Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

motor insurance quote

• 13-05-2013 8:34am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭

I'm an Axa customer since 1995. The only time I've ever claimed off them was for a broken windscreen last year.

My quotation for this year has come in at €568.45 for a Tototas Avensis 1.6 with one named driver on a full license.

This is what I'm getting.

Fully comp cover
    No loss of no claims discount for theft fire or windscreen claims
    24 hr motor breakdown cover
    Injury to driver cover
    Protected no claims discount
    Glass breakage.

I'm 45 and married.

Is it my imagination or is this a ridiculous quote? Would love to hear feedback from anyone or advice on where else I could go for a good quote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

black47 wrote: »
    Is it my imagination or is this a ridiculous quote? Would love to hear feedback from anyone or advice on where else I could go for a good quote
    Get out the Golden Pages and ring every ins co and a good selection of brokers. You can also play them off against each other for a better quote. Do this every year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

When it comes to insurance the only person that loyalty benefits is the insurer.

123.ie was very competitive for me. Ended up moving both mine and the wifes policy to them last year. Also try the AA as they used to be good.
    Your quote seems to be high for sure. As the previous poster said, ring around all the insurers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,411 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Op, have you ever shopped around for a better quote since you have been with Axa? Insurance companies don't really reward customers for loyalty so why give them any. Always shop around for a more competitive price for the same cover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

You claimed for a windscreen. Thats why they are trying to rape you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

123.ie or request a callback from MIB.ie You will almost certainly get a cheaper quote than AXA have given you and when you do give AXA a call, tell them about the cheaper quote and ask them to prove their loyalty by not just matching it but beating it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,823 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Duiske wrote: »
    123.ie or request a callback from MIB.ie You will almost certainly get a cheaper quote than AXA have given you and when you do give AXA a call, tell them about the cheaper quote and ask them to prove their loyalty by not just matching it but beating it.

I got a quote from 123.ie on my TT, on 24th April, and I rang them today to talk to them with a view to taking out cover - he explained the rates they quote are only good for 1 day, and he'd have to re-quote, which is fine, and he went through the whole thing and came up with........... € 570. :eek: :eek: That's a 59% increase in just under 3 weeks !

I really don't get it: 26 years driving with never a claim or penalty point, only 8k kms per annum on a car 'worth' €4500, IAM test done as well. Current cheapest quote is still €70 more than last year, for worse cover. No's I have are 393/399/570/473/420.

We are being taken for a ride, literally.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

galwaytt wrote: »
    I got a quote from 123.ie on my TT, on 24th April, and I rang them today to talk to them with a view to taking out cover - he explained the rates they quote are only good for 1 day, and he'd have to re-quote, which is fine, and he went through the whole thing and came up with........... € 570. :eek: :eek: That's a 59% increase in just under 3 weeks !

I really don't get it: 26 years driving with never a claim or penalty point, only 8k kms per annum on a car 'worth' €4500, IAM test done as well. Current cheapest quote is still €70 more than last year, for worse cover. No's I have are 393/399/570/473/420.

When did 30 days become 1 day? Any quote i've ever gotten has been valid for 28, or 30 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

goz83 wrote: »
    When did 30 days become 1 day? Any quote i've ever gotten has been valid for 28, or 30 days.

I had a similar experience with them. Got a quote that was supposed to be good for 30 days, rang up two weeks later the day before I bought the car only to be told that they would no longer honor the quote and would not cover me on the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭PaudyW

Ring around im younger with no no claims in the same car as you paying less, insurance companies are all pure chancers they will try to get away with whatever they can, ring around and you will find alot better deals, never ever just automatically renew insurance, of course its going to go up, chancers the lot of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Assuming the OP had windscreen cover, their renewal quote won't have been affected by the claim.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,434 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Yes it is a ridiculous quote. I am younger than you, heave a bigger car than you and do not have a full no claims bonus but am paying €150 per year less than you.
    I cannot believe you have been with the same company since 95! Rarely have I stayed with the same company for more than 2-3 years. You have literally wasted thousands of euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,396 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Just got quoted over €400 for TPFT with windscreen cover in a renewal quote from Liberty last week(€50 more than last year) . Put the details into firstquote.ie and got a callback from one of their brokers with a quote for around €280. No brainer.

Interestingly, I'm beginning to suspect insurance companies actually charge you more if you've proven yourself too lazy to shop around in the past: "been a customer for years sure why would you leave now when it's only a small increase" etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

I left AXA a couple of years back when they tried to virtually quadruple the F&T portion of my premium from the previous year and couldn't give me any sort of explanation why. I had a squeaky clean record with no claims.

Anan1 wrote: »
    Assuming the OP had windscreen cover, their renewal quote won't have been affected by the claim.

If only they honoured such things. My bmw was stolen back in 2010. Even though a theft is not supposed to affect your renewal, it did affect mine AND I had NCB protection in place.

My dad had w/screen cover on his car a few years ago and had to get a w/screen fixed (not replaced). His renewal went up without explanation. When he rang around, the other quotes were taking the w/screen claim into account, because it was still a claim, regardless of NCB not being affected.

As of right now, I am technically only 3 years claim free if I want to insure a second car with a certain well known insurer. They will take my full NCB on the first car, but will only mirror 3 of those years onto another car. It's all a bit complicated and made very little sense to me.

The drive other cars thing is well open to abuse and is not very clean, considering you are required to display a valid insurance disc for the vehicle in question. Sure, you might be insured to drive another car, but yu might also get fined for doing it, unless it has insurance attached to it already. Proud to be Irish :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭black47

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    Yes it is a ridiculous quote. I am younger than you, heave a bigger car than you and do not have a full no claims bonus but am paying €150 per year less than you.
    I cannot believe you have been with the same company since 95! Rarely have I stayed with the same company for more than 2-3 years. You have literally wasted thousands of euro.

Fair play to you. Direct and to the point. I've made a twat of myself but no more. Going with 123 for €340 more perks with it. Never again will I stick to the one company

...just tried First Quote and got this:

Quote 1
    € 481.74 XS Direct

Quote 2
    € 497.48 Aviva Broker Motorchoice Standard

Quote 3
    € 556.42 KennCo Choice

Quote 4
    € 579.18 AXA DriveFirst Basic

Quote 5
    € 587.67 Allianz Ireland p.l.c.- Private Motor

Quote 6
    € 635.42 AXA MotorFirst Standard

Quote 7
    € 687.92 AXA MotorFirst Plus

Is it me, or do all these not look expensive ??

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,030 ✭✭✭✭kippy

...just tried First Quote and got this:

Quote 1
    € 481.74 XS Direct

Quote 2
    € 497.48 Aviva Broker Motorchoice Standard

Quote 3
    € 556.42 KennCo Choice

Quote 4
    € 579.18 AXA DriveFirst Basic

Quote 5
    € 587.67 Allianz Ireland p.l.c.- Private Motor

Quote 6
    € 635.42 AXA MotorFirst Standard

Quote 7
    € 687.92 AXA MotorFirst Plus

Is it me, or do all these not look expensive ??
    Try insure.ie, for the craic - ring them, easier to get the right details and ask them can they "do better" after they give you the lowest first quote.

I find its usually better ring for any of these quotes.

If only they honoured such things. My bmw was stolen back in 2010. Even though a theft is not supposed to affect your renewal, it did affect mine AND I had NCB protection in place.

...I am pondering this too - I mean, who's to say whether,
    The drive other cars thing is well open to abuse and is not very clean, considering you are required to display a valid insurance disc for the vehicle in question. Sure, you might be insured to drive another car, but yu might also get fined for doing it, unless it has insurance attached to it already. Proud to be Irish :confused:

...I'm not sure that's correct. Yes, you are required to display a valid insurance disc that covers you to drive the car in question. However, that does not mean the details on the disc display the reg of that particular car.

Consider: you have DOV cover on your policy for your Main car (call it 00 D 1) that allows you to drive an Other car (say 99 D 99). So, the disc that covers you whilst driving 99 D 99 is in fact the one registered to your Main car 00 D 1. Ergo, displaying the disc with the detals 00 D 1 is legitimate. If queried, you can produce your Cert which will confirm it.

The only thing that a court or Garda will accept as proof of cover under the RTA is the Cert - not the disc. If you'e in doubt, try producing the disc instead of the Cert in a court.........

The key piece of information on disc is the policy number and dates of cover and the disc is merely a reference to the full covering Cert. The full Certificate itself needs to be read.

Ode To The Motorist

kippy wrote: »
    Try insure.ie, for the craic - ring them, easier to get the right details and ask them can they "do better" after they give you the lowest first quote.

I find its usually better ring for any of these quotes.

Just did: € 635 :confused:

Ode To The Motorist

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,434 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Fair play to you. Direct and to the point. I've made a twat of myself but no more. Going with 123 for €340 more perks with it. Never again will I stick to the one company

Sorry I didn't mean to sound so abrupt but hate to see people being ripped off.
    A saving of €228 by making a couple of phonecalls is a result:).
    The same is true for house insurance and any other insurance you have. Every couple of years make a few calls and go with whoever is cheapest. There is no loyalty in these situations. Even with health insurance. I switched from VHI this year to Laya. Only saved €50 but got slightly better cover. 2 good results.

...I'm not sure that's correct. Yes, you are required to display a valid insurance disc that covers you to drive the car in question. However, that does not mean the details on the disc display the reg of that particular car.

This ended with my cousin getting a driving ban. He drove a friends car, having put his own insurance disc in the car window. Garda did him for displaying another cars disc in the window of the car he was driving and "fraud" was a word used. Now he didn't show up to court, because he never received a summons, but when it came to renewing his license, he found he was banned for 3 years. Typical story of the Guard moving stations and not calling back. Nothing was ever done about it. He drove on a banned license until the ban expired. insurers never knew. fcuked up eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,199 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

That is fine and saucy, I would say. AXA seem to be like that - Mrs. Goose is with them, every year they try it on and every year she roars down the phone at them and gets the premium down by the most of €100.

I use a broker, which is probably a bit old-school of me, but what the hey... €376 for full comp (including full comp on when driving other cars) and Legal Costs and Personal Accident. 3-litre Jag, 41 years old. Me that is, not the car. This is with RSA. Back in 2010, the same RSA decided to jack up my premium by about half, so the broker sourced the same product from Zurich PLC for a much more sensible amount. The following year, Zurich go bananas and I'm back with RSA since. Go figure...

I have explained to my broker that I consider premium increases intolerable at this hour of my life, and that I expect it to be going noticeably down year-on-year, or there will be ructions. :D

I claimed for a windscreen in 2007. RSA didn't try to rape me until three years later. :D

jimgoose wrote: »
    I claimed for a windscreen in 2007. RSA didn't try to rape me until three years later. :D

HAHAHA. They're just a bit slow then :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

Fair play, and nice result. :) Just looking at the basic info you gave in the first post I was thinking somewhere around €300 - €350 would be a reasonable quote. You could probably push that down a little with a few more calls, but whatever way you look at it, a near €230 saving makes for a good days work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Merch

i googled insure.ie, no insure.ie comes up? are they in some other group of insurers?
    Bloody ridiculous people in their 30's/40's with good record getting raped for insurance.
    Im thinking of upgrading the car to something bigger, maybe a people carrier and it sounds like Im looking at stupid insurance quotes, Id like to cut it to the bone regarding extras but windscreen cover and NCB protection are handy, Id nearly hang onto windscreen cover over NCB protection.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16 smelly moe 1

last time i went their for a quote...

yer man was wearin a balaclava

update on my post(s) above: €407.09 with AON (who I have my bike with).

I still don't get it though.

Ode To The Motorist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

I was with Quinn / Liberty insurance up until last year with a premium of around 500 euro. Their renewal quote was an increase of approx 50% on the prior year at 740. I looked around and pretty much other company was around 500, so I went with 123.ie.
    This year 123.ie are quoting me 760, and everyone else (inc Quinn) are around the 500 mark. I asked why a 50% increase, and was told it was due to european law changing so that men and women had to be classified the same (how this brings the policy of a male, the higher of the two, up is beyond me). If I try a new quote with the same details under a different email address, 123.ie quote me 536 euro.
    Why dont these companies want repeat business?

I was with Quinn / Liberty insurance up until last year .....was told it was due to european law changing so that men and women had to be classified the same

Just got the same response from Liberty - €596 is their quote to me this time.....

Ode To The Motorist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Was renewing my insurance last week, got a quote from NoNonsense.ie on online, cheapest I could get €350, went to go ahead with it and they wont insure a 2002 Audi A6 diesel, seemingly their underwriter wont cover that car:confused: 34yr old male, no points, Full NCD, never had a claim:confused:
    Had to go with 123.ie for €390, but it did include breakdown that NoNonsense didn't.

I wonder does a 38 year old woman person that drives a 2006 Polo worth €6000 with two points ever get insurance for 229 euro???

I'm damned if i can get under the 300 mark without ripping the sheit out of my cover, but usually its in the high 300's if not over in a few cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭lomb

Count your blessings, I was with 123 on a 225 TT roadster at 550 never any claims , clean license, 36, 10 years Ncb, but as I slightly modified the car ie bodykit etc I had to find another insurer at 820 + I pay seperate AA at 99 as Its a better service Uk +Ireland tow you home. So Im paying nearly 1k. However the extra 370 is only a small fraction of the running cost so I dont particularly care. I just want good cover.

Senna wrote: »
    Was renewing my insurance last week, got a quote from NoNonsense.ie on online, cheapest I could get €350, went to go ahead with it and they wont insure a 2002 Audi A6 diesel, seemingly their underwriter wont cover that car:confused: 34yr old male, no points, Full NCD, never had a claim:confused:
    Had to go with 123.ie for €390, but it did include breakdown that NoNonsense didn't.

I gave that NoNonsense crowd a bell a couple of years ago, out of curiosity. I can confirm that their name is a misnomer - they told me they don't quote on anything over 2.5 litres. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Tommyboy40

Try First Ireland Direct. I pay €354 fully comp, breakdown cover, step back ncd etc on a 5.0 V8. I'm 45 with a cleanish license. Nice people to deal with. That €354 also covers my 2 other cars. OP you're being ripped off. I was with axa for years paying €1400 to insure the V8 and another car, every year they tried to raise my premium but I would threaten to move to another insurer

Tommyboy40 wrote: »
    Try First Ireland Direct. I pay €354 fully comp, breakdown cover, step back ncd etc on a 5.0 V8. I'm 45 with a cleanish license. Nice people to deal with. That €354 also covers my 2 other cars. OP you're being ripped off. I was with axa for years paying €1400 to insure the V8 and another car, every year they tried to raise my premium but I would threaten to move to another insurer

A-ha! So there is such a thing as a multicar policy on this Feckin' Island. I knew it - folk do that with bikes all the time. What's the V8, mista??

Mercedes R129 SL500

Ooook!! ;)

Mercedes R129 SL500

I bet it's pre '98 though.........

Ode To The Motorist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Ron Burgundy II

Buying insurance is a lottery. I priced around last year and Allianz offered my a price if I paid there and then which was about €200 cheaper than the rest. This year my quote is €500 fully comp on a 05 golf tdi and I'm only 26. My ncb is protected and get the usual breakdown assist etc with the cover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭eamor

I got my insurance from Aviva last year. Fully comp, covers myself & himself, 1.6 petrol 2008 for EU480. I received my renewal quote this morning. EU1278 !!! I've rang several times today only to be told 'emmmm, sorry thats the best we can do'...I rang a broker, who came back with a quote from Allianz that includes Claimsafe for EU 460.... I did request that a manager ring me back from Aviva, he did, I missed the call, but am hold now waiting to see what the explanation is....

eamor wrote: »
    I got my insurance from Aviva last year. Fully comp, covers myself & himself, 1.6 petrol 2008 for EU480. I received my renewal quote this morning. EU1278 !!! I've rang several times today only to be told 'emmmm, sorry thats the best we can do'...I rang a broker, who came back with a quote from Allianz that includes Claimsafe for EU 460.... I did request that a manager ring me back from Aviva, he did, I missed the call, but am hold now waiting to see what the explanation is....

update us. I bet you will be given the whole sh1te about womens policies rising due to the EU law. They are feeding men the same sh1te when premiums for a man should have fallen!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭rocky

I gave that NoNonsense crowd a bell a couple of years ago, out of curiosity. I can confirm that their name is a misnomer - they told me they don't quote on anything over 2.5 litres. :D

I'm with them on a 3 litre. You need 3 years NCB before they'll quote, at least this was the situation in Jan.

Who's the underwriter?

rocky wrote: »
    I'm with them on a 3 litre. You need 3 years NCB before they'll quote, at least this was the situation in Jan.

:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭kristian12

I'm still waiting on a refund from Chill Insurance after they took the money from the card and then phoned to say sorry but the insurance is over €1000 more than we quoted and you owe us another €600 odd( can't remember exactly) before we can start the policy :mad:

eamor wrote: »

which broker?
    I want a percent reduction like that :)

:D:D:D

funny eh?