Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sunday 12th May

• 11-05-2013 10:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭

After the superb tipping on Saturday I will be brave and get this one going.

4.25 Leopardstown 1m Handicap

Waydownsouth.

Had a great season in 2010/2011 when he won 4 races and was good enough to finish 3rd in the 2011 Wolferton at Royal Ascot despite a bad draw. He achieved an official rating of 101 in his pomp.

Was in my opinion campaigned very poorly since, ran in races above his ability on bad ground over distances that were too far including an Irish St. Ledger.

However i believe he has retained at least some of his ability proven by his winning of a maiden hurdle in Jan this year in Tramore.

I know he was well fancied before his last run in limerick at the students meeting but the deluge of rain that fell that evening ended any realistic chance he had of running his race.

Think he can run a huge race tomorrow and wouldn't have to run to anything near like his previous rating of 101 to win this.

2pts EW 9/1 PP BOG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

....................................Waits for Aidankkk to arrive.........................................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭madmoose

Hope olympic glory can win the french guineas but he's got a wide draw so could be a problem and 5/2 or so seems a little skinny so doubt i will back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭MoscowFlyer

Just got this email from Betfred:

Please be aware that Best Odds Guaranteed is no longer available on Lucky 15's, 31's and 63's. This concession is still available on all other bet types (singles, doubles, trebles, yankees etc).

This change will become effective as of Monday May 13th.

Our other horse racing offers, including treble the odds, enhanced multiples, daily pushes, out of the frame and 2nd to the SP favourite remain unchanged.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 786 ✭✭✭fangee

sdoc13 wrote: »
    After the superb tipping on Saturday I will be brave and get this one going.

4.25 Leopardstown 1m Handicap

Waydownsouth.

Had a great season in 2010/2011 when he won 4 races and was good enough to finish 3rd in the 2011 Wolferton at Royal Ascot despite a bad draw. He achieved an official rating of 101 in his pomp.

Was in my opinion campaigned very poorly since, ran in races above his ability on bad ground over distances that were too far including an Irish St. Ledger.

However i believe he has retained at least some of his ability proven by his winning of a maiden hurdle in Jan this year in Tramore.

I know he was well fancied before his last run in limerick at the students meeting but the deluge of rain that fell that evening ended any realistic chance he had of running his race.

Think he can run a huge race tomorrow and wouldn't have to run to anything near like his previous rating of 101 to win this.

2pts EW 9/1 PP BOG.

From what you say in your write up re ground it would appear the conditions have gone against his chances of winning ?

madmoose wrote: »
    Hope olympic glory can win the french guineas but he's got a wide draw so could be a problem and 5/2 or so seems a little skinny so doubt i will back.

Bad draw's a negative but he's still the horse to get closest to Dawn Approach and is a reliable if unspectacular type. Might chance a bit @ 11/4 with Paddy Power now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Have had my reservations about Olympic Glory and I thought he looked absolutely diabolical on his comeback run.

Was at Arc day when he won his Gr.1 and I was keen to take him on but I just couldn't find anything near gr.1 quality in the field. Gr.1 in name only, will fancy him to get beaten tomorrow and is worth a place lay I think.

He hasn't shown a whole lot thus far over fences but I really think King Vuvuzela is a better horse than a 104 mark. Will wait until tomorrow to see a price

Hey Colonel I know you love this as much as I do :rolleyes::rolleyes: when idiots on Betfair ruin a price for a few cent, King Vuvuzela at 7 having already being matched from 13 downward for the sake of a few quid. I will be very mad if I don't get double figures tomorrow

Leopardstown

3.25: I think 11/4 about Rawaaq is a fair price. She has won the other Leopardstown Guineas trial and had Snow Queen behind her in that who has since gone on to run very well in the English Guineas. Pretty sure Smullen was adamant that she would improve for that run too.

Longchamp

3.40: As consistent as the lovable Maarek is, I have to take him on tomorrow at the price, given the trip and ground. Going is good to soft as far as I can find out, with a warm day forecast. While he has plenty of speed, Maarek has done most of his winning over 6f or 5f on soft so tomorrows sharper trip on good ground may just find him out. I'll be backing Humidor @ 7/1 - George Baker seems confident that there's a race of this standard in his horse and while he hasn't won for yonks, he's been running in good company. He was a good 4th in last years Nunthorpe won by Ortensia and has course experience having run ok in last years decent L'Abbaye field, when poorly drawn. Significantly for me, he's done most of his running over 5f on good ground. Has ran recently when 2nd to Spirit Quartz so should strip fit. Richard Hughes booked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭sdoc13

fangee wrote: »
    From what you say in your write up re ground it would appear the conditions have gone against his chances of winning ?

Good to yielding/Yielding should be ok. If it goes any heavier than that, would put me off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

4:15 Killarney

Noble Prince won’t need to be at his best to win this race today. Although he was on the face of it poor enough last time out at Punchestown, he was never going to get close there so it was hardly a surprise. He has shown some scraps of form this year, and this race around here looks ideal for him. The Fav Dedigout looks overrated having basically beaten nothing and looking for all the world as needing further. If the application of blinkers does anything at all here he should stand a great chance. I had a look this morning and said to myself if he went to 4/1 I’d be interested., so the current 5.8 on Betfair looks great value. He is also 4/1 with Bet365.

2 Points win 5.8 Betfair

Jim think Rawaaq deserves to be favourite for that trial I thought she won really well that day.

Not backing King Vuvuzela, 7/1 is a little skinny even though there are a few non runners.

This race may be a little competitive for him so today may not be the day, but really think Maal has a win in him soon and has dropped to a dangerously low handicap mark of 56. He was beaten a head off this mark over 10 furlongs up North last summer and he was won when fresh so lack of run isn't too worrying.

Versatile trip wise, he has won a bumper, a 12 furlong maiden, 4 10 furlong handicaps and 2 mile handicaps, with 71 being the lowest mark he has won off which was over 10 furlongs around here 5 years ago. Clearly not as good as he used to be, he does come here carrying 8-4 with a good claimer taking off another seven, though it will probably be more like five given he has ridden off 7-12 as the lowest in the last year. Drawn well, 25/1 is appealing each way, though it is quite competitive given it's a three year old plus race. If not today I'd be on next time if it's 4 yo +

And one other. Takeroc is now 8 lbs below his last handicap win which was a comprehensive one at Aintree at the back of 2011. Was rated as high as 145 and was placed off that mark at Donny last year when he traded at near 2/1 on. Now 18 lbs below that, travelled well last time out over 3 miles but the trip really stretched him.11/1 is a decent price

Astracad (13/2) will be my biggish bet today in the 3.10 at Worcester. Hasn't progressed as I thought but think this is a winnable race and providing no mistakes it will hopefully get me a few quid.

Does anyone know the draw bias for a mile at Longchamp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

25pts security breach!!! Ruby off 10st 4-1

Anquetta 10-1 worchester too locked to multitask!!!

Carrickonshannon is some Craic!

UrbanSea wrote: »
    Does anyone know the draw bias for a mile at Longchamp

Low numbers are the way to go apparently.

William Buick is coming out of Stall 2 in the 2000 Gunieas and he said he believes it increases his chances by around 50%.

Nice might take a small each way chance on Waterway Run in the 1000 drawn seven. The Danehill Dancer filly could be really top class think she's the only one in the field that stands out with that trait

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Overthelast

ste2010 wrote: »

Anquetta 10-1 worchester too locked to multitask!!!

Carrickonshannon is some Craic!

Backed security breach @ 4/1. Reckon he has been laid out for this. Bottom weight, ruby/Mullins in a valuable
    handicap.

Grp 1s Longchamp. Gone with goldikova's half brother in the 2k Anodin & Tuna Papita in the 1k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,547 ✭✭✭droidman123

Too lazy and hungover to study the form today,so I think I will just do an Andre Fabre double in the 1000 and 2000 French guineas.

sdoc13 wrote: »
    Good to yielding/Yielding should be ok. If it goes any heavier than that, would put me off.

It's now reported as soft.

Think its Yielding/Yielding to soft. Spoke to 1 of the owners this morning and they are backing him. They hope to get back to Ascot and he will need to win to do that. If the going is gone soft would half my bet,

He should have no problem with the trip even on that ground. Better horse on good though.

Does anybody know what channel I can watch Longchamp on ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Oscars Well.

Does anybody know what channel I can watch Longchamp on ?

It's on AtTheRaces

O'Briens beaten a short head in the first there, was very well backed too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

ste2010 wrote: »
    !

wont even look at anything else in that race now, just backed it
    went off rubys only ride last sunday when someone stuck
    a tip up here

Astracad (13/2) will be my biggish bet today in the 3.10 at Worcester. Hasn't progressed as I thought but think this is a winnable race and providing no mistakes it will hopefully get me a few quid.

Sam Twiston Davis has put this up as his best chance of the day on ATR

Have had my reservations about Olympic Glory and I thought he looked absolutely diabolical on his comeback run.

Was at Arc day when he won his Gr.1 and I was keen to take him on but I just couldn't find anything near gr.1 quality in the field. Gr.1 in name only, will fancy him to get beaten tomorrow and is worth a place lay I think.

He hasn't shown a whole lot thus far over fences but I really think King Vuvuzela is a better horse than a 104 mark. Will wait until tomorrow to see a price

The best even money shot I ever found.

Think we saw the French Derby winner in Intello absolutely fly home there in the Guineas

Lets hope its a winner!

Think we saw the French Derby winner in Intello absolutely fly home there in the Guineas

Possibly, he did well to get 2nd from that draw. Olympic Glory looked uncomfortable from the get go. My selection anodin gave me a headache.

lol
    forgot to tune in to that and thought intello had won and that
    my bet on style vendome was fecked
    not a single though as i dont know a lot about french racing but
    doubles/treble with that one esoterique 3s and we'll go
    walking at leop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Tuna Papita I fancy in the 1000 guineas.

Longchamp running late because it doesn't want to clash with the class 5 handicap chase at Worcester

Lads who the **** decided to show from five out at Worcester instead of the 1000 Guineas, absolutely diabolical

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Lads who the **** decided to show from five out at Worcester instead of the 1000 Guineas, absolutely diabolical

Absolute joke alright :rolleyes:

absolutely pathetic by atr and the commentary out
    of sync to rub it in

worc over a bloody classic ffs

Some ****ing joke. Showed the last 100 yards. Whoever decided that should be shot with a ball of their own.

Worcester race was worth 3k. The Grp 1 was only worth 360k. Made sense to show elderly chasers demolishing fences instead.

Lord give me patience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭BQQ

Big price for a breeders cup winner lto

Does anyone know if atr's e mail is studio@attheraces.com

Hope it is. Have just sent an email complaining about this. We should all do the same, might take some notice.

I did.

HEY M8 C U WAT D FUK DO U TINK U WER DOING SHOWEN SUM ****TY WORCHESTOR RACE OVER LONG CHAMP I WIL ****IN SHANK U M8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭bellybuster12

Sent an email myself, yes the word "paddling" was used:cool:

Sent one saying it was diabolical and the worst coverage I've ever seen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

One bet today. Rawaaq.
    Should be favourite here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭Pinesky

It may well be that the ATR contract with the racecourses doesnt allow them to break coverage for some 'foreign' race. I'd certainly insist on it if I was a racecourse executive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Sure what do I know.

Pinesky wrote: »
    It may well be that the ATR contract with the racecourses doesnt allow them to break coverage for some 'foreign' race. I'd certainly insist on it if I was a racecourse executive.

I'm pretty sure they've chosen foreign big ones ahead of domestic ones before

What happened Rawaaq there? Didn't see race.

jimjamcos wrote: »
    What happened Rawaaq there? Didn't see race.

No excuses just ran poorly.

what happened the fav at leop?
    that was awful

Security Breach ran a shocker in Killarney

security breach shocking
    one of the first beat