Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Raw 06/05/13 *Spoilers*

• 06-05-2013 6:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,020 ✭✭✭✭

Source

Tonight's edition of WWE Raw takes place from The Roanoke Civic Center in Roanoke, VA, and the following is being advertised for the show:
    -The Miz is being advertised to return following several weeks off TV to shoot "Christmas Bounty" for ABC Family. Chris Jericho is also being advertised for the show.
    -John Cena will provide an udpdate on his injury status.
    -Antonio Cesaro's quest to regain The U.S. Title begins tonight.
    -Last night Paul Heyman tweeted something "Extreme" for Raw tonight, and Brock Lesnar is expected to be on the show to hype his PPV match against Triple H.
    -The dark match main event is being listed as John Cena and Alberto Del Rio vs Dolph Ziggler and Ryback.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

Lesnar arrived at WWE HQ and destroyed HHH's office:
    heyman-lesnar-hq.jpg

BJmfG8oCQAE1Z1t.jpg

Looking forward to Sheamus throwing acid in Mark Henry's face or slashing him a with a slash hook during the next contest on Raw too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 894 ✭✭✭cian68

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    -Antonio Cesaro's quest to regain The U.S. Title begins tonight.

Oh good. I was worried he wouldn't get another shot at that prestigious gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,283 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

rovert wrote: »
    Lesnar arrived at WWE HQ and destroyed HHH's office:
    heyman-lesnar-hq.jpg

BJmfG8oCQAE1Z1t.jpg

Looking forward to Sheamus throwing acid in Mark Henry's face or slashing him a with a slash hook during the next contest on Raw too.

Great pictures, here's hoping they let Lesnar go nuts in this feud, if HHH beats him this time Brock riots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Is anyone else utterly bored of the Brock/HHH feud?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

krudler wrote: »

It'd be impossible not to be given that in four weeks, all that's happened is a challenge was issued and accepted. It's. So. Slow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

Only way to keep it interesting would be to introduce a third person (group) into the feud by way of interference during the actual match. Also a better stipulation. The no-holds-barred stip didnt really add to what was an already mediocre match at WM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

Nah he`s going to bite Henry wearing a Luis Suarez jersey. :P
    If he did that I may actually watch and pay attention to Raw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

you can forgive a dull feud if at least you feel we would get a good match out of it, but so far we have 2 matches which at best have been mediocre and worst duds. :(

It'd be impossible not to be given that in four weeks, all that's happened is a challenge was issued and accepted. It's. So. Slow.

Yeah this back and forth " next week we'll hear" ugh, whatever about doing that once to build some tension but every week? momentum killing, a cage match is a terrible idea anyway, hell in a cell yeah but cage matches are primarily for when a heel is trying to avoid a face, not openly challenging him every week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,466 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

also, destroying an office is quite pathetic.

why would that escalate a feud that's already had Brock destroy HHH's family and friends?

is Brock going to send HHH an angry text next week to escalate things further?

SlickRic wrote: »
    also, destroying an office is quite pathetic.

why would that escalate a feud that's already had Brock destroy HHH's family and friends?

is Brock going to send HHH an angry text next week to escalate things further?

ha yeah, so far Brock has threatened Stephanie, broke Shawn's arm, broke Vince's hip and HHH's arm twice. but now he's GONE TOO FAR!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

3MB v The Shield again i hope.

Actually, looking at it, it does feel like they've booked this feud in the wrong order. Writing in reverse...

*Brock challanges HHH to a cage match. Destroys office to taunt him. Both men are non-nonchalant and jokey about the feud. (Brock presumably wins).
    *HHH issues a rematch challange after Brock hurts Vince. They fight. HBK helps HHH win.
    *Brock attacks HBK and breaks his arm. One more fight which ends with Brock breaking HHH's arm and causes him to retire.

In that order, it's not a bad feud...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

In that order, it's not a bad feud...
    I am assuming in this Bizarro universe that the matches were good too.

I honestly didn't think their Mania match was bad. It was just stupid to put it on right after Taker/Punk. Had it been earlier in the night, the crowd wouldn't have been burnt out and it wouldn't have come accross so badly...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,270 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

This is some of the worst shít Cena has ever come out with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭takamichinoku

Had it been on earlier and had Brock remained concussion free, it could've been alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,997 ✭✭✭Mr.Saturn

Can anyone see any other reason why they'd do a last-man were it not to save Ryback eating a pin, so they can run with 'Back/Cena 'til the Summer-angle kicks in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

Sandow is brilliant. Absolutely brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭Kerplunk124

Give Sandow a title right now dammit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,602 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

The dark haired woman is back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,270 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Jericho sullied the blonde one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,602 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Albert has really breathed new life into this gimmick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

I was just going to say, I actually like Tonnes of Funk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Hammar

Shes Back!!!!!!

RAW_1037_Photo_120.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭mrkiscool2

Well, that was a botch and a half. Poor Ziggler

Jobber entrance for Ryder :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Ando's Saggy Bottom

27 posts.

Wow. Mustve been a good one! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

it was almost like a go home show a week early.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 25,390 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

Well according to the Boards rating system this was an utter miss!

I'm assuming it's one to avoid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Sandow was the only good part of the whole show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭spiritcrusher

3 pages at 12 the next day?! Wow. Pretty forgettable Raw really. I kind of enjoyed the trashing of Triple H's office, mostly just for Heyman's commentary and Lesnar pushing that office guy's head into the desk. But christ, Triple H himself was desperate when he appeared. It really is the most pointless feud in ages. Lesnar needed to appear in person I thought.
    Cena was also desperate last night, back to his teenage innuendo jokes and saving the day. But it was a very child and parent heavy crowd last night so I guess he had to play up to that.
    Sandow was easily had the best part of the whole the show. That song was genuinely hilarious. Summed up everything about how boring Orton's character is in about 30 seconds. For god sake WWE, push the man, he's gold!

Wow, can't believe how little this show is being discussed. Thought it was a good episode myself.

The Shield are great. It's so refreshing to see three fresh guys get a strong, consistent push over a longer period. Found it funny that they beat Kofi who is Mr. Start Stop nowadays.

Guess Cesaro and Bryan's impressive matches paid off last week, both receiving prominent places on tonight's show.

Brock & Heyman inside HQ was brilliant, though I thought the cut to a set when they entered the office was slightly obvious, as was the fact Heyman wasn't there for the last part of the segment. I loved getting to see the lobby and some of the offices though. And Heyman's commentary was fun.

I can't wait for the ladder match, which is being built up really well (Has it been mentioned all three are former MITB winners, meaning they all have experience doing well in ladder matches?). Last Man Standing for Cena vs Ryback should probably be a stip used two or three matches into the feud, but should be a good match. Sandow should be getting time on the microphone each and every week. Kaitlyn's secret admirer story is good for a laugh ( <3 Khali). It amazes me it took this long to have Tons of Funk involved with Fandango, but it was a fun segment (though where is Blonde Dancer gone :( )

Overall, thought it was a decent episode. not amazing, not not warranting the low Boards.ie rating...

On 4 different occasions last night, having muted the broadcast during ads, I forgot I was watching RAW in the first place. Had leave a live-recap open on the laptop eventually, as I was missing bits here and there.

From what I do remember; Sheamus/Barrett had its moments, Cesaro was engaging with his mic-work, Sandow somewhat justified the staying up, KoUsos/Shield really flared up in the closing moments, Mark Henry's belt proved more effective against Sheamus than Barrett's and it amazes me that Daniel Bryan is so flexible in his appeal, he can go from losing straight matches for however long to looking credible as a main-event run-in save.

I can't tell if this is reflective of the show's quality, or my failing cerebral functions.

Overall, though, struck me as a pretty middling show.

Also, DAT TEASE OF ROCK VS BROCK

1279082592656.jpg

Sheamus's welts are a bit NSFW:
    https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BJq3cfWCMAA_XV9.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,108 ✭✭✭✭2nd Row Donkey

3q3kkb.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭cena

How did that happen

cena wrote: »
    How did that happen

Mark Henry did what Mark Henry do.

This thread is now about Fandango's dance partner

Fandango-Brunette-Dancer-300x336.jpg

fandango-dancer-missing.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,560 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

So one Bella has implants and the other has a tattoo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Thought it was a good Raw,kept all the feuds ticking over nicely.

Heyman's commentary as he and Brock strolled about WWE HQ was quality.

Henry's promo was brilliant too,plus the proper Fandango girl was back.

The backstage bit with Kaitlyn,Natalya and Khali was a bit cringeworthy though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭Adiboo

Only thing I thoroughly enjoyed about this Raw was Cesaro's beast of a post match promo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

Is it just me who thinks the blonde one is better than the brunette one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭Adiboo

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    Is it just me who thinks the blonde one is better than the brunette one?

I'm with you, I love Summer Rae.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Fandango lady makes a nice change from the blonde,big chested ladies that WWE usually use.

Nice bit of mystery about her too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Darragh09

Am I the only one thats completely lost interest since Punk's left?
    Youtubed the Sandow and Lesnar segments and that was it. Did the 3 for 2 Silvervision offer too to keep me occupied in the mean time until he comes back. :)

WWE Raw on Monday, May 6 dropped to a 2.9 flat rating, down nearly two-tenths of a rating from last week's show. It was the lowest rating of the year.

Raw has steadily dropped off the last three weeks - 3.14 rating, 3.07 rating, and 2.90 rating, officially putting WWE in post-WrestleMania Lull Season.

- Raw averaged 3.91 million viewers, marking the first show of the year to dip below four-million-viewers.

Hourly Break Down: 3.96 million first hour viewers, dismal 3.87 million second hour viewers, and 3.91 million third hour viewers. It was the first time this year than any hour of Raw dipped below four-million-viewers.

The only bright point is the end of Raw's streak of third-hour viewership declining from the second hour. However, the second hour was off 500,000 viewers from last week and nearly one million viewers from two weeks ago.

- On cable TV Monday night, Raw ranked #2 in overall viewers and key male demos behind the NBA Playoffs on TNT.

- One year ago this week, Raw scored a 3.03 rating and averaged 4.31 million viewers for a two-hour show. This year's key male demos are way off, ranging from a dip of three-tenths of a rating to five-tenths of a rating.

Caldwell's Analysis: There just isn't a whole lot going for Raw after WrestleMania right now. The extended gap from Mania to Extreme Rules is necessary if WWE wants to sell more PPVs, but it's hurting the TV product with WWE stretching to fill three hours of TV without a PPV to lead into or follow up on. Raw was definitely hurt by the head-to-head NBA Playoffs game staying very competitive until the end featuring the star-driven Miami Heat and the big-wrestling-market Chicago Bulls.

Wonder how long until they drag CM Punk back kicking on one knee and screaming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

Wonder how long until they drag CM Punk back kicking on one knee and screaming.

Sooner rather than later. Its such crap that they are struggling to fill three hours when there is a locker room full of new talent who would probably love to compete and build a following for themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭mrkiscool2

Hmm, I don't really get the whole "This Raw was sh1te" viewpoint in this thread. Okay, it wasn't anything fantastic, but there wasn't too many horrible segments (not including the Katilyn secret admirer or the Orton-Sandow squash match; Sandow deserves so much better)

The Cena promo was once again horrific. For someone who is so good when he is serious, he jokes far too much. He should also be trying to make Ryback look like a realistic threat rather than insulting him. It's a case of creative not knowing what the hell they are doing again. Also, what the hell is with Ryback being a coward of a heel? If Creative really wants to put him over as a "monster" they should have him being dominant the whole time!

Sandow's song was utterly brillant. This man is pure gold, and the way WWE use him is insane. Push him, give him at least a mid-card title and get him into the championship scene soon! Another squash match, which really sucks

Jericho as good as ever, but I really don't get the point in having Tons of Funk involved in the feud (even though they are quite enjoyable). Also, stop making Fandago leave the ring! Curtis is a decent wrestler, fecking let him wrestle! Also, I'm not sure what to make of this dance off angle, I don't think I'll enjoy it too much to be honest. R-Truth hasn't lost a match in 3 weeks either, that's very weird.

Del Rio and Ziggler match was very impressive actually, even if the result was pretty obvious (No Contest or DQ). Ziggler was definitely looking like a champ throughout the match. Del Rio made 3 botches, which ya never want to see. The missed drop kick that landed on Ziggler's head looked like it really hurt, while the reverse Suplex definitely wasn't excuted properly. Del Rio has to get that right in the Ladder match, too dangerous an environment for him to get anything wrong. Also, Swagger looked like an absolute beast! It's the best feud for ER by a mile, and it should be one hell of a match.

The Shield vs Kingston and the Usos was actually a lot more decent than I thought it would be! Great to see Creative actually do something proper with some stars in the 'E, and The Shield are he way to go. Also, Ambrose was eyeing the US title which I found interesting! Reigns/Rollins for Tag Titles and Ambrose for the US maybe? A good, old fashioned chaotic end to the match though, which I enjoyed.

Great to see Cesaro back on the up-and-up. WrestlingObserver has said WWE plan to push him after the Main Event match between him and Kingston (if you haven't seen it, watch it. Incredible match) was mostly down to his in-ring ability. Very quick squash match which just showed Cesaro's strength, but the new-look and the after match promo was very good. Hopefully he gets a good push now.

The Paul Heyman/Lesnar segment was very interesting. Lesanr looked like a beast, Heyman and Lesnar teasing a feud with The Rock, Lesnar actually talking was a change, and it was good to hear! Also, him destroying the office was brutal. The strength he showed when he threw that TV at the wall was scary! Heyman's post-video promo was also awesome!! I hope Lesnar is there next week and raises absolute hell! Triple H doing the usual, boring promo. Kinda an annoying end to the segment, which, without the HHH promo, was one of the best things the E has done in a while!

Who cares about the Diva's division anymore? I know I don't. Not a great match, with a pretty idiotic ending. Also, what is the point in making AJ look so weak before she faces Katilyn at ER? Pointless

OK promo between Henry and Sheamus, before Barrett and Sheamus again, followed by yet another Sheamus win. Can we please have Barrett beat someone who isn't mid-card? As in Barrett as IC champ should be bordering on Main Event level, instead he is average mid-card at the very best. That's what annoys me most about Creative. In the Attitude Era, anyone from mid midcard to Main Eventers were capable of beating each other (i.e. it wasn't predictable) If Creative went back to that, they wouldn't have a problem if both Cena and Punk get injured, as they would have talent who are shown to be slightly below them instead of never having a hope of winning.

Ryback vs Kane was actually a good match! I enjoyed it! It's what Henry vs Ryback at WM29 could have been, instead of it being so one-sided and confusing. The Shellshocked was well executed I thought, a smart way of getting Kane up for the finish. Again, whats the point of having Ryback look like a coward? It just makes the end of his match with Cena more and more predictable (No Finish or a Cena win). Did enjoy him clocking Cena though to end, and the "Done" which was the last thing on the show. Made me laugh a little.

Overall, not a bad show. 6 out of 10 would be fair for it!