Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sat 4th May

• 03-05-2013 8:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭

2000 Guineas day.

Fancy Pearl secret big time in the sprint but only got 5's :(

Might just do a small outsider bet in the Guineas and just enjoy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭MoscowFlyer

Was just gonna post about Pearl Secret but he's drawn out in Stall 13 which could be a worry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

Newmarket

2.35, Sole Power: Love this horse. Not a regular winner but still, a Group 1 Nunthorpe winner who's been ultra consistent in top races over last few seasons. Ran well when 4th LTO in Dubai World Cup meeting despite being the wrong side of the draw from a pace perspective. Trainer seems confident and he'll have the ground and strong pace to suit hopefully.

3.10, Noble Mission: Has to overturn form with Universal but he absolutely cruised into that race before finding little in front on the fight to finish line. Was his first start of season and Universal probably had a fitness edge so willing to give him one last chance and hope a more patient ride will see him outclass Universal. Dandino an obvious danger but I think Noble has loads of talent, despite his quirks.

3.50 Toronado: Was planning on backing him thinking he'd be a value alternative to an evens fav. Hasn't quite worked out that way with Toronado all the rage and DA drifting. I've committed myself to him now though so will stick with him. Has won his races the hard way, from the front, so far and looks to have improved massively from last year on his Cravan showing. It's also hard to ignore the hype from Hannon's and Hughes that he is more balanced than Canford Cliffs, will handle the track better and may even be a better horse. They clearly rate him much higher than stablemate Olympic Glory who was under a length behind DA in last years Coventry but obviously DA will have improved since that race himself. He'll have to win tomorrow to deserve the hype but I think he's got the speed, toughness and class to outrun Dawn Approach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Fancy two tomorrow. St Moritz in the Thirsk Hunt Cup at 10/1. Taking a chance on Barenger at Uttoxeter at 10/1 but has plenty to prove.

Put up First Impressions when he was third two runs ago, could be worth a chance tomorrow if the ground is good but I heard there has been heavy rain in Limerick today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Wigmore Hall in the jockey club stakes, been racing against much classier animals than Noble Mission & Universal and I reckon the fitness edge over Dandino will see him get a well deserved win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,547 ✭✭✭droidman123

jimjamcos wrote: »
    Newmarket

2.35, Sole Power: Love this horse. Not a regular winner but still, a Group 1 Nunthorpe winner who's been ultra consistent in top races over last few seasons. Ran well when 4th LTO in Dubai World Cup meeting despite being the wrong side of the draw from a pace perspective. Trainer seems confident and he'll have the ground and strong pace to suit hopefully.

3.10, Noble Mission: Has to overturn form with Universal but he absolutely cruised into that race before finding little in front on the fight to finish line. Was his first start of season and Universal probably had a fitness edge so willing to give him one last chance and hope a more patient ride will see him outclass Universal. Dandino an obvious danger but I think Noble has loads of talent, despite his quirks.

3.50 Toronado: Was planning on backing him thinking he'd be a value alternative to an evens fav. Hasn't quite worked out that way with Toronado all the rage and DA drifting. I've committed myself to him now though so will stick with him. Has won his races the hard way, from the front, so far and looks to have improved massively from last year on his Cravan showing. It's also hard to ignore the hype from Hannon's and Hughes that he is balanced than Canford Cliffs, will handle the track better and may even be a better horse. They clearly rate him much higher than stablemate Olympic Glory who was under a length behind DA in last years Coventry but obviously DA will have improved since that race himself. He'll have to win tomorrow to deserve the hype but I think he's got the speed, toughness and class to outrun Dawn Approach.

Yeah i will be having a nibble on sole power also. I seen that race in dubai and he was all alone on the near side, could be coming back to form.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭carpothepunk

I see they have finally put a jock on George Guru at Glorious Goodwood. He is on a nice mark back on the turf, and with the aide of an actual jockey, he should be bang there. I have snaffled up the 14s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 razzledazz

Not sure bout this horse yet but might be worth a small each way. MOONLIGHT DRIVE 15:40 Uttox. Been told to watch this horse from a regular in the pub who half knows his stuff. He tells me there was a nice bit of money paid for horse, but that is about all i know. First time poster, but watch the banter most days, love the info fellas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,880 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Anyone know when i will get be able to get prices for Sunday,namely Sligo?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 786 ✭✭✭fangee

Was just gonna post about Pearl Secret but he's drawn out in Stall 13 which could be a worry.

Only drawn 4 stalls away from what should be his main rival (sole power) so maybe not too bad of a draw ?

I want to have a large bet in this but really can't pick between the front two in the market. I think they are clear of everything else but I fear Spencer may try a last to first whereas Murtagh will be more pragmatic.

Put it like this, if Murtagh was on Pearl Secret then my decision would be easy which tells me that I fancy Pearl Secret but not Spencer.

Still no closer to a decision. Any opinions ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

4:35 Newmarket

The conditions couldn’t suit Sole Power any better here. He is the only Group 1 level performer in the field and drawn in the middle I’m having a bit of difficulty picking out something to beat him here. This race lacks any of the real top level proven performers and those are the only ones in general that have been beating the selection over the last year or so. 9/2 looks a small bit of value in this race given that most of the field really shouldn’t be quick enough
    2 Points win 9/2 365/betfred/Betfair

2:05 Newmarket

Memory Cloth is one that is have followed a few times lately and he seemed to improve considerably last time out when a good 7th in the Spring Cup. He is down an pound or two here and although the ground conditions might not be ideal for him he is worth small bet at 20/1 Generally. He is 4lbs lower than his last win and looks certain to be winning soon.
    1 Point win 20/1 Generally

4:35 Thirsk

Rodrigo De Torres looks a fair bit overpriced here given his last very good run in a conditions event here over 7 Furlongs. The bare facts of that race put him in with an excellent shout here even off his 4lbs higher mark, given that nearly everything in that race was nearly 10lbs rated higher than him and it was his first run back. He has decent course form and won a very decent 8 furlong conditions event last year beating a few decent performers in the process. 20/1 looks well overpriced and well worth a bet.

1 Point win 1 Point Place Betfair 28 win 5.8 Place

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 786 ✭✭✭fangee

aidankkk wrote: »
    4:35 Newmarket

The conditions couldn’t suit Sole Power any better here. He is the only Group 1 level performer in the field and drawn in the middle I’m having a bit of difficulty picking out something to beat him here. This race lacks any of the real top level proven performers and those are the only ones in general that have been beating the selection over the last year or so. 9/2 looks a small bit of value in this race given that most of the field really shouldn’t be quick enough
    2 Points win 9/2 365/betfred/Betfair

2:05 Newmarket

Memory Cloth is one that is have followed a few times lately and he seemed to improve considerably last time out when a good 7th in the Spring Cup. He is down an pound or two here and although the ground conditions might not be ideal for him he is worth small bet at 20/1 Generally. He is 4lbs lower than his last win and looks certain to be winning soon.
    1 Point win 20/1 Generally

4:35 Thirsk

Rodrigo De Torres looks a fair bit overpriced here given his last very good run in a conditions event here over 7 Furlongs. The bare facts of that race put him in with an excellent shout here even off his 4lbs higher mark, given that nearly everything in that race was nearly 10lbs rated higher than him and it was his first run back. He has decent course form and won a very decent 8 furlong conditions event last year beating a few decent performers in the process. 20/1 looks well overpriced and well worth a bet.

1 Point win 1 Point Place Betfair 28 win 5.8 Place

Jesus Christ. Some bookies are paying 3 places at a 1/5 of the odds.

Granted some are paying 4 places 1/4 the odds but not my bookie.

It makes some difference.

Thanks Aidan. You've helped me make my mind up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

I'm just in the door from a night out having not slept. I think Sole Power 9/2 could have too much class for his rivals at Newmarket whilst I'm rather interested by Mike Murphy's Kakatosi 22/1 in the 2.55 Goodwood. He's been revitalised on the all weather since switching from Andrew Balding's yard winning once and running credibly on a number of other occasions and he still looks a very feasibly handicapped horse given he was rated 104 back in 2011. Racing here off a mark of 84, he ran a really nice 3rd at Kempton LTO off a mark of 82 when staying on at the death and I think he'll appreciate the return to a quick turf surface and I'm sure he has more to offer for his current trainer. Although there has to be a concern that he doesn't act at the track, its definitely a risk worth taking in my view and 22s is a very nice price in my book..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭carmanard

Probably going to swerve the Guineas as I can see very good reasons for backing each of the top three in the market & no value in backing them all. I think an e/w interest in Boonga Roogeta in the opener at Newmarket, Spirit Quartz in the palace house, Souviens Toi in the 2.20 at goodwood and possibly George Guru in the 2.55 there too will be my plays for the day...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

All aboard Sole Power today lads.
    I've been STUNG a few times by this lad over the years so hopefully today is the day he goes in at a decent price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,880 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Backed Sole Power and Dawn Approach in a double,both look to have serious chances

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

2:35 Newmarket

I’m also going with Kingsgate Native at a huge looking 33/1 EW. He is obviously well capable of taking a hand here and did show a few signs last year that he may be able to recover some of his old form. I’d be gutted if he came back to form here at all and I wasn’t on as I’ve selected him quite a few times in the past.

½ Point EW 33/1 Stan James 3 Places ¼ Odds

2:55 Goodwood

I’m going to go with one of the younger generation here in Silverheels. He seems a decent price on some of his form last year, and looks to have been given a chance by the handicapper. He has a good record fresh and at 20/1 on Betfair should be worth a small bet.

[/B]

1 Point win 21 Betfair

Sole Power and Dawn Approach double.

Basseterre in the first. Improved all last year and could be well treated here still. Hills' horses in great form still. Whispering Warrior is a danger.

Dandino in the the 3.10. Although if Queally holds on to Noble Mission longer he could could late and fast to win this.

And High Octane in the 5 o'clock. Not over for the beer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭battser

Slattsy wrote: »

B

Ahhhhhhhh FCUK! There goes my banker for the day!! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,702 ✭✭✭tryfix

The Prix Greffulhe is on in France today, with Fabre's Derby horse Ocovango running in it.

http://betting.betfair.com/horse-racing/horseracing-tips/prix-greffulhe-preview-derby-challengers-go-through-their-paces-030513-106.html

battser wrote: »
    Ahhhhhhhh FCUK! There goes my banker for the day!! :p

No my luck is back in the game lad.. Had a few winners yesterday, one second and a third out my 4 bets.

Anyway, go **** yourself lol

No my luck is back in the game lad.. Had a few winners yesterday, one second and a third out my 4 bets.

Anyway, go **** yourself lol

Shhhh I'm trying something here... haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

Basseterre in the first. Improved all last year and could be well treated here still. Hills' horses in great form still. Whispering Warrior is a danger.

I've trixied these 3. I'm taking the fact you've backed them aswell as a positive. Good luck. :cool:

Dandino in the the 3.10. Although if Queally holds on to Noble Mission longer he could could late and fast to win this.

And High Octane in the 5 o'clock. Not over for the beer.

Basseterre is the first one in a lucky 15 i did :(:)

Lord ayren at thirsk has a great chance today,fill yer boots!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,024 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

Toronado and Heerat for me.... can we still be friends? :D

"If I had a horse as good as as Toronado, I wouldn't have named if after a clapped out coupe that came off the market in 1992"

More bolger bulll****!!

He is a turd alright. I still think DA deserves to be fav on all known form, despite all of his absolute bull****. Unless both go past together, Hannon/Hughes or Bolger are going to have egg on their faces.

I detest the man, no offence to d.a. backers, but i hope he is buried and that smug smile wiped off his face!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

You can be sure there'll be excuses if one/both under-perform. Expect to hear the usual Guineas one..."he just didn't handle the dip as well as we thought".

Come on Spencer, get my day off to a good start.

*The missus went out to get her hair done, free gaff to watch the racing, freshly brewed coffee just ready and a packet of animal biscuits by my side. Bliss :)

Haha I have the coffee on, and a packet of Fox's classics here. Just trading away for the day here on betfair, and DA later.

She is as game as a ****ing pebble that mare.

Hanagan is an awful jockey. Cat in a finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭handsfree

Did

Spirit Quartz
    Noble Mission
    George Vancouver

But Dawn Approach at 7/4 is very appealing. I might fill my boots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,024 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

Pearl secret n/r

Half fancy Jehannedarc. Worth a nibble.

Pearl Secret NR

Pear Secret n/r

Half fancy Jehannedarc. Worth a nibble.

2nd :(

Hey lads, Pearl Secret is a NR.

Does anyone know if pearl secret is going today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

Does anyone know if pearl secret is going today?

non runner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

Trying to back Pearl Secret but it's not letting me here, anyone have any idea why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

carmanard wrote: »
    Probably going to swerve the Guineas as I can see very good reasons for backing each of the top three in the market & no value in backing them all. I think an e/w interest in Boonga Roogeta in the opener at Newmarket, Spirit Quartz in the palace house, Souviens Toi in the 2.20 at goodwood and possibly George Guru in the 2.55 there too will be my plays for the day...

Good call on Boonga Roogeta.

Probably lack of funds mate.

andyman wrote: »
    Trying to back Pearl Secret but it's not letting me here, anyone have any idea why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

andyman wrote: »

Non runner

Get in Slattsy!! Second e/w too not bad!

Get in !!