Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kentucky Derby

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

I can't remember isn't there a high draw bias there or is it just 1 that's dreaded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,697 ✭✭✭Thud

UrbanSea wrote: »
    I can't remember isn't there a high draw bias there or is it just 1 that's dreaded

Yeah low draw (1,2, 3) not great after that think it doesn't make a huge difference. Verrazano was drawn in 14, Orb in 16.

Would imagine Coolmore would like to add it to their list....

Lines of Battle in 11. Surprised Moore is giving up a Guineas ride for this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭shy-tall-knight

Lines of Battle in 11. Surprised Moore is giving up a Guineas ride for this

Would anyone give him a chance? How would Meydan compare with Churchill Downs?
    Very similar profile to Daddy Long Legs from last year who ran an absolute stinker, which is enough to put me off. Although the fact that Ryan Moore is going instead of O'Donoghue and missing a guineas ride as you say is interesting.

Not sure how strong that Meydan form is,Elleval was rated in the seventies before he went over. Runs on dirt too, would be some training feat if he sent out a winner over there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Presume its on ATR? 23.24 is the post time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭sdoc13

Daddy Long Legs had no chance last year, was drawn in the dreaded 1 stall, which killed any chance he had of running a respectable race.

I would give lines of battle a small sqeak. The Moore booking is such a positive and this is a race O Brien really wants on his CV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭faoile@n

I'd imagine that Ryan Moore didn't have a decent ride in the Guineas so was probably an easy decision.

I do think Lines of Battle has a squeak.

He's dirt bred so should have a much better chance that previous Coolmore runners.

He ran a very good race in Dundalk and Meydan. I know that dirt is completely different but I'm taking a positive about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭nungesser

I'm going for Java's War loved his run in winning the Blue Grass, hes a sit out the back and run the clock kind of horse, even if he dosn't win I know it will be an exciting horse to watch as he starts passing horses in turns three and four. check out this web site http://www.kentuckyderby.com/ if you go to the drop down menu where it says "Horses" theres a section thats says "Daily Workouts" with videos of a lot of the runners workouts and under "Derby Leaderboard" you can click on the horse and get a small video with trainer comments and also see the races its run some with videos. The news section on the site is real good with lots of info on most runners not just the top two in the betting. good luck lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

Lines of Battle doesn't have a prayer. The UAE derby was very poor, time was hugely below average for the distance, wasn't even just a slow starting pace, every sectional was slow. Itsmyluckyday the value in the field.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,360 ✭✭✭mike2084

I don't think there is live TV coverage here this year. I found this link over on the Betfair forum they showed the Oaks tonight

http://www.dmi.ae/dubairacing/live.asp

When is the race on? Our time?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,360 ✭✭✭mike2084

11:24 tomorrow night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

mike2084 wrote: »
    11:24 tomorrow night

On ATR?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,008 ✭✭✭kksaints

Apparently not. Was an article in the RP about it. Fees are too expensive for RUK and Churchill Downs isnt on the contract that Attheraces has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

Won't be backing him but surely, on his beating of Animal Kingdom and Excelebration at Breeders Cup, Wise Dan is the equivalent of buying money in the 9.44 @10/11 with PP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

jimjamcos wrote: »
    Won't be backing him but surely, on his beating of Animal Kingdom and Excelebration at Breeders Cup, Wise Dan is the equivalent of buying money in the 9.44 @10/11 with PP?

I went to back him but hes 2/7 now! Second fav must be a non runner.

Johner wrote: »
    I went to back him but hes 2/7 now! Second fav must be a non runner.

Pity...was as close to a "sure thing" 10/11 shot as I've ever seen. American Frankel.

I was about to lump on at 5/6!

You wouldn't have had a seconds worry either. The pulled out Point of Entry beat St Nicholas Abbey by under a length over 1m4 in Breeders Cup Turf. Wise Dan would of destroyed him over the sharper 1m1 if reproducing anything near the form that easily beat Animal Kingdom and Excelebration.

Is it on anywhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭BangBeater

Any link lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭jeemojney

The black lad just said he was going to win. SOLD. All my money on the black lad please.

Hmm the female jockey is sexy. SOLD. All my other money on the girl please.

See her interview saying "some owners wont ride me"

What is wrong with them?.:D

I backed the black lad. Come on my son. He'll defintely be having some Kentucky Fried Chicken if he wins. Lol.

Rosie just got the leg up they said. ;)

Look at the state of the track. Wet dirt tracks are shocking

I backed the black lad. Come on my son. He'll defintely be having some Kentucky Fried Chicken if he wins. Lol.

He's gonna ride it like he's robbed it!!! :P

I just backed O'Brien as well because if he won I'd be pissed off that I didn't back it. Mon Moore and black lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

A food company sponsoring the Kentucky derby.

Must be the hurry up for the slow horses.

Look at the state of the track. Wet dirt tracks are shocking

Looks sloppy.

Lads a first year stallion Into Mischief has two runners in this and Racing Post says he has had few chances, they only have five runners listed overall. Two in the Derby, can see him going places

I just backed O'Brien as well because if he won I'd be pissed off that I didn't back it. Mon Moore and black lad.

Yeah same, a small bet on the O'Brien horse.

Not sure I've ever seen an American race go off on time, was this meant to be off at 23.24

It's actually a joke. Don't think I've ever seen a Breeders Cup race go off on time.

Jesus lads what an absolute **** spectacle. America's biggest race, I'd have more enjoyment watching a race at Southwell

I didn't have a clue what was going on. Didn't recognise any colours.

A beautiful turn track to the inside. They come back looking like they just ran through a pile of ****

I didn't have a clue what was going on. Didn't recognise any colours.

Same here. Anyone have any idea where Lines of Battle finished?

Messy race lads!

The commentator just spunked himself over Orb and didn't mention any horses then. Orb can lick the back of my sack.

kksaints wrote: »
    Same here. Anyone have any idea where Lines of Battle finished?

Didn't hear him mentioned once

Well the 2000 Guineas was far more enjoyable with the local horse winning.

Kentucky derby is much better in dry conditions than a mudfest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,024 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

Congrats to brown horse, cool shutout in the end zone.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 698 ✭✭✭belcampprisoner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

relieved as I'd have been distraught had i missed a gift like that

mailburner wrote: »
    relieved as I'd have been distraught had i missed a gift like that

Ground didn't seem to suit him the best but still easy...

The second leg of the triple crown the Preakness Stakes is run at Pimlico tonight. Only 9 runners in this with Orb the Kentucky Derby the favourite at around 11/10. Got the inside draw which isnt great but with him having beating most of his rivals at Churchill Downs will hopefully be good enough to win.