dressing room. Why? Just in case the bathrooms are out of order…

http://www.ivillage.co.uk/celebrity-demands/80034?field_pages=1#ixzz2TYJPAySe

Ryan Tubridy has only one demand written into his contract .......

'I must present at least one misery item every week on the Late Late Show'.

There's no beginning to Amanda Brunker's talent.
    I was given a free copy of her book 'Champagne Kisses' when it was first launched, needless to say it remains unread. However, if I get someone I don't like in this year's office Kris Kindle I'm going to off load it on them :o;)

The Backstreet Boys require 24 peanut-butter-and-jelly sandwiches on every tour.

That's hardly an outrageous demand, to be fair. Five lads want 24 Sandwiches between them, and peanut butter and jelly is very popular in America.

If the Clare Hurlers asked for a few hang sandwiches after a match no-one would get excited :D

But yeah, I totally agree about the misery segments. It is beyond a joke now. Tony Fenton is alright, he has had his problems (Bankruptcy and Cancer at the same time is rough) but he knows his music and always sounds upbeat. He used to be great on the Hotline on 2FM!

The "Cutting Edge "of the past LLS has gone into decline at a rapid rate. The quality of interviews, the awkwardness and the plain uncomfortableness is so acute the audience don't know whether to clap, laugh or cry at times.

Last week, that lad got a clap because he was married three years?......What's next? What are A. Brunker and her gang going to get? A standing ovation?......So that the Sunday's publication of a rag mag gets some publicity?....

God, no wonder we moan about paying these peoples wages. A group of TY students would put them to shame. (son's and daughters of the chosen few, naturally)

No wonder they don't publish the Guest Lists anymore.

I'd personally pay for Marilyn Manson's kitty litter tray to have him on.

Or make the sambos for the lads.

A few examples of the arse licking, air kissing, ****e sniffing culture that dominates Irish media ...

Nicky Byrne is on tonight, here's why ...
    ghiertal wrote: »
    Former Westlife star Nicky Byrne will take the reins from 40th birthday boy Ryan Tubridy on RTE radio later this month.
    While Ryan nurses his head after his 40th birthday bash in Connemara the night before, Nicky will cover for him at 2fm studios on Wednesday May 29.
    Late Late Show host Ryan plans to mark his milestone 40th on May 28 with family and friends in the Abbeyglen Hotel in Clifden — and Nicky’s stint is giving him a lie-in.

http://www.thestar.ie/star/nicky-byrne-to-stand-in-for-pal-ryan-tubridy-after-40th-birthday-bash/

RTE really stinks to high heaven.

And in return for the bizarre extended Sunday World advert on tonight's show, they write a Hello! Magazine style whimpering piece about Tubridy's Birthday

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=84660454#post84660454

http://www.sundayworld.com/entertainment/showbiz/ryan-tubridy-is-40
    Speaking at the jam-packed bash Ryan, who technically isn’t 40 until May 28, told us: “I can‘t believe The Sunday World is 40 too. Massive congratulations to everyone involved with the paper in making it to this milestone.

“As you know I used to have a column in the paper so I feel I’ve played a small part in its success. A small part,” he laughs. “But a part none the less. I don’t have the column anymore but I am part of the paper’s history and no one can take that away from me.

Pass the sick bucket.

And they wonder why people are cynical of these peoples ridiculous wages?

Jobs for the boys.

Again.

Because in the whole country of Ireland there is not one capable radio presenter who could do this show.

And they wonder why people are cynical of these peoples ridiculous wages?

Jobs for the boys.

Again.

Because in the whole country of Ireland there is not one capable radio presenter who could do this show.

Usual cover your ass policy, when you go on holidays don't get someone to cover who might be better than you, and would take the job on a permanent basis. If RTE Radio had any balls they would be trying out new talent in that slot.

And another thing (last rant of the afternoon, I promise :o) there is no Saturday Night Show this week, so for once the LLS has no competition to get decent guests. I don't think they even try any more, they just look around the canteen and search google for whoever is sick at the moment.

Nail and Hammer there Skid. ****Thump****

Never get anyone that will outshine you. I love the way this "celebration day" vacancy has been filled by an unemployed ex-boyband millionaire singer.

Radio presenters in the counties must be loving the way RTE fills vacant slots.

But, as usual folks, don't forget to send in your demos to RTE. You can be sure they will listened to (and promptly binned).

Maybe I'm just been harsh on the poor lad. He might be the next, em, the next.....

***laughs manically***

runs and hides................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

It's hard to believe Tubbs is only 40 this year, it could be the better part of 30 years before he retires. Either that or the show gets canned.

This is a scary thought !!!

I don't think there is 30 years left in this useless show though. Tubridy's show is an insult to talented singers and musicians as well as the viewers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

squonk wrote: »
    Kelly McDonagh Mongan????

At this rate, I'll be a guest in a few weeks, on to talk about life as a boardsie and the trauma of my recent illness! :)

If you get down to the RTE canteen by teatime and order a muffin to go with your coffee you could be on the show tonight !

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

It's hard to believe Tubbs is only 40 this year.

I didn't know he was turning 40.

I thought he was in his mid 40s.

I just googled him to find his date of birth and discovered that he is exactly a week older than me. :eek::eek::eek::eek:

I feel old now. :(

But I'm still in my 30s :)

@thekickart: Sam McGuire &Liam McCarthy are missing from our trophy cabinet.They can be seen on The Late Late Show later tonight http://t.co/oHtKgwMJ09

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

That's damning with faint praise for sure :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

@thekickart: Sam McGuire &Liam McCarthy are missing from our trophy cabinet.They can be seen on The Late Late Show later tonight http://t.co/oHtKgwMJ09

Jaysus, I hope they put labels on them for Tubridy...

Former Westlife star Nicky Byrne will take the reins from 40th birthday boy Ryan Tubridy on RTE radio later this month.

I think Nicky Byrne is a sound guy, but this really is pretty sickening.. The guy is a millionaire already ffs, and there's thousands of media students all over the country crying out for a chance.. Could he not give somebody else a chance to earn a few quid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Heard Tony Fenton on With Matt Cooper this evening.

Not a fan of his radio style, or his current format of show, but the guy comes across very well in interviews.

He has had a horrendous couple of years and is now back fighting multiple cancer tumours, including some on his brain. He's waiting on results of treatment which I'd imagine could very much go either way..

He received hundreds of emails from fellow sufferers as a result of interviews and replied to every one, even going as far as meeting some and keeping in touch and helping them through their treatment (at a time that he was in the all clear himself).

He has some story.. gained a lot of respect for him recently.

Jaysus, I hope they put labels on them for Tubridy...

Cyril Farrell, Marty Morrissey and Bernard Brogan will be there to give him a helping hand.

And which one of you ordered the misery porn?

@saorog: On tonight's #LateLate Show, PI David Snow who caught the identity thief that stole @AileenH's deceased infant brother's identity

_feedback_ wrote: »
    Heard Tony Fenton on With Matt Cooper this evening.

Not a fan of his radio style, or his current format of show, but the guy comes across very well in interviews.

He has had a horrendous couple of years and is now back fighting multiple cancer tumours, including some on his brain. He's waiting on results of treatment which I'd imagine could very much go either way..

He received hundreds of emails from fellow sufferers as a result of interviews and replied to every one, even going as far as meeting some and keeping in touch and helping them through their treatment (at a time that he was in the all clear himself).

He has some story.. gained a lot of respect for him recently.

As much as his 'Smashy and Nicey' style of broadcasting annoys me sometimes, I wish him well and hope he makes a full recovery.

Cyril Farrell, Marty Morrissey and Bernard Brogan will be there to give him a helping hand.

That's good news, WM, it will afford Tubridy the opportunity to ask his inevitable yet poignant question...

"Ronan O'Gara..... just how much of a loss will he be to the game of Gaelic Football?".. :D

And which one of you ordered the misery porn?

@saorog: On tonight's #LateLate Show, PI David Snow who caught the identity thief that stole @AileenH's deceased infant brother's identity
    Cyril and Marty should be a bit of craic anyway ;):D

I used to crack up laughing every time Cyril referred to Setanta O'Hailpin as Santy on the Sunday Game :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭kawasaki1100

It seems like another poor Tubridy outing this Friday night !! The usual theme. To add a little extra excitement to the proceedings, we need to see Twink again and Ruby Walsh.

Babies seem to be Tubridy's hobby horse. By coincidence, three more of Tubridy's favourites also just have had babies: celeb couple Brian O'Driscoll and actress Amy Hubermann (the best promo for Irish-German relations, this child will be?) and of course Imelda May. Expect to see these on not talking about rugby, acting or music but about their babies sometime soon !!
    Oh no. is that what we have to look forward to?? I always find myself switching over after the first 5mins of the late late as its become so predictable and boring. Do you think if Tubs took a pay cut they could afford some interesting guests??:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

MrsD007 wrote: »
    Cyril and Marty should be a bit of craic anyway ;):D

I used to crack up laughing every time Cyril referred to Setanta O'Hailpin as Santy on the Sunday Game :D

Tubs has already covered the GAA misery angle today. He had Michael Lyster on his radio programme this morning talking about his health problems. Hopefully we'll be safe enough with Cyril and Marty, although knowing Tubs, he might have asked them to bring their medical records with them tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,734 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

A few examples of the arse licking, air kissing, ****e sniffing culture that dominates Irish media ...

Nicky Byrne is on tonight, here's why ...

And in return for the bizarre extended Sunday World advert on tonight's show, they write a Hello! Magazine style whimpering piece about Tubridy's Birthday

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=84660454#post84660454

http://www.sundayworld.com/entertainment/showbiz/ryan-tubridy-is-40

Pass the sick bucket.

Dead right Skid.

Callan57 wrote: »
    That's damning with faint praise for sure :)

Yeah Callan, although it's still as good a review as she will get around here. Maybe they will use it in her publicity if she releases a record.

"The future of popular music has arrived - Bonnie Ryan will conquer the World"
    RTE Guide

"Bonnie is brilliant, Her Father would be so proud"
    Ryan Tubridy

"She's not as bad as Amanda Brunker"
    Skid from Boards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭downwesht

Who knows,it might"exceed my expectations!"

Ya right.:rolleyes:
    Off to watch ITV

Only a couple more weeks and he fecks off to the BBC for the summer:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭kawasaki1100

Tubs has already covered the GAA misery angle today. He had Michael Lyster on his radio programme this morning talking about his health problems. Hopefully we'll be safe enough with Cyril and Marty, although knowing Tubs, he might have asked them to bring their medical records with them tonight.
    What about that bloke from Today FM Ray Darcy for presenter of the late late?
    Just said i would throw it out there as Tubs is doing my head in.
    At least he would be a bit of crack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

What about that bloke from Today FM Ray Darcy for presenter of the late late?
    Just said i would throw it out there as Tubs is doing my head in.
    At least he would be a bit of crack

Ray : Sigh ... I just can't understand why everyone can't see things as clearly and as correctly as me. . Sigh . Oh well I'm perfect and great craic and have I mentioned my daughter ? Yeah she's great . . And how many kids have you again? Oh sorry none .? . Yeah kids are great

I don't see it Kawasaki1100. Think he'd be near bottom of my list :)