Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Taming the marathon beast...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

laura_ac3 wrote: »
    One more here.....

And another one here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

tang1 wrote: »
    And another one here.
    ....aaand another! :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

+1... go get that sub-52!!! best of luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,723 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Runchick

Murph_D wrote: »
    Good luck, A. <52 all the way!
    Firedance wrote: »
    another good luck for tonight!
    One more here.....
    tang1 wrote: »
    And another one here.
    RedRunner wrote: »
    ....aaand another! :-)
    annapr wrote: »
    +1... go get that sub-52!!! best of luck!
    Dilbert75 wrote: »

Thanks a mill you lovely people!!

Lisburn 10k - Target sub 52 or 8.15 pace, actual 52.13 (garmin time) av pace 8.22 HR 169.

A tad disappointed with the time but over the moon that I'm back able to race after such a long and tedious break. A very congested start and a mini meltdown in mile 5 cost me the goal but sure what the hell, its a starting point for the rest of the year. Onwards and upwards - I remember this time last year missing this race and feeling like I would never race again - those days are long gone :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Great stuff! Not too far off your goal at all. Fantastic to see things coming together for you again. Well done!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Well done, onwards & upwards is right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Raymond Darcy

Well done-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

Well done, very close. By the way that's not a race report you know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,723 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

Chuffed for you A. And don't be worrying about the few seconds. No goal worth having is easily achieved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

well done! you will find that 13 seconds another day, look forward to the FULL race report :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Great stuff A!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,807 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Sorry you didn't hit your goal - I'd be disappointed too. But it's a marker for the rest of the year as you say. Must feel good to have this done and dusted all the same!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

Agonisingly close to the goal, I'm sure you're raging over those few seconds but it's your first race in a long time, it'll click for you! Well done.

SamforMayo wrote: »
    Well done, very close. By the way that's not a race report you know!
    Dilbert75 wrote: »
    Chuffed for you A. And don't be worrying about the few seconds. No goal worth having is easily achieved.
    Firedance wrote: »
    well done! you will find that 13 seconds another day, look forward to the FULL race report :D
    RedRunner wrote: »
    Great stuff A!
    Sorry you didn't hit your goal - I'd be disappointed too. But it's a marker for the rest of the year as you say. Must feel good to have this done and dusted all the same!
    Agonisingly close to the goal, I'm sure you're raging over those few seconds but it's your first race in a long time, it'll click for you! Well done.

Thanks folks, it would appear there is a running god, start mat was further up than I thought, official time 51.53 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Well done !! Super stuff.

Agree, we need a comprehensive race report, if only to hear more about the mile 5 meltdown ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Well done Runchick. I bet it felt good to be back racing :)

After it was all over anyway :D

So glad that I'm behind here so I can skip the 'pity about those 13 seconds, they didn't really matter anyway' and go straight to WOOOOO HOOOOO... Well done, you nailed it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

Well done :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

Can I delete my first comment??? :) excellent!!

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Well done !! Super stuff.

Agree, we need a comprehensive race report, if only to hear more about the mile 5 meltdown ;)

Gorey details to follow BG!
    Well done Runchick. I bet it felt good to be back racing :)

After it was all over anyway :D

Absolutely CM!
    So glad that I'm behind here so I can skip the 'pity about those 13 seconds, they didn't really matter anyway' and go straight to WOOOOO HOOOOO... Well done, you nailed it!!

Cheers Anna
    Well done :)

Cheers Hilly
    Can I delete my first comment??? :) excellent!!

Thanks Laura

10k race report

Ok so this was a big deal to me. 2 years ago I was making great gains with running and really enjoying it, assuming I would just keep progressing. Then overtraining hit so hard its taken me until now to be back able to train at any consistency. I have been loosely following the Clearlier graduate plan for the last couple of months, always aware that if I overdo it I could be back to square one. A few parkruns over the past couple of months were manageable so signed up for a 10k.

Other than a dodgy tum over the past few days I had been feeling good. The recurrent hip flexor strain meant a 3 day break from running and plenty of icing seemed to do the trick, happy days.

Set myself a conservative target of 52 minutes – based on my best recent parkrun. This event is awesome. Absolute carnival atmosphere before the start, my 9 year old and OH doing the 3k fun run and me and a friend all fired up for the 10k. It was her first go at the distance and she smashed her target time by 3 minutes – absolute legend and a future training partner in the making for me!!

Nearly 2000 were doing the 10k so to say it was congested at the start was an understatement. We started too far back and half a mile in the garmin read 9.30 – dam – with a 8.15 target I panicked a bit (classic mistake!). Anyway mile 1 bleeped at 8.25 so I probably made time up too fast, was having fun though and really had to hold back for mile 2, 8.01. Mile 3 was mostly uphill so ran conservatively, 8.24 and mile 4 was pretty uneventful although starting to feel the effort, 8.14.
    Mile 5 was when the fun started. Yes I was starting to feel tired but my stomach was in knots. The internal voice was along the lines of ‘uh oh this is bad’, ‘you’re fine its all in your head’, ‘need to be sick’, ‘feck the pace’. Anyway slowed to a walk and barfed into a hedge – all water (so ladylike :eek:). People were streaming past me and for a second I thought about sitting down and giving up but promised myself I would get going again so picked the next person coming along and fell in behind them. Started feeling better and felt the pace was too slow so found another pair of feet to follow, mile 5 8.40. Was really tired now so just concentrated on keeping a high cadence mile 6, 8.20 and 8.15 for the last bit - thought this was faster as I gave it all I had but it was uphill so no sprint finish! In fact this was a hilly enough course, much moreso than the parkrun course so happy enough with how I did.

Finished feeling tired but ok, stomach was grand – did I imagine that I thought. Garmin read 52.13 but a long course and of course found out official time was 51.53 so happy out. Bit of confusion over where the starting mat was!

So the time is hardly record breaking but this was an important race. I feel fine today, did a 4.4m recovery run earlier and no ill effects. Feeling positive about getting stuck in to a 12 week HM plan and getting those times down. I won’t be happy until I’m able to run PBs again but think that’s all possible now.

Oh and my girl ran the 3k fun run without a walk break, first time running. Taking her down to the local running club is crossing my mind, get us both signed up if I can drag her away from her bike for long enough :rolleyes:

You re some woman! Well done for keeping going after puking! Delighted you got your sub 52. What plan are you going to follow for HM? And what do you plan on taking the mileage up to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,807 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Barfing is becoming a bit of a specialty, eh? Better out than in! Too much water maybe? But what a recovery, well done!

You re some woman! Well done for keeping going after puking! Delighted you got your sub 52. What plan are you going to follow for HM? And what do you plan on taking the mileage up to?

Thanks Sam probably not as bad as it sounds but something I need to address - can't be doing that every race!! Not fully decided on plan yet, had found a great 12 week one which I can't find the link for just now or am considering this 10 week schedule

http://www.runnersworld.co.uk/racing/rws-10-week-sub-150-half-marathon-schedules/97.html

as I'm runnign Clontarf for the craic in a few weeks so could start after that. Also like the 2 10k races along the way! Probably peak around 40 - 45 miles at most.

Are you running to a plan?
    Barfing is becoming a bit of a specialty, eh? Better out than in! Too much water maybe? But what a recovery, well done!

I know Murph, nightmare. Bit of a worry if I can't hold water - don't want to think what'll happen when I need to use gels again! I grabbed water at 2 water stations and that's all I can think of - haven't taken a drink while running since London marathon!

Bloody hell, fair play to you for getting your sub-52 after all that! Good on ya.

Hi, I'm not really following a plan. My focus is getting the LSR built up and having one run a week a bit faster( I hate speed work). The rest of the miles will be easy pace. I won't get the miles much over 40 per week with the kids off school etc. I don't mind though as I need to keep the core work going as well!!

Bloody hell, fair play to you for getting your sub-52 after all that! Good on ya.

Thanks Anna
    Hi, I'm not really following a plan. My focus is getting the LSR built up and having one run a week a bit faster( I hate speed work). The rest of the miles will be easy pace. I won't get the miles much over 40 per week with the kids off school etc. I don't mind though as I need to keep the core work going as well!!

Similar enough to myself then Sam, the summer with kids off will be tricky alright. Mixture of very early morning runs and dragging the 3 of them along on their bikes. 4 year old has his stabilisers off now so at least that's possible. Core work back on the front burner here too - the thought of an injury lay-off has reaffirmed that one :rolleyes:

Weekly update:

Mon and Tue - rest to let hip flexor settle, did the trick

Wed - 7m including 10k @ 51.53, short warm up with strides and no cool down except walk back to car, all I had time for, kids to pick up and all that

Thu - 4.4m recovery @10.30 HR 142, hip ok during run but niggling after

Sat - 6.5m @ 9.52 HR 147, hip getting annoying after 5 miles, dam. Icing settled it down again

Sun - 5.2m @ 9.45 HR 140, hip perfect until last half mile, not sore but uncomfortable.

Have been doing core and stretching before runs this week which seems to be helping, icing also helps. Will just keep things short and easy this week, well hoping to do a 2 hour run on Thursday as a last long run before Clontarf but will only do it if theres no discomfort. Fingers crossed :)

All my runs up to 8 miles are with my dog. She has always been my running partner and grabbing her lead is as automatic as lacing up. However the last few runs she's slowing, instead of doing her own thing and sprinting after me to catch up she's plodding beside me, tongue hanging out. Am hoping its just the heat although its never been an issue before. Should probably rest her for a few days and see how she goes. Can't imagine getting to the stage I have to leave her at home :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭Fieldsman

Hi Runchic Delighted to hear of your good run in Lisburn and also getting the young ones involved as well. That run reminds me of a race I had in Belfast a few years ago called the Titanic 10K. to mark the 100 year anniv. and as I had a close relative lost in that tragedy I had to have a go. Checking back I note my time that day was 51 47 but alas I'm way short of that now but I enjoyed that day.
    I'm back from a break in Italy, taking in Pompei, Sorrento, Capri and the Amalfi coast, folks put this place on your bucket list as I've never seen nicer scenery. As the roads were unsuitable and the weather very hot I didn't do any running at all just a good bit of 'elbow bending' was my only exercise while there !!
    My next race might be the National Half marathon which is run in conjunction with the Rock n' Roll race in early August.
    Hope your hip isn't causing any more problems.