Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Giro on Eurosport..

• 15-05-2013 12:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭

Have to say the coverage this year is a bit sh1t... Last night from 9.30 to 10.30 they had ATOC highlights followed by live ATOC coverage and not a sniff of the Giro... I would have thought the Giro would get more coverage.... Maybe it was on later but I didn't stay up late.. missed a cracker of a stage by all accounts....:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,223 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Record the live coverage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭elduggo

this is probably because Sky Sports have bought the rights to show highlights. My guess is that they get exclusive rights within a certain time every evening (their highlights start at 7:30), leaving Eurosport with live coverage and highlights at the witching hour.

you can be sure the tour de france will be the same so you'd want to stock up on blank tapes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Fender76

I just have standard UPC... no recording facility...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I was wondering where the highlights were myself, I changed over just after 9 and there were no signs of any highlights until 6am this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭crusher000

Yes and the guy that they had doing commentary has moved over to Sky. Signs aren't good Eurosport may miss out eventually to them, hopefully not.

Fender76 wrote: »
    I just have standard UPC... no recording facility...

Ah. I have a fancy new UPC HD box with recording facility that I'm not using (have gone back to Sky+).

There's a solution here somewhere...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭ShevY

<snip>

Mod note - no links to illegal streams allowed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Lumen wrote: »
    Ah. I have a fancy new UPC HD box with recording facility that I'm not using (have gone back to Sky+).

There's a solution here somewhere...

I'll swap you for a non HD recording box which you could then offload to Fender76 ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭elduggo

crusher000 wrote: »
    Yes and the guy that they had doing commentary has moved over to Sky. Signs aren't good Eurosport may miss out eventually to them, hopefully not.

Harmon?

I was thinking the same. That he must be on garden leave, hence not doing the Giro on for any channel.

The rest of them are freelance as far as I know. Carlton Kirby is doing Sky's and hes terrible, as usual. I like Dan Lloyd though. Declan Quigley is decent, but very much still finding his feet.

Good riddance to Harmon though. Too much tolerance for dopers/doping for my liking.

Yer one Sky Orla is a pain in the hole. You'd think they could get someone better than her. She calls Carlos Bettancur, Carlos Gomez, while everyone else does the opposite.

Sounds good to me guys..!

mloc123 I'll take yours if Lumen will give you his HD box...

Daycent chaps...!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭Welshkev

Eurosport have the live coverage and Sky Sports seem to have the highlights later on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Unregistered.

Declan "Indeed" Quigley. He must use that word thousands of times per race.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Bet he doesn't now ....;)

Banana skin stage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

Declan Quigley "They are wearing long sleeve Gilets"

I think long sleeve gilets are call Jackets!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,139 ✭✭✭buffalo

Banana skin stage!

Are they racing from the get-go? :P

Its just the little things.. like, he says Movie-star instead of Movistar....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭crusher000

bazermc wrote: »
    Declan Quigley "They are wearing long sleeve Gilets"

I think long sleeve gilets are call Jackets!!!!

God bless the man but he annoys me no end. His grasp of cycling thermonolgy is so poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Arthurdaly

crusher000 wrote: »
    God bless the man but he annoys me no end. His grasp of cycling thermonolgy is so poor.

Thermonolgy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭velomelo

He gets exited very easy which makes a slow drag up the hills much more interesting to watch. And I think Mr Kelly is much more engaging this year too..

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

I've only seen one stage but I thought Quigley was good.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭CardinalJ

velomelo wrote: »
    He gets exited very easy which makes a slow drag up the hills much more interesting to watch. And I think Mr Kelly is much more engaging this year too..

Certainly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭t'bear

reocording stuff is cool, you can fast forward up drags, hills, views of lakes and mountains (lovely as they are) and have 5 hours of racing (or 2 hours live coverage) into about 20 mins. ATOC really annoyed me on the 1 stage I watched , with some many commercial breaks.

Arthurdaly wrote: »
    Thermonolgy?

Terminology of things to do with heat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 anotherrunner

What is the Italian (or local broadcaster) obsession with split screens - it's so 1980's!

Back on topic - really warming to Quigley especially for a first grand tour. Think it takes a while to get close to the riders and get the gossip like Harmon used to have. I will miss Harmon for the archaeology/history lessons (bigger in TdF) but always thought he was a bit too easy on ex-dopers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,034 ✭✭✭griffin100

Bradley Wiggins of the Sky Procycling Team

He ain't bad, Kelly seems to engage with him a bit better than with Harmon.

griffin100 wrote: »

Maybe theyre having few pints during the show...

griffin100 wrote: »

Yes Declan Q actually asks Kelly a technical questions and waits to get an answer. Unlike Harmon who just talked over Kelly!!!!

I am also really warming to Declan, defo a hope for future commentary once he is fully up to speed which I can already see happening after nearly two weekks of the Giro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,772 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

bazermc wrote: »
    Yes Declan Q actually asks Kelly a technical questions and waits to get an answer. Unlike Harmon who just talked over Kelly!!!!

I am also really warming to Declan, defo a hope for future commentary once he is fully up to speed which I can already see happening after nearly two weekks of the Giro.

Harmon said during the tour of turkey he will be skipping the giro but will be back for the tour! I like the commentators for the tour of california. one of them is Scottish. they know their stuff and dont come out with cliches. They should be on the Giro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭drogdub

Dr. Bre wrote: »
    Harmon said during the tour of turkey he will be skipping the giro but will be back for the tour! I like the commentators for the tour of california. one of them is Scottish. they know their stuff and dont come out with cliches. They should be on the Giro

The Scottish bloke is Brian Smith. He is excellent also heavily involved with endura racing team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭yoda81269

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

Eurosport sold off H/L rights to sky for Italian events. Part of it is that Eurosport have to show there high lights after sky.

Its only on Italian events so wont be on the tour.

Also I get a wee bit of wankerish from a few on here that we have 2 Irish commentators in the box why can't you be in suport of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Slo_Rida

Every time someone looks like they're trying a break or even getting close to the front of the bunch, DQ says something and not for the life of me can I think of it. It's "********* for glory". Is it "gunning for glory"? Also, stage honours is a big favourite of his.
    I'm pretty happy with him and agree that Kelly is way more chatty this year possibly because DQ coaches him into the q & A thing quite neatly. And Kelly always finishes his technical observations with "......but I would not be advising the ordinary cyclist to try this", magic! As if there's such a thing as an ordinary cyclist :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭YeahOK

I like Kelly doing commentary, I do, but if I have to listen to him saying "He's making the calculation......" once more I'll throw the mug of tea through the telly.:)

Slo_Rida wrote: »
    Every time someone looks like they're trying a break or even getting close to the front of the bunch, DQ says something and not for the life of me can I think of it. It's "********* for glory". Is it "gunning for glory"? Also, stage honours is a big favourite of his.
    I'm pretty happy with him and agree that Kelly is way more chatty this year possibly because DQ coaches him into the q & A thing quite neatly. And Kelly always finishes his technical observations with "......but I would not be advising the ordinary cyclist to try this", magic! As if there's such a thing as an ordinary cyclist :D

I suggest a vote. Who wants this duo to stay for each and every cycling event shown on ES and who wants the old duo to be back ?

I want the new one to stay!

velomelo wrote: »
    I suggest a vote. Who wants this duo to stay for each and every cycling event shown on ES and who wants the old duo to be back ?

I want the new one to stay!

I'm just making the calculation here :D
    Sorry yeahok, couldn't resist!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭ado100

I'm warming to Quigley, he could do with a bit more humour in his commentary but he gets far more out of Kelly than Harmon ever did.

yoda81269 wrote: »

I'd like to claim I did that interview, but really I sent Declan some questions, and copied and pasted the answers. Very friendly chap, full of (belated) advice. :P

YeahOK wrote: »
    I like Kelly doing commentary, I do, but if I have to listen to him saying "He's making the calculation......" once more I'll throw the mug of tea through the telly.:)

Dont forget "playing the waiting game"!

DQ says something and not for the life of me can I think of it. It's "********* for glory". Is it "gunning for glory"?

STRIKING OUT!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,667 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

DQ's word of the day: Ensconced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭vigorelli

Banana skin stage!
    don't forget "ensconced" :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

On one of my rare club training spins with Orwell I ended up going out with a group that held far too many riders that were way above my talent and ability level. People like Michelle Geoghan and DQ.
    I must say that Declan is a very engaging fellow and is full of advice. More importantly he gives advice enthusiastically and not in any condescending way.

I think he is doing a good job at the races done this year and hope he gets a regular spot Europsport cycling.
    Best of luck to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

He also likes the phrase "giving himself a racer's chance" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

Facility.

What is a racers chance by the way?

Did anyone hear a tweet from "Hugh Rinal"? Poor DQ, it was in one of the earlier stages. laughed my ass off at this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

When it comes down to the crunch question of Quigley or Harmon, I'd go for Quigley.

Raam wrote: »
    When it comes down to the crunch question of Quigley or Harmon, I'd go for Quigley.

+1 much prefer Quigley over Harmon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

Raam wrote: »

Id also *shock horror :eek: * go for brian the scot guy over kelly

as for carlton, well he can just be taken into a field and shot at this stage

What is a racers chance by the way?

It's the chance you don't get when you sit in the bunch, 'cause that's not real racing! :)