Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice

• 05-05-2013 12:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭

Hi all ! I'm just reaching out to get people's opinions on my issue ! I've been talking to this guy since January. We met on an app linking in with Facebook called tinder ! There really is some interesting characters on that but I stumbled across this guy and we got chatting ! Swapped phone numbers and have been talking since. He is a lovely, genuine, down to earth guy with a great sense of humour ! Makes me laugh when I need to and lets me rant when I need to blow off steam ! The problem is he works alot and lives 2.5 hours away ! I have a strong feeling that he's into me like I'm into him but I think he's a bit too shy to take the first step ! What do I do ? :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭trio

If you are not interested in pursuing something with a guy 2.5 hrs away (& that would be fair enough, imo) then you must make it clear that you want to keep as friends.

Because if you are chatting and sharing this much, then he will probably have a reasonable assumption that it may lead to something more. And if it will not, then it is deeply uncool to keep ranting to him about your stuff.

If you want to try it, then suggest a meet up. But this is just limbo, and its going to wreck both your heads sooner rather than later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭boomkatalog

That sounds exactly how I met my boyfriend. We met through Friendzii, I was in college in Limerick, he lived in Dublin. We did long distance for 2 years, and I've been living in Dublin now 2 years. Its absolutely possible, if you are both willing to try.

Suggest a meet up, somewhere public. Half way between ye if possible would be fairest. Just a day trip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭Eire_1992

trio wrote: »
    If you are not interested in pursuing something with a guy 2.5 hrs away (& that would be fair enough, imo) then you must make it clear that you want to keep as friends.

Because if you are chatting and sharing this much, then he will probably have a reasonable assumption that it may lead to something more. And if it will not, then it is deeply uncool to keep ranting to him about your stuff.

If you want to try it, then suggest a meet up. But this is just limbo, and its going to wreck both your heads sooner rather than later.

Thanks for your reply Trio, I am willing to be with someone who is 2.5 hours away but I'm concerned that it might not work out !

That sounds exactly how I met my boyfriend. We met through Friendzii, I was in college in Limerick, he lived in Dublin. We did long distance for 2 years, and I've been living in Dublin now 2 years. Its absolutely possible, if you are both willing to try.

Suggest a meet up, somewhere public. Half way between ye if possible would be fairest. Just a day trip.

I love I hear of relationships that work out by meeting online so thanks !! 😊 I am most definitely willing to try and I get the feeling he is too but yet again he's shy and won't say it ! Was your family and friends sceptical of you meeting someone online ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭boomkatalog

Eire_1992 wrote: »
    I love I hear of relationships that work out by meeting online so thanks !! 😊 I am most definitely willing to try and I get the feeling he is too but yet again he's shy and won't say it ! Was your family and friends sceptical of you meeting someone online ?

I didn't tell my family initially because in the country, the internet is still a bit scary ;) my friends in college were very supportive, they helped me break the ice with him and hung out with us at first until I felt safe enough to be alone with him. Some friends were a bit weird about how we met, but it never bothered me. Some people still laugh when I tell them how we met but its certainly a more interesting story then 'I slept with him after the nightclub and he actually called the next day'!

My dad is the only one who doesnt know but I didn't actually tell the rest of my family my brother seen out conversations and told them :/ my best friend is the only one who knows about him and even she doesnt know the full story and I don't really want to tell anyone else until I have something to tell them if you understand me ? It definitely makes for an interesting conversation alright, something different anyway !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,607 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

Thanks for your reply Trio, I am willing to be with someone who is 2.5 hours away but I'm concerned that it might not work out !

Nobody knows how any relationship will out that's the chance you take. But it's better to take that chance then live your life being afraid.

That's very true meauldsegosha ! Sometimes you just have to think that you are making the best decision for you at that time !

Hi all - just an update ! He is willing to drive to my house while my parents are away in a few weeks for the weekend ! Is it a good idea that he comes to my house the first time we meet ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Hi all - just an update ! He is willing to drive to my house while my parents are away in a few weeks for the weekend ! Is it a good idea that he comes to my house the first time we meet ?

Meet at the house but have someone there for a bit with ye. My uncle met a woman from America online and now they're married and all. Just stay safe and hope it goes well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭andreac

No, it's not a good idea for him to come to your house for first time meet. I would never bring someone to my house that I'd never met before.
    I would meet somewhere in your local town or halfway between you both if that suits. Then if things go well you could invite him back again sometime.

KKkitty wrote: »
    Meet at the house but have someone there for a bit with ye. My uncle met a woman from America online and now they're married and all. Just stay safe and hope it goes well.

Thank you ! I think if he comes to the house it gives us more space and comfort to get to know each other better etc ! I just hope it works out !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭andreac

Thank you ! I think if he comes to the house it gives us more space and comfort to get to know each other better etc ! I just hope it works out !

Can you not meet somewhere near where you live? I'd never bring a stranger to my house that I'd never met.

andreac wrote: »
    Can you not meet somewhere near where you live? I'd never bring a stranger to my house that I'd never met.

I could met him in my local town and then see how things go ? If he comes down he'll more than likely stay over, depending on things going well :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

I could met him in my local town and then see how things go ? If he comes down he'll more than likely stay over, depending on things going well :)

Is your house near to neighbours houses? Meet him in a public place as someone already said. I hope it goes well for you but no matter what he's a stranger for now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭dellas1979

What ages are ye :).
    You sound very young. Is he around the same age?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

I'm going to guess with her username she's 21.
    I wouldn't have a first date come to my house and as a lad some things would always be on my mind if I did have a first date coming to my house.
    Meet him somewhere local for a chat and coffee/lunch etc and get to know him. Or somewhere in the middle. He could become very possessive/stalker and if the first date doesn't work out and the last thing you want him knowing is where you live if he is.

Definitely agree to meet up. If you have been chatting for a good while, it won't even feel like some of those awkward first dates. And what's the worst that'll happen? You don't get on? Fair enough. At least you won't be wondering 20 years down the line what if?

KKkitty wrote: »
    Is your house near to neighbours houses? Meet him in a public place as someone already said. I hope it goes well for you but no matter what he's a stranger for now.

Yep I live in the country but plenty of neighbours around ! Thanks :D

dellas1979 wrote: »
    What ages are ye :).
    You sound very young. Is he around the same age?

I'm 21 and he's 20 soon to be 21 aswell ! :)

Scortho wrote: »
    I'm going to guess with her username she's 21.
    I wouldn't have a first date come to my house and as a lad some things would always be on my mind if I did have a first date coming to my house.
    Meet him somewhere local for a chat and coffee/lunch etc and get to know him. Or somewhere in the middle. He could become very possessive/stalker and if the first date doesn't work out and the last thing you want him knowing is where you live if he is.

Definitely agree to meet up. If you have been chatting for a good while, it won't even feel like some of those awkward first dates. And what's the worst that'll happen? You don't get on? Fair enough. At least you won't be wondering 20 years down the line what if?

He knows where I stand regarding thinks on a lads mind lol ! I am aware that bringing someone to your house without ever meeting them might not be a good idea hence the post ! He's super shy, do I take the lead and suggest it first ? If this works out it will be my first relationship so I'm hoping it will work out :)

The simple answer is no. Always meet someone you don't know in a public place. Meet him before the weekend and if everything goes well then invite him for the weekend. The changes are he is fine but remember it is very easy to hide behind a computer, you really don't know this person until you meet him.

Very true..When we are going to meet up, I'm going to suggest to meet halfway or else he can come to my hometown to meet and then take things from there :D would love to meet him and then for him to stay in my place if things go to plan ?

He knows where I stand regarding thinks on a lads mind lol ! I am aware that bringing someone to your house without ever meeting them might not be a good idea hence the post ! He's super shy, do I take the lead and suggest it first ? If this works out it will be my first relationship so I'm hoping it will work out :)

If he hasn't asked I'd ask. Sure what do you have to lose at the end of the day.
    Which would you prefer? He doesn't ask, you don't either and a months time you stop talking to each other.
    Or you ask you end up getting into a relationship and who knows where that may go...you may regret 20 years down the line not asking but then you might not.
    If you don't ask you'll always have the what if? Hanging over your head.

I made the mistake of not asking at 16. It took me 2 years before I had the chance of asking again. 3 years later I'm happy I did!:)

Very true..When we are going to meet up, I'm going to suggest to meet halfway or else he can come to my hometown to meet and then take things from there :D would love to meet him and then for him to stay in my place if things go to plan ?

Don't have him stay in your place if things go to plan! You have to make us work for that kinda thing.

If he hasn't asked I'd ask. Sure what do you have to lose at the end of the day.
    Which would you prefer? He doesn't ask, you don't either and a months time you stop talking to each other.
    Or you ask you end up getting into a relationship and who knows where that may go...you may regret 20 years down the line not asking but then you might not.
    If you don't ask you'll always have the what if? Hanging over your head.

I made the mistake of not asking at 16. It took me 2 years before I had the chance of asking again. 3 years later I'm happy I did!:)

He has said to me that he'll come down once he gets a few days off ( he works ALOT ) !!
    I have thought about it alot lately you know like what it would be like to have such a great guy in my life ! So I definitely think its something worth pursuing, I wouldn't have talked to him this long if it wasn't something I wanted !

Don't have him stay in your place if things go to plan! You have to make us work for that kinda thing.

Oh he'll be working for it alright :P I think I'll have to let him stay, least I owe him is a bed for coming to see me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

Eh no OP!!!

Do not tell him he can stay in your house. Have you spoken to him on webcam or is it all mails? What about phone calls? Anyway if you meet him and he turns your stomach (you don't know!) you don't want to have committed in advance to letting him stay.

I think you shoul suggest he comes for day round trip or stays in b&b. You can always change your mind if it's going well. Seriously I think you would be mad to tell someone youve never met that they can stay in your house.

Katgurl wrote: »
    Eh no OP!!!

Do not tell him he can stay in your house. Have you spoken to him on webcam or is it all mails? What about phone calls? Anyway if you meet him and he turns your stomach (you don't know!) you don't want to have committed in advance to letting him stay.

I think you shoul suggest he comes for day round trip or stays in b&b. You can always change your mind if it's going well. Seriously I think you would be mad to tell someone youve never met that they can stay in your house.

It's all texting and they're have been a few phone calls but only when I'm extremely drunk !!

Well I do know what he looks like and I do know his personality so don't think he'll turn my stomach ! A b&b sounds like a good idea and considering there is one close by is better again :)

Oh he'll be working for it alright :P I think I'll have to let him stay, least I owe him is a bed for coming to see me :)

You dont have to let him stay and you certainly do not owe him anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

Are you crazy? You want to meet him for a few hours in your home town then have him stay over?

Seriously? I'm not being smart here but have you not learned the safety rules with regards to meeting someone online?!

You'd be nuts to invite him to stay over. You don't know the bloke, much as you think you do. He's someone you talk to online, he's not someone you've been dating all this time.

You'd be taking a very silly risk in letting him stay over.

Esoteric_ wrote: »
    Are you crazy? You want to meet him for a few hours in your home town then have him stay over?

Seriously? I'm not being smart here but have you not learned the safety rules with regards to meeting someone online?!

You'd be nuts to invite him to stay over. You don't know the bloke, much as you think you do. He's someone you talk to online, he's not someone you've been dating all this time.

You'd be taking a very silly risk in letting him stay over.

What do you suggest then Esoteric ?

You dont have to let him stay and you certainly do not owe him anything.

How many visits do u suggest before he stays over ?

What do you suggest then Esoteric ?

Go on a date, send him home, go on another date? For all you know, the bloke could be a rapist.

I moderate an online dating forum here on boards and most people on it wouldn't even let the man pick them up, let alone stay over so soon. You're essentially meeting a stranger.

The guy i'm dating for the last 5 months, I met on boards. After two months of talking non stop, every day, we went on our first date. For safety's sake, I wouldn't even let him pick me up from my house, I got him to collect me in a public place close to where I live, and drop me back there, too, because no matter how much you talk to someone online, you don't know them til you've spent time with them. Anyone can be charming and sweet through text, and quite different in person once they're comfortable around you.

At least 3!
    More if you live at home!

Go on a date, send him home, go on another date? For all you know, the bloke could be a rapist.

I moderate an online dating forum here on boards and most people on it wouldn't even let the man pick them up, let alone stay over so soon. You're essentially meeting a stranger.

The guy i'm dating for the last 5 months, I met on boards. After two months of talking non stop, every day, we went on our first date. For safety's sake, I wouldn't even let him pick me up from my house, I got him to collect me in a public place close to where I live, and drop me back there, too, because no matter how much you talk to someone online, you don't know them til you've spent time with them. Anyone can be charming and sweet through text, and quite different in person once they're comfortable around you.

I appreciate your advice !! It's true that you really don't know a person until you've met them but in a weird way it feels like we have met ! I know it sounds strange but I feel like I've known him longer than I actually have !

At least 3!
    More if you live at home!

I live at home but I'm independent and my family go away every weekend !

There is no magic number or rules to when you let him stay over. You can only make that decision when it feels right for you. What I meant in my post was that just because he is coming to visit you does not put you under any obligations to him.

I appreciate
    your advice !! It's true that you really don't know a person until
    you've met them but in a weird way it feels like we have met ! I know it
    sounds strange but I feel like I've known him longer than I actually
    have !

The reason for that is because you can be more open through messages than you would generally be if you met the guy in person for the first time, you're behind a screen so there's no embarrassment if you say something you wouldn't normally say.

I've met plenty of people online, friends and boyfriends, and honestly I'd never let them stay over on the first night. Much as you know them online, you don't know them in person. Anyone who has met me in person will say I'm completely different in person to how I am online, even though I think I'm the same.

Aside from that, you seem to be hoping for a relationship with this guy. If you are, take it slowly, it's your first one. Enjoy each step instead of rushing through them all in one date! :)

I live at home but I'm independent and my family go away every weekend !

I wouldn't go sneaking him in behind your parents back. Especially for the first few times.

There is no magic number or rules to when you let him stay over. You can only make that decision when it feels right for you. What I meant in my post was that just because he is coming to visit you does not put you under any obligations to him.

When he comes to visit its not for any other reason than to get to know each other better, for awhile anyway !

The reason for that is because you can be more open through messages than you would generally be if you met the guy in person for the first time, you're behind a screen so there's no embarrassment if you say something you wouldn't normally say.

I've met plenty of people online, friends and boyfriends, and honestly I'd never let them stay over on the first night. Much as you know them online, you don't know them in person. Anyone who has met me in person will say I'm completely different in person to how I am online, even though I think I'm the same.

Aside from that, you seem to be hoping for a relationship with this guy. If you are, take it slowly, it's your first one. Enjoy each step instead of rushing through them all in one date! :)

As I've said in previous posts, I am hoping for a relationship with him ! By letting him stay I'm not letting him stay for any reason other than for us to get to know each other, no other reason at all ! He knows that if a relationship is something we are going to do, he knows I want to take things easy & not rush ahead !

I wouldn't go sneaking him in behind your parents back. Especially for the first few times.

IF he was coming to stay, I'd tell my parents I wouldn't want to sneak around behind their backs ! & it would be separate beds aswell ;) :P

It's not about sex, really. If you want to sleep with him on the first date I wouldn't judge you for that, it's not like i haven't done it myself. :o

It's genuinely just the safety aspect. What I mean about taking each step slowly is more that when you want a relationship, generally you don't have the guy stay over at first, you take it a bit slower, keep an air of mystery and all that. I'd never let a bloke see me in my pjs or without make up on a first date because I want to give the very best impression possible on a first date.

Since your folks go away every weekend, ye have loads of time for staying over and getting to know each other better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

When he comes to visit its not for any other reason than to get to know each other better, for awhile anyway !
    That's your understanding; have you discussed with him what his understanding is?

And if he says that his understanding is the same as yours, how do you know it really is?

That's why you need the buffer of neutral (and safe) territory. Get to know him better - your declared intention - before letting him into your home.

Good luck with the project. My guess, based on what you have said, is that you might be on to a good thing. But a bit of caution is never a bad thing. Later on, if things go well, you might be able to throw caution to the wind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

OP in all honesty if this guy has any sense himself, he'd suggest that maybe it'd be better he stayed in a hotel when he came to see you. You can get hotel rooms now for less than €50, and then meet you in the hotel lobby for a coffee and a chat and maybe even a few drinks and then go to the nightclub or something like that.

I have friends that are homeless and as well as I know them for years and trust them, I still wouldn't invite them up to my apartment, nor have they ever asked.

Any time I've ever had to do a job up the country or even visiting friends, I'll always book into a hotel even though they've offered to accommodate me in their guest rooms.

If friends come down to visit me, I'll have accommodation arranged for them in a nearby hotel rather than have them stay over here because it's my personal space.

I also work from home and usually I'll meet new customers in the nearby hotel rather than give them my exact home address. It's for my own personal safety as well as avoiding possible accusations of impropriety.

That's your understanding; have you discussed with him what his understanding is?

And if he says that his understanding is the same as yours, how do you know it really is?

That's why you need the buffer of neutral (and safe) territory. Get to know him better - your declared intention - before letting him into your home.

Good luck with the project. My guess, based on what you have said, is that you might be on to a good thing. But a bit of caution is never a bad thing. Later on, if things go well, you might be able to throw caution to the wind.

We have talked about it and he feels the same I do, he's been messed around in previous relationships and he's looking for something long lasting if it works ! So I do think he's genuine when he says he doesn't want to rush things !!

It's not about sex, really. If you want to sleep with him on the first date I wouldn't judge you for that, it's not like i haven't done it myself. :o

It's genuinely just the safety aspect. What I mean about taking each step slowly is more that when you want a relationship, generally you don't have the guy stay over at first, you take it a bit slower, keep an air of mystery and all that. I'd never let a bloke see me in my pjs or without make up on a first date because I want to give the very best impression possible on a first date.

Since your folks go away every weekend, ye have loads of time for staying over and getting to know each other better.

An air of mystery sounds like a good plan, I've never heard of things going wrong but taking things easy anyway ! :) if he's interested in me like I'm interested in him he'll want to stick around and get to know me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,528 ✭✭✭ShaShaBear

Be oh so very careful. If you have not physically seen him, then of course you don't know what he looks like - whether you have seen pictures or not! I suggest a coffee Skype date or two leading up to when he is meant to come visit. Then, if you are confident that he appeals to you as he speaks (you like the way he looks, and he sounds honest) you can arrange to meet him. I definitely would ABSOLUTELY NOT take him back to your house, no matter how well things go! He is still a complete stranger, and once you find yourself in the countryside alone with him, things could change completely. As one poster said, though dramatic it sounds, worst case scenario he could be very, very dangerous, and your suggested arrangement could be disastrous! If you absolutely feel you want him to stay, suggest a B&B and if things go very well, spend the night with him there, in a public and monitered place where you can feel safe.

ShaShaBear wrote: »
    Be oh so very careful. If you have not physically seen him, then of course you don't know what he looks like - whether you have seen pictures or not! I suggest a coffee Skype date or two leading up to when he is meant to come visit. Then, if you are confident that he appeals to you as he speaks (you like the way he looks, and he sounds honest) you can arrange to meet him. I definitely would ABSOLUTELY NOT take him back to your house, no matter how well things go! He is still a complete stranger, and once you find yourself in the countryside alone with him, things could change completely. As one poster said, though dramatic it sounds, worst case scenario he could be very, very dangerous, and your suggested arrangement could be disastrous! If you absolutely feel you want him to stay, suggest a B&B and if things go very well, spend the night with him there, in a public and monitered place where you can feel safe.

I've changed my mind as regards him staying, if he's interested enough he'll be happy to go on a few dates before things progress to staying over in each others houses :) I'm not saying that I think he's dangerous but there is creepy people out there so a public place is best, somewhere were its safe and there's people around !

Good woman. :) Safety is always best and like you said, if he likes you, he'll wait! :)