Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best COD for online play

• 03-05-2013 2:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭

Right iv a quick question which Call of duty game do ye think is the best for online multiplayer?

Best COD game for online mutliplayer 56 votes

Modern Warfare 2
    0% 0 votes
    Mondern Warfare 3
    42% 24 votes
    Black Ops
    14% 8 votes
    Black Ops 2
    42% 24 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭miralize

Its a toss up between BO2 & MW2. I played a lot of BO1 & MW3, but not to degree that I've played the other 2, which signals to me at least that I've enjoyed them more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭harvester of sorrow

What about COD 4 & COD WAW?
    Voted for blops1 as its the most enjoyable for me to play online with my ****e connection:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,015 ✭✭✭Ludo

COD2. It's been all downhill from there online wise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Kells...

COD4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

where's the option for they're all ****e :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭circadian

Been playing MW3 recently. COD 4 was my favourite though, dumped loads of time into the multiplayer on that. All the new killstreaks, nukes etc are over complicating things. I was happy with my mp5, flash and and 3 grenades.
    UAV, airstrike and chopper.
    Done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭Royal Irish

Blops 1 for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭The Pheasant

Where's COD4 and WAW? I vote for WAW, great game, quite underated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Blops 1 for me.

Same even though I'm pretty **** at it. I really like MW3 though I know a lot of others dispise it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭Royal Irish

MW3 is actually the only CoD game I haven't played online. I played the 4 spilt screen thing with the juggernaut in it a few times at a mates house if that counts.

But defo blops1 of the ones I have played and WaW a close second and would agree with the Pheasant it was underrated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Hayezer

COD4 destroys the rest back in the day. The game is hacked till it's almost unplayable now though.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,529 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Never got to play CoD4 much online. MW2 followed closely by Blops1 have been the best out of what I've played.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Creasy_bear

COD on paper is an incredible game. The way you can just sit in your room and play with people 5000 miles away sitting in theirs.

But the fact of the matter is, in reality, every cod game is ****. Filled with rubbish that just shouldn't be in them.

Give me the simplicity of cod 4 with the connection of mw2. They'll never make a great game in my opinion. They've had 8 or 9 chances ffs.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

Of those listed, probably Blops 1 or MW2, but I'd prefer 4 to all of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 675 ✭✭✭Shifty Shellshock

Playing COD 4 online is a joke. It's all hackers ruining the enjoyment of a cool game. I can't play online now due to a hacker. I shot a guy and my XP went minus 2 million points and I can't get online due to the fact I haven't enough XP to play.

Jaysus that's mental! Would you not fire off an email to support and see if there's anything they can do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭S28382

Im recently started playing MW3 online and i find it good fun but friends of mine swear by Black Ops i must try em out. The speed at which some folks play it is mad it must take some playing time to get to the higher levels of it. Its now my goal on it to get as high as i can before i stop playing it.....which could be a long time :D

S28382 wrote: »
    Im recently started playing MW3 online and i find it good fun but friends of mine swear by Black Ops i must try em out. The speed at which some folks play it is mad it must take some playing time to get to the higher levels of it. Its now my goal on it to get as high as i can before i stop playing it.....which could be a long time :D

MW3 seemed to be the beginning of the end for CoD with a few people I know, I on the other hand really like it and still play most nights as well as BLOPs2

Yeah i didnt really like the game itself i only started playing it online about two months ago and i liked it but im being told that BLOPS is alot better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

got a copy of COD 4 from a friend at the weekend, couldnt even find a game to play (1600 players online). played a little bit of MW2 and liked it, but didnt play any Call of duty titles online again until BLOPS2.

really enjoying it, but I'm curious about MW3, lot of the regular lads seem to be gone back to, or hopping between that and BLOPS2. it seems to be a bit marmite tho, you either love it or hate it. its only 20 notes in argos now so might be worth a punt. then again the new consoles and "ghosts" is only around the corner really too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

COD 4, played a few times recently trouble free too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,411 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

Problem with the older ones is once they get hacked the developers/publishers or whoever have no interest in fixing it. They don't want you playing the old games. If MW2 hadn't been hacked I'd still be playing it and probably wouldn't have even bought Blops 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

COD4 for me, closely followed by BLOPS1. The latter really evolved the game and the amount of game stats was great. MW2 was the worst by far.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 280 ✭✭Yousef

COD4 was the absolute pinacle of Call of Duty. They have already reached the mountain top. Everything has been downhill since then.

Having said that, if you're willing to give what Call of Duty is, COD4, a shot...you have to pick it up on PC. It's 20Euro on Steam. Can't believe it's been this long....wow, 2007. How times change.

Anyway, on consoles the older games are hacked to ****. But on PC, COD4 has become "THE PERFECT COD". There are countless people still playing on PC and the mods are server side i.e - the original COD4 out-of-the-box has changed dramatically. For example, there are thousands of custom maps as well as you can play all the maps from MW2, W@W, BO1, MW3, BO2. There is customisation....i.e - gold guns (if you're into that), custom killstreaks, as well as all the killstreaks up until this point. Some servers don't go on killstreaks even...they go on team streaks (doesn't matter how many times you were killed, if you're helping the team win, you'll get streaks). There are hundreds of new weapons etc.

I think MW2 would have been the best COD if Jason West and Vince Zampella were allowed to patch and fix their game. Unfortunately they got into that court case with Activision and it wasn't supported even when it was in it's life-cycle.

But yeah, because I have COD4 and MW2 on PC....these games, still today, are absolutely EPIC. Don't give Activision any more of your money for this BS DLC....they're robbing you. Pick up a copy of COD4 for PC and giggle like a school girl for months. One final point that I didn't mention, all COD4 DLC is completely FREE ON PC WHERE AS ON CONSOLE, YOU HAVE TO PAY.

Yousef wrote: »
    COD4 was the absolute pinacle of Call of Duty. They have already reached the mountain top. Everything has been downhill since then.
    Agreed
    I think MW2 would have been the best COD if Jason West and Vince Zampella were allowed to patch and fix their game. Unfortunately they got into that court case with Activision and it wasn't supported even when it was in it's life-cycle.
    Wut you talkin bout Willis?

Between Witch class and commando cross-room knife kills I think MW2 was the worst COD in a long time.

COD 4 is a class game altho i never played it online i might give it a shot when my internet is back working :mad: i have an xbox360 is it worth playing it on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭BGozIE

blops 1 was definitely the most enjoyable for me. Couldn't get into MW3 and not really that big on blops 2, although I do now play it over blops 1.

Ok i played multiplayer BLOPS last night is it just me or are the graphics piss poor compared to MW3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

I have to say Call of Duty 2 was my favourite game to play online the amount of hours I spent on that game wasn't right at all . It would be followed by Call of Duty Modern Warfare and the Black Ops 2 .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

Ok i played multiplayer BLOPS last night is it just me or are the graphics piss poor compared to MW3.

They are fairly bad but the game is fairly old and were good at the time.

lkionm wrote: »
    They are fairly bad but the game is fairly old and were good at the time.

Interestingly on my old Panasonic Viera TX32LXD70 BLOPS actually looked okay compared to MW2 and MW3. Not quite as good but not as bad.

I played BLOPS today for the first time in ages on my Samsung Smart TV UE32ES5500 and the graphics do look absolutely terrible compared to MW3. The difference was startling compared to the slight difference on the Panasonic!

As for which is best online, playing style seems to matter a lot. The maps on BLOPS suit me better than either MW2 or MW3 and are more akin to COD4 for me. I find coming top on TDM and Domination very easy in BLOPS and COD4 but much more difficult in MW2 and MW3. That's not why I prefer those games though. I just think MW2 and MW3 are more flawed than the others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

r3nu4l wrote: »
    Interestingly on my old Panasonic Viera TX32LXD70 BLOPS actually looked okay compared to MW2 and MW3. Not quite as good but not as bad.

I played BLOPS today for the first time in ages on my Samsung Smart TV UE32ES5500 and the graphics do look absolutely terrible compared to MW3. The difference was startling compared to the slight difference on the Panasonic!

As for which is best online, playing style seems to matter a lot. The maps on BLOPS suit me better than either MW2 or MW3 and are more akin to COD4 for me. I find coming top on TDM and Domination very easy in BLOPS and COD4 but much more difficult in MW2 and MW3. That's not why I prefer those games though. I just think MW2 and MW3 are more flawed than the others.

Namedropping pro.

I had a really **** big box of a tv for blops so its probably more the better tvs available now than anything else.

lkionm wrote: »
    Namedropping pro.

I had a really **** big box of a tv for blops so its probably more the better tvs available now than anything else.

Lol :)

That's what I'm saying though. My Panasonic was 7 years old (anyone looking at the model number would realise that, hence the 'namedropping' :)) and the Samsung model is about one year old so there's a huge difference visible even between those two TVs. As such, anyone playing BLOPs on a newer TV or a high-quality TV will notice a much bigger difference than on a lower end TV like my ones. As for a CRT, there's probably very little difference.

Sorry for taking things off topic...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭brijay

Black ops 2 now but if there wasn't mods on Cod 4, I'd pick Cod 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭miralize

Is MW2 still ok hack-wise? Been dying to play that game since I MP'd in BO2, but preowned costs about 17 in Gamestop, so would be good to know if it was worth paying it...

miralize wrote: »
    Is MW2 still ok hack-wise? Been dying to play that game since I MP'd in BO2, but preowned costs about 17 in Gamestop, so would be good to know if it was worth paying it...

I asked someone in another thread about a month ago and he said he ran into a number of hacked lobbies but was generally ok. I found it very hit and miss last time was on. Most of the doucheba*s have moved on but you'll still encounter them. As soon as my stats are hacked on MW2 I'm burning Activision to the ground :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Reading this thread has me seriously considering picking up COD4 for the PC

I found playing MW3 there seem to be alot of people that can move way faster or shoot way better is that a sign of a mod? id consider myself not to shabby at playing MW3 but these guys just seem unreal at it, One guy went passed me as if he was on anabolic steroids.

I actually noticed the speed thing a few weeks ago while on with one of the lads but I didn't even think of hacking. That was the one and only time so I'm not quite sure

Yeah i was shocked he went so fast i nearly missed him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Kells...

Juiced maybe?

Kells... wrote: »
    Juiced maybe?

Thats what we thought first but he was doing well, definitely was a deathstreak the whole time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Neon_Lights

BO2 & MW3 player - xbox

I must say atm, whatever it is, BO2 is acting up a bit, and i'm not the only one thats noticed it. I know you have varying connections at different pings to the host playing and lag is part and parcel with online play, but the amount of time ive put easily 5 or 6 bullets (yes i got a hitmarker) in an opponent with an SMG with FMJ, and laser sight on a 3 or 4 bar connection and not got the kill and then they turn around one bomb me. Its a bit ridiculous sometimes.

BO2 as good as the games are on offer, esp league play it can be a bit frustrating to have this happen. It appears to me that they definitely have some sort of hosting or connection issues with the game... im not an expert. My connection is 40Mbps Down and 6 or 7up, which i think is pretty alright like. I just dont know.... maybe i have no hands ;)

^ it's my biggest gripe in relation to BOPS2. Whatever the reason that caused it, it was a gamebreaker for me.