Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Taming the marathon beast...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Runchick

Mon - 5.1m easy @ 10.20 - don't normally run on Mondays but had to squeeze runs in when I could, hectic week!

Tues - 6m @ 9.24 - decided to mix up the paces a bit once a week - not following planned sessions, just seeing how things go. 3m easy and 3 miles steady 8.50, 8.30, 8.29. Felt good to up the pace again.

Thur - 3.1m at recovery pace followed by 1 hour pilates.

This brings January to a close and I was glad to see the back of it. It started with one too many hangovers but hey my sister was staying with me from Oz, I probably won't see her again for years :( we had a good time and some things are more important than running. Then came another chest infection and around 2 weeks off the road. Managed to just about salvage the month with a 16 mile run last weekend but think I've nailed the coffin on a decent run in London. 88 miles for the month and 15 days running.

Sat - 18m LSR @ 10.00 - February got off to a brilliant start! Yes there was snow, rain, wind, etc but I absolutely loved this run. Pace is back to normal for the same easy effort as last week and finished the run feeling great. Took a new route and even though it was quite hilly I loved the change.

Sun - 4.5m recovery run - slow jog through the trails to wind up a good week. 36.5 miles and feeling good :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

Sorry to hear about the news but at least you finally know what it is now. Not knowing is the worst part. Hoping you get back to 100% soon. Not a bad marathon to enjoy that London one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 992 ✭✭✭dazza21ie

Any races planned before London Runchick?

blockic wrote: »
    Sorry to hear about the news but at least you finally know what it is now. Not knowing is the worst part. Hoping you get back to 100% soon. Not a bad marathon to enjoy that London one!

Thanks Blocky yeah good to know a reason but frustrating all the same, anything that stops me running is a pain in the a$$ ;)
    dazza21ie wrote: »
    Any races planned before London Runchick?

Was hoping to run the Carlingford half but OH is going on a cycling trip with the lads to Spain that weekend so I'll have to give it a miss. Probably not a bad thing as I'm not in PB shape. I'm just gonna concentrate on getting half decent miles in and getting to the start line healthy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Sorry to hear of your continuing issues - great that you can keep it all in perspective and still get out and do the miles. Best of luck with the rest of the training and in London.

41 miles this week:

Tues - 6.1m easy @ 10.20 - through local mountain bike trails but the stormy weather left it more like an obstacle course with fallen trees and branches everywhere! Great fun :D

Wed - 7m @ 9.24 including 6 x 3min fast, 1 min slow - ran these by feel and tried to judge the 3 min sections by 'comfortably hard' effort. 3 min paces between 7.47 and 8.24 which was reflective of where the hills were. Enjoyable wee run.

Thur - 4.4m at recovery pace. Also 1 hr pilates class - finding the exercises easier so hopefully that means I'm getting stronger.

Sat - 19m LSR @ 10.03 - absolute slogfest :( Woke up feeling ropey - sore throat making a reappearance. Weather was dreadful but this was my only chance to get out so thought I'd go and see what happened. First mile was on an incline and into a very strong headwind. Hat kept getting blown off and I was pretty wrecked and soaked going in to mile 2. Not a good start :( Settled in to a nice rhythm after a few more miles but by 10m in I realised I was pretty tired already. Quick check of the HR and realised it was way too high. Decided to back off the pace for a while but a few steep hills around 14 or 15 miles really took the wind out of my sails. Got to 18m, stopped the garmin and walked for a bit. Was still a fair bit from home so decided to start the watch and run 1 more mile. Stopped at 19m and was absolutely spent. Short walk home, food, shower and rest and felt much better (just as well as I had promised the kids a fun afternoon at the swimming pool :eek:). I was so cold I had no circulation in 3 fingers for about 2 hours. I can recall at least one dreadful LSR in every marathon training cycle I've done so hopefully that's it done and dusted this time round :o

Sun - 4.5m @ recovery pace - felt a bit better today so took the dog out for our usual Sunday morning plod. Throat still sore now though so a bit worried about getting sick again.

Step back week ahead so perfect timing. Will see how I'm feeling but may take a complete break for a few days. Really don't wanna get sick again and am keen to have a crack at a 20 miler in 2 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,723 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

Great work A - take care of yourself with that cold though. Lots of nasty bugs going around and you don't need one of them. It goes without saying you've more to lose than gain so give yourself a break if you need it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭New runner

How u feeling now A? Hopefully a lot better and throat settled and u back to yourself again.

New runner wrote: »
    How u feeling now A? Hopefully a lot better and throat settled and u back to yourself again.

Hey NR not really much better, didn't run at all last week as it got in to my chest again and I know from experience a run just makes things worse. Saw GP again and started antibiotics so hoping to get back out running later this week. He doesn't have a problem with me training for and running a marathon as long as this doesn't come back again before then. Far from ideal but hopeful I can stay healthy after this to get a few more decent weeks training in. At this rate I'll be walking London marathon with the street sweeper behind me :( Ah well, I'm staying positive, not much else I can do!

How's your training going?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭New runner

Aw for gods sake u certainly are getting it rough,can't believe that,u must b pure sickened,:(
    But fair play to u for staying positive n battling on. U will do it n better than u expect so keep u that positivity n don't push yourself too hard for couple weeks,your health is more important. Really feel for u with all you've been through.
    Thankfully I'm doing ok,training hard n its fine line wondering if I am pushing too hard too soon n possibly getting injured,fingers crossed will get to starting line 1st June injury free.did my 1st race of the yr last Sunday week,wee 5k n was pleased,no PB but not too far away, 21.54 which was much better than I thought so happy enuf.my lsr I've done 17m last Saturday but it's still 14+ weeks away so unsure if I'll manage keep up the intensity, hope so! all the very best n here's wishing u a speedy recovery back to full health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Runchick wrote: »
    Hey NR not really much better, didn't run at all last week as it got in to my chest again and I know from experience a run just makes things worse. Saw GP again and started antibiotics so hoping to get back out running later this week. He doesn't have a problem with me training for and running a marathon as long as this doesn't come back again before then. Far from ideal but hopeful I can stay healthy after this to get a few more decent weeks training in. At this rate I'll be walking London marathon with the street sweeper behind me :( Ah well, I'm staying positive, not much else I can do!

How's your training going?

That's really unlucky, sorry to hear that RC.:( Hope things improve for you soon.

New runner wrote: »
    Aw for gods sake u certainly are getting it rough,can't believe that,u must b pure sickened,:(
    But fair play to u for staying positive n battling on. U will do it n better than u expect so keep u that positivity n don't push yourself too hard for couple weeks,your health is more important. Really feel for u with all you've been through.
    Thankfully I'm doing ok,training hard n its fine line wondering if I am pushing too hard too soon n possibly getting injured,fingers crossed will get to starting line 1st June injury free.did my 1st race of the yr last Sunday week,wee 5k n was pleased,no PB but not too far away, 21.54 which was much better than I thought so happy enuf.my lsr I've done 17m last Saturday but it's still 14+ weeks away so unsure if I'll manage keep up the intensity, hope so! all the very best n here's wishing u a speedy recovery back to full health.

Hey NR sounds like you're back in super form! Well done on the 5k and best of luck with the rest of the training :D
    RedRunner wrote: »
    That's really unlucky, sorry to hear that RC.:( Hope things improve for you soon.

Cheers RR hardly unlucky - didn't listen to the body last long run and am paying for it :( You're training is going so well, delighted for ya!!

Update time...so last logged run here was a very hard 19 miles. After that I took 2 weeks off running with the usual throat and chest problems and more or less resigned myself to the fact that I wouldn't be running London Marathon.

Then I starting feeling better so starting training again, ran 30 miles last week including a 14 mile long run. All much slower than before but very enjoyable and all except long run watch free. This week my non running life has been hectic but I've managed 37 miles over 4 runs including a much more comfortable 19 miles today. Was able to pick up the pace for the last few miles which made me think...hmmm flights are paid for, hotel is booked, babysitter organised, so feck it I'll be running London afterall. I probably won't be any faster than DCM 2012 :o but don't particularly care about that. Throat is still a big issue though so not counting any chickens just yet but just happy to be able to run. All being well I'll do another 14 mile long run next week, 20 the following week then taper. A 'get me round' plan I suppose...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Update time...so last logged run here was a very hard 19 miles. After that I took 2 weeks off running with the usual throat and chest problems and more or less resigned myself to the fact that I wouldn't be running London Marathon.

Then I starting feeling better so starting training again, ran 30 miles last week including a 14 mile long run. All much slower than before but very enjoyable and all except long run watch free. This week my non running life has been hectic but I've managed 37 miles over 4 runs including a much more comfortable 19 miles today. Was able to pick up the pace for the last few miles which made me think...hmmm flights are paid for, hotel is booked, babysitter organised, so feck it I'll be running London afterall. I probably won't be any faster than DCM 2012 :o but don't particularly care about that. Throat is still a big issue though so not counting any chickens just yet but just happy to be able to run. All being well I'll do another 14 mile long run next week, 20 the following week then taper. A 'get me round' plan I suppose...

Delighted that you've decided to run it. Once in a life time experience by all account (unless you run it again :D ) so make sure you enjoy the fact that you are running against mo farah!!

Everything crossed for you A - never mind the clock; once you're well enough to do it just enjoy the experience. Looking forward to hearing what it's like.

Dilbert75 wrote: »
    Everything crossed for you A - never mind the clock; once you're well enough to do it just enjoy the experience. Looking forward to hearing what it's like.

+1 Hope you make the start line and get to enjoy it!

Delighted to hear of your return RC. Looking forward to saying hello in London at the start line.:)

Gavlor wrote: »
    Delighted that you've decided to run it. Once in a life time experience by all account (unless you run it again :D ) so make sure you enjoy the fact that you are running against mo farah!!

Absolutely, life's too short :D

Cheers C can't bloody wait!
    +1 Hope you make the start line and get to enjoy it!

Me too!
    RedRunner wrote: »
    Delighted to hear of your return RC. Looking forward to saying hello in London at the start line.:)

Def RR you speedy folk can keep me a seat at the pub after ;)

21.7 mile run in the bag, picked up pace for last 2 mile, c'mon London, let's be havin ya :)

Brilliant. Start line here you come!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Brilliant. Start line here you come!

+1. Great to see.

Brill...well done:)

Great stuff. Now get a big roll of bubble wrap and roll yourself up in it for the next 3 weeks!

Haha!! Mind you that sounds a bit too like marathon training of old, this time it feels more like getting ready for a party :eek: So excited...only 3 weeks to figure out what to wear ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭DOCO12

Brilliant!!!!! :D

Deadly :)

4 mile recovery this morning to round off the week with 43 miles, highest mileage week :eek: Included 8m with 6 steady on Wednesday and yesterdays long 'un. Did about 30 mile last week but was feeling fairly ropey.

Feeling reasonably good for the first time in months now though, doc put me on strong antibiotics for a few weeks in an attempt to get me to the start line and things seem to be going to plan :) Might do 10m with 8 steady on Wed then taper down the weekend long run 12 mile, 8 mile.

Race number - check
    New runners broken in - check
    Last long run - check
    Much needed sports massage - check (Was so sore I actually screamed :o)

Looks like I'm ready :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,088 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

4 mile recovery this morning to round off the week with 43 miles, highest mileage week :eek: Included 8m with 6 steady on Wednesday and yesterdays long 'un. Did about 30 mile last week but was feeling fairly ropey.

Feeling reasonably good for the first time in months now though, doc put me on strong antibiotics for a few weeks in an attempt to get me to the start line and things seem to be going to plan :) Might do 10m with 8 steady on Wed then taper down the weekend long run 12 mile, 8 mile.

Race number - check
    New runners broken in - check
    Last long run - check
    Much needed sports massage - check (Was so sore I actually screamed :o)

Looks like I'm ready :D

Bring on the taper madness !

4 mile recovery this morning

Surely you mean last night??!! :p

Gavlor wrote: »
    Surely you mean last night??!! :p

Day's half over, didn't ya know ;)